Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49
panda-man
speakin of firmware. i never checked any updates. i bought my g900 maybe like 2 months or so ago. any updates since then?
Lineage
how we can know got new firmware update? through SEUS?
walkmanlover
yea..check it using SEUS, last time i updated my fon, they said it has the newest software..but I continue update and then, most problem fixed..just try to update..
Lineage
if update, will lost all software installed? and what will lost and what will not lost? hmm.gif
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 21 2008, 02:15 AM)
if update, will lost all software installed? and what will lost and what will not lost? hmm.gif

basically everything that u installed... phone book/sms/extra themes.. applications/games.. everything that differs from the original content smile.gif all will be bye bye
panda-man
QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Oct 21 2008, 09:07 AM)
basically everything that u installed... phone book/sms/extra themes.. applications/games.. everything that differs from the original content  smile.gif all will be bye bye

so you gotta back up everything huh. but can you back up games? what is SEUS is that the thing that comes with the phone huh the CD software? i never checked anythin out actually. hahah. just pick up and use only. whistling.gif
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 21 2008, 09:23 AM)
so you gotta back up everything huh. but can you back up games? what is SEUS is that the thing that comes with the phone huh the CD software? i never checked anythin out actually. hahah. just pick up and use only.  whistling.gif

yup.. u got to back up everything before u do an update.. SEUS is Sony Ericsson Update Service.. well.. erm.. i dunno whether it comes with the CD or not but i think it will.. u can google up and download the software though... i too never checked up what's in the cd tongue.gif

BTW.. u can always backup the game installer to have the games installed back later.. but the process of the games( save games) cannot be saved then biggrin.gif
BlueWind
Kinda like reformatting the whole dang phone since the last and the first time I update. blink.gif
panda-man
mannnnn i got so scared just now. i installed the cd that comes with the phone. then i click backup phone. dunno what it did but suddenly my phone crashed. haiiii. had to take out battery then put it back in to restart.

then it said backup in progress couldnt press anything. haiiii. luckily i restart the program and backup continue from there. really gave me a heart attack.
hazwan_aviator
any comment on G700...
mine quite ok but need to sell it as im lookin for other phone...
BlueWind
QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 21 2008, 11:51 AM)
mannnnn i got so scared just now. i installed the cd that comes with the phone. then i click backup phone. dunno what it did but suddenly my phone crashed. haiiii. had to take out battery then put it back in to restart.

then it said backup in progress couldnt press anything. haiiii. luckily i restart the program and backup continue from there. really gave me a heart attack.

Yeah, there was once this phone scared the hell out of me, I wasn't so familiar with the UIQ interface. laugh.gif
walkmanlover

Haha..near miss huh..btw, when i just finished my update, and the phone reboot, some installed apps prompt me to install it because it already uninstalled or bye2..But, when installing, we hv to overwrite the files because it is not uninstalled properly..I made a conclusion, some app no need to back up and some need.. In case, just back up whole data.
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 21 2008, 11:51 AM)

hohoho.. luckily it just a backup progress... if update process... half way then pc shuts down... guess what happen??? Lolxxxxx... i was so lucky that the other day.. once it hit 100%.. when i wanted to press finish.. the whole house... BLACKED OUT... OMG OMG OMG.. my heart went thundering lol
BlueWind
QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Oct 21 2008, 02:27 PM)
hohoho.. luckily it just a backup progress... if update process... half way then pc shuts down... guess what happen??? Lolxxxxx... i was so lucky that the other day.. once it hit 100%.. when i wanted to press finish.. the whole house... BLACKED OUT... OMG OMG OMG.. my heart went thundering lol

OMG that's...... sweat.gif

Luckily 100% if not icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
walkmanlover

Huh..you're so lucky..haha..if I was in your shoes..............haha
panda-man
QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Oct 21 2008, 02:00 PM)
Haha..near miss huh..btw, when i just finished my update, and the phone reboot, some installed apps prompt me to install it because it already uninstalled or bye2..But, when installing, we hv to overwrite the files because it is not uninstalled properly..I made a conclusion, some app no need to back up and some need.. In case, just back up whole data.

yeah this happened on my phone when i updated today.
one file installed correctly. and the otherones seemed to just disappear, and when i reinstall lemmings i had to overwrite a bunch of stuff.

yeah man. malaysia so prone to blackouts. i think its better to remember update from a laptop. biggrin.gif
last time my school assignment kena . had to redo a bunch. so sad. cry.gif
slare
helo,

i'm a new owner of SE G900. Just bought yesterday. My previous phone was SE P1i. Accidently I dropped the phone last raya. sent the phone for repair (cannot access memory card and cant be turned off) but unfortunately the damaged was so bad-some IC's were damaged and repair will be very expensive.

