'Star Wars' is set to return to cinema screens this August in an animated movie titled 'Star Wars: The Clone Wars'.
The 100-minute film from creator George Lucas takes place between the events of 'Attack of the Clones' and 'Revenge of the Sith'.
It will feature a host of characters from the most recent 'Star Wars' movies including Anakin Skywalker, Obi-Wan Kenobi and Padmé Amidala. Advertisement
The film will act as a launch for the forthcoming Star Wars animation series, with the story continuing in a run of 30-minute "mini-movies" which will premiere on the Cartoon Network, according to the Digitalspy website.
Speaking about the animated movie, creator George Lucas said: "I felt there were a lot more Star Wars stories left to tell. I was eager to start telling some of them through animation and, at the same time, push the art of animation forward."
Lucas will oversee production of the film and television series which will be produced by Lucasfilm Animation.
'Star Wars: The Clone Wars' opens on 15 August.
Klesk
Feb 13 2008, 10:42 AM
hey hey wait a minute wasnt the 2nd movie also coined with the same name??? very confusing this is....
greyshadow
Feb 13 2008, 11:17 AM
mana ada same name? this one is Clone wars Starwars Episode II is Attack of the Clones lar
How confusing is that?
azbro
Feb 13 2008, 12:43 PM
At least got something to look forward too
mADmAN
Feb 13 2008, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(Klesk @ Feb 13 2008, 10:42 AM)
hey hey wait a minute wasnt the 2nd movie also coined with the same name??? very confusing this is....
actually Star Wars: Clone Wars was the name used for the shorts (aka 30 seconds per episode) series that was shown on Cartoon Network quite some time ago (before the release of Revenge Of The Sith).
the series fills the void of what happened between Episode 2 and Episode 3.
eg. notice Anakin all of a sudden has a scar on his face in Episode 3? in Clone Wars it showed how he got the scar.
also Grievous was introduced in Clone Wars as well and showed how he managed to come across some of his lightsaber collection.
BurgaFlippinMan
Feb 13 2008, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 13 2008, 01:07 PM)
actually Star Wars: Clone Wars was the name used for the shorts (aka 30 seconds per episode) series that was shown on Cartoon Network quite some time ago (before the release of Revenge Of The Sith).
The microseries was Star Wars: Clone Wars. This new 3D series is Star Wars: The Clone Wars
almattitude_v1
Feb 13 2008, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 13 2008, 01:07 PM)
the series fills the void of what happened between Episode 2 and Episode 3.
eg. notice Anakin all of a sudden has a scar on his face in Episode 3? in Clone Wars it showed how he got the scar.
also Grievous was introduced in Clone Wars as well and showed how he managed to come across some of his lightsaber collection.
And why he kept coughing too...
Raikkonen
Feb 13 2008, 02:58 PM
The background music score (Duel of the Fates, Anakin Vs Obi Wan etc.) Make my hair stands
Lucas will never stop.
Star Wars FOREVER!!!!
PIRATES!
Feb 13 2008, 06:02 PM
George the Man! He loves Black!
QuickFire
Feb 13 2008, 06:42 PM
hmm visuals look like beyond good and evil-ish.
ridzOe
Feb 13 2008, 11:39 PM
lol i dun like the human character.. not real-life looking la
demio121
Feb 13 2008, 11:44 PM
its nice to see another Star Wars movie. Actually live action or CGI, to me its no difference. If i take out those human talking and walking and fighting, Star Wars are all about effect.
15 Aug, wait i shall.
tesla34
Feb 14 2008, 01:33 AM
i wnt real actors:( this is quite potong stim
St.Paul
Feb 14 2008, 01:35 AM
Yahooooo... i luv Star Wars.... erm, me wan PADME !!!!
BurgaFlippinMan
Feb 14 2008, 01:59 AM
QUOTE(ridzOe @ Feb 13 2008, 11:39 PM)
lol i dun like the human character.. not real-life looking la
Its meant to be 3D versions of the Gendy Tartovsky designs
ComingSoon.net has learned that Warner Bros. Pictures is currently planning to reveal the trailer for Star Wars: The Clone Wars in theaters with the studio's own Speed Racer on May 9th. We are uncertain at this point when the trailer would debut online, though studios usually bring trailers online that same week.
