Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: How to monitor children's Internet Usage?
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Internet Related
dhee85
There's 3 laptops/PCs connected to my Wireless LAN at home. 2 of the users are below 16 are therefore i need a way to monitor their Internet usage. How can i do so without being beside them 24/7?

I've heard there are keyboard-logging software where a background software will be running and record all typing done by the user. This i feel is still lacking, as if the user is on IM, can't see what's the other person typing.

What's the best method or program to monitor/record a user's Internet usage such as email, IM, web surfing which also records the time and date? I heard there's a program that allows me to use my laptop and access a another PC's screen in the same network in real time so i can see what that other user is up to, possible?

Please recommend a good program, if possible free to download.

Thank you.
pikacu
stalker .. doh.gif

that is too much, even it is possible..
dhee85
they are 12 year old kids. I don't think it suitable for them to view porn / chat to strangers who pretend to be girls etc. Hence i need to monitor their usage. Is that really too much???
asellus
You cannot actually stop them from talking/chatting with men posing as 12-year olds. You need to educate them for that. No technology can help you with that.

It is better that you set up a server where all their traffic is logged for later review. Do not bother with setting up software to remotely monitor activities on your child laptop/PC because if they have a clue, they will simply remove it. Remember, in computer security, if an attacker has physical access, all bets are off.
yOuNg$tEr
Altho i've no right to comment much as i'm still in da process of growing up..
but i think u're going too far...if it's like that..might as well dun let them use the PC's at all right?
agree with what asellus says...some things needa be educated..
Imo, mayb u can subcribe for the limited streamyx access ...or put the laptop's/PC's in the living room(well, in my case...i had the maid...and my family members walking around, so i only got access to porn after i shifted the pc to my room tongue.gif icon_idea.gif )..or get close to ur children in the way that they won't prevent u from intruding their privacy or see what their doing and chatting...so when something goes wrong ..mayb u can judge by their reaction and behaviour...

just my 2 cents
-peace! biggrin.gif
CZero
In VIsta you can control almost everything without any 3rd party software. You can also control how long they'll connected with Internet everyday. Dunno where the function is located since never used it before. Just read it from somewhere...
eXPeri3nc3
QUOTE(asellus @ Feb 6 2008, 07:31 PM)
You cannot actually stop them from talking/chatting with men posing as 12-year olds. You need to educate them for that. No technology can help you with that.

It is better that you set up a server where all their traffic is logged for later review. Do not bother with setting up software to remotely monitor activities on your child laptop/PC because if they have a clue, they will simply remove it. Remember, in computer security, if an attacker has physical access, all bets are off.

Hell yea man.

If they are smart enough, they can actually disable it while doing stuffs and enable it back for your viewing pleasure. laugh.gif But anyway face-to-face education remains the best way. nod.gif
minghao
QUOTE(dhee85 @ Feb 6 2008, 05:24 PM)
they are 12 year old kids. I don't think it suitable for them to view porn / chat to strangers who pretend to be girls etc. Hence i need to monitor their usage. Is that really too much???

lol..u know how old am i?14 yrs old only la..my parent never limits me for internet usage.Its important as yourself got displine anot..and i think for viewin porn..i think u need to educate well ur kids cuz i think everybody sure will seen porn right?Juz depends ur kids will addicted for it..if u dont let ur kids suft at home.They also can go to cyber cafe right? smile.gif

Added on February 8, 2008, 11:35 pm
QUOTE(asellus @ Feb 6 2008, 07:31 PM)

Agreed with you! smile.gif
4agze
wow you want it for free somemore...

just let them have 2-3 hours of daily internet surfing, i think that should be enough and also educate them.
GummiBear
http://www.topshareware.com/The-PC-Detecti...nload-16962.htm

Did u ever try google? blush.gif

I think the trial is enought for you to spy on your child drool.gif
nicawh
lol. monitor children usage. i dont think thats right although its for their good. wonder what they would think if they knew they were being watched.
whitelatte
Parenting teaching is the best. Educate them not to simply trust stranger when on forum chat msn and so on.

I notice you are using Wireless Lan modem, check if it comes with built in software where you can block certain phrase words or URL.

