Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49
BlueWind
Since N82 and G900 seems no good to you why not choose another one?
BloodyCrystal
Any recommendation then???
Don't recommend me C905 as the price is still high.
Lineage
actually all the phones also got pro and con 1 la..just ask yourself, which phone you looking for..and want to try which phone..honestly speaking, its hard to find a phone got all very good..even iphone 3k phone also got bad spec..3G but cannot make video call somemore 2MP..if you want a super good spec, the price is shocking.gif thumbup.gif HIGH...
felixx
QUOTE(BloodyCrystal @ Nov 6 2008, 12:46 AM)
I'm in dilemma now. Don't know which phone to get. N82 or G900.
N82 is feature pack but I don't like the deign. It's not stylish and no touch screen.
But G900 many bad reviews about the lagging issue and also camera.

i think update to new firmware will solve the lagging issue...about camera no comment just wait for improvement in next firmware/software...i hope whistling.gif
Lineage
anyone know how to send email by using G900? rclxub.gif
felixx
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 6 2008, 08:19 AM)

do u talking about push email or log in to yahoo mail n etc biggrin.gif
panda-man
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 6 2008, 08:19 AM)

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Nov 6 2008, 09:11 AM)
RAM? How to upgrade?

well you have to set up POP on your phone first. i dont have my phone nex to me so ill put in steps later. but basically its just menu messages more and email accounts i think. but once you set that up. you will be able to recieve mail on sheduled times. and also send out mail from that part of your messages.
felixx
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 6 2008, 09:14 AM)
well you have to set up POP on your phone first. i dont have my phone nex to me so ill put in steps later. but basically its just menu messages more and email accounts i think. but once you set that up. you will be able to recieve mail on sheduled times. and also send out mail from that part of your messages.

emm dun need to set up the email account 1st at-> menu> setting>messaging>email account...??
GuN
guys where to get the flip case for g900? my crystal case oledi crack abit lor..
panda-man
QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 6 2008, 09:20 AM)
emm dun need to set up the email account 1st at-> menu> setting>messaging>email account...??

yeah checked out your instructions. it goes to the same place anyways. ahhahah.

so yeah. as felixx said.

menu -->> settings -->> messaging -->> email accounts -->> more -->> new account

then you fill in all the details.

for gmail. the settings are

connection type: POP3
incoming server address: pop.gmail.com
outgoing server address: smtp.gmail.com make sure 'use SMTP authentication' is ticked, and so is 'use inbox login details'

i recommend Download restrictions set to :just headers.

hope this helps.... yahoo cannot POP3 i think . from what i remember it is only for paying yahoo members
AskarPerang
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 5 2008, 07:26 PM)

Edited to add more criteria:
Brand: Prefer to stick with Sony Ericsson. ---->>> 

rclxms.gif

Main usage: Call and sms ---->>>

so far calls are clear. SMS sending also no problems. its slow to create a new sms message. (standard for smartphones though but if your first time you will really feel it.)

Camera: hope it's better than K800 3.2MP pics. --->>>

camera not so good. you will need to mess around with settings to get good pictures. ie. exposure and stuff

Touchscreen: Would love to try it. --->>>

accurate touchscreen. unlike the LG that i tried once.

Music: Very seldom listen to music through phone. --->>>

never use it. but i guess it should work. pretty standard thing. i watched some videos on the phone. works quite well.

Wifi/3G/installing 3rd party applications: Seldom use it as well. -->>>

so far works well for me. a bit slow sometimes. but i guess mini reciever is mini speed.
Design: Don't want bulky phones, prefer stylish design. Slide or flip phones would be a plus.[/b] ---->>>>

this phone is very stylo. and slim. i used to use a bigger phone. this one sometimes i feel like its not in my pocket. ... maybe its just me. hahahah.

Or you recommend to get any other phones?
(Don't recommend me C905, the price is too expensive still.)

its your choice. this phone is not for everyone. i will admit that. if you have a friend or something using this phone or the p1. just test it out for like 30 mins. or something.

