Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49
felixx
QUOTE(WhizzWork2005 @ Nov 8 2008, 05:13 PM)
I've checked SE websites, that G900 is supported up to 8GB of M2 cards...

But, does anyone tried using 2 Gb / 4GB and 8GB Cards??
Will it hang the phone? Coz, the shop asked me to buy max 2GB only.... else it will hang the phone? Does anyone tried putting higher memory before?

Thanks a lot...

i'm use 4gb M2..no problem after update firmware rclxms.gif
masterzombie
I've discovered that there ARE photo frames and clip arts in this phone too (same as the ones in the old SE phones. Even my old K500i has these).

But since they're low resolution, they're not available in the main camera program.

Create a new MMS and take a picture, and then you can add frames and clip arts to it. You get the same picture editor as in the old ones.
BloodyCrystal

Will it hang the phone? Coz, the shop asked me to buy max 2GB only.... else it will hang the phone? Does anyone tried putting higher memory before?

Thanks a lot...

Is it true that bigger memory card capacity cos the phone to lag more because more "power" needed to read the card???
Or bigger capacity actually means more space for the phone to run on???
Which is correct?
shimy
hey all the g900 users .. i m goin 2 get dis phone for my sis nex week but i hv nvr used SE hp b4 ..can u all guide me on wat shld i check for my new hp? n how 2 check de version of firmware?does de phone cum v de memory card in de package??thanks for de help ..
masterzombie
I don't think it matters at all. Just some older card reader firmwares could not support cards bigger than 2GB.

Added on November 8, 2008, 7:35 pm
QUOTE(shimy @ Nov 8 2008, 07:00 PM)
hey all the g900 users .. i m goin 2 get dis phone for my sis nex week but i hv nvr used SE hp b4 ..can u all guide me on wat shld i check for my new hp? n how 2 check de version of firmware?does de phone cum v de memory card in de package??thanks for de help ..

To check the firmware version, open the Main Menu, press(touch) the More button, and select System Information.
My firmware is Generic World, not Singapore (no Chinese support), and I just updated it, the latest one is 1203-8784 R6K842 (Organizer) and 1204-3148(CDA)
Theres no memory card with the phone, but maybe the shop might offer you a deal.
BlueWind
QUOTE(BloodyCrystal @ Nov 8 2008, 06:28 PM)
Is it true that bigger memory card capacity cos the phone to lag more because more "power" needed to read the card???
Or bigger capacity actually means more space for the phone to run on???
Which is correct?

Yes, it takes a lot of RAM for the phone to read the memory card. Especially when you stored many many things inside. Best to keep 2GB or less IMO.
cutiesbaby312
yeah.. i agree on sticking to 2GB is the best... for my case.. i almost used up the 2gb and now...and its kind of lag when viewing pictures using media sad.gif

Added on November 8, 2008, 9:33 pmanyway guys... changing yr firmware to generic world can make yr phone more attractive interms of.. changing yr phone fonts!!! YAY!!!
masterzombie
The new default theme, the black and red one is beautiful biggrin.gif
Also, transitions don't seem to be causing much lag now, so I left them on.
felixx
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Nov 8 2008, 06:16 PM)
I've discovered that there ARE photo frames and clip arts in this phone too (same as the ones in the old SE phones. Even my old K500i has these).

But since they're low resolution, they're not available in the main camera program.

Create a new MMS and take a picture, and then you can add frames and clip arts to it. You get the same picture editor as in the old ones.

that great info thanks masterzombie..btw how to save the edited pic to our folder?
masterzombie
QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 8 2008, 09:40 PM)
that great info thanks masterzombie..btw how to save the edited pic to our folder?

Well, I don't think that can be done, unless you send the mms to yourself maybe...? blink.gif

This phone does have a few simple features missing, silly isn't it? tongue.gif

Another thing I miss is being able to start a slideshow with pictures in one folder only. You can't even browse by folders in the Media program, and the file manager doesn't have slideshows, and is pretty slow working with big pictures.
felixx
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Nov 8 2008, 09:58 PM)
Well, I don't think that can be done, unless you send the mms to yourself maybe...?  blink.gif

This phone does have a few simple features missing, silly isn't it?  tongue.gif

Another thing I miss is being able to start a slideshow with pictures in one folder only. You can't even browse by folders in the Media program, and the file manager doesn't have slideshows, and is pretty slow working with big pictures.

agreed with u....for me those are common function doh.gif ..HOPE SE notice it soon? whistling.gif
mode893

Thanks a lot...

I've used the P990 for over 2 years now and have used an 8gb card for more than 1/2 year and there's no slowdown in performance even when my card is full. G900 is an improved version of P990, bigger camera mp and bigger RAM etc so it should work fine. Just make sure you organize your files neatly (don't put like 100's of files in 1 folder, seperate and categorize them which works for all SE phones AFAIK) and it should perform as smooth as a 128mb card.
Lineage
QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Nov 8 2008, 09:33 PM)
yeah.. i agree on sticking to 2GB is the best... for my case.. i almost used up the 2gb and now...and its kind of lag when viewing pictures using media sad.gif

Added on November 8, 2008, 9:33 pmanyway guys... changing yr firmware to generic world can make yr phone more attractive interms of.. changing yr phone fonts!!! YAY!!!

