Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 v2
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Hardware
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50
goldfries
Original Thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/540467/
cstkl1
thumbs up goldfries.. powah..
butthead012
V2 already... keep going... haha

so anyone found out the problem for HIS hd3870 turbo?
cstkl1
QUOTE(butthead012 @ Feb 10 2008, 01:48 AM)

did u put it on a pcie 1.1 sig mobo..
thats my bet..
not enough voltage since the pcie 2.0 gives more voltages ..

so the core needs more voltage.. my bet..

did u guys try upping the sb voltage and setting ure pcie to 110? before u plug in the card??
nightshade_nova
@3870 iceq users

I think maybe driver@bios prob la...

cos using 8.1, when playin CnC, suddenly screen went blank, fan shot up to 100%(really noisy)
same prob when oc'ing

i've found a lot of ppl having the same prob at other forums, and there's no solution right now.
(accept get a good bios flashed, and I'm not turning my card into a guinea pig, so I'll just wait 4 a compatible one)

back to old driver now, but Gears of war stuttering is back....=.=

I think then main prob if you oc the card
maybe it's bios locked, prob occur when clocked more than the limit

so, should be fine if you use old drivers + don't oc for now

going back to college now, so, by the time I'm back, new bios/driver should be available...hehe
save me the agony

bought from chee kian btw, the receipt he gave me is from his father's shop
kecik2 dah pandai meniaga

(lol, reposted since this post was last one b4 thread closed)

my mobo is pcie 2, still have prob lor
don't think its the prob...
cstkl1
QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Feb 10 2008, 02:04 AM)
@3870 iceq users

cos using 8.1, when playin CnC, suddenly screen went blank, fan shot up to 100%(really noisy)
same prob when oc'ing

i've found a lot of ppl having the same prob at other forums, and there's no solution right now.
(accept get a good bios flashed, and I'm not turning my card into a guinea pig, so I'll just wait 4 a compatible one)

going back to college now, so, by the time I'm back, new bios/driver should be available...hehe
save me the agony

hmm try increasing the bus nevertheless..

and are u on a overclocked proc/ram..
if it is up the bus and sb voltages.
drgadgets
How much is the current price for the X2. The way I see it this card isn't that worth it. Better wait for the next gen of cards.
AMDAthlon
RM 1400 above i think..forgot oledi.But not worth?Not worth untill a good bios and driver for it release.
sniper69
doh.gif shocking.gif, V2 already kaa... never noticed tongue.gif, thumbup.gif
nightshade_nova
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 10 2008, 02:06 AM)
hmm try increasing the bus nevertheless..

and are u on a overclocked proc/ram..
if it is up the bus and sb voltages.

I'd be wasting my time...I've read other forums where they tried that

@sniper69

point at your core/mem clock
what bios you're using?
n on what cooler?

very tempting.... drool.gif
care to share your bios with us? rclxms.gif

plz...before I go back to college notworthy.gif
sniper69
QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Feb 10 2008, 03:36 AM)
@sniper69
point at your core/mem clock
what bios you're using?
n on what cooler?

doh.gif, don't get too excited, that made on pencil mod HD3870, the temp went well over 100°C on stock cooling, currently on stock clock, stock voltage and stock cooling... not clocking the card? why? i think the stock clock already good enough for me... unless for benchmarking icon_idea.gif, gila la running pencil modded on stock cooler... sweat.gif
nightshade_nova
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 10 2008, 04:00 AM)
doh.gif, don't get too excited, that made on pencil mod HD3870, the temp went well over 100°C on stock cooling, currently on stock clock, stock voltage and stock cooling... not clocking the card? why? i think the stock clock already good enough for me... unless for benchmarking icon_idea.gif, gila la running pencil modded on stock cooler... sweat.gif

dah agak dah....too good to be true.... 1000core clck...tongue.gif
the gc is the only thing can oc on my low end rig....
oc to get better fps

but it seems like his iceq 3870 owners are having probs with their cards
just wanna get my hands on a good oc bios
maranello55
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 10 2008, 04:00 AM)

lol....that 1Ghz clock scares me lol.
And yess....stock clock is good enuff for me. sometime 850 for crysis....