So, the seller offered me G900. with errr... adding extra money -that's how i got engaged with G900. hopefully i've made the rite choice. tongue.gif
panda-man
welcome. yeah i think you made a good choice. the camera a bit not so good. but the rest i think is very cool. AP set? ori?
slare
QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 22 2008, 09:41 AM)
welcome. yeah i think you made a good choice. the camera a bit not so good. but the rest i think is very cool.  AP set? ori?

ori. camera is not my real issue. user friendly and features it has will be my most concern. what do you think?
GuN
whats the max memory for g900?
slare
any G900 owner around putrajaya?maybe we can have teh tarik and give me a short tutorial how to go about this phone?
panda-man
QUOTE(GuN @ Oct 22 2008, 10:17 AM)
whats the max memory for g900?

QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 20 2008, 10:17 AM)
how a lot of movie??G900 only can play mp4,wmv and 3gp.. i heard ppl can use 8GB in G900 and no problem..for me, 2GB already enough..

slare
ayoo...reply so slow la. why?where is everybody?no fun la talking in this forum. i need some assistance since i'm a new owner.

AskarPerang
Why don't you try out the phone yourself and give us a review?

I will be getting this phone too.
slare
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Oct 22 2008, 12:07 PM)
Why don't you try out the phone yourself and give us a review?

I will be getting this phone too.

ok. need a couple of more days to get used to it. so far it is much better than P1i. But itrenet thing still annoys me. It says connected but cannot surf.why?installation also still unsuccessfull. The box says opera mobile is included but doesnt look like one to me. Anyone can comment?
panda-man
it is opera. but i use opera mini. you gotta dl somewhere lah, i forgot where already,

-----------------

i dont have any inet problem.... you using wifi? 3g? gprs?
Lineage
i used both opera and opera mini, seems opera faster and comfortable for me.. rclxms.gif
panda-man
never used it enough to make a full statement about opera. so far no problems or crashes though. ill report that much. heheh.
GuN
opera mini for me. faster imho. no crashes btw. onli the battery life is really darn short@@@!!
fulat
QUOTE(demio121 @ Aug 1 2008, 09:34 PM)
to share wif every1 a weird little issue i had recently.  I updated my software and my media player font go crazy.  when i play mp3, the title, artist, album and timing are all looking like New Time Roman with no space between words....  I was like WTF.

last nite after i backup the phone... u know... on off on off... the font goes back OK.  i was like WTF...!!! but i like this last WTF cuz all font look nice again.

WTF...!!!

that have to do with ya language pack. this been happening since P800 especially for those who want to read chinese language but not write.

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Sep 9 2008, 08:04 AM)
i've witnessed some great pictures taken from estato.. at least up to my satisfaction.. however, my concern is that not all g900 could take those kinda picture, which really confuses me a little.. can someone explain on this?
maybe upload some pictures taken personally to share with us here?

also, i've learned that at low light conditions g900 performs below par..
so i'll like to ask if there's any accessory to help g900 take better picture in the dark, eg. add-on xenon flash?

try to use the flash more and turn off the IS. it helps to being u better photos and save battery too.

QUOTE(demio121 @ Sep 13 2008, 10:39 AM)
dude you charge wit the std charger or USB charger.  I notice with USB charger the batt do not last long.  I at home the other nite and charge to close to 95%.  the next day i went down to 60%.  when i charge with the standard charger, it can last me 3-4 days.  that is with about an hours of music on the way back in the train.

do not charge ya phone with USB unless u really have no choice. USB charging can not charge full 100%. that explain why some forumer complain they can only charge till 89% full if use usb charging.

QUOTE(demio121 @ Sep 17 2008, 10:23 PM)
can someone help me?

I install Handyday apps the other day to try out.  decide not to use it anymore.  I uninstall the apps.  However, everytime i back up, after the re-boot handy day will start the installation.  I need to cancel the installation.

what gives and how to avoid this?

they way u remove/uninstall the apps have problem. please take note. install all ya apps and others thing in card. not the phone.

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 24 2008, 04:03 AM)
i wanted to ask those G900 user here...
this phone can read and type chinese by it default?? or need to flash firmware?

u can flash ya firmware to chinese support region or u can copy a folder which contain of chinese fonts codec and store it in a specific place. once u reboot the phone with the card inside. it can make ya phone read chinese. but please understand. u still cant write chinese if you dont flash it to complete chinese region firmware

QUOTE(alvia @ Oct 6 2008, 10:04 PM)
well i changed a lot of themes..no different same like the picture... those blue and white icon.. cry.gif  cry.gif even original themes
here the link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHGrXPZJF5Q&feature=related

i assume your phone its AP and previously tighted with some telco in the origin country. this wasnt hard to explain why u have different icon or position on ya phone.
panda-man
thats one hardcore answer to a lot of questions. good work.

hey. i having problems playing youtube vids on my phone. dunno if this was brought up before. anyone solve this?

i using ori set too. so that kinda sucks. even through wifi doesnt work. but i think thats just screamyx's fault.
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 23 2008, 11:31 PM)
thats one hardcore answer to a lot of questions. good work.

hey. i having problems playing youtube vids on my phone. dunno if this was brought up before. anyone solve this?

i using ori set too. so that kinda sucks. even through wifi doesnt work. but i think thats just screamyx's fault.