Thanks for the suggestion panda-man! notworthy.gif
felixx
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 6 2008, 11:54 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion panda-man!  notworthy.gif

just do it then post ur result here k.. rclxms.gif
Lineage
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 6 2008, 09:14 AM)

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 6 2008, 10:18 AM)
yeah checked out your instructions. it goes to the same place anyways. ahhahah.

so yeah. as felixx said.

menu -->> settings -->> messaging -->> email accounts -->> more -->> new account

then you fill in all the details.

for gmail. the settings are

connection type: POP3
incoming server address: pop.gmail.com
outgoing server address: smtp.gmail.com    make sure 'use SMTP authentication' is ticked, and so is 'use inbox login details'

i recommend Download restrictions set to :just headers.

hope this helps.... yahoo cannot POP3 i think . from what i remember it is only for paying yahoo members

what i want is just send email by phone using my hotmail account..i dont want to receive email from my phone.. thumbup.gif
cocodemon
QUOTE(BloodyCrystal @ Nov 6 2008, 12:46 AM)
I'm in dilemma now. Don't know which phone to get. N82 or G900.
N82 is feature pack but I don't like the deign. It's not stylish and no touch screen.
But G900 many bad reviews about the lagging issue and also camera.

bro, my situation is same with urs. indecisive between n82 & g900.
i end up buying both of them from mudah. used but still under warranty. g900=rm850, n82=rm950.
still waiting for the phones 2 arrive.

guess its the only way to make me puas hati.
Lineage
QUOTE(cocodemon @ Nov 6 2008, 08:01 PM)
i end up buying both of them from mudah. used but still under warranty. g900=rm850, n82=rm950.

so rich man... rclxub.gif
cocodemon
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 6 2008, 08:41 PM)
so rich man... rclxub.gif

no lah. will immediately sell one of them once i made up my mind.
hopefully i can minimize the loss icon_rolleyes.gif
shimy
g900 u bought it 4 rm850?? n82 = rm950?? how cum so cheap??
Lineage
QUOTE(shimy @ Nov 6 2008, 08:50 PM)
g900 u bought it 4 rm850?? n82 = rm950?? how cum so cheap??

second hand you can get that price.. drool.gif
shimy
can u all comment on the bad things of g900?? cuz my sis was thinking 2 buy dis phone ...tongue.gif
Lineage
QUOTE(shimy @ Nov 6 2008, 08:54 PM)
can u all comment on the bad things of g900?? cuz my sis was thinking 2 buy dis phone ...tongue.gif

please spend some time to read previous pages, if you read about 10 pages definitely you will know..because we already talk a lot for this topic..
BlueWind
Yup, just read back those pages..
panda-man
or you can read up on the few posts on that page itself. i wrote a lot of stuff.
Lineage
you guy use usb connect G900 to pc got problem?? sometimes can detect and sometimes cannot detect?? rclxub.gif
BlueWind
That's the common problem from SE la...
cocodemon
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 6 2008, 10:16 PM)
you guy use usb connect G900 to pc got problem?? sometimes can detect and sometimes cannot detect?? rclxub.gif

why do u need to connect via usb? i use bluetooth all the time rclxms.gif
Lineage
can update firmware via bluetooth? if i can dont use usb, i wont use usb.. doh.gif
GaryCCW
wah ..so nobody using the g700i.. i thinking to get 1 for me this end of the month.
felixx
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 6 2008, 10:16 PM)

so far no problem to connect g900 to pc rclxms.gif

Added on November 6, 2008, 11:45 pm
QUOTE(cocodemon @ Nov 6 2008, 08:01 PM)

do u mean mudah.com.my?wow u ar lucky...damn cheap how old both? laugh.gif
BlueWind
QUOTE(GaryCCW @ Nov 6 2008, 11:21 PM)
wah ..so nobody using the g700i.. i thinking to get 1 for me this end of the month.

