Full Version: BitComet Thread V2
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Internet Related
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
tan_pang
user posted imageThread V2

BitComet Thread v1

Latest Version:

BitComet v1.06 2008.11.12
GUI Improved: rearrange main menu, "tools" changes to "software", "options" changes to "tools"
GUI Improved: add submenu to select default save directory in tools menu
GUI Improved: improve directory setting panel in option dialog. double click to set default save directory
GUI Improved: new Web Interface setting panel in option dialog
GUI Improved: add MD5 verify pane to HTTP/FTP task properties dialog
GUI Improved: downloaded files can be moved to candidate directory from context menu of task list
GUI Improved: add downloaded size and uploaded size columns in task list (hidden by default)
GUI Improved: remove Flv player from install package
GUI Improved: improve Long-Time seeding display in peer list
GUI Bugfix: fix some translation errors.
Core Improved: new Web Interface modular, to remote BitComet from web browser (disabled by default)
Core Improved: improve Long-Time Seeding module
Core Improved: increase first-time loading speed of torrent share list
Core Improved: limit download rate for HTTP task automatically when download speeding larger than disk writing speed, to avoid wasting too many memory for disk cache
Core Improved: update eMule plugin to v0.49b
Core Bugfix: UI may response slowly when downloading BT task in high speed
Core Bugfix: program crash after install IE8 beta

Older version: (only the 10 latest older version will be listed in here)

BitComet user in LYN: (82 forumer in the list)

QUOTE(Download BitComet)
Officially from BitComet
http://www.bitcomet.com/doc/download-achive.htm
http://download.bitcomet.com/achive/
---------------------------------------------------
Other place to download BitComet (older version)
http://www.filehippo.com/download_bitcomet/
http://www.oldapps.com/BitComet.htm

QUOTE(Other link)
Check IP: If want to check what IP from which country, you can go to website below
http://checkip.narak.com/

BitComet official website
BitComet on Wikipedia
tan_pang
Speed Guide... (still on development)
QUOTE(after install BitComet)
1. Set a limit to your upload speed
For 512k user, set the limit it to 15kBps
1M user can set the limit to 24kBps
2. Portforward and allow BitComet connection in firewall
3. Enable Protocal Encryption (although it is not very useful now since that TMNet using DPI...)

QUOTE(question about BitComet)
http://www.bitcomet.com/doc/faq.htm
FAQ by P2P forum
In depth FAQ for slow BT  <-- guide in LYN

How to Configure BitComet for the Best Possible Speed
Public vs. Private Trackers
A trouble shooting guide

For the XP SP2 connection limit. You can use latest version of BitComet, go to Preferences > Advanced > TCP/IP Limit
Set your 'New Half-Open Limit' higher than 10 (recommended >50)

About the Max Simultaneous Half-Open TCP connections settings under Preferences > Advanced > Connection. It is "Auto" by default. For BitComet, it usually mean '10'. However, if you experience any slow surfing or online gaming, you can lower that value (recommended '8'). but if you didnt have any surfing or online gaming problem, and download speed in BitComet is slow, then you can try to set it to a higher value.

Resume download after change version
The download task will still listed in BitComet after you upgrade or downgrade version. But if you cant find the task, try open that torrent again, choose the same "Save Location" to where the files you are downloading, and choose "Download later"
After that, hash-check the task. It will continue back to the percentage you have downloaded.

If you want to resume download using another client, you can try to remove the .bc! extension OR change the incomplete file extension to the other client "incomplete download file extension"...
open that torrent with the another client, hash-check again...and enjoy your download with new client!!!

If anyone experience slow internet browsing when using bitcomet, but the line didnt have any problem
then you may try these step
1.) Limit your download speed OR upload speed OR both
if this cant help....
2.) Reduce the value of "Max simultaneous half-open TCP connections"
set the value to any value that lower than 10, personally suggest 8...
if the value is "Auto", then make it to 8
IF, still cant help
Last, and is also the Best solution
3.) Disable the "DHT Network"

Disclaimer:
I'm not a professional, all information above might be incorrect...
Gray color passage need verification.