Sorry..noob question here. How do u access the GC bios? blush.gif
Sagittaros
@3870 iceq users

same prob when oc'ing

save me the agony

100% same symptoms as urs.
Just different games.
The screen went all black and fan shot up to 100%.
heizad
more n more people getting same symptom here...is everybody buying from the same person?
Sagittaros
Not same person lah,only same batch.
Oh ya, Doom got his card at UK,remember?he dun have problem with it i asked him.
heizad
QUOTE(Sagittaros @ Feb 10 2008, 05:43 AM)
Not same person lah,only same batch.
Oh ya, Doom got his card at UK,remember?he dun have problem with it i asked him.

hopefully the new batch will not having the same prob..huhu
squall_kay
wow.v2 already.. icon_rolleyes.gif
nightshade_nova
if the card I got is indeed a bad batch, is it possible to rma?
it's okay and all, without oc'ing

but I don't think I'll be satisfied with the current clock only.... =.="
bata
QUOTE(Sagittaros @ Feb 10 2008, 05:29 AM)
100% same symptoms as urs.
Just different games.
The screen went all black and fan shot up to 100%.

dunno same or not, but when playing Crysis, suddenly screen go black....didnt notice about the fan speed though hmm.gif
Sapphire HD3870 here

Chow
X.E.D
Someone actually got the IceQ? blink.gif

C'mon, be a man, install the Accelero next time. wink.gif
suicideroach
QUOTE(bata @ Feb 10 2008, 07:41 AM)
dunno same or not, but when playing Crysis, suddenly screen go black....didnt notice about the fan speed though hmm.gif
Sapphire HD3870 here

Chow

i'm using sapphire 3870 too. No any prob when playing Crysis so far cool.gif
I never OC my gc coz i'm satisfied enuff with its stock performance wub.gif
sukhoi37
Catalyst 8.2 going to be released on February 13

source
http://www.tomshardware.com/2008/02/06/amd...rrive_in_march/
sniper69
QUOTE(maranello55 @ Feb 10 2008, 05:28 AM)
Sorry..noob question here. How do u access the GC bios?  blush.gif
i'm using ATi WinFlash to view and flash BIOS via Windows, editor? not sure... but i found one, just not sure if it work or not by just editting the BIOS file...
KLlee
New owner here hehe.. bought the Sapphire 3870

Btw, anyone any idea when running 3D Mark 06, it took sometime for it so scan the system? Is it normal?

Cheers
sniper69
QUOTE(KLlee @ Feb 10 2008, 11:09 AM)
New owner here hehe.. bought the Sapphire 3870

Btw, anyone any idea when running 3D Mark 06, it took sometime for it so scan the system? Is it normal?
Cheers

yeap, normal... but i think there's a command to disable the scanning system, IIANM la... unsure.gif
KLlee
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 10 2008, 11:11 AM)
yeap, normal... but i think there's a command to disable the scanning system, IIANM la... unsure.gif

Thanks..

Cheers!
vearn27
QUOTE(butthead012 @ Feb 9 2008, 03:11 PM)
HIS HD3870 Iceq Turbo users? all your cards got any problem?

the one i bought from ZhenWei is dead i guess, just used for 2 days only... hahaha.. now need to send back and wait... i dunno when i can play games again... haih...

DEAD??? Not starting up anymore at all? shocking.gif shocking.gif

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Feb 9 2008, 06:33 PM)
ur card got problem or not? can send back to me so i can claim warranty 1 shot.
now 3units out of 6units (same batch) will send for waranty.
rclxub.gif

OMG sweat.gif ... so yours (my batch along with nles) got any problem? unsure.gif

QUOTE(Sagittaros @ Feb 9 2008, 07:57 PM)
I will post to u this Monday!!
My card half dead already..