well.. i could play youtube with my phone.. sometimes quite fast though... maybe u shud try in some other places to double confirm whether its the line or yr wifi problem or .. the settings in yr phone?
panda-man
hmmm i tried a few times. and the phone gets frozen on the vid or just refuses to play. havent tried recently. will try with wifi as well as 3g. maybe after i updated the firmware it will work better.
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 24 2008, 01:04 AM)
hmmm i tried a few times. and the phone gets frozen on the vid or just refuses to play. havent tried recently. will try with wifi as well as 3g.  maybe after i updated the firmware it will work better.

hmmm yeah.. maybe u shud update yr firmware.. if its the latest already... still updates it smile.gif so that yr phone will be more stable smile.gif

BTW, i dunno why my phone always hangs when i'm abt to view gallery or even switch to camera mode from the camera function.. haih sweat.gif
monkey163
some of my customers even told me tat de phone can get hang easily even if opening de messages... other den hang problem, anyelse problems tat tis phone has? mayb gonna get 1 nxt month.. XD
Lineage
i use it for almost 1 month, never hang, i think most of the ppl also didnt end task so hang, because memory low.. hmm.gif
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 24 2008, 07:48 PM)
i use it for almost 1 month, never hang, i think most of the ppl also didnt end task so hang, because memory low.. hmm.gif

i always end all the task.. not only from the task manager but also use swiss pro managers to end of the hidden tasks.. still hang.. i wonder why??? Hmmm.. yeah.. opening message is really slow.. maybe coz i hav 700++ over sms edi.. but last time over 50+ also that lag edi...
Lineage
open message is a bit slow, why keep so many messages? everytime more than 200 i will delete tongue.gif
i'm using swiss manager, but is free edition, enough for me..
haturaya
Swiss Manager is a must. Free version is good enough. Especially to free memory. A lot more stable when less application running in the background. My best uptime - 15 days, normal use. No hang, but always 'clean' up / end unwanted program running using Swiss Manager.
panda-man
any other cool software that i should get for the g900?
Lineage
QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 25 2008, 10:17 AM)
any other cool software that i should get for the g900?

google maps
slick
AskarPerang
G900 and G900i is the same???
doomx
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Oct 25 2008, 07:40 PM)
G900 and G900i is the same???

Yes bro smile.gif
monkey163
Any software to cure de lagging problem?
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(monkey163 @ Oct 25 2008, 10:29 PM)
Any software to cure de lagging problem?

Well.. it seems there is.. i found it in another forum... i tried it myself and found it.. quite effective... depends on how heavy user you are... try it out and give some feedback yea...

Instructions
1. First, make some general tests using your contacts and messaging apps. Scroll, creat new, search by letter, insert, etc. Remember the speed of it!
2. Install pips_uiq_1_3_SS.sis
3. Install stdioserver_uiq_1_3_SS.sis
4. Reboot. If necessary, reboot again.

[attachmentid=644168]

credits: gabika318 from Persian
milkified
Hi everyone! I've been lurking around here for some time to decide on which phone I should get. I got this one at last although there are complaints. I don't know why either. Lols.

The phone's working fine for me except for the message section. It always blink once when I open my inbox and message. Other than that it's good. The battery can last for 3 days usually with normal usage unless I watch videos or listen to songs for hours.

And I also notice that some photos taken with the same model can have very different quality. Why is that so? Firmware problem?

I have some random pictures here to share. I used auto setting.

[attachmentid=644366]

[attachmentid=644369]

[attachmentid=644376]

[attachmentid=644385]

[attachmentid=644387]

Is the quality okay? I can't judge since I wasn't using a camera phone before this and I took pictures with my digicam. >.<
ahaha
Yo guyz... something to ask...
Planning to get this phone but i am going for a ori set...
Just wanted to know what is bundled with the phone in an ori set??
thx...
AskarPerang
QUOTE(milkified @ Oct 26 2008, 12:51 AM)
Hi everyone! I've been lurking around here for some time to decide on which phone I should get. I got this one at last although there are complaints. I don't know why either. Lols.

The phone's working fine for me except for the message section. It always blink once when I open my inbox and message. Other than that it's good. The battery can last for 3 days usually with normal usage unless I watch videos or listen to songs for hours.

And I also notice that some photos taken with the same model can have very different quality. Why is that so? Firmware problem?

Is the quality okay? I can't judge since I wasn't using a camera phone before this and I took pictures with my digicam. >.<

Group: New Member

Hi there newbie. Creating a new account just to post this?
Anyway thanks for the brief review of the phone. notworthy.gif
Lineage
QUOTE(ahaha @ Oct 26 2008, 01:33 AM)
Yo guyz... something to ask...
Planning to get this phone but i am going for a ori set...
Just wanted to know what is bundled with the phone in an ori set??
thx...

last time original bundled with a bluetooth headset, but now not anymore, just standard package.. icon_rolleyes.gif
cutiesbaby312
QUOTE(milkified @ Oct 26 2008, 12:51 AM)

[attachmentid=644366]

[attachmentid=644369]

[attachmentid=644376]

[attachmentid=644385]

[attachmentid=644387]

hey there... thanks for yr reviews... i noticed that the pictures taken by u not bad too.. quite sharp... u bought ap or ori yeah?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.