Do post feedback ya smile.gif

QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 6 2008, 11:25 PM)

Sooner or later you will have problems brows.gif
panda-man
when i used the usb. once or twice there was a few problems. but after a while. it was ok. lah.

i once tried bluetoothin. but it total failure. i think my computer ended up freezing or something. never tried again.

yeah man. when he said rm850. my heart sank. i was thinking of all my ezypayment i still gotta make hahahaha.
cocodemon
QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 6 2008, 11:25 PM)

Added on November 6, 2008, 11:45 pm

do u mean mudah.com.my?wow u ar lucky...damn cheap how old both? laugh.gif

g900 3mths, n82 10mths.. at least thats what the sellers told me.
there's another seller selling 3mths n82 for rm1k. still new. too bad its a singapore set

do u think i can re-sell them at the same price lets say, after 2 wks?

Added on November 7, 2008, 12:05 am
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 6 2008, 11:52 PM)
yeah man. when he said rm850. my heart sank. i was thinking of all my ezypayment i still gotta make hahahaha.

rm850 include freight. lol.
panda-man
QUOTE(cocodemon @ Nov 7 2008, 12:00 AM)
there's another seller selling 3mths n82 for rm1k. still new. too bad its a singapore set

i dunno dude. usually price drop drastically when you buy second hand. but i guess since its already second hand. it should be around that price still. maybe around 750-800 i would think. thats if you sell it straight to buyer. if you sell to shop. dunno how much. maybe. 600.
felixx
QUOTE(cocodemon @ Nov 7 2008, 12:00 AM)

huhuhuhu...why not u just COD with them its better n safer than pos..after 2 weeks u can sell around rm800 for g900 coz i check renee sell new set G900 only rm1005...so i think within 2 weeks she will sell it around rm9++ ...is it ur G900 come with BT hansfree?
panda-man
i dont think i will use second hand BT. eiyerrrr
AskarPerang
QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 7 2008, 12:10 AM)
huhuhuhu...why not u just COD with them its better n safer than pos..after 2 weeks u can sell around rm800 for g900 coz i check renee sell new set G900 only rm1005...so i think within 2 weeks she will sell it around rm9++ ...is it ur G900 come with BT hansfree?

The price now drops to RM1005 only?
Wow...the phone value of SE really do dropssss shakehead.gif
felixx
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 7 2008, 01:20 AM)
The price now drops to RM1005 only?
Wow...the phone value of SE really do dropssss  shakehead.gif

yup drastically drop...u know 4 months ago the price is ar rm1500...but now only rm1005...u see drop rm495 within 4 months sweat.gif
Lineage
QUOTE(felixx @ Nov 7 2008, 08:17 AM)
yup drastically drop...u know 4 months ago the price is ar rm1500...but now only rm1005...u see drop rm495 within 4 months sweat.gif

hurt pain..i bought 1 month, already drop almost rm200..P1i also didnt drop more than rm50.. cry.gif

anyone else got problem using usb connect to pc?
felixx
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 7 2008, 08:19 AM)
hurt pain..i bought 1 month, already drop almost rm200..P1i also didnt drop more than rm50.. cry.gif

anyone else got problem using usb connect to pc?

dun worry..i think outside still sell it ar rm1200 nod.gif
reevephon
Hmm looks like this is a nice phone, planning to buy an AP G900i set to replace my Nokia N73, but still have some dulls here, does this phone has built-in dictionary (english-chinese and chinese-english) and quickoffice? This two programs are quite important to me because want to use it for assignment purpose. Thank
AskarPerang
QUOTE(reevephon @ Nov 7 2008, 06:38 PM)
Hmm looks like this is a nice phone, planning to buy an AP G900i set to replace my Nokia N73, but still have some dulls here, does this phone has built-in dictionary (english-chinese and chinese-english) and quickoffice? This two programs are quite important to me because want to use it for assignment purpose. Thank

yes it has quick office and pdf+.
Not sure about the dictionary, you will have to wait for the user of this phone to answer that.
BlueWind
Dictionary as in what dictionary? Sms T9? Or checking words?
bL4cK_73dDy
can i use this phone(G900) to view ms office or power point? or is there any software i need 2 install into this phone in order to use those?
Lineage
QUOTE(bL4cK_73dDy @ Nov 7 2008, 08:24 PM)
can i use this phone(G900) to view ms office or power point? or is there any software i need 2 install into this phone in order to use those?