QUOTE(IMPORTANT!!)
If you still encounter slow speed download after done everything (portforward, enable DHT network, make a listening port.......)
Please refer to below link
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showforum=149

if want to complain about connection problem
please go to this thread

the info in here will be update soon...... everyone please post what I have miss in here... thanks notworthy.gif
riku2replica
bitcomet can't win thunder5 for some reason...
Amedion
QUOTE(riku2replica @ Feb 4 2008, 01:24 PM)
bitcomet can't win thunder5 for some reason...

Well for me ... All download manager also the same ...
Tmnet sux that's all ... smile.gif
Explode80
Out of sheer curiosity, how's Bitcomet's ban doing so far?

Has it actually been improved yet? Private trackers accepting Bitcomet once again or what's the story?

Been outdated on Bitcomet for so long already...
navilink
QUOTE(Amedion @ Feb 4 2008, 01:38 PM)
Well for me ... All download manager also the same ...
Tmnet sux that's all ...  smile.gif

absolutely correct! rclxms.gif haven't tried thunder5 though, its in chinese one right?
Amedion
QUOTE(Explode80 @ Feb 4 2008, 04:18 PM)
Out of sheer curiosity, how's Bitcomet's ban doing so far?

Has it actually been improved yet?  Private trackers accepting Bitcomet once again or what's the story?

Been outdated on Bitcomet for so long already...

Do you think Tmnet can beat Bitcomet ... ?

Bitcomet always provide updates ... Tmnet always ignore customers ... laugh.gif
gsan
add me into list

BC0.66 mod. version a.k.a black spider tongue.gif
Amedion
Aiks... Moderator merge thread.. smile.gif
punkyswat
tan_pang,
downgraded to 0.70.can u please help me to update the list?
fiqir
now i using latest version 0.99 happy.gif
Godevil
new torrent user here.

it stated that listen port has been blocked. but i still can dl.
I'm using 512 package and having around 20kbps dl speed.
is it portforward can increase the dl speed?
Amedion
QUOTE(Godevil @ Feb 17 2008, 02:04 PM)
new torrent user here.

it stated that listen port has been blocked. but i still can dl.
I'm using 512 package and having around 20kbps dl speed.
is it portforward can increase the dl speed?

Not bad la with that speed ... Not much seeder nowadays.. All greedy.. Download finish off bitcomet..

Anyway, the green / yellow light doesn't affects my download speed but i don't know about you ..

You use manual dial up or auto connect.. ?

AFAIK, now all bitcomet very user friendly.. No need set anything already .. smile.gif
knightdemon
how do i continue all my unfinished downloads without having the torrent links??
Amedion
QUOTE(knightdemon @ Feb 18 2008, 04:11 PM)
how do i continue all my unfinished downloads without having the torrent links??

Huh? The torrents all saved in ur bitcomet already.. Open bitcomet then right click and download .. smile.gif
knightdemon
my torrents all accidentally deleted..now wanna continue back...cant continue..
Amedion
QUOTE(knightdemon @ Feb 18 2008, 04:16 PM)
my torrents all accidentally deleted..now wanna continue back...cant continue..

UR torrent deleted?
But the file you downloaded half still there or not?
IF yes then the only option is to go back to the website.. Find the torrent link and put the download into the same folder..
It will auto hash check and resume download..
knightdemon
still there...wah...shet..so much download..i cant manually do it without goin to the webpage to redownload again??
Amedion
QUOTE(knightdemon @ Feb 18 2008, 04:22 PM)
still there...wah...shet..so much download..i cant manually do it without goin to the webpage to redownload again??

Erm.. I don't know any other way woh.. I think dun have leh.. sweat.gif

Btw, if not mistaken.. There's another easy way..

Go to C:/Program Files/Bitcomet/Torrents/
serenayap
hey guys ..do u hav any problem dl torrent ...i am facing this problem i cant seem to dl any torrnt from torrent spy...please help...thanks
scorps
QUOTE(serenayap @ Feb 25 2008, 04:09 PM)
hey guys ..do u hav any problem dl torrent ...i am facing this problem i cant seem to dl any torrnt from torrent spy...please help...thanks

maybe the torrrent file u try to download is fake or broken... hmm.gif
yangxi
Bitcomet Turbo 0.99

File: BitComet.rar, Size: 2.7 MB
http://210.48.144.250/file/H8ioXZptjOUYGNqCY9K4dJoP2

The item(s) will be available until 11-Mar 10:18pm.

