Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: HDTV FAQ
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23
Aura
QUOTE(barney @ Jul 13 2008, 12:21 AM)
Hello all,

I am planning to get a Sony 32" LCD for my brand new LCD. I went to carrefour today just to look see look see. I saw a 32" S series which cost 2499 which was pretty nice. Does anyone here has the 32" S series playing on a ps3? I was wondering hows the picture quality? I want something that can be as near to a full HD quality when playing my GTA4, MGS4 and GT5(future game). I think the 32" S series model was KLV-32S400A

How about the 32" V series? Does it has lot of difference S vs V series? I just want a Sony 32" LCD that u can be happy with the display quality. Let me know...

p/s: the reason why i choose Sony over so many other brand was because my PS3 is Sony, so to Sony PS3 with a Sony LCD = perfect match brand  tongue.gif

Actually, in terms of specs, V-Series and S-Series has no difference.... It's just that S-Series seems to be brighter than V-Series (at that time I was browsing).... V-Series is a bit sharper but can't be noticed by the human eye.... I dunno about S-Series, if u dun mind forking out a bit more for V-Series, I suggest u go for V-Series.... Coz now I'm currently using one and V-Series has Full HD capability.... Native resolution is 1080p but if u wanna use as PC display, then u hav to set to 720p resolution coz it's sharper.... But when u play games on PC, u can set to 1080p resolution..... As for PS3, it can go up to 1080p.... I've tried RR7 and it's 1080p..... Very nice..... Normally, u can't get this feature on 32" unless u hav to fork out RM4k++.... So, as a budget LCD TV, I suggest this one is a better choice than S-Series....

Summary, pic quality = excellent, 1080p supported, S-Force surround sound, can choose from 4 colours (mine is white smile.gif ), sound quality very clear for TV speakers, price won't break the bank.... That's all I hav to say for now.... If I hav some pics, I'll upload it for u guys to c.... Oh ya, btw, V-Series costs RM2999...
TheUndead
I'm using the KLV-32S400A and I play my PS3 on it. No complaints from me so far. Good colors and brightness. But have to adjust first la. ;-)
pspfan
QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 13 2008, 11:59 AM)
Actually, in terms of specs, V-Series and S-Series has no difference.... It's just that S-Series seems to be brighter than V-Series (at that time I was browsing).... V-Series is a bit sharper but can't be noticed by the human eye.... I dunno about S-Series, if u dun mind forking out a bit more for V-Series, I suggest u go for V-Series.... Coz now I'm currently using one and V-Series has Full HD capability.... Native resolution is 1080p but if u wanna use as PC display, then u hav to set to 720p resolution coz it's sharper.... But when u play games on PC, u can set to 1080p resolution..... As for PS3, it can go up to 1080p.... I've tried RR7 and it's 1080p..... Very nice..... Normally, u can't get this feature on 32" unless u hav to fork out RM4k++.... So, as a budget LCD TV, I suggest this one is a better choice than S-Series....

Summary, pic quality = excellent, 1080p supported, S-Force surround sound, can choose from 4 colours (mine is white  smile.gif ), sound quality very clear for TV speakers, price won't break the bank.... That's all I hav to say for now.... If I hav some pics, I'll upload it for u guys to c.... Oh ya, btw, V-Series costs RM2999...

hmm since when vseries 32 inch supports 1080p? only the latest 40 inch s and v series is 1080p.. u must be high... j/k
Aura
QUOTE(pspfan @ Jul 13 2008, 01:57 PM)
hmm since when vseries 32 inch supports 1080p? only the latest 40 inch s and v series is 1080p.. u must be high... j/k

I'm already using 1080p to play Ridge Racer 7.... At 1st, I thought it doesn't support... But after looking at the brochure, it's stated that it does support... And when I get my TV, I've seen the max settings on the PS3 is 1080p.... Although it doesn't state that it is Full HD 1080p, but it does hav the capability..... S-Series I dunno, but for V-Series 32", it does support.... U can go check the specs............
pspfan
QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 13 2008, 02:07 PM)
I'm already using 1080p to play Ridge Racer 7.... At 1st, I thought it doesn't support... But after looking at the brochure, it's stated that it does support... And when I get my TV, I've seen the max settings on the PS3 is 1080p.... Although it doesn't state that it is Full HD 1080p, but it does hav the capability..... S-Series I dunno, but for V-Series 32", it does support.... U can go check the specs............

check out the specs bro....