inside already got a software called quickoffice..you dont need to install..
panda-man
has anyone tried to dl msn mobile yet. im thinkin about it. but never tried it yet. any reviews?
bL4cK_73dDy
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 7 2008, 08:26 PM)
inside already got a software called quickoffice..you dont need to install..

hi, thanks for the reply. And does it come with walkman key? play/pause like those W series?
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 7 2008, 09:27 PM)
has anyone tried to dl msn mobile yet. im thinkin about it. but never tried it yet. any reviews?

msn mobile izzit something like windows live messenger?? hmmm there are so many programs out there can connect to msn server edi... currently i'm using Fring.. very good program thumbup.gif
panda-man
ill check out that fringe program. thanks.

and to the other post. no there is no walkman button.
Lineage
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 7 2008, 09:27 PM)

i'm using slick, cuz i cannot connect using fring..not bad also.. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(bL4cK_73dDy @ Nov 7 2008, 10:04 PM)
hi, thanks for the reply. And does it come with walkman key? play/pause like those W series?

you mean the on screen button? sure have..but not walkman player..

about mp4 video, anyone know what size can play? i try to put 1920 x 1080 mp4 cannot play..
anyone try fm before? the signnal is very weak.. hmm.gif
masterzombie
QUOTE(masterzombie @ Aug 16 2008, 06:08 PM)
How to change the CDA of your G900

Sorry for the almost 1 month delay, but heres how to change your G900 to generic world (or any other firmware if you have the CDA code). It should be pretty easy to understand, if you have any questions pm me, but I might not reply soon (and I don't know everything too).
This also works for M600, P1i, W960, P990, and other SE UIQ3 Symbian smartphones. (not sure about older ones).

DISCLAIMER: If you do something wrong, it is possible that you will BRICK your G900. DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK
This most probably will VOID your warranty. (not sure about this).

Why would I want to change it?
o Firmware updates are released for the Generic World CDAs before any localized CDAs (especially eastern ones).
o You can change it to any localized firmware too, if you know the code.

Any side effects?
o No Chinese support with the Generic World CDA. You can change yours from Singapore to Hong Kong etc if you still want Chinese, but it wont make much difference.

What do I need?
Hardware:
o The phone, of course.
o PC with USB port, and preferably Windows XP. If you have Vista, run XS++ in XP compatibility mode to be sure. Make sure SEUS is working first!!!
o DCU 65 or DCU 60 (USB data cable). The one that comes with your phone (in Malaysia) usually is DCU 65.

Software:
o Sony Ericsson Update Service (SEUS). You probably have this on the CD that came with your phone. If not, download it.
o XS++. You can download it from here.
o HexWorkshop from here. You can use any hex editor of course, but this one is pretty good with built in checksum calculators (which will be needed).
All the software is free. It won't cost you anything if you do it right (except time).

Finally, thanks to mut@nt's post describing the procedure for an M600, which works the same with the G900.

First of all you can see your firmware versions by opening the Menu. Touch More, and touch System Information. It will give you the firmware versions. Write them down somewhere.

Steps:

1. Run SEUS. Follow the instructions. If it doesn't find new software for your phone then continue.
2. Disconnect the phone, and remove the battery.
3. Put the battery back in again.
4. Unzip XS++ in a folder (don't run it directly from the zip file, it needs a folder).
5. Run XS++
6. Tick the box called "SMARTPHONE CONNECT".