I am using the Netgear Router and t does the job for me. I can monitor where my users visited and also i can block those web when i found it 18SX. haha
Cloud9Nos3
If my parent monitoring my internet usage/ watching me and busted by me. I will never ever talk to them anymore. I start online since standard 4
paradox3696
QUOTE(dhee85 @ Feb 6 2008, 04:09 PM)
There's 3 laptops/PCs connected to my Wireless LAN at home. 2 of the users are below 16 are therefore i need a way to monitor their Internet usage. How can i do so without being beside them 24/7?

I've heard there are keyboard-logging software where a background software will be running and record all typing done by the user. This i feel is still lacking, as if the user is on IM, can't see what's the other person typing.

What's the best method or program to monitor/record a user's Internet usage such as email, IM, web surfing which also records the time and date? I heard there's a program that allows me to use my laptop and access a another PC's screen in the same network in real time so i can see what that other user is up to, possible?

Thank you.

As a parent, u have every right as to how much time and when you allow your children to go online.

Child Control 2007 9.695

Computers are the place for children. This is the place where they can sharpen
their agility as well as their abilities. They can learn and make new friends.
What?s more, the Internet provides information for homework assignments. So far,
so good. But they also need to be protected from the computer?for one thing, so
that they don?t lose their sense of time and forget to go out and play with
their friends once in a while, and for another, because of the dangers lurking
on the Web. That?s why responsible parents everywhere install Child Control on
every computer that their children use.

Check your PM for full version.

GOod luck and enjoy!

Added on February 19, 2008, 7:53 pm
QUOTE(dhee85 @ Feb 6 2008, 04:09 PM)

Thank you.

HERE is another u for u to consider

Parental Control 2.0

Parental Control allow it: the software make timely reports and
screenshots, assign unwanted Internet content (a browser will be
closed if it's window title have this content), unwanted programs
(games, your important programs, etc.) and unwanted time (the
computer automatically shuts down and won't start up again).
Parental Control Agent work in hide mode, you may set a password to
program reports

System Requirements:
- Windows 2000/NT/XP/2003
- 2 Mb free hard drive space

Homepage
http://www.new-utilities.net/parentalcontrol.html

Download
http://www.new-utilities.net/download.php?...ontrolsetup.exe

Check your PM for full version
orenzai
as a teenager myself...i think you are going too far..they will not have their own privacy... for instance maybe they are gossiping about some hot chick at school that he is interested in, you get to see everything they say...just like another pair of ears and eyes always by them... i would suggest using those site blocking programs to prevent them from going into under 18 sites... that would be a better win-win solution for you and you children...just giving MHO
Crazy.SoT.Gila
Keyloggers will be sufficient. Not just basic ones though, there are keyloggers which can log IM chats (both parties), URLs visited and take periodical screenshots. However, such softwares can be easily detected if your children have the basic knowledge on these kinda stuffs. Advance ones would normally be sharewares too. Go buy it, don't get caught by your children doing illegal stuffs using pirated copies sleep.gif

However. personally, I do not support such act as it is an invasion of privacy IMO. I even hate it when my parents would just pop their head over and see what I'm doing. I'm just chatting normal stuffs, doing normal web surfing (mostly LYN laugh.gif ), but somehow it just irritates me a lot dry.gif
orenzai
QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Feb 24 2008, 09:17 PM)
...However. personally, I do not support such act as it is an invasion of privacy IMO. I even hate it when my parents would just pop their head over and see what I'm doing. I'm just chatting normal stuffs, doing normal web surfing (mostly LYN laugh.gif ), but somehow it just irritates me a lot dry.gif

nod.gif i 100% agree with that... its a breech of privacy and you gotta understand your child's feelings also
Nightfalls
1. Install a monitoring software that logs all the internet activity of your child
2. Keep track of wat they were looking at and jot them down but don't let them know. Then go browse it yourself so u know wat they finding.
3. Educate them by using some of the content (not explicit one lah) from the websites that you found.

Win Win Situation ??

They dunno that you are spying on them.
They saw something confusing and suddenly you gave them a Positive answer.
orenzai
lol..i have friends who even know how C++ at 12years old...so installing keyloggers and stuff would easily be detected...unless the kid is like those very ignorant type lar tongue.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.