carcraze66
Feb 12 2008, 07:50 PM
hi there sifu,i keep on thinking how to fund some money for my canon eos 350d......if i go out and do as a parttime photographer at wedding occasion or what,people wont trust me coz my age.........but how about selling my photo to those magazine or what?? i heard that one of my friend say can sell photos to malaysia magazine..is it true?? i mean travel photo..for travel magazine.......got?? anyone here tried before???
Feb 12 2008, 08:05 PM
aiks..whats your age btw ??
Hate some adults dont know "kids" is younger than them, but pro-er than those adults
MR.Shiney
Feb 12 2008, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Feb 12 2008, 07:50 PM)
hi there sifu,i keep on thinking how to fund some money for my canon eos 350d......if i go out and do as a parttime photographer at wedding occasion or what,people wont trust me coz my age.........but how about selling my photo to those magazine or what?? i heard that one of my friend say can sell photos to malaysia magazine..is it true?? i mean travel photo..for travel magazine.......got?? anyone here tried before???

hey dude, i hate people who think like that. age does not matter.
to gain trust from client, go make yourself a portfolio of your work
and show it to them. what do you think im shooting free wedding for?
now, i've met alot of young enthusiastic photographer. and their
photos are superb.
people will respect you if you showed your work, i myself
involved in psp modding long ago. people call me sifu
and surprised im half their age.
orenzai
Feb 12 2008, 08:59 PM
ya..i hate it too...coz they think we budak dunno anything..omg... how to make a port folio that can impress people? got example? i think i am same age as carcraze...need some fund for my lenses also..thanks
dgrebel
Feb 12 2008, 09:00 PM
hurm.. it all depends.. age does matter if u r really into photography since the film slr days. it shows your maturity when it comes to playing with light. but speaking of trend and fashion, all those dreamy artistic pictures are becoming obsolete ever since digital image reproduction kicks in the industry.
basically, photos that are crisp clear( no visible noise and all ), well retouched,post processed can be sell off as stock photos. megapixels and format matter if the buyer needs to print it in a large scale as featured on billboards.
carcraze66
Feb 12 2008, 09:26 PM
ya,i agree,age does not matter,i;m 15 this year.........i also know some of the people like to see people like aiyah,how old are u,u know what??
Added on February 12, 2008, 9:27 pmya,i agree,age does not matter,i;m 15 this year.........i also know some of the people like to see people like aiyah,how old are u,u know what??
Feb 12 2008, 09:28 PM
then you reply him : "wanna duel ? with

<-- this face "
timothyy
Feb 12 2008, 09:31 PM
Well, if I were to get married and depending my once in a life time wedding photo on a 17 yrs old kid... I definitely won't want to even if he has got good portfolio.
Sad to say...
But we were 17 yrs old before and we know how a 17 yrs old act and react. Who knows, after some frustrating shots, he might just walk off.
But age aside, portfolio is good. Try giving free photo sessions to people for e.g. wedding, occasions, CNY or whatever. I am planning to do this too to pay off my camera. Ha! ha! Current score : 0. Ha! Ha! No one knows I wanna give free photo shooting as yet.
Feb 12 2008, 09:32 PM
btw, Im 17years old this year...
and...you know lah...those pure old photographer will looks down on we kids...
dgrebel
Feb 12 2008, 09:35 PM
not if the pure photographer is shorter then u. lol jk jk..
carcraze66
Feb 12 2008, 09:50 PM
almost all think like that,but luckily i can help my relative to become her OP on her wedding...........haha
azmihamzah
Feb 12 2008, 09:54 PM
i'm 24 this year, just start photography seriously 3 months ago. Since then i got 3 paid jobs without having any portfolio.
Age does not matter, but the way you present yourself to the client does matter.
fcbarcelona-my
Feb 12 2008, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Feb 12 2008, 09:54 PM)
i'm 24 this year, just start photography seriously 3 months ago. Since then i got 3 paid jobs without having any portfolio.
Age does not matter, but the way you present yourself to the client does matter.
nice work dude!
if age really does matter..then try build up ur own online portfolio 1st.let all ppl recognize ur work. fotopages was one of a good platform to start. u can see there a lot of ppl being a wedding photographer as their part time job
dgrebel
Feb 12 2008, 11:08 PM
ramai rupanya melayu kat sini.. lol
fcbarcelona-my
Feb 12 2008, 11:16 PM
erk? ramai lah......
hanafinoor
Feb 12 2008, 11:24 PM
Hi guys, I am 40 and just starting in DSLR..my opinion even if you re ten doesnt matter...confidence does matter. In weddings or events if you are too shy...will be a minus to get natural photos. My 14 year old nephew took great pic...'cant display here' always get candid photos and interesting photos ..i guess becoz he is confident with himself...with an attitude that easily blend in the crowds...cheers n gd luck to all of you.
dgrebel
Feb 12 2008, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(hanafinoor @ Feb 12 2008, 11:24 PM)
Hi guys, I am 40 and just starting in DSLR..my opinion even if you re ten doesnt matter...confidence does matter. In weddings or events if you are too shy...will be a minus to get natural photos. My 14 year old nephew took great pic...'cant display here' always get candid photos and interesting photos ..i guess becoz he is confident with himself...with an attitude that easily blend in the crowds...cheers n gd luck to all of you.
hye. btw, in our country, shooting with 10-22mm is like a must since most houses are cramped. if u abit introvert, getting a telephoto lens is a must.
orenzai
Feb 12 2008, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Feb 12 2008, 09:26 PM)
some of the people like to see people like aiyah,how old are u,u know what??
Added on February 12, 2008, 9:27 pmya,i agree,age does not matter,i;m 15 this year.........i also know some of the people like to see people like aiyah,how old are u,u know what??