7. Turn the phone off if you turned it on again. Remove the battery and put it back again.
8. Click on the "Connect" button in XS++. It will ask you connect the phone in the same way you did in SEUS.
9. Hold down the "C" button on your phone.
10. Connect the USB cable to the phone (and the PC if you removed it, of course).
11. It will start detecting the phone and give a few messages. DO NOT RELEASE THE "C" BUTTON!
12. When its done you'll get a message "Ready for Operation". Now its safe to release the button.
NOTE: When you have the old CDA, XS++ might detect it as a W960 (I took this screenshot AFTER modding). It does not matter, its ok.

13. Don't touch anything else in XS++.
14. Click on the GDFS circle in the Configuration group.
15. You should see a button called "Backup GDFS". Click on it.
16. It will start saving the GDFS file. It will take about 30 seconds - 1 minute.
17. After its done, go to the folder where you unzipped the XS++ software. There should be another folder called "Backup" inside.
18. In the Backup folder, there will be one .BIN file with its name something like "W960_************_GDFS_BACKUP.bin".
19. Make a copy of the file, and don't touch it.

20. Install Hex Workshop if you haven't already.
21. Open Hex Workshop. Click on Options>Preferences, and under Columns, there will be a drop down box titled "Group by:". Select "2 (short)". Apply and click OK.
22. Open the BIN file in Hex Workshop.
23. You should see something like this:
Most of won't make sense, but we don't need most of it.

24. Scroll to the very end of the file.
25. Now on the right you will see the firmware versions of your phone. This is what we need to change.

26. The one at the very end is the CDA firmware. You need to change it to the Generic World 1 version. The code for the Generic World 1 is:
CDA: 1204-3148 R6K836
or 1204-6480 R4A
(The one you see in the screenshot is my old CDA firmware versions.)

27. When changing the text, you cannot select all and replace. You need to place the flashing thing before the letter you want to edit and type. It will automatically overwrite it.
28. So put the cursor before the CDA code starts and type "1204-3148" and click before 'R' and type "R6J825" (without the quotes of course). Don't type in the periods, it will change the hex code. If its R4A or R5A instead of R6****, then change only the numbered part.
Left: Before
Right: After

29. So now you should have the same number of letters. Only the letters are different.
30. This is the important part. If this is not done right, it WILL NOT work.
Select exactly the same letters (on the right side) as in the picture below. Starting from the 2 dots before the first version number, to the last letter of the CDA version.

31. Click on Tools, then on "Generate Checksum".
32. Just click on "Generate"
33. On the bottom right you will see a lot of checksums and CRCs.

Note the value of the 8-bit checksum (Checksum-8, the first one). This will probably be different for you, its ok. The value will have two letters/numbers.

34. On the left side, (as in the picture) there should be a block "000D"(if your CDA has six characters, like R6J815) or "000C"(if your CDA is 3 characters, like R4A) after the selected part. In the next block, change the first two letters to the value of the 8-bit checksum. Be careful not to change anything else.

35. Save the file under another name (but as a .bin file).

34. Connect and turn on the phone the same way as earlier using XS++.

35. Under the GDFS tab, beside the "Restore GDFS" button, select the modified .bin file.

36. Click on Restore GDFS. Might take a minute or two.

37. After its done, and XS++ disconnects the phone, take out the battery, put it back in and restart. You should now see TWO firmware versions under CDA. This is normal. But if you don't see two versions, it means you did something wrong.

38. Update the phone using SEUS, it should now detect it as Generic World 1, and will download the updated firmware. It will take a while though, depending on your internet connection.

39. After SEUS finishes everything, restart and you should see the latest firmware version and only one CDA version.

If it doesn't work, just restore the original GDFS, and your phone should be the same as earlier.

I've re-uploaded the pictures if anyone wants it.
Also added how to change the ones with the short CDA strings (eg. R4A). Just change the numbered part smile.gif
WhizzWork2005
I've checked SE websites, that G900 is supported up to 8GB of M2 cards...

But, does anyone tried using 2 Gb / 4GB and 8GB Cards??
Will it hang the phone? Coz, the shop asked me to buy max 2GB only.... else it will hang the phone? Does anyone tried putting higher memory before?

Thanks a lot...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.