The August 15 release will feature such characters as Anakin Skywalker, Obi-Wan Kenobi and Padmé Amidala, along with brand-new heroes like Anakin's padawan learner, Ahsoka. In the film, Sinister villains - led by Palpatine, Count Dooku and General Grievous - are poised to rule the galaxy. Stakes are high, and the fate of the "Star Wars" universe rests in the hands of the daring Jedi Knights. Their exploits lead to the action-packed battles and astonishing new revelations.
The theatrical debut of Star Wars: The Clone Wars will be followed in the fall when the TV series premieres on Cartoon Network, followed by airings on TNT.
Villain of this movie: presenting... Asajj Ventress!
Star Wars: The Clone Wars Villain Asajj Ventress
USA Today has published this new photo of the Star Wars: The Clone Wars villain, a double lightsaber-weilding pale, bald babe named Asajj Ventress. She appeared in 2-D form in previous cartoons, but gets 3-D digital animation in the upcoming film, opening August 15.
The movie sets up a future animated TV series for the Cartoon Network and a first trailer debuts Thursday at 7:58 p.m. in all time zones on that and other Turner Networks: TBS, TNT, CNN and Boomerang.
firedauz
May 8 2008, 03:23 AM
A freakin-huge poster for ya'all~!
crazyconsumer
May 8 2008, 02:02 PM
And hence more ACTION FIGURES/STATUES !
b3rnard7
May 8 2008, 06:44 PM
animation version of star wars?
beelzebob13
May 9 2008, 03:05 PM
wow...very cool...are the original life-action actors also doing their voice?
The New Star Wars: The Clone Wars Trailer! Source: Warner Bros. Pictures May 9, 2008
The new trailer for Warner Bros. Pictures and Lucasfilm's Star Wars: The Clone Wars is now online. Directed by David Filoni from a Henry Gilroy script, the animated sci-fi action-adventure hits theaters on August 15 and leads into the TV series that will premiere this fall on Cartoon Network, followed by airings on TNT.
Star Wars: The Clone Wars will feature such favorite characters as Anakin Skywalker, Obi-Wan Kenobi and Padmé Amidala, along with brand-new heroes like Anakin's padawan learner, Ahsoka. Sinister villains – led by Palpatine, Count Dooku and General Grievous – are poised to rule the galaxy. Stakes are high, and the fate of the "Star Wars" universe rests in the hands of the daring Jedi Knights.
The New Star Wars: The Clone Wars Trailer! Source: Warner Bros. Pictures May 9, 2008
Youtube version:
whatsupbro
May 13 2008, 01:29 PM
ermm quite dissapointed wit the type of 3D they choose to use for a Movie.. I know they just want to minimize the cost but It'll be better if they make it with FF7 Movie quality
abc2005
May 13 2008, 02:05 PM
animations...sound fake. dun feel like it like real ppl. sorry for spoiling the mood. sunimase
how to save a life
May 13 2008, 02:23 PM
got han solo or not?
mukhlisz
May 13 2008, 03:43 PM
master yoda sounds so different. must be the midichlorians. i always knew that shit was whack..
well at least we're not gonna get any wooden performances
vivienne85
Jun 3 2008, 08:17 AM
finally something to look forward to in august
really miss all the lightsaber duels and the sound effects
spartacvs
Jun 3 2008, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(abc2005 @ May 13 2008, 02:05 PM)
animations...sound fake. dun feel like it like real ppl. sorry for spoiling the mood. sunimase
That was how I felt too when I took a look at the trailer. I’m really hoping that there would be more StarWars movies instead of animations.
HaVoC
Jun 3 2008, 11:08 AM
Its an opening for the Cartoon Network series. Animations fine for me. I'm not here to see "realistic" Star Wars. I'm just hooked to the battle scenes, sound effects and the story lines. However, I do think that it'll be lame if they do the Darth Vader- Luke reunion scene in 3D.