totally agree with this... yea there is this kind of people, so its kinda hard...
QUOTE(168257061 @ Feb 12 2008, 09:32 PM)
btw, Im 17years old this year...
and...you know lah...those pure old photographer will looks down on we kids...

how do you define pure old photographer?
as far as i know in the photography community i am in, people that are photographers themselves will know that age doesnt matter, its the creativity that does... only those that are not familiar with photography, they will doubt your merits due to your age...
as one of the members said that older photographers play with lighting better...uh.. dont quite agree with that, its the artistic "eye" tat you havei n yrself... yeah...older photogs may have more experience in photo shooting. Thus exposed to more types of diff lighting. However, i guess if a 10yo photographer take lighting as first priority and keeps on experimenting diff lightings i think he would be better than at least a handful of photographers that are older but just started exploring photography
goliath
Feb 13 2008, 12:04 AM
To young guns out there, don't feel let down. Lemme show something inspiring :
Joey LawrenceHe's only 18 ~ 19 years old..
clemong_888
Feb 13 2008, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(goliath @ Feb 13 2008, 12:04 AM)
To young guns out there, don't feel let down. Lemme show something inspiring :
Joey LawrenceHe's only 18 ~ 19 years old..

his pictures are just amazing and to top photographers,age don't matter. if u think u're being looked down because of your age then maybe you should re-evaluate yourself and think what's missing and how to improve on it. and as one forummer said, confidence, not age matters.
MR.Shiney
Feb 13 2008, 01:16 PM
here, first get some money and build yourself a custom album.
show it to them, i disagree people will look down on people like
MY age. SHOW them what you can do. then, it all depends on the
client decision whether to take you or not.
im 17. started 3 months ago.
i got my own card, hand it out to others when you're
tumpang someone else's wedding or something. dont be afraid
to make new friends. i made a lot of good friends, a photographer
for HUJAN a DJ who worked under his son's event company. lots.
they'll keep you in mind whether to take you. you'll be connected
and in touch with them. once your rep builds up. you can get
them in no time.
orenzai
Feb 13 2008, 06:03 PM
mr shiney... teach me how to make a nice album/portfolio? thanks...
ifer
Feb 13 2008, 07:09 PM
ohh these young photographers...
what sort of photography services do you guys provide?
i have some 5 carats diamonds necklaces that i need someone to photograph.
orenzai
Feb 13 2008, 08:23 PM
omg...i like taking product shots... too bad i am from EM which, i think you are most probably from WM... i am willing to shot for events maybe...or product shots,brochures...anything other than portrait photo series as i am not good in that field... heh...
dgrebel
Feb 13 2008, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 13 2008, 07:09 PM)
ohh these young photographers...
what sort of photography services do you guys provide?
i have some 5 carats diamonds necklaces that i need someone to photograph.
i see that u r a doctor. i can shoot them for u for free..
carcraze66
Feb 13 2008, 09:22 PM
ifer,ur 5 carats diamond ask people shoot must all wear sunglasses,coz too shiny.......btw mr.shiney,i should make friend with u too.........haha
orenzai
Feb 13 2008, 10:26 PM
ya lor... we should take mr shiney as our guide...
MR.Shiney
Feb 14 2008, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(orenzai @ Feb 13 2008, 06:03 PM)
mr shiney... teach me how to make a nice album/portfolio? thanks...
first, it might gt your head spinning. you need to came up with 22 templates.
in photoshop must be 10x12 RESOLUTION : 300, the resolution is important.
then print them out with an extra layer on top for extra protection. get ready
to spend 300-400 bucks for it.
QUOTE(orenzai @ Feb 13 2008, 08:23 PM)
omg...i like taking product shots... too bad i am from EM which, i think you are most probably from WM... i am willing to shot for events maybe...or product shots,brochures...anything other than portrait photo series as i am not good in that field... heh...
taking photos of shiny objects is NOT easy, you need a proper guide to get it well.
i've read in photoplus there is a guide how to shoot shiny things without the reflective
effect. later i'll try and post here. loved to do it, but dont have proper eq.
QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Feb 13 2008, 09:22 PM)
ifer,ur 5 carats diamond ask people shoot must all wear sunglasses,coz too shiny.......btw mr.shiney,i should make friend with u too.........haha
yeah, dont be shy. add me @ myspace.com/edinor
QUOTE(orenzai @ Feb 13 2008, 10:26 PM)
ya lor... we should take mr shiney as our guide...
lol
dgrebel
Feb 14 2008, 01:15 PM
how about this? i give it a direct flash from the side so that the shadows bounce back to give details to the crystal.
MR.Shiney
Feb 14 2008, 01:35 PM
looked nice though, try it on a black background
dgrebel
Feb 14 2008, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Feb 14 2008, 01:35 PM)
black background too common already.. hehe.. just wanna try something new
this is the hdr version
szyap
Feb 14 2008, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Feb 14 2008, 01:35 PM)
ya...will hv nice effect if using black/dark light to shine on it
ifer
Feb 14 2008, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Feb 13 2008, 08:33 PM)
i see that u r a doctor. i can shoot them for u for free..
ahahaa
why everyone said i am a doctor?
i am not a doctor.
2 years ago, i was doing a coffee table book for a local hospital and i need to go into the operating theatre to photograph an open heart surgery and i need to dress up like a medical staff when i was in the theatre. everything need to be sterile and that includes my cameras and tripod and camera bag.
i am not a doctor. ahahaa! i am a photography lecturer/photographer
come see my exhibition at valentine willie fine art gallery at bangsar
www.vwfa.net/cut
MR.Shiney
Feb 14 2008, 08:31 PM
the point of using a black background is that the light wont bounce back.
dgrebel
Feb 14 2008, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 14 2008, 08:26 PM)
ahahaa
why everyone said i am a doctor?
i am not a doctor.
2 years ago, i was doing a coffee table book for a local hospital and i need to go into the operating theatre to photograph an open heart surgery and i need to dress up like a medical staff when i was in the theatre. everything need to be sterile and that includes my cameras and tripod and camera bag.
i am not a doctor. ahahaa! i am a photography lecturer/photographer
come see my exhibition at valentine willie fine art gallery at bangsar
www.vwfa.net/cut
doctorate in photography
still doctor what.. hahaha...
so, how? need my assistance? i'll be willing to do it for free. just for the experience.
orenzai
Feb 14 2008, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Feb 14 2008, 12:27 PM)
first, it might gt your head spinning. you need to came up with 22 templates.
in photoshop must be 10x12 RESOLUTION : 300, the resolution is important.
then print them out with an extra layer on top for extra protection. get ready
to spend 300-400 bucks for it.
taking photos of shiny objects is NOT easy, you need a proper guide to get it well.
i've read in photoplus there is a guide how to shoot shiny things without the reflective
effect. later i'll try and post here. loved to do it, but dont have proper eq.
yeah, dont be shy. add me @ myspace.com/edinor
lol