Yours as well? shocking.gif

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Feb 10 2008, 12:04 AM)
dont think is the driver la... driver wont kill the gc like that... if driver issue this should have happen since day one but i gotta use it for about 1-2 days without gaming then after gaming its faulty... hahaha

alright i share my story here, dunno whether the card died due to the bee, bii sound or not cos GTR said his card also like that... ok on Wednesday which was the day before chinese new year tried to play some games everything was normal when playing... after i finished the first mission, whole screen went blank... i thought the card was freezed becos of the driver which some of u guys having, while playing games so i restarted my comp, then guess what? nothing came out since then... i could hear the hdd loading and it went into windows normally cos i could here the windows log on sound... i tried to take it out and install it back... but nothing at all... so i suspect its faulty or died... now have to wait zhenwei to get a new unit la... from that day onwards i got no comp to use especially gaming la, now using a crappy laptop to online... hahaha

Added on February 10, 2008, 12:09 amwhat happen to u guys that wanna return to zhenwei? what's wrong? those 3 of u that zhenwei mention?

I wanted to know about that as well sweat.gif.

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Feb 10 2008, 01:48 AM)

So far mine only the blackout problem with Crysis on explosion on AAA in the "Assault" chapter. But I only played 2 games at the moment which is Crysis and Doom 3.

@3870 iceq users

same prob when oc'ing

save me the agony

I also suspecting the driver problem and now waiting for AMD Ati to release new driver... well, isn't all the while Ati well known for their driver problems? hmm.gif
rainingzero
any aftermarket cooler can fit in 3850 so far??
bata
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Feb 10 2008, 11:45 AM)

Arctic Cooling S1 rev 2 smile.gif

Chow
clayclws
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Feb 10 2008, 11:45 AM)

TR HR03GT + any 92mm fan - suggest using either FN91 or ZMF2.

Added on February 10, 2008, 2:39 pmThose problem with blackouts only happen when you overclock them. Usually overheating is the main culprit. It's either not enough cooling on the GPU or the GDDR4. If your card blackouts, but you can still go back to windows (and in Vista, there'll be a balloon saying your display drivers are restarted) - that's definitely overheating. Mine happens even on TR HR03GT without fan...

I purposely took out the fan and tried to OC 905/1350 and played Bioshock and NWN2. Bioshock does not impose any problem (must be a hell good coding because it sure looks better than NWN2) but when it comes to NWN2, the card blackouts, and reverted to desktop with that balloon. Sure enough, it's the GDDR4 overheating from the readings on the Rivatuner (the GPU only registers 80°C max - without fan), plus NWN2 is good at stressing your Graphics RAM due to its usage of high resolution shadow maps. You can stress the GDDR4 with Oblivion that has the modded respack as well.
Nemesis181188
Hearing so many bad news.Is it because of this latest catalyst driver or it happens with previous drivers too?
Sagittaros
QUOTE(clayclws @ Feb 10 2008, 02:32 PM)

Added on February 10, 2008, 2:39 pmThose problem with blackouts only happen when you overclock them. Usually overheating is the main culprit. It's either not enough cooling on the GPU or the GDDR4. If your card blackouts, but you can still go back to windows (and in Vista, there'll be a balloon saying your display drivers are restarted) - that's definitely overheating. Mine happens even on TR HR03GT without fan...

I purposely took out the fan and tried to OC 905/1350 and played Bioshock and NWN2. Bioshock does not impose any problem (must be a hell good coding because it sure looks better than NWN2) but when it comes to NWN2, the card blackouts, and reverted to desktop with that balloon. Sure enough, it's the GDDR4 overheating from the readings on the Rivatuner (the GPU only registers 80°C max - without fan), plus NWN2 is good at stressing your Graphics RAM due to its usage of high resolution shadow maps. You can stress the GDDR4 with Oblivion that has the modded respack as well.

That one is atikmdag error rite?
That one happens when u oc too high and overheating.
But my iceq is not the case.
First of all,i never let the temperature exceeds 75C.
Second, it is factory-clocked.
THIRDly, i cannot go back to windows because no display signal.
And this has occured 15+times now.. cry.gif
Could it be bios error??
skylinegtr34rule4life
woohoo V2 dy laugh.gif rclxms.gif
normeck
from what ive read all the posting...