http://www.sony.com.sg/product/klv-32v400a?site=hp_en_SG_i

Aura
QUOTE(pspfan @ Jul 13 2008, 06:28 PM)

It does state that it supports 1080p.... Check the part where it states what video signal it supports.....
welwitchia
^ Your LCD accepts a 1080p signal but the output is still 720p simply because your screen has a native res of 1366 x 768. Full HD screens runs at 1920 * 1080. Then again, i doubt there's any "visual" difference between a 720p and 1080p Ridge Racer tongue.gif
Aura
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jul 13 2008, 09:05 PM)
^ Your LCD accepts a 1080p signal but  the output is still 720p simply because your screen has a native res of 1366 x 768. Full HD screens runs at 1920 * 1080.  Then again, i doubt there's any "visual" difference between a 720p and 1080p Ridge Racer  tongue.gif

The thing is that even my PC detects 1920x1080 resolution and also output 1080p resolution.... I din say that there's any significant difference between 720p and 1080p.... I'm just implying that my LCD TV can output 1080p resolution..... And yes, I know Full HD runs at that reso....
ronaldjoe
QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 13 2008, 02:07 PM)

QUOTE(pspfan @ Jul 13 2008, 06:28 PM)

This is a HD Ready panel. Input signal could be 1080i...
BeastX
QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 13 2008, 10:00 PM)
The thing is that even my PC detects 1920x1080 resolution and also output 1080p resolution.... I din say that there's any significant difference between 720p and 1080p.... I'm just implying that my LCD TV can output 1080p resolution..... And yes, I know Full HD runs at that reso....

If your tv is a 32 incher v-series..The output is not 1080p nor 720p... it is whatever resolution (which includes 1080p/i,720p) scaled to 1366x768... Full HD usually refers that the panel has 1920x1080 (2.07 Million) pixels. If possible it is best to run at the native 1366x768 res with your PC.

FullHD V-series is limited to 40 and 46 inch models (new v400 and the v2500 [JP] and above)

The 32 incher of the W-series is a 1920x1080 8-bit panel... the 40 and 46 incher of the W and V series should be 10 bit panels
pspfan
QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 13 2008, 10:00 PM)

u have a NON-FULL HD panel buddy.. ur lcd cant output 1080p
Kyoyagami
After going to 1 utama yesterday for the Sony roadshow, I made a simple comparison between the panels around me that was shown.

I was tad a bit late on catching the GT 5P demo on the tv's, yet snagged to watch some football action which i think was ok.

Overall, the 40S400A is a little bit jaggier compared to the 40V400A. So, for 500 extra, ur choosing to get less jaggies for ur tv.

The looking at the W series, maybe I'm wrong, but the 40W seems nearly similar to the V series. so, adding another 2k to the price might make u go yaya. But that is considering the fact that I'm unsure if 100Hz is present on the 40W.

Overall, I'm satisfied with the 40V400A. Saving the money up right now. biggrin.gif
rx330
users must know the difference btwn accept signal and output 1080 reso is 2 different matter
Aura
QUOTE(BeastX @ Jul 14 2008, 03:51 AM)
If your tv is a 32 incher v-series..The output is not 1080p nor 720p... it is whatever resolution (which includes 1080p/i,720p) scaled to 1366x768... Full HD usually refers that the panel has 1920x1080 (2.07 Million) pixels. If possible it is best to run at the native 1366x768 res with your PC.

FullHD V-series is limited to 40 and 46 inch models (new v400 and the v2500 [JP] and above)

The 32 incher of the W-series is a 1920x1080 8-bit panel... the 40 and 46 incher of the W and V series should be 10 bit panels

Thx for the facts.... For desktop display, I'm using that resolution... As for games, I'm using 1920x1080.... But just wanna know one thing... I have a screenshot for my PC regarding reso selection.... It includes 1920x1080 resolution (it is included in the spoiler).... Also, when I went into nvidia cp, it states my native reso is 1920x1080 (sry, I din take any screenies).... I know my panel is HD ready panel so, even though I hav this reso, doesn't mean is Full HD, right?? Just confused why is like that.... need some tech knowledge on LCD TV..... This is my 1st LCD TV so wanna know more.....

barney
QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 13 2008, 11:59 AM)

Summary, pic quality = excellent, 1080p supported, S-Force surround sound, can choose from 4 colours (mine is white  smile.gif ), sound quality very clear for TV speakers, price won't break the bank.... That's all I hav to say for now.... If I hav some pics, I'll upload it for u guys to c.... Oh ya, btw, V-Series costs RM2999...