i now its not easy...thats why i like challenges

you still have tell us how you make yr own album...
ifer
Feb 15 2008, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Feb 14 2008, 08:53 PM)
doctorate in photography
still doctor what.. hahaha...
so, how? need my assistance? i'll be willing to do it for free. just for the experience.
currently i do not have anything to photograph except some portraits of kids (6 months to 6 years old)
it's for the ministry of health booklet for diet for kids.
if u have a kid that falls within this age group, do let me know. hehee!
dgrebel
Feb 15 2008, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 15 2008, 08:47 AM)
currently i do not have anything to photograph except some portraits of kids (6 months to 6 years old)
it's for the ministry of health booklet for diet for kids.
if u have a kid that falls within this age group, do let me know. hehee!
owh.. i'll go make one today.. hehe
i got small2 cousins back in melaka.. donno when they are coming to subang.. btw, i got some pics of them.. taken earlier with my prvious 350d and 300d..
check it out here..
http://ahmadsyafeeq.slide.com
MR.Shiney
Feb 15 2008, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(orenzai @ Feb 14 2008, 10:48 PM)
i now its not easy...thats why i like challenges

you still have tell us how you make yr own album...
i already told you what

make 22 templates, must be 10x12 resolution 300 each.
print them out accordingly with another coating for extra protection.
then slot them inside the scrap book. im just on my way making my 6th
template

bloody hard.
orenzai
Feb 15 2008, 09:45 AM

sorry...i read only a postion thats why missedo ut...

is there any detailed guide in the net? coz not really familiar with templates and resolution thingy...
ifer
Feb 15 2008, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Feb 15 2008, 08:49 AM)
owh.. i'll go make one today.. hehe
i got small2 cousins back in melaka.. donno when they are coming to subang.. btw, i got some pics of them.. taken earlier with my prvious 350d and 300d..
check it out here..
http://ahmadsyafeeq.slide.comoh i need it by this sunday ler
kids below the age of 6 having breakfast or any type of meals in happy faces.
dgrebel
Feb 16 2008, 02:10 AM
QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 15 2008, 02:11 PM)
oh i need it by this sunday ler
kids below the age of 6 having breakfast or any type of meals in happy faces.

damn.. i am going for my charity work at primary school today.. cannot count meh? i brought my 30d with me anyway.
carcraze66
Feb 16 2008, 01:38 PM
wah........why sudenly change topic to diamond......haha
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.