Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49
G-Izzat
It doesn't have jogdial but the d-pad is good enough.
angelayen
i personal prefer jog dial rather than keypad.
Jeffery
any major problem about the phone? Coz i'm seriously going to get this phone and i hope to use it for long term. ^^
squall_kay
QUOTE(angelayen @ Jun 21 2008, 10:00 PM)
i personal prefer jog dial rather than keypad.

they implement dpad in order to make it easy for one-hand use
davidmak
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jun 21 2008, 11:20 PM)
any major problem about the phone? Coz i'm seriously going to get this phone and i hope to use it for long term. ^^

Well its too early to tell. So far there's nothing serious. Its pretty stable for me even though this is my first time experience working with an UIQ phone. Used to hear a lot of stability problems with the UIQ since the P990 era but so far, the G900 has been promising.

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jun 21 2008, 11:28 PM)
they implement dpad in order to make it easy for one-hand use

Yeah, I prefer the D-pad more than the jog dial. The jog dial is useful with the P1i because most of the program icons are arranged in a list order. I think its most effective for scrolling a long list. The D-pad is better suited for grid arrangements of icons. I think it is the easiest to use for a new/typical user.

Actually the G900 can be thought as a product positioned below the P1i. The P1i has been revolutionary with the semi-qwerty keyboard and the jog dial like any flagship SE UIQ phones. The G900 however was targeted to users emphasizing on multimedia capabilities and so the usual T9 keypad and D-pad is the best combination for a non-business-critical user.
iRonTech
another review of G900 rclxms.gif http://blog.se-nse.net/reviews/sony-ericsson-g900-review/
jehutyz
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jun 21 2008, 11:44 PM)

In that review also said WLAN 802.11b/g.
angelayen
QUOTE(jehutyz @ Jun 22 2008, 12:11 AM)
In that review also said WLAN 802.11b/g.

previous post about SE white paper already state this part.
louis6
looks like G900 n G700 can hv their own thread since got users usin it ald...
acwc
2day i went to try this phone...really great!!!! and wanna to have one...but bcoz of no dark brown available and also the price is relatively higher....also, not all retailer have this phone on stock now...
davidmak
QUOTE(acwc @ Jun 22 2008, 12:46 AM)
2day i went to try this phone...really great!!!! and wanna to have one...but bcoz of no dark brown available and also the price is relatively higher....also, not all retailer have this phone on stock now...

Yeah, availability of dark brown is near zero. I still haven't come across someone using the dark brown or a retailer displaying this color yet. It is not available officially yet, the currently available ones are AP set. At least these are generic phones and not branded ones from other region. Take note that a typical sales package includes the bluetooth handsfree while some remove this item in order to offer a lower price. Current AP sets have Chinese character creation and reading of SMS as well as the usual English language so do insist on getting the proper set.

Although current AP sets are sold at the region of RM15xx (+/-100), we have no idea what is the pricing model for the original authorized set. I hope it is not lower otherwise the current AP price is like taking advantage on us for being first-to-market. Then again, we pay the price for owning it first and for buying AP. Kekekekeke! tongue.gif
acwc
QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 22 2008, 01:16 AM)
Yeah, availability of dark brown is near zero. I still haven't come across someone using the dark brown or a retailer displaying this color yet. It is not available officially yet, the currently available ones are AP set. At least these are generic phones and not branded ones from other region. Take note that a typical sales package includes the bluetooth handsfree while some remove this item in order to offer a lower price. Current AP sets have Chinese character creation and reading of SMS as well as the usual English language so do insist on getting the proper set.

Although current AP sets are sold at the region of RM15xx (+/-100), we have no idea what is the pricing model for the original authorized set. I hope it is not lower otherwise the current AP price is like taking advantage on us for being first-to-market. Then again, we pay the price for owning it first and for buying AP. Kekekekeke!  tongue.gif

u mean the price of the original set still unknown yet?? and the price of AP set will increase if the price of the original set is higher than expected?? is that what u mean??a bit blur...sorry
G-Izzat
What davidmak meant is that if the original price is RM1300-1400, it would be a shame since right now, the AP sets are around RM1400-1500. I hope you get what I mean. smile.gif

But yeah, the price of the original set is still unknown. And even if the price of the original set is higher, I'm sure the price of the AP set won't increase.
acwc
QUOTE(G-Izzat @ Jun 22 2008, 01:32 AM)
What davidmak meant is that if the original price is RM1300-1400, it would be a shame since right now, the AP sets are around RM1400-1500. I hope you get what I mean. smile.gif