Hi Aura,

What model are you using? Is it KLV-32V400A/B? Don't forget to show us your LCD. I don't mind putting extra 500 to get something im satisfied with. Where did you bought your LCD? I was thinking of bringing my PS3 to shops like Harvey Norman and tell them im interested in getting a 32" LCD but would like to to test with my PS3 for the picture quality. Do you think they would let me test? Because i seriously don't want to end up something that im not happy with.
Aura
QUOTE(barney @ Jul 14 2008, 10:33 AM)
Hi Aura,

What model are you using? Is it KLV-32V400A/B? Don't forget to show us your LCD. I don't mind putting extra 500 to get something im satisfied with. Where did you bought your LCD? I was thinking of bringing my PS3 to shops like Harvey Norman and tell them im interested in getting a 32" LCD but would like to to test with my PS3 for the picture quality. Do you think they would let me test? Because i seriously don't want to end up something that im not happy with.

This is the link to my current setup: My Setup

Mine is KLV32V400A.... U can see some screenies for GRID on PC as well....
barney
QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 14 2008, 11:05 AM)
This is the link to my current setup: My Setup

Mine is KLV32V400A.... U can see some screenies for GRID on PC as well....

Wow, nice white LCD that goes well with your PS3. I will need to do more research before buying one next month...
BeastX
QUOTE(Aura @ Jul 14 2008, 10:29 AM)
I know my panel is HD ready panel so, even though I hav this reso, doesn't mean is Full HD, right?? Just confused why is like that.... need some tech knowledge on LCD TV..... This is my 1st LCD TV so wanna know more.....

It means the controller receiver on your TV accepts 1080p signal and scale it to your screen res. which is 1366x768... (an in-between 720p and 1080p res.) All the HD sources from PS3/X-box360/Blu-ray/broadcast are either up-scaled slightly or downscaled. Only through PC or PS3 linux can you get the native 1:1 or pixel to pixel res....
Aura
QUOTE(BeastX @ Jul 14 2008, 11:37 AM)
It means the controller receiver on your TV accepts 1080p signal and scale it to your screen res. which is 1366x768... (an in-between 720p and 1080p res.) All the HD sources from PS3/X-box360/Blu-ray/broadcast are either up-scaled slightly or downscaled. Only through PC or PS3 linux can you get the native 1:1 or pixel to pixel res....

Thx for the info.... Will bear it in mind.....
dcorperation
hi all....i,ve bought JVC lcd 32inch tv...that is after comparing to all the 32incher i,ve seen....so i choose this model...becoz it seems like to be better...the picture is bright and have 100hz...so i said to myself why would i not to buy it...not so many people have had this jvc model and thus it's hard to find feedback from the one who does...

the question is how do you managa to know if this tv have upscalling to 1080p....the seller said it does....i plugged in the phillips hdmi hd dvd player...the player says can be output to 1080p...but the option was turned to grey...it means cannot be selected...the highest is 1080i...

for the picture quality...for now i haven't try any hd dvd or hd content yet...so the hd quality is yet to be known...but for normal dvd i say the picture is great...no ghosting for high speed action...but there is a little bit flickering when the scene is panning but i think it is from the player....
gr8fr8
QUOTE(BeastX @ Jul 14 2008, 11:37 AM)

So does that mean the KLV-32V400A is not FULL-HD?
BeastX
QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Jul 18 2008, 07:57 AM)
So does that mean the KLV-32V400A is not FULL-HD?

Yes, it is not, but the 32 incher of W400 series is ...
gr8fr8
QUOTE(BeastX @ Jul 18 2008, 09:09 AM)
Yes, it is not, but the 32 incher of W400 series is ...

oic, now im kinda regretting buying the S series. mmm....but still it is better than playing on lcd monitor blush.gif
rx330
aiyoh.. no need regret lar... just enjoy will do
cscheat
QUOTE(nders @ Jul 4 2008, 09:17 PM)
thanks again for Aura and htkaki for the info! and how much will the yet-to-be-released bravia S 40inch cost? if it is really bargain maybe i will wait for it and up my budget abit.... for full HD = pure pwnage!

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 10 2008, 10:07 AM)
Bravia Full HD

40S400A 4999, 40V400A 5499

Its just wow. I feel next year is so far away... sad.gif

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 14 2008, 10:20 AM)
After going to 1 utama yesterday for the Sony roadshow, I made a simple comparison between the panels around me that was shown.

I was tad a bit late on catching the GT 5P demo on the tv's, yet snagged to watch some football action which i think was ok.