File: BetterSP2.rar, Size: 80.5 KB *TCP Half-Open Limit (recommend 512)
http://210.48.144.250/file/CevVR2kHVh7xosRflpBO9mNaN

The item(s) will be available until 13-Mar 11:42am.

-No installation , direct use it.
-No advertisement
-Filter 60% Xunlei user.

*with my setting blush.gif (please change port number)
Goliath764
Add me into BitComet user also, using modded BC v0.64
Skylinestar
QUOTE(yangxi @ Mar 3 2008, 11:40 AM)
Bitcomet Turbo 0.99

File: BitComet.rar,  Size: 2.7 MB

File: BetterSP2.rar,  Size: 80.5 KB  *TCP Half-Open Limit  (recommend 512)

-No advertisement
-Filter 60% Xunlei user.

*with my setting  blush.gif    (please change port number)

what's so special about Turbo edition? very fast?
yangxi
Please let me know the performance. smile.gif

myee
bitcomet is very good....but nowdays most of torrent provider ban for bit comet....thay why i'm changing to azureus....
super macgyver
QUOTE(myee @ Mar 4 2008, 09:55 PM)
bitcomet is very good....but nowdays most of torrent provider ban for bit comet....thay why i'm changing to azureus....

most of the time is the limited amount of the particular torrent seeders issues. sweat.gif
jack3399
I think thunder is much better both in speed and stability
richgod
icon_rolleyes.gif I m bitcomet supporter..pls add me to the list...
rclxm9.gif BITCOMET 0.99 VERSION USER HERE thumbup.gif
tech_frix
is bitcommet better than utorrent??
i'm using utorrent and my average speed is around 8KB..
so bitcommet gonna give me some boost?? notworthy.gif
Goliath764
QUOTE(tech_frix @ Mar 17 2008, 10:47 AM)

I think you can get better speed with BitComet.
yangxi

yeah .. before using bitcomet. please buy powerful modem router . sweat.gif
tan_pang

Better don't use µTorrent anymore because µTorrent been sold to BitTorrent and it have no more update...
xxboxx
QUOTE(yangxi @ Mar 3 2008, 11:40 AM)
Bitcomet Turbo 0.99

File: BitComet.rar,  Size: 2.7 MB

File: BetterSP2.rar,  Size: 80.5 KB  *TCP Half-Open Limit  (recommend 512)

-No advertisement
-Filter 60% Xunlei user.

*with my setting  blush.gif    (please change port number)

can provide new link? this one expired already.
wanna change back to bitcomet since µTorrent is basically dead already.
tech_frix
QUOTE(yangxi @ Mar 17 2008, 09:30 PM)
yeah .. before using bitcomet. please buy powerful modem router . sweat.gif

my modem is Linksys WAG200G...
is it still not enough?? sweat.gif
i'm using 2mb package... sweat.gif
OneFarEast
Bitcomet beta 1.00 is available now..
tech_frix
QUOTE(OneFarEast @ Mar 18 2008, 05:00 AM)
Bitcomet beta 1.00 is available now..

can give link r??
and can sumone teach me how to use bitcommet??
been using utorrent for ages... sweat.gif
yangxi
http://us.bitcomet.com/beta/

http://us.bitcomet.com/beta/BitCometBeta_20080311_plugin.exe
http://us.bitcomet.com/beta/BitCometBeta_20080311_setup.exe

Added on March 18, 2008, 10:21 am
QUOTE(tech_frix @ Mar 18 2008, 09:21 AM)
can give link r??
and can sumone teach me how to use bitcommet??
been using utorrent for ages... sweat.gif

before use bc,

please check router setting:

- Please flash firmware version to 1.01.05
- connect as PPPOA , Multiplexing: VC
- Keep Alive: Redial period 20secs
- MTU size: 1500

- Turn off Firewall Protection
- Enable QOS , set High priority for HTTP,FTP .. might boost up LT seed
- Turn off Upnp

Added on March 18, 2008, 10:44 am
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 18 2008, 01:04 AM)
can provide new link? this one expired already.
wanna change back to bitcomet since µTorrent is basically dead already.