But yeah, the price of the original set is still unknown. And even if the price of the original set is higher, I'm sure the price of the AP set won't increase.

icic..now understand d..hope AP price wont increase lo, coz i gothigh interest on this gadget....my acceptable price is 14XX..hehe
davidmak
QUOTE(acwc @ Jun 22 2008, 01:56 AM)
icic..now understand d..hope AP price wont increase lo, coz i gothigh interest on this gadget....my acceptable price is 14XX..hehe

Well assuming that the AP price is valid and correct, traditionally the original authorized unit will be higher. After all, authorized phones have always been higher than AP price due to lack of manufacturer warranty and other related stuffs. Price of authorized phones is usually RM100-500 (depending on unit) more expensive.

However, we need to consider that the SE G900 is positioned lower than SE P1i which selling around RM15xx now. So it still doesn't doesn't make sense to be higher or lower than AP price of RM1400-1500.
aQaNc3R
G900's camera does better job at outdoor for my usage so far

besides, is 4GB memory card compatible with G900 in term of smooth loading speed ?
davidmak
QUOTE(aQaNc3R @ Jun 22 2008, 12:36 PM)

besides, is 4GB memory card compatible with G900 in term of smooth loading speed ?

4GB is definitely ok with the G900. No words about 8GB SDHC though. And I agree that with enough light, G900's imaging capabilities are sufficient. However, for low light I still prefer N95.
aQaNc3R
QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 22 2008, 02:17 PM)
4GB is definitely ok with the G900. No words about 8GB SDHC though. And I agree that with enough light, G900's imaging capabilities are sufficient. However, for low light I still prefer N95.

then it's time to get myself one 4GB d

havent been trying any nokia's so far...

used to be with SE already,haha

can sms to be stored in memory card?

any software to alter its storing way?
acwc
isn't it the 1st batch of the hp is nt really stable???
G-Izzat
It should be stable.
acwc
wat's the cheapest price can get now???
G-Izzat
Probably around RM1350-1450.
Jeffery
Hey guys, I heard that it's signal reception is very bad and the SAR value is very high, will it affect our health with such value? Sorry it's too noob to ask these question. Coz i really going to get this phone instead of n82...

and and... how about the battery life? If normal use or light use can last for 3 days? planning to get one 8GB for it...
angelayen
QUOTE(aQaNc3R @ Jun 22 2008, 12:36 PM)

No worry about that as SE phone wouldn't lag bcoz of larger size of memory card, good example here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=18126228

p/s: as long not imitation card
cyew86
QUOTE(angelayen @ Jun 22 2008, 08:46 PM)
No worry about that as SE phone wouldn't lag bcoz of larger size of memory card, good example here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=18126228

according to the review, it wouldnt lag as bad as nokia counterpart as this phone is equipped with 128MB RAM albeit a slower 200Mhz ARM9 processor. correct me if i were wrong though smile.gif
angelayen
QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jun 22 2008, 09:15 PM)
according to the review, it wouldnt lag as bad as nokia counterpart as this phone is equipped with 128MB RAM albeit a slower 200Mhz ARM9 processor. correct me if i were wrong though smile.gif

nod.gif SE's handling memory better thank NK?
http://blog.se-nse.net/reviews/sony-ericsson-g900-review/
davidmak
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jun 22 2008, 07:18 PM)
Hey guys, I heard that it's signal reception is very bad and the SAR value is very high, will it affect our health with such value? Sorry it's too noob to ask these question. Coz i really going to get this phone instead of n82...

and and... how about the battery life? If normal use or light use can last for 3 days? planning to get one 8GB for it...

Well so far there are no scientific evidence that suggests that a higher SAR value will affect our health. The SAR value is a benchmark established with the purpose of helping us understand the amount of electromagnetic waves absorbed by bodily tissue. It does not discuss on the effects as a result of this.

I would have to agree with you that the signal reception is only mediocre but it is highly dependent of what telco network you're connected to and the geographic position you're at. Other than that, yeah signal reception is a little poor.
iRonTech
hmm.gif G900 SAR highest rate at 1.47W/kg
acwc
is that means it is not really good??
iRonTech
QUOTE(acwc @ Jun 23 2008, 08:02 AM)
is that means it is not really good??

din't you read davidmak posting at above?
angelayen
wow, look like the SAR value much higher than P1i ya laugh.gif
davidmak
QUOTE(angelayen @ Jun 23 2008, 01:27 PM)

Actually the SAR is a very confusing benchmark. The procedure of measuring SAR is tricky too. For example, if a mobile phone has its antenna located at the bottom of the phone away from the user's face, the resultant SAR value will be a lot lower. In comparison, if the antenna of the mobile phone is located on the top of the phone just below the mobile phone speaker, the SAR value will be higher.