Overall, the 40S400A is a little bit jaggier compared to the 40V400A. So, for 500 extra, ur choosing to get less jaggies for ur tv.

The looking at the W series, maybe I'm wrong, but the 40W seems nearly similar to the V series. so, adding another 2k to the price might make u go yaya. But that is considering the fact that I'm unsure if 100Hz is present on the 40W.

Overall, I'm satisfied with the 40V400A. Saving the money up right now. biggrin.gif

Guys, i bought my KLV-40S400A for RM4750 + 1 HDMI DVD Player (1080p capable) + 1 Lightning Surge Protector + 1 sony style bag (nice!) + 3 Yrs Official Warranty from SONY

now playing DEVIL MAY CRY 4 using my humble rig... already pumped to 1920 x 1080 full HD resolution & Everything MAX out !!! SMOOTH & SWEET !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

shamsul_LP
I seen Sanyo Lcd TV 32'' that support 1080p signal only rm 1800...anyone use sanyo (only has two model for 32')?

Added on July 20, 2008, 12:09 pmPanasonic TC-32LZ800
I seen at rm 1.9 k...i think it the best lcd tv for 32' that support 1080p.. rclxms.gif

Screen Size 32 in.
Supported Resolution 1080p
Supported Standards HDMI
Display Features Aspect Ratio 16:9
Contrast Ratio 10000:1
Brightness 500 cd/m2
Viewing Angle 178 degrees
Display Resolution 1920 x 1080
Total Pixels 2,073,600 Pixels
Widescreen Modes Conventional 4:3, Full, Zoom, Just

any suggestion?anyone use it?
btw...i new here
ronaldjoe
QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Jul 19 2008, 08:34 PM)
I seen Sanyo Lcd TV 32'' that support 1080p signal only rm 1800...anyone use sanyo (only has two model for 32')?

Added on July 20, 2008, 12:09 pmPanasonic TC-32LZ800
I seen at rm 1.9 k...i think it the best lcd tv for 32' that support 1080p.. rclxms.gif

Screen Size 32 in.
Supported Resolution 1080p
Supported Standards HDMI
Display Features Aspect Ratio 16:9
Contrast Ratio 10000:1
Brightness 500 cd/m2
Viewing Angle 178 degrees
Display Resolution 1920 x 1080
Total Pixels 2,073,600 Pixels
Widescreen Modes Conventional 4:3, Full, Zoom, Just

any suggestion?anyone use it?
btw...i new here

Bro,

Where did you see TC-32LZ800?
It's best bang for bucks if it's RM1900...
Is TC series for American market?
99below0
RM1.9k is really cheap for a Panny 32lz800 (if it's a new set). Please share the place so I can run screaming to the shop to buy one. I'm not kidding. smile.gif
komputer
Dad wants a nice LCD 40" for under 10k. Any recommendations?
shamsul_LP
i seen here at tanjung malim...study here...UPSI..
i ask him..he said this for olympic version...
he said after this month the price is gonna rise up..(sure ke rise or price gonna be going down???)
i thinnk price is same around malaysia
simply go to panasonic dealor...the price is rm 1990 but if u gonna take is on ur own, the price is gonna be rm 1890....

Added on July 20, 2008, 6:15 pmNot sure it is american model or not...
thank made me confused whether to buy it later or now.
have seacrh so far...at panasonic.com.my,not listed this model but at panasonic.com, the model shown there...
and for mya all reaserched so far.....this is the first model i found that support both 1080p and has 2,073,600 Pixels
What afraid me most, when i finish my study (this november after that go practical) this model will gone forever...
any suggestion?
cwl_ykh
all sifu here plz help me! im using philips 32TA2800 lcd and home theatre of JVC TH-D7. im having a problem is my lcd have only got dvi input and not hdmi input so now im using the hdmi to dvi converter to convert the resolution from my sound system that got hdmi input and output but my sound system show up HDCP ERROR when try to watch movies from it!! it even show some snow on my lcd and then blink some dvd menu for me but can't operate normally... now i just can play my movies from my ps3 using hdmi to dvi... cry.gif any solutions from all the sifus?? notworthy.gif

ronaldjoe
QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Jul 20 2008, 06:05 PM)
i seen here at tanjung malim...study here...UPSI..
i ask him..he said this for olympic version...
he said after this month the price is gonna rise up..(sure ke rise or price gonna be going down???)
i thinnk price is same around malaysia
simply go to panasonic dealor...the price is rm 1990 but if u gonna take is on ur own, the price is gonna be rm 1890....

