Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Ragnarok Online DS: Standalone Action RPG
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch > Nintendo
Pages: 1, 2
firedauz
Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ragnar%C3%B6k_Online_DS
Ragnarok Online DS is a game based on the MMORPG Ragnarok Online, and is scheduled to be released sometime in 2008.

GungHo Online Entertainment, Inc., the company that hosts the Japanese server of Ragnarok Online, announced it will expand its business for video game consoles, and Ragnarok is the second of 3 games for Nintendo DS to be released by them, along with Aqua Zone DS and Flower Arrangement DS.

It is currently unknown if the massively multiplayer feature will be kept in the DS version of the game, but it will be able to live chat with other players.

It will not be MMO though.
Source:http://www.gamegrep.com/news/3163-ragnarok_online_ds_will_not_be_mmo/
The recently announced title for DS, Ragnarok Online DS, has been confirmed by the developers, GungHo, not to be a MMO. Instead the game will be a standalone Action RPG based on the series. The game will still use the Wi-Fi functions of the DS but, at the moment, exactly how is not known.

It's coming to PSP as well biggrin.gif
Source: http://www.nintendic.com/news/778
    * The game is to be based off the popular Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game from the PC;
    * This edition is set to make full use of the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection for online play;
    * Wi-Fi will also be used in conjunction with offline promotions and extra downloadable content, hinting that there is an offline mode included as well;
    * There are currently 2.5 million Ragnarok Online accounts in Japan, so the company is expecting the Nintendo DS game to at least reach the 100,000 units mark in its home territory or be deemed a disappointment;
    * GungHo also has plans to bring out some other DS games, such as Aquazon DS and Flower Arrangement DS;
    * GungHo owns various development teams, such as GameArts, Takara and Brocoli, all of which are set to develop new console titles in the near future;
    * There are also titles in the pipeline for the PlayStation Portable.

myst3
wow~!! great news smile.gif can't wait to try it rclxm9.gif
firedauz
Hehehe its old news really (June/July last year), just highlighting it up because its due for release this year thumbup.gif
Alone
so... it has a real storyline or you just play your own game with yourself in your own world alone? =.=
hwa107
my guess it's just like Maple Story DS, you play alone in the world. btw the screen shot look fake though lol biggrin.gif
Leto Kynes
Would be pretty cool IMO if they made the necessary changes (to suit single-player instead of MMO) biggrin.gif can't wait to check out some previews!
sniperz
i'll wait for a DS for my own then gg
fazco85
QUOTE(hwa107 @ Feb 11 2008, 01:13 PM)
my guess it's just like Maple Story DS, you play alone in the world. btw the screen shot look fake though lol biggrin.gif

lol, seconded hmm.gif

if its true btw, cant wait to try it smile.gif
benQue
hmm.. nice....
we just wait
Pip_X
I think it's something like FFCC: ROF.
Cant wait for it.
Hopefully can multiplay like FFCC: ROF as well.
PaiGeWonG
i saw the release date 18th December 2008 smile.gif in Japanese
navilink
Japanese only ah? sien! the graphic looks very nice!
Voxdei
HEAL PLZ
RES PLZ
HEAL PLZ
RES PLZ

LFG LFG LFG olololololo...

i thought i left that damn thing a long time ago.
simpledegree
huhu.. so long time to wait, now they say coming out in december in jap only? hahahahahaha. im looking forward for the english one.
hafez13
woah i hope the gameplay is same like pc 1 .. smile.gif
Criollo
How u gonna press ure hotkeys liddat..... touchscreen??

Imagine Asura...

Inhale *touch*>critical explosion *touch*>inhale *touch*> asu.... *died*

=.=
ShinAsuka
yes most of the time using touchscreen
5zal06
when it release?

maple story ds?
nver heard any news now
ShinAsuka
somewhere on december
japanese version tho
no news on english version
hafez13
dec 08 for japanese..
wanna see screenshot...