When a media storage medium almost used up 90%, it will slow down the overall performance..for me, i think if 8GB, if you use 6GB, it wont lag.. rclxms.gif
but its just a phone, put in so much for wat.. shakehead.gif
cutiesbaby312
6GB?? does it exist? hehehe

sigh.... nw i'm thinking of whether to sell off this phone to get a simple phone... wifi.. i seldom use coz i bring laptop wherever i go... camera so bad and i sms alot... so slow for me... cry.gif
AskarPerang
QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Nov 9 2008, 04:33 AM)
6GB?? does it exist? hehehe
sigh.... nw i'm thinking of whether to sell off this phone to get a simple phone... wifi.. i seldom use coz i bring laptop wherever i go... camera so bad and i sms alot... so slow for me...  cry.gif

Someone regretted buying this phone it seems.
BlueWind
Is like that one lor, doesn't suit sure will feel like selling off.
felixx
QUOTE(BlueWind @ Nov 9 2008, 11:57 AM)
Is like that one lor, doesn't suit sure will feel like selling off.

so what is ur next target drool.gif
besaid
hi,just got the G900,manged to changed the CDA and update the latest generic world firmware...but i am not able to sync the phone to outlook 2007...

using XP SP3 here,both my phone explorer and PC suite also failed. My phone explorer's error is like...

Sync could not be initialized
- 2147467259 The requested data provider does not exist
cutiesbaby312
hi there.. just a question yeah... if i changed my CDA to generic world right... can i view chinese msg? i dont need to type it.. but viewing.. izzit possible?
BlueWind
QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 9 2008, 05:22 PM)
so what is ur next target drool.gif

I'm sticking with my K800i tongue.gif
cutiesbaby312
hmm.. i plan to change to w760i.. izzit good???
BloodyCrystal
QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Nov 9 2008, 08:11 PM)
hmm.. i plan to change to w760i.. izzit good???

W595 is newer.
But i think you are downgrading the phone rather by changing to a phone with lower specs.
BlueWind
What other features they can add? It's only a phone laugh.gif
BloodyCrystal
G900 has wifi, touchscreen, 5MP camera and is a UIQ smartphone.
What more can you ask for?
cutiesbaby312
yeah.. i know im like downgrading my phone but the thing is that... i need speed... though the features are attractive for dis phone.. hmm i still din really fully utilize it...

and i cant get over with the fact that the 5mp camera is nt really dat good either.. btw, just a thought.. who knows i might keep dis phone and buy another phone tongue.gif
BlueWind
Heh, trade in with other phone la biggrin.gif
nonamekid
which 1 has more advantage if compare to Nokia N95 and G900? would like to know. Thx.
slare
can anyone explain what differences r u getting after upgrading the firmware?is it worth it?
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(nonamekid @ Nov 9 2008, 10:56 PM)
which 1 has more advantage if compare to Nokia N95 and G900? would like to know. Thx.

if u hav browse thru dis topic.. u'll eventually find out the answers yrself...

go for N95 or coz smile.gif
BlueWind
Wah betrayer tongue.gif
squall_kay
QUOTE(nonamekid @ Nov 9 2008, 10:56 PM)

i dont see any advantage of g900 over the n95 aside from the touch screen (on the small 2.4 screen) n the g900 slim body. biggrin.gif
nonamekid
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Nov 9 2008, 11:19 PM)
i dont see any advantage of g900 over the n95 aside from the touch screen (on the small 2.4 screen) n the g900 slim body.  biggrin.gif

lol..was thinking to get 1 for my gf..if this phone is good I might trade for N95 it..haha..still confusing..btw thx for the answer
demio121
QUOTE(BloodyCrystal @ Nov 9 2008, 08:37 PM)
G900 has wifi, touchscreen, 5MP camera and is a UIQ smartphone.
What more can you ask for?

i actually think that UIQ par tis the weakess link. the rest make Gee looks good.
felixx
QUOTE(demio121 @ Nov 9 2008, 11:28 PM)
i actually think that UIQ par tis the weakess link.  the rest make Gee looks good.

actually how to know when new firmware available?where to check it? biggrin.gif
jon_jai
I'd get the N95 because UIQ has stopped developing.

felixx
QUOTE(jon_jai @ Nov 10 2008, 11:28 AM)

OooHH..stopped or will stop soon? doh.gif
Lineage
QUOTE(jon_jai @ Nov 10 2008, 11:28 AM)

are you sure? why? any source prove that? hmm.gif
panda-man
apparently they are going more for windows mobile.

-------

hey you all still having wifi problems? i had that issue here. it says connected but the tiang talipon not light up . i had to make a new account.

in wifi. you click more. then new account. type in ssid. starbucks. and account name i put starbucks. and connected. seemed to work. but i tried it again somewhere else it didnt work. so you can try this.
AskarPerang
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 10 2008, 01:27 PM)
are you sure? why? any source prove that? hmm.gif

http://www.gsmarena.com/uiq_is_going_nowhe...it-news-640.php

UIQ is going nowhere, Sony Ericsson are done with it

Sony Ericsson doomed the Symbian UIQ platform by publicly stating at the Symbian Smartphone Show in London that "UIQ didn't attract the operator, manufacturer or consumer interest needed to stop it from failing".