Now the transmitting power from the phone must be high enough so that you get good reception and audio quality. Otherwise your phone will keep on searching for telco and end up using more battery power to stay connected to the telco base station. So most manufacturers will try to strike a balance between transmitting power, battery consumption and SAR value. They'll try to locate the best position to fit in the antenna without increasing SAR value too much.

We now have 50 years worth of history using wireless phones and so far we don't have a string of people dying of cancer yet. So I'm not concern. However, having said that we should practice good rationalism when it comes to these issues. Like reducing usage of mobile phone because they help us save money more than our health tongue.gif rclxms.gif

If SAR value of mobile phone is destructive, wait till you see gadget freaks sticking their bluetooth handsfree on their ears! Hahaha! biggrin.gif 2.4GHz electromagnetic waves pounding to and fro their handsets next to their genitals. Wait till you see that SAR value. Also, what about people living below those base stations? What about people living close to high-tension electrical cables that also emits powerful electromagnetic waves? What about the car that you drive? The spark plugs emits high powered waves too. Your iPods, in-house WIFI with those high gain antennas, radio sets, and walking around the street where our air is filled with noisy communication wireless link?
charles_nkj
hahaha... nice 1. thnx 4 the information
meaning for any of us who wish to go to shopping mall is like going in a microwave oven tongue.gif tongue.gif

aside from the sar value, hav any1 experience negative counterpart on it...
i liked this fone, but heard a lot of negative comments abt it.... vmad.gif vmad.gif

any help would be much appreciated. thnx in advance
doomx
QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 23 2008, 02:53 PM)
Actually the SAR is a very confusing benchmark. The procedure of measuring SAR is tricky too. For example, if a mobile phone has its antenna located at the bottom of the phone away from the user's face, the resultant SAR value will be a lot lower. In comparison, if the antenna of the mobile phone is located on the top of the phone just below the mobile phone speaker, the SAR value will be higher.

Now the transmitting power from the phone must be high enough so that you get good reception and audio quality. Otherwise your phone will keep on searching for telco and end up using more battery power to stay connected to the telco base station. So most manufacturers will try to strike a balance between transmitting power, battery consumption and SAR value. They'll try to locate the best position to fit in the antenna without increasing SAR value too much.

We now have 50 years worth of history using wireless phones and so far we don't have a string of people dying of cancer yet. So I'm not concern. However, having said that we should practice good rationalism when it comes to these issues. Like reducing usage of mobile phone because they help us save money more than our health  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif

If SAR value of mobile phone is destructive, wait till you see gadget freaks sticking their bluetooth handsfree on their ears! Hahaha! biggrin.gif 2.4GHz electromagnetic waves pounding to and fro their handsets next to their genitals. Wait till you see that SAR value. Also, what about people living below those base stations? What about people living close to high-tension electrical cables that also emits powerful electromagnetic waves? What about the car that you drive? The spark plugs emits high powered waves too. Your iPods, in-house WIFI with those high gain antennas, radio sets, and walking around the street where our air is filled with noisy communication wireless link?

Your view on SAR value scares the hell out of me. LOL tongue.gif
davidmak
QUOTE(charles_nkj @ Jun 23 2008, 04:31 PM)
meaning for any of us who wish to go to shopping mall is like going in a microwave oven tongue.gif  tongue.gif

QUOTE(doomx @ Jun 23 2008, 05:55 PM)
Your view on SAR value scares the hell out of me. LOL  tongue.gif

To be honest, you're right. It is like a microwave oven, but a very low powered one. tongue.gif Why do I say that? Lets look at the building construction material used for building shopping malls. The industry calls it sandwich, where we pile one floor on top of one floor and supported by beams and columns of concrete. Inside these concrete are hollow spaces filled by metal cage. The floor is filled with metal cage to increase surface support and spread the weight evenly. These cages in electromagnetic theory effectively makes it a Faraday Cage. It creates a shield which EM waves cannot escape or enter (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faraday_cage).

So if you would try to visualize, it is like a cave where EM or sound waves travel and bounce around creating echos. That is why we need more repeaters inside a building than outside in the open. Because these echos cancel each other out diminishing transmission power.