Added on July 20, 2008, 6:15 pmNot sure it is american model or not...
thank made me confused whether to buy it later or now.
have seacrh so far...at panasonic.com.my,not listed this model but at panasonic.com, the model shown there...
and for mya all reaserched so far.....this is the first model i found that support both 1080p and has 2,073,600 Pixels
What afraid me most, when i finish my study (this november after that go practical) this model will gone forever...
any suggestion?

If it's genuine product with warranty, then just grab... brows.gif
htkaki
QUOTE(komputer @ Jul 20 2008, 05:45 PM)
Dad wants a nice LCD 40" for under 10k. Any recommendations?

For abt RM10K, might as well go for 46" or 50" Full HD if you have the required source (i.e. BD)
komputer
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 22 2008, 12:00 AM)
For abt RM10K, might as well go for 46" or 50" Full HD if you have the required source (i.e. BD)

Thanks bro! Any recommendation on brands? I read this thread and the consensus is that as long it isnt a Sony screen tongue.gif
rx330
hmmm, if ig ot 10k, i buy the panny 50 incher, but then again, with 10 k, i might as well buy a HD projector tongue.gif
99below0
I haven't seen a 40" LCD (at any price) that looks good without a blu-ray feed. hmm.gif
dimenxion
i'm looking at LCD TV from LG. model Scarlet. how about this model? i can get this at quite a good price, so wanna know about this model. anybody can give a review?

furthermore, i'm looking for 32' LCD around 2K if possible. any good model?
htkaki
QUOTE(dimenxion @ Jul 22 2008, 10:46 AM)
i'm looking at LCD TV from LG. model Scarlet. how about this model? i can get this at quite a good price, so wanna know about this model. anybody can give a review?

furthermore, i'm looking for 32' LCD around 2K if possible. any good model?

What is your main usage for this 32"?

hmmm, if ig ot 10k, i buy the panny 50 incher, but then again, with 10 k, i might as well buy a HD projector  tongue.gif
laugh.gif Then, get a 106" HDTV screen. Fulamak! It is more than 4X the size of a 50" Full HD
CoLiNJvC
Hey guys...

is there any differences between playing PS3 in a Full HD TV or a Full HD Monitor?
dark lenanza
guys simple recomandation pls

between sony V series 32" and sharp aquos 32" 100hz
which one is better both price around 2.5K
hmm.gif
99below0
Motion on the Aquos 32a53m is very nice and smooth, very natural looking. I did not like the motion blurs I saw on the Sony V-series and the vibrant colors hurt my eyes after about 15 mins or so (Love the design, though).

So many LCDs... so little money... *sigh* tongue.gif
dimenxion
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 22 2008, 11:22 PM)
What is your main usage for this 32"?

gaming of course.. nod.gif

zelltan8
Is Sony KLV32V400A is a 100Hz LCD TV?plan to get 1 soon, really love the design of this TV. rclxms.gif
htkaki
QUOTE(zelltan8 @ Jul 25 2008, 07:27 PM)
Is Sony KLV32V400A is a 100Hz LCD TV?plan to get 1 soon, really love the design of this TV. rclxms.gif

No, it aint.

http://www.sony.com.my/product/klv-32v400a...site=hp_en_MY_i
pspfan
Hi bros..

can someone pls explain to me the diff bt lcd's 100hz motion thingy against plasma's (panasonic) 480hz ... does it mean that the 100hz thingy is inferior compared to pana py800's 480hz. thks .. am considering the 52inch samsung series 6 and sharps 100hz 46inch 1080p panels and also the 50 inch py800 plasma.
zelltan8
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 26 2008, 07:21 PM)

then wat is the frequency for this LCD tv?
dark lenanza
worng post
blush.gif
Sairenji
Hi everyone, i have some problem here.

Between Sharp LC32A53M and Panasonic TX32LX75MK, which one is better? I just couldn't make up my mind, thanx.
htkaki
I will choose 32A53M over Pana. Moreover it comes with 100Hz too and the colour is not overly rich. Btw, 32LX75MK is obsolete
pspfan
QUOTE(pspfan @ Jul 26 2008, 08:57 PM)
Hi bros..

can someone pls explain to me the diff bt lcd's 100hz motion thingy against plasma's (panasonic) 480hz ... does it mean that the 100hz thingy is inferior compared to pana py800's 480hz. thks .. am considering the 52inch samsung series 6 and sharps 100hz 46inch 1080p panels and also the 50 inch py800 plasma.

bros.... pls help ...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.