Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49
demio121
QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jul 17 2008, 10:29 PM)
Guys.. wanna ask u who have own G900..

1. Can we change the delivery sms report alert sound?? Why is the alert sound is the same with the sms sound?? it confuses me
2. Do u guys think the camera button is a bit hard to press??
3. Why the contact picture which appears as sms notification is so small one??

Can any of u guys clarify this?? Thanks..  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

1. dunno
2. yes i agree
3. yes its small but i dunno why.

welcome to G900.

BTW, after using the G900 close to 2 weeks my G900 hang last nite. First i notice that the keypad light is not switch on when i active the phone. I restart the phone. the phone manage to start but totally no response. I have to restart again (by pressing the ON button) and then all goes back to normal.

for additional language, goto the SE website support area and down load the language pack.
whoopa
what is the rrp price ? ocbc offer rm1699 le good or not ma ?
Jeffery
Why so quiet adi? Bump bump. Quite sad this baby dropped price adi... now around RM1375...
EmoPunkz
yea its price keep dropping drastically.
must be due to d low demand @@
at 1st sight at the specs, it looked impressing.
but seems like many problems only @@
Jeffery
QUOTE(EmoPunkz @ Jul 20 2008, 02:35 PM)

ya at first really got alot of problem. But after master reset and few charges on the battery. My g900 now can open all applications in my phone (27 tasks) including google map + 4 windows in internet browser + playing music background without hang. It turns out pretty fast as a symbian phone and the battery life is quite ok adi. Medium usage can last for 2.5 days.
michael9413
QUOTE(EmoPunkz @ Jul 20 2008, 02:35 PM)

hmm... i think that is because the Ori come out already...
well new firmware may have a lots of bugs...
i own a few new SE Phone... they will give out revision of firmware very soon... wink.gif
demio121
i try not to read post about price cuz it makes me sad.

u got google map??? does it have KL map?
Jeffery
QUOTE(demio121 @ Jul 21 2008, 01:04 AM)
i try not to read post about price cuz it makes me sad.

u got google map??? does it have KL map?

got wor, I tried with my G900 wif WIFI. Loading very fast. And surprising, it detected my current area and show by default. but i wonder is there any map pack?
penguinmalas
got it one yesterday...
my ori set (1 year warranty from SE) + bt earphone + sandisk 2gb + japan made screen protector + golla pouch for RM1690.00..
still explore my baby...smile.gif
demio121
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jul 21 2008, 12:31 PM)
got wor, I tried with my G900 wif WIFI. Loading very fast. And surprising, it detected my current area and show by default. but i wonder is there any map pack?

correct if i m wrong.... GMM require internet connection to work, right?

I was exploring Google Map yesterday after reading your post. KL and surrounding area map looks good. If the mobile version require internet i think its kinda defeat the purpose in MY cuz our wifi/3G coverage is not exactly top notch.
masterzombie
Got mine on Friday for 1450 (black AP biggrin.gif ) full set with screen protector.
Its not particularly fast, but it is pretty reliable, which is ok for me.

Btw, the new firmware is already out, but not for the Singapore CDA sad.gif
And I can't find out how to flash it to generic world or something else. Does anyone here know?

And one more stupid question. I made a bunch of notes. Now how do I make them sticky notes? So that they show in standby mode??? blink.gif It should be obvious...but its not :|
demio121
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Jul 21 2008, 04:31 PM)
Got mine on Friday for 1450 (black AP  biggrin.gif ) full set with screen protector.
Its not particularly fast, but it is pretty reliable, which is ok for me.

Btw, the new firmware is already out, but not for the Singapore CDA sad.gif
And I can't find out how to flash it to generic world or something else. Does anyone here know?

And one more stupid question. I made a bunch of notes. Now how do I make them sticky notes? So that they show in standby mode??? blink.gif It should be obvious...but its not :|

wat is Singapore CDA?
masterzombie
QUOTE(demio121 @ Jul 21 2008, 04:33 PM)
wat is Singapore CDA?

Well, from what I understand from reading posts on the internet:
The firmware of Sony Ericsson smartphones has two parts, one is the PDA and Phone software (the Symbian OS), and the CDA (which is usually fixed).
The PDA/Phone software is what runs on the phone, the CDA is for identification of the phone's region. There are different ones like Arabic (for Middle East), Hong Kong, Hebrew, German, Singapore, World, etc.
When you run the Sony Ericsson Update Service, it checks your phone's CDA first, then sees if theres an update for that region.

There is already a firmware upgrade out which fixes some issues (forgot what), and its out for World, Arabic, Hebrew, German, and some other ones, but NOT for Singapore mad.gif

I think the World CDA is the one that receives upgrades first.