KayK
Jun 3 2008, 01:26 PM
i don't mind if the animation is not as "real" as the final fantasy movie quality as long as their movement is smooth and look natural; i enjoyed "the incredibles", "ice age" and "shrek" even though the animation does look cartoonish...
at least i can look forward to the lightsaber action...I believe it should be more intense and breathtaking than in the movies...
azfamy
Jun 3 2008, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(KayK @ Jun 3 2008, 01:26 PM)
i don't mind if the animation is not as "real" as the final fantasy movie quality as long as their movement is smooth and look natural; i enjoyed "the incredibles", "ice age" and "shrek" even though the animation does look cartoonish...
at least i can look forward to the lightsaber action...I believe it should be more intense and breathtaking than in the movies...
don't forget the last tmnt movie (forgot its title)... the animation was also very well done... got style
ATi_FANBOY
Jun 3 2008, 01:47 PM
this is going to be a cool movie.
i demand republic commando vs jedi next !!!!
squall_kay
Jun 4 2008, 02:21 AM
QUOTE(whatsupbro @ May 13 2008, 01:29 PM)
ermm quite dissapointed wit the type of 3D they choose to use for a Movie.. I know they just want to minimize the cost but It'll be better if they make it with FF7 Movie quality
nway this 3d movie looks more colorful than FF7 movie for me, as long its nice and smooth its ok...hope they will create more intense and nice battle when all those imaginary action can be implemented in animations
obefiend
Jun 4 2008, 09:45 AM
dear Mr Lucas
i've been a bif fan of yours since i was 5 years old. this is mainly due to the original star wars trilogy. just 2 years ago i finally manage to grab American Grafitti and THX1138 on dvd.
but lately i think you have been milking and whoring your franchise. why release clone wars again? the Genndy tatkowsky Cartoon Network series is suffiecnt enough to tell the back story. why release a CG movie?
please la Mr Lucas. create a new franchise please!
and yes..
can you please go back to using miniature and real effects? i am tired of CGI! look at LOTR.they use a mix of CGI and Bigatures. thats why the movie feel more satifying that Revenge of the Sith with all the CGI!!
Japan gets glimpse of 'Clone Wars' Star Wars event to offer clips of film, TV series
TOKYO -- Japanese fans will see clips from Lucasfilm Animation's "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" at Star Wars Celebration Japan, a three-day event in Tokyo starting July 19.
"Clone Wars" director Dave Filoni will fill in fans on the pic's production in a Q&A with Japanese animator Atsushi Takeuchi, whose credits include "Ghost in the Shell" and "The Sky Crawlers."
Fans will also get a glimpse of an episode of the "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" TV series that will air this fall in the U.S., as well as meet "Star Wars" actors including Mark Hamill, the original Luke Skywalker, and Anthony Daniels, the original C-3PO.
"Star Wars: The Clone Wars." opens in the U.S. on Aug. 15 and in Japan on Aug. 23, with Warner distribbing.
Trust me, I really wanted to go & be the first to watch it to report back...
... but after checking, the freakin entrance ticket is too bloody high! I bet Danny Choo would go anyway
Calvin871989
Jul 7 2008, 12:11 AM
im never gonna watch this CGI crap
seriously... they just like spoiled the whole start wars movies...
why mot make it into a movie? why CGI for?
narutokun83
Jul 7 2008, 02:13 AM
Sitting here and reading all your replies... i guess no one here watch the 5 minutes shorts they showed on Cartoon Network couple of months (weeks, days... didn't specifically remember the deal there) before the launch of ROTS. Using Gendy Tartovsky's cartoonish design, that is the reason why they didn't use *blah blah FF:AC blah blah* or make it more realistic... there is already a mini- mini-series... what they are doing now is compiling it, CGI it and bring it to the big screen. Having real actors doing it will halt the OTT light saber we're about to see here. Well, i for 1 is excited over it.
zhenyang
Jul 11 2008, 04:21 PM
finally gonna see it on big screen...
firedauz
Jul 29 2008, 09:01 AM
New Star Wars: The Clone Wars TV Spots
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.