drool.gif
firedauz
kk when I get it later, I'll post a video biggrin.gif
ShinAsuka
fire
kejap nanti we play together tongue.gif
hafez13
...what..
u ..played..edy .. shocking.gif
PaiGeWonG
RAGNAROK ONLINE DS IS OUT NOW ! but japanese ~ sweat.gif

rhoyo
currently playing the japanese version laugh.gif .. not too bad . but the touch screen attack mode kinda slow tongue.gif
viledante
how to save ar?
everytime save, gets back at start of chapter.
the story is loooong. have to click2 many time sleep.gif
Criollo
Started playing, keeps telling me stories, don't have the patients to play yet hahaha
rhoyo
i think theres a menu there to save . its like tales of save mode thingy if im not mistaken . looks like after ragnarok will be tales of hearts . damn this month a lot of cool games coming to the ds ..
viledante
how to save again?
I saved, but once I close the DS, its load back at the beginning of the chapter, cannot save freely?
dkliew
using the kafra to save. smile.gif not hard to read for the japanese.
true got to clicked a lot for the story word~

seriously a good game to bring back the RO memories~
for story mode u cant change charactor dye n sex.

i think only can use wifi lan game when in the geffen tower?
so easi to get those card :3 just get a whisper card at the first whisper i killed.

viledante
kafra?hope got free teleport service tongue.gif .just got out from the cave, story too long.
looks like have to wait for the english version lah sng sleep.gif
ShinAsuka
haha for sure i will play japs version
dun wan wait tongue.gif
hafez13
argh.damn lucky u all understand japanese..
wonder when will we get english release? hmm.gif
unrealweapon
QUOTE(hafez13 @ Dec 16 2008, 01:23 PM)
argh.damn lucky u all understand japanese..
wonder when will we get english release? hmm.gif

Eng version , i dun think is that soon or forever will , but a user translated version shud come, only for legit users

http://www.gamefaqs.com/portable/ds/data/941910.html
hafez13
oic,maybe just play without understand it la.. sweat.gif
dkliew
with the RO emote. u can roughly get what the conversation about smile.gif

as a ROholic. the story is all about the RO loot n stuff. just play it n u will go through very fast....

but sometimes the conversation seriously long~ lol...

p/s: the way of casting skill is fun. doublestraife gonna press n hold on the target monster...

u can change any job u want easily smile.gif currently playing archer.
will try wiz. heard the way casting firewall is fun.
ShinAsuka
no time to play now also sweat.gif

Added on December 17, 2008, 7:02 pmfrom what i see, at first only can change to 2-1 job
i think 2-2 only can be unlocked later on
ShinAsuka
some infos
first job change @ job lvl10, same like PC RO
second job change @ job lvl30

players able to switch job line (ex: swordman > acolyte ..etc)
panalty: base level cut by half, job level down to lvl1

drop rate considered high, unlike PC RO doh.gif
hafez13
damn,have u tried wifi?
ShinAsuka
cant find any option for wifi
i think need to clear main story line first
dkliew
just able to Lan with friend. u got to go to the tower near the anthell. at the bottom right portal.

in that tower u can challenge the monster. change the dye etc for the lan game+wifi mode.
u get 2~4 holes weapon and other cool stuff when u won the challenge smile.gif
its cool.

When the time u spent more than 8000~10000Z in the tool shop.
u will be granted the most welcome custome. then u can buy butterflyWings.
mean u can warp back to town.
Flywings = able to warp out from dungeon.

pikacu
when this game out in english, let me know.. tongue.gif
ShinAsuka
lan only?
i tot is WFC enabled
dkliew
there is 3 option there to choose. i think maybe wife is the 3rd?
didnt try yet.

ShinAsuka
should hv la haha
cos got the blue WFC logo tongue.gif

Added on December 19, 2008, 1:32 amhaha seems like can reborn wor
named "break the limit" lulz
need to hit max job lvl, then become novice back
FirezZ
what is kafra ? hmmseems at the map there i keep on looping looping looping around .. duh .. saw 2 guys (guards) dono say wat ..kenot go further... another guard outside a ... stg like temple..kenot go in also .. duh
tink need to wait for english version onli know what is tat
lol

damn recheck on the game. .my option t o continue playing gone .. :S the saved game was like.. damn long time ago . duh ...
wasting my time if dono how to save the game
haha
ShinAsuka
kafra is the girl in maid alike uniform
the one you saw when entered the town
the looping area you mentioned is the desert maze

if dunno japanese, it is better just wait for english version
else you will just hang there dunno where to go and dunno wat they saying
FirezZ
oo kafra isthat gurl . i c i c.. tongue.gif
ngekngek...i will reply again tongue.gif while waiting for the english version .. since got ntg to do now biggrin.gif
thanks ShinAsuka
ShinAsuka
if wan to solo the tower
best to use either very high agi or very high vit

just obtained golden thief bug card haha
hafez13
ade card??
gile syok laugh.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.