Btw, you can see the version your phone has by using this code:
CODE
>*<<*<*
when its in standby mode. Then open Service Information, then Software Information.
My CDA is R6H815, and the phone software is R9L004.

And can you please tell me how to sticky the note? smile.gif

Added on July 21, 2008, 6:03 pm sad.gif
I don't think it can display notes in standby.
Not without an app anyway.
charles_nkj
oh cool... world firmware is out...
btw, does that covers the camera issues as well?? whistling.gif whistling.gif
it seems that the price had settled down.... nod.gif nod.gif
anyway, im ain't getting this fone 4 now..... not till the end of my exam season tongue.gif tongue.gif
*must resist the temptation* drool.gif drool.gif
demio121
this is wat is see after i do tat <* thing...

PDA software: 1203-8784 R6H815
Phone software: 1203-6566 R9L004
Bluetooth software: 1200-5567 R1D
CDA: 1213-2204 R1A

looks like the code to launch soe nuke warhead to me. gone are the days i pick up the phone and dial and tok...!!!

Last i try to update, PC Suite told me everything a OK... no update available.
masterzombie
You might be able to upgrade the firmware then.
Did you try it?
---
Edit: Aahhh, I didn't even read your post completely tongue.gif
Jeffery
Ermm... wat's wrong with the camera? Guys, try firmware wif AP phone b4? I not dare to update myself. haha...
demio121
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Jul 21 2008, 10:28 PM)
You might be able to upgrade the firmware then.
Did you try it?
---
Edit: Aahhh, I didn't even read your post completely tongue.gif

will try later today or when i gto like 2hr of my life to burn. This SE update procedure is not exactly for dummies.
masterzombie
By the way, if anyone has installed Swiss Manager on their G900, can you check the system tab? It detects my phone as W960 :S
When I connected it to XS++ it also detected it as W960 :S
I'm guessing both the programs have phone models listed internally and not reading the firmware of the phone or anything.
demio121
again, i try to update and again there is no update available cuz i got the latest... @ least tat is wat the update program tells me.

hmm... SE juz release HPM-88 headphone with noice cancelling. man... i m so gonna be broke again.
Jeffery
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Jul 22 2008, 07:37 PM)
By the way, if anyone has installed Swiss Manager on their G900, can you check the system tab? It detects my phone as W960 :S
When I connected it to XS++ it also detected it as W960 :S
I'm guessing both the programs have phone models listed internally and not reading the firmware of the phone or anything.

yup I installed Swiss Manager Pro 1.60, it detects as w960i too. I find it's quite difficult to connect WIFI most of the time. But once i delete the previous profile and scan again it can connect again. But the process is quite time consuming.

And is it possible to check the sms counter?
michael9413
QUOTE(demio121 @ Jul 22 2008, 10:31 PM)
again, i try to update and again there is no update available cuz i got the latest... @ least tat is wat the update program tells me.

hmm... SE juz release HPM-88 headphone with noice cancelling.  man... i m so gonna be broke again.

is ur set AP or Ori???
may be international version don have yet...
demio121
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 23 2008, 07:36 AM)
is ur set AP or Ori???
may be international version don have yet...

mine is original with Thorus warranty.
michael9413
weird... but is the international available...
maybe you can ask SE to do it for you...
leave there for 2~3 hours...
QIAN32
may i know G series is stand for what?
masterzombie
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jul 22 2008, 11:49 PM)
yup I installed Swiss Manager Pro 1.60, it detects as w960i too. I find it's quite difficult to connect WIFI most of the time. But once i delete the previous profile and scan again it can connect again. But the process is quite time consuming.

And is it possible to check the sms counter?

The WiFi problem is actually solved in the new firmware, but since we have the local CDA we can't upgrade now (not released for Singapore/Malaysia yet)

Can't find the messaging counter yet.

XS++ also doesn't work with this phone sad.gif so I can't change the CDA.
Jeffery
Finally got back my laptop, will try and install the firmware soon but not sure whether my AP phone can be updated thru SEUS.
michael9413
hmmm try u luck lo...
michael9413
QUOTE(QIAN32 @ Jul 23 2008, 01:05 PM)
may i know G series is stand for what?