The other shareholder, Motorola, didn't have anything to comment.

Sony Ericsson's Patrick Olson admitted the failure of the UIQ platform to gain a steady fan base among users and a steady business case among network carriers.

That statement obviously explains the reason why Sony Ericsson cancelled their two latest UIQ smartphones even before they are officially announced. SE are obviously going full steam ahead with the Symbian Foundation, which will stake at providing a unified UI on diverse platforms.

Motorola on the other hand have their own UIQ plans and word is they are going to release more UIQ phones before the new Symbian Foundation's own S60-based platform becomes available. Still, they don't have any strategy for the support of the already existing and future handsets (much like SE).

We've always known that UIQ phones don't really have a competitive edge to them, but now it's official. UIQ is already a dead fish.
felixx
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 10 2008, 01:36 PM)
apparently they are going more for windows mobile.

-------

hey you all still having wifi problems? i had that issue here. it says connected but the tiang talipon not light up . i had to make a new account.

in wifi. you click more. then new account. type in ssid. starbucks.  and account name i put starbucks. and connected. seemed to work. but i tried it again somewhere else it didnt work. so you can try this.

emm how about tiang lampu light up but still can't surf internet n message "can't locate ur remote server " keep coming every time try to surf???? any others solution guyz
..its happen for my home wifi cry.gif

p/: free wifi i dun face any problem after update new firmware(not GW1 one tongue.gif )

Added on November 10, 2008, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 10 2008, 01:43 PM)
http://www.gsmarena.com/uiq_is_going_nowhe...it-news-640.php

UIQ is going nowhere, Sony Ericsson are done with it

dead fish? now i know why this phone price drop so fast sweat.gif
panda-man
for this i dunno. wifi is so delicate lah. even that thing i did only worked with the starbucks here. (by the way im in beijing right now) in kl no problems with any wifi. so this is new to me. will look more into it.

QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 10 2008, 02:08 PM)
emm how about  tiang lampu  light up but still can't surf internet n message "can't locate ur remote server " keep coming every time try to surf???? any others solution guyz

p/: free wifi i dun face any problem after update new firmware(not GW1 one tongue.gif )

xaliey
i've read dis thread soo far.. but still have a little confusion.. what ur guys recommend?.. go for G900 or P1?.. i much like da numerical keypad rather than qwerty keypad.. n da interface for G900 much more interesting than P1 but due too what u guys says for the lag time of sms.. it do change my heart a bit to go for G900..
cutiesbaby312
yeah... UIQ is officially dead... hmmm sad case for that..

anyway... if yr a person with less patient towards sms.. then u'd better go for other phones.. but p1i also..quite slow if im nt mistaken
Lineage
QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 10 2008, 02:08 PM)
emm how about  tiang lampu  light up but still can't surf internet n message "can't locate ur remote server " keep coming every time try to surf???? any others solution guyz

yalor..drop damn fast ! 1 month already drop rm200..damn it..should buy P1i..until now haven drop..stable already.. cry.gif
besaid
QUOTE(xaliey @ Nov 10 2008, 06:40 PM)
i've read dis thread soo far.. but still have a little confusion.. what ur guys recommend?.. go for G900 or P1?.. i much like da numerical keypad rather than qwerty keypad.. n da interface for G900 much more interesting than P1 but due too what u guys says for the lag time of sms.. it do change my heart a bit to go for G900..

well,if you are used to smartphones,the lag wont be that bad.. i was previously using dopod W575 aka HTC Tornado using WM6.1.it was almost the same speed.

1 thing though,i sure miss the smart dialling feature available on WM phones and certain SE models cry.gif
AskarPerang
QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Nov 10 2008, 07:46 PM)
yeah... UIQ is officially dead... hmmm sad case for that..

anyway... if yr a person with less patient towards sms.. then u'd better go for other phones.. but p1i also..quite slow if im nt mistaken

basically p1i and G900 has the same processor and UIQ feature.
so performance wise, both should be the same.

Unless you compare G900 and N82, then that's another story.
walkmanlover
dun be ad if uiq will be dead..there are many programmers that can work for it..not me la..
demio121
QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 10 2008, 09:50 AM)
actually how to know when new firmware available?where to check it? biggrin.gif

i just run my update service from time to time.
felixx
QUOTE(demio121 @ Nov 11 2008, 12:21 AM)
i just run my update service from time to time.

that like fishing in dark water.. laugh.gif
xaliey
QUOTE(besaid @ Nov 10 2008, 09:27 PM)
well,if you are used to smartphones,the lag wont be that bad.. i was previously using dopod W575 aka HTC Tornado using WM6.1.it was almost the same speed.

1 thing though,i sure miss the smart dialling feature available on WM phones and certain SE models cry.gif

i see.. but i'm a really newbie in smartphone.. but do like the touch screen features.. quite a sms freak n also a caller freak.. soo what are the other features/softwares can we install to G900?..
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.