Alright, I'll let you guys relax. My point so far is, we've exposed to these 'potential dangers' all the time. If history is of any indication, we see no adverse effects yet. So no need to worry so much. Just enjoy your phones. (Fingers crossed tongue.gif )
aQaNc3R
QUOTE(angelayen @ Jun 22 2008, 08:46 PM)

then it's time to get one

angelayen
QUOTE(aQaNc3R @ Jun 23 2008, 08:56 PM)
then it's time to get one

to prevent data corrupted, never ever get imitation bcoz of cheaper nod.gif
davidmak
QUOTE(angelayen @ Jun 23 2008, 09:34 PM)
to prevent data corrupted, never ever get imitation bcoz of cheaper  nod.gif

But I have bought a 2GB M2 card which is at market price but do not know if its a counterfeit product. So how? cry.gif

So far it is working as it should. Have been stressing it with large pool files for read and write as well performing per sector disk scan. Seems ok to me. Lets hope it will continue to serve me for the lifetime of the phone (which is around 1 year, hahahaha! tongue.gif ).
squall_kay

izit rite?haha...dun think so....
b4 this, im using mpds imitation sony 1gb nothing bad happen...never corrupt..as fast as ori n save money more... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
even my friend using 4gb mpsd sony imitation, fine n good.... tongue.gif
now, im using sandisk 2gb m2 (ori) and at that time compare to genuine sony one, sandisk way cheaper n still rocks thumbup.gif
acwc
QUOTE(charles_nkj @ Jun 23 2008, 04:31 PM)
meaning for any of us who wish to go to shopping mall is like going in a microwave oven tongue.gif  tongue.gif

aside from the sar value, hav any1 experience negative counterpart on it...
i liked this fone, but heard a lot of negative comments abt it.... vmad.gif  vmad.gif

any help would be much appreciated. thnx in advance

may i know what are the bad comments that u heard??
aQaNc3R

then how is the price likes ?

2GB and 4Gb m2 ?
rayzrblade
smile.gif ATTN Potential Buyers smile.gif

Just to share some info with u guys whos goin to get a G900..

I did some survey in Lowyat and here..and found out that...

I asked 1 shop in LY and 3 sellers online..ALL 4 has the SAME supplier ..almost SAME price approx + - RM 10..

BUT the shop guy and 1 seller online..confirmed with me that the package INCLUDE the BT headset...

the other 2 doesnt...

then i told the 2 that doesnt include..then 1 of them reply me saying..starting this week..they START to come with FREE BT..

but the last 1 seller online..still insist saying NO BT is included..

well..just a reminder to u guys..be smart when u make purchase..do ur homework.. icon_rolleyes.gif
nicks
hoho how like that? malaysian sama malaysian also mau tipu ka? btw, the package is included with BT headset right
sunauto
QUOTE(angelayen @ Jun 23 2008, 01:27 PM)

Well, if you recall last time, most Ericsson hps top the list when it comes to SAR. I'm not too worried as I'm using a bluetooth headset all the time.
dirsly
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jun 24 2008, 02:59 AM)
Well, if you recall last time, most Ericsson hps top the list when it comes to SAR. I'm not too worried as I'm using a bluetooth headset all the time.

icic... but bluetooth user wont efect ths thing???confirm?
iRonTech
laugh.gif laugh.gif how you confirm SAR not (if)effect human?

although if you not carry any cellular phone, but those gsm signals full coverage our living area too, always around your side
davidmak
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jun 24 2008, 01:17 PM)
laugh.gif laugh.gif how you confirm SAR not (if)effect human?

although if you not carry any cellular phone, but those gsm signals full coverage our living area too, always around your side

Yeah, no choice also lar. Unless we go out and wear aluminum coated clothing lar. Then we're shielded. But don't walk in the rain though. tongue.gif

Anyway just tumpang this thread, anyone interested to get G900 can get from me. I have one unit available. Go to here --> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/726716 for more information. Thanks.
rayzrblade
QUOTE(nicks @ Jun 24 2008, 01:50 AM)
hoho how like that? malaysian sama malaysian also mau tipu ka? btw, the package is included with BT headset right

yes.. it does include..
davidmak
QUOTE(nicks @ Jun 24 2008, 01:50 AM)

Actually I have already inform here that the actual package include the BT headset. But yeah, those sellers wanna swallow the bluetooth headsets and sell separately I guess. The past weeks, I saw one person selling HBH-PV708 in loose packs for around RM100. So better insist on the inclusion of the headset. Not that it is high-end model but it is pretty useful when driving or cycling.
Travies
so dissapointing, 262k color again.. sigh sony, shd make it 16.7 million color d lar
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.