SE New Naming.... smile.gif

refer that urself... smile.gif
Jeffery
sigh, can't update form SEUS, said that no update available. Today some weird stuff happened again. My reception signal is full but i got around 3 hrs that all incoming calls & sms can't reach to my phone but at the moment i can still call other people. I didn't touch any sys task like phone and etc yet it happened. After restarting it's ok already. I felt that this G900 even with full signal, calls and sms will not easily reached to the phone sometimes. Very weird and scary for me.
zamanjaafar
hi the g900 is one of the candidates for my next HP. Previously using N70.

is the music player software and general sound quality of mp3, aac playback of this model INFERIOR to any way to music players on W-series and XpressMusic models?
masterzombie
rclxm9.gif
I managed to change the CDA of my phone to Generic World 1!
And I've downloaded and installed the new firmware using SEUS biggrin.gif

I'll post the how tos if anyone needs it.

Added on July 24, 2008, 3:33 amThe menu is muuuuch faster in the new firmware biggrin.gif
The overall responsiveness is much better.
penguinmalas
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Jul 24 2008, 03:06 AM)
rclxm9.gif
I managed to change the CDA of my phone to Generic World 1!
And I've downloaded and installed the new firmware using SEUS biggrin.gif

I'll post the how tos if anyone needs it.

Added on July 24, 2008, 3:33 amThe menu is muuuuch faster in the new firmware biggrin.gif
The overall responsiveness is much better.

bro... i need it & please!!! icon_question.gif thumbup.gif
masterzombie
Ok, I'm writing a guide for it now.

Btw, you will lose any chinese support though. I think only the eastern CDAs (Hong Kong, Singapore, etc) support Chinese). If you need Chinese language you'll have to wait for the new firmware.
zamanjaafar
QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Jul 23 2008, 09:29 PM)
hi the g900 is one of the candidates for my next HP.  Previously using N70.

is the music player software and general sound quality of mp3, aac playback of this model INFERIOR to any way to music players on W-series and XpressMusic models?

halp.....need opinions on music player softwarez
demio121
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Jul 24 2008, 12:39 PM)
Ok, I'm writing a guide for it now.

Btw, you will lose any chinese support though. I think only the eastern CDAs (Hong Kong, Singapore, etc) support Chinese). If you need Chinese language you'll have to wait for the new firmware.

thank you very very much.

BTW, changing the CDA will voied warranty on my ori g900???
masterzombie
QUOTE(demio121 @ Jul 24 2008, 01:54 PM)

As far as I know...yes. But I only know from searching on google tongue.gif One guy's theory is if you put back the original CDA and firmware, no one will know. Not sure about this.

But mine is AP, and I'm leaving Malaysia, so warranty is no use for me.
letmein
The G700 and G900 retail for RM1,238 and RM1,560 respectively. Saw on TheStar today.
michael9413
that seems a good bargain...
still waiting for the C phones that yet to be available here
iRonTech
QUOTE(demio121 @ Jul 24 2008, 01:54 PM)

it will not void warranty smile.gif
westthen
guys pardon me for not reading the entire thread but i want to ask wat is the opinon of people using this phone?

i saw this phone today and it looks not bad...any pros and cons of the phone?
Jeffery
Don't know why this phone will suddenly not able to receive call even no application been close by the user. People nowadays complaining my phone not able to be called even signal bar is almost full and I was so innocent.
panasonic88
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jul 26 2008, 12:22 AM)
Don't know why this phone will suddenly not able to receive call even no application been close by the user. People nowadays complaining my phone not able to be called even signal bar is almost full and I was so innocent.

i am interested to find out, is there any solution to counter this kind of problem?

is it a hardware or a software problem? unsure.gif
Urban
hey guys and girl i just join in to this club ^^ just bought the phone today.... now charging for 8 hours cant wait till it finish charging hehehe
demio121
u dun hv to charge 8 hours anymore. those are the old days battery. anyway probably by the time you read this, u got a 8hrs baked battery.

welcome.
Urban
lol ur right... 8 hours later but i dont think my battery bakar already lol..... neway how long does it take to charge the phone to the max??
panasonic88
lol baked battery laugh.gif

2-3 hours should be sufficient.
Jeffery
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jul 26 2008, 12:33 AM)
i am interested to find out, is there any solution to counter this kind of problem?

is it a hardware or a software problem?  unsure.gif

i also don't know. If I use program to close the "phone" application maybe this can happen lar but I didn't so I also don't know why people find difficult to contact me. sad.gif
iRonTech
QUOTE(demio121 @ Jul 26 2008, 03:05 AM)
u dun hv to charge 8 hours anymore.  those are the old days battery.  anyway probably by the time you read this, u got a 8hrs baked battery.

welcome.

nod.gif Correct, especially nowadays SE using Li-Poly battery, 2.5 hours will be enough
panasonic88
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jul 26 2008, 12:06 PM)
i also don't know. If I use program to close the "phone" application maybe this can happen lar but I didn't so I also don't know why people find difficult to contact me.  sad.gif

could it be the sim card problem? hmm.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.