1) Ati card good in eyecandy compared to Nvidia
2) it has problem with their driver

- is it when it come to extreme OC it has problem OR factory OC?
- if not OC will it be a problem with the driver?
pikacu
@normeck,

wait for latest driver of 3870 to be release..
nightshade_nova
QUOTE(clayclws @ Feb 10 2008, 02:32 PM)

I don't think it's overheating issue
see, I can oc + benchmark just fine using rivatuner n overdrive (but of course, crashes when playing games)
BUT when using ATT, can't even increase the core by 1mhz...the screen goes kapoof

And something else to note, using old drivers, 7.11,7.12 I auto tune the card, means the card clock will increase by itself
but using latest 8.1, the auto tune did not, I repeat, did not increase the clock for core n mem, meaning that if I wanna oc, I have to use the slider

so, I seriously suspect its driver/bios issue

maybe HIS already noticed and forwarded the issue to amd, thus the autotune won't work, at least for now,
on the latest driver
sukhoi37
how come suddenly got users have problems with the driver now? blink.gif
my sapphire is running fine so far, from 7.12 to 8.1.
btw, i tried a few bios before now using modded bios 875/1250 oced to 1012/1330.
nightshade_nova
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Feb 10 2008, 05:16 PM)
how come got suddenly got users got problems with the driver now? blink.gif
my sapphire is running fine so far, from 7.12 to 8.1.
btw, i tried a few bios before now using modded bios 875/1250 oced to 1012/1330.

we are talking about his iceq spesifically here....
if I wasn't already going back to college, would have asked you for the bios cry.gif
normeck
lol..its about ICEq??...i thought all Ati card....
then maybe i will go to Saphire...
clayclws
QUOTE(Sagittaros @ Feb 10 2008, 03:50 PM)
That one is atikmdag error rite?
That one happens when u oc too high and overheating.
But my iceq is not the case.
First of all,i never let the temperature exceeds 75C.
Second, it is factory-clocked.
THIRDly, i cannot go back to windows because no display signal.
And this has occured 15+times now.. cry.gif
Could it be bios error??

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Feb 10 2008, 04:51 PM)
I don't think it's overheating issue
see, I can oc + benchmark just fine using rivatuner n overdrive (but of course, crashes when playing games)
BUT when using ATT, can't even increase the core by 1mhz...the screen goes kapoof

And something else to note, using old drivers, 7.11,7.12 I auto tune the card, means the card clock will increase by itself
but using latest 8.1, the auto tune did not, I repeat, did not increase the clock for core n mem, meaning that if I wanna oc, I have to use the slider

so, I seriously suspect its driver/bios issue

maybe HIS already noticed and forwarded the issue to amd, thus the autotune won't work, at least for now,
on the latest driver

HIS ICEQ HD3870 having lots of weird anomallies...guess you people should try to backup its BIOS, then flash it with its non-ICEQ ones? My vanilla HIS HD3870 is doing fine...except when I took out the fans laugh.gif
pikacu
ima searching for price powercolor 3870 scs3 at market.. @_@"
butthead012
my his hd3870 iceq turbo nv oc, no overheating but after the black out no more signal... now only can send back to forumer to exchange it i guess...
Doom
hmmmm ... weird .. my 3870 Iceq3 has never got any sort of problems that u guys are experiencing ..

Is it about iceq3 version or Iceq3 turbo version ?

heizad
@Doom, u bought from where ur 3870? izzit standard or turbo version?
cyberfly
dunno this info has been posted before,but heres the link : brows.gif brows.gif

HD3870 + HD3850 mix crossfire using Catalyst 8.1
heizad
HD3850 got 1gb version???
pikacu
QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 10 2008, 09:55 PM)
HD3850 got 1gb version???

i dun think so... ...because it is not worth to do that..lol

Added on February 10, 2008, 10:50 pmah..i found it..powercolor does release 3850 1gig version

http://www.powercolor.com/Global/products_...?ProductID=1814
heizad
wonder how much will it be if got in our market...
butthead012
the one i bought is iceq Turbo version ... Doom yours iceq version? no turbo?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.