Bitcomet
http://www.mediafire.com/?s142l4xixbe
tan_pang
QUOTE(yangxi @ Mar 18 2008, 10:15 AM)

Added on March 18, 2008, 10:21 am

before use bc,

please check router setting:

- Please flash firmware version to  1.01.05
- connect as PPPOA , Multiplexing: VC
- Keep Alive: Redial period 20secs
- MTU size: 1500

- Turn off Firewall Protection
- Enable QOS , set High priority for HTTP,FTP ..   might boost up LT seed
- Turn off Upnp

sweat.gif
I think there is something wrong in your guide......

connect as PPPoA?? I think we can't do it except if we subscribe for SOHO package...
Turn off firewall... this will make his computer vulnerable to malware attack...

Added on March 18, 2008, 11:14 amIf you ask me what to do after download BitComet
I will only want him to set upload limit, portforward, and allow the BitComet connection in firewall... thats all... since that BitComet will do most of the settings automatically
yangxi
QUOTE(tan_pang @ Mar 18 2008, 11:12 AM)
sweat.gif
I think there is something wrong in your guide......

connect as PPPoA?? I think we can't do it except if we subscribe for SOHO package...
Turn off firewall... this will make his computer vulnerable to malware attack...

Added on March 18, 2008, 11:14 amIf you ask me what to do after download BitComet
I will only want him to set upload limit, portforward, and allow the BitComet connection in firewall... thats all... since that BitComet will do most of the settings automatically

Less down time compare with PPPOE. I can connect whole 2 week without disconnect.

vulnerable to malware attack

-windows problem , not router , unless hacker can control/remote your router (impossible ) sweat.gif
laichong
im using Bitcomet long time ago... just dl the 0.99 and using now...

im on 1mb streamyx package but my speed is actually 1536/512
and max speed can get around 120~130kB/s... using Aztech 305EW old skool modem router tongue.gif

so, i guess its depends on the line...

and for the firewall, my setting is ON all time (Router and Window), i just that port forward my bicomet listening port in my router and window firewall. and it works well...
super macgyver
QUOTE(laichong @ Mar 18 2008, 01:18 PM)
im using Bitcomet long time ago... just dl the 0.99 and using now...

im on 1mb streamyx package but my speed is actually 1536/512
and max speed can get around 120~130kB/s... using Aztech 305EW old skool modem router tongue.gif

so, i guess its depends on the line...

and for the firewall, my setting is ON all time (Router and Window),  i just that port forward my bicomet listening port in my router and window firewall.  and it works well...

if u lazy to do port forwarding, u can just enable the bypass setting inside bitcomet. wink.gif
xxboxx
this is the v0.99 you give link before rite? thanks.
should i use this ver or the latest 1.0? hmm.gif
tan_pang
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 18 2008, 03:46 PM)
this is the v0.99 you give link before rite? thanks.
should i use this ver or the latest 1.0? hmm.gif

the "latest" you mean is still in beta...
you can use it if you want...
xxboxx
eh, this one is files that have been installed in your PC? so should i download v0.99 from bitcomet site and install, then replace with this one?

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Mar 18 2008, 03:47 PM)
the "latest" you mean is still in beta...
you can use it if you want...

should think about it again lar. tongue.gif
yangxi
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 18 2008, 03:58 PM)
eh, this one is files that have been installed in your PC? so should i download v0.99 from bitcomet site and install, then replace with this one?
should think about it again lar. tongue.gif

standalone file , can direct access it.
hypermount
WOW very fast...local torrents but i dun see any local ip..

reaching 100KB/s for more than 1 day

usually get around 50-60kb/s... no more throttle already?

for 4 gb torrent completed in 1 day only

Using bitcomet 0.97 now.
xxboxx
QUOTE(yangxi @ Mar 18 2008, 06:33 PM)
standalone file , can direct access it.

using it now, very fast! i get max download speed. thumbup.gif
it's really turbo!! drool.gif
tech_frix
all bitcomet sifus...
i'm a utorrent user and currently i switch to bitcomet cuz my utorrent speed is <10KBps...
so now i want to go with bitcomet...
is there any specific setting for boosting my bitcomet setting??
thanks!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
super macgyver
QUOTE(tech_frix @ Mar 21 2008, 09:51 AM)
all bitcomet sifus...
i'm a utorrent user and currently i switch to bitcomet cuz my utorrent speed is <10KBps...
so now i want to go with bitcomet...
is there any specific setting for boosting my bitcomet setting??
thanks!!! notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

just use normal setting compare with ur utorrent first.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.