LordSparda
Apr 7 2008, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(LordSparda @ Apr 6 2008, 05:26 PM)
Hey guys, I've shopping around for a 32" HDTV for gaming purposes, budget is 2-4k.
So need to know a few things, hopefully someone here can help out: -
- Read about the new Bravia W-series on the front page. Is the 32" W-series launching here?
- There are replacements coming for the Bravia S- and V- series (400). Anyone know what's the difference between them and the current 300 models?
- Bravia aside, what does everyone think of the Panasonic 32LX700MK?
Thanks in advance

To follow up on this, I got a quote for Panasonic 32LX700MK for RM2999. That a good deal?
lapaq
Apr 8 2008, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 7 2008, 09:59 AM)
ur current setup no vga cable meh bro?
Nah...my monitor have a the cable hooked up from behind it...together with the power cable...the ones that kenot take out...as I said...It's an old PC....well the rest are all new except for the vga card and the monitor....
tot31
Apr 8 2008, 09:38 AM
old pc can watch mkv? emmm....
lapaq
Apr 8 2008, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(tot31 @ Apr 8 2008, 09:38 AM)
old pc can watch mkv? emmm....
All new except vga card and my monitor....too lazy to upgrade my vga card...thinking better spend the money to buy games
but my CPU is a dual core intel laa...I'm into encoding stuff (anime and etc) hence the need for a good cpu...
HeavenNirvana
Apr 9 2008, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(LordSparda @ Apr 7 2008, 10:10 PM)
To follow up on this, I got a quote for Panasonic 32LX700MK for RM2999. That a good deal?
Quite a good price.
lapaq
Apr 9 2008, 01:28 PM
Nice price...but IINM...this model of the tv....one cannot switch off the 100hz functionality...so pls make sure first...but if you don't mind then it's okay...
LordSparda
Apr 9 2008, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(lapaq @ Apr 9 2008, 01:28 PM)
Nice price...but IINM...this model of the tv....one cannot switch off the 100hz functionality...so pls make sure first...but if you don't mind then it's okay...
Well, I'm still going to shop around for Bravia 32D300 since almost everyone says it's superior, but it's really hard too find
Or maybe I'll wait a few weeks for the Bravia 32V400 to launch... argh... so many decisions
Man, wasn't expecting to take THIS long just to buy a TV
lapaq
Apr 10 2008, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(LordSparda @ Apr 9 2008, 08:17 PM)
Well, I'm still going to shop around for Bravia 32D300 since almost everyone says it's superior, but it's really hard too find
Or maybe I'll wait a few weeks for the Bravia 32V400 to launch... argh... so many decisions
Man, wasn't expecting to take THIS long just to buy a TV

When I was searching for my 32D300a, Legend informed me that new sony model will be arriving either in late April or early May...maybe you can wait till that time...
As for me I'm happy with my 32D300a.
I'm not sure about the specs though...
chicano
Apr 10 2008, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(lapaq @ Apr 10 2008, 11:24 AM)
When I was searching for my 32D300a, Legend informed me that new sony model will be arriving either in late April or early May...maybe you can wait till that time...
As for me I'm happy with my 32D300a.
I'm not sure about the specs though...
I think what they means is new W series model.
Not so much different from D series.
Support FHD, DMPort and much more better outlook i think and picture quality is slightly better.
rx330
Apr 10 2008, 11:43 AM
on is HD , ons is fullhd, tat difference still not big enuff ar?
welwitchia
Apr 10 2008, 02:42 PM
Hey RX, ask u a question. Lets say I give u 2 choice
1) 42" Panasonic PV80
2) 40" Sony KLV-40W400A
Yes I know the Sony is more expensive but please ignore the price in this case.
Which will u choose? It will be used to play BDs, DVDs and of course, regular PS3 gaming.
I have a hard time deciding between the 2.
Taman Linkin
Apr 10 2008, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(tot31 @ Mar 31 2008, 06:47 PM)
For your room size, 32" will be enough...here's my gaming and pc setup
*gambau*
KLV-32D300A and Dell SP2208WFP. Now I'm saving for Sony HT 5.2 to complete the setup. My gaming and PC room is only 8' x 10'.
Wah, suda tukar meja baru! Cun!
rx330
Apr 11 2008, 11:00 AM
bro welwit... u shud have know my answer....
im a plasma fanboy, i definitely go for the pv80
for me, it hink the only thing u can say abt the W is, im using a fullHD lcd, tats it
*taking cover from sony lcd fanbobys

but ur daily prefernce wen watching tv also important, if u serious gamer like lapaq, i advice u go for lcd, even though manufacturers claim no burn in issues, but image retention is still a possiblity
but if you are more of a movie kaki, then plasma shud be ok for us
chicano
Apr 11 2008, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 11 2008, 12:00 PM)
bro welwit... u shud have know my answer....
im a plasma fanboy, i definitely go for the pv80
for me, it hink the only thing u can say abt the W is, im using a fullHD lcd, tats it
*taking cover from sony lcd fanbobys

but ur daily prefernce wen watching tv also important, if u serious gamer like lapaq, i advice u go for lcd, even though manufacturers claim no burn in issues, but image retention is still a possiblity
but if you are more of a movie kaki, then plasma shud be ok for us
lcd is lighter and less power consumption....
Sorry im a lcd fanboy
rx330
Apr 11 2008, 12:47 PM
yes, i can see u r a fanboy, even with ur wrong facts
PrinceOfPersia
Apr 11 2008, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 11 2008, 12:47 PM)

im with u rx
chicano
Apr 11 2008, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 11 2008, 01:47 PM)

Hmm....i wonder which fatcs are wrong?
QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Apr 11 2008, 03:10 PM)
im with u rx

No one to support me??
PrinceOfPersia
Apr 11 2008, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(chicano @ Apr 11 2008, 02:48 PM)
Hmm....i wonder which fatcs are wrong?
No one to support me??

no need to worry la bro, many LCD users here
welwitchia
Apr 11 2008, 05:20 PM
The 40W400A is retailing for ~RM7000. To get or not to get?
What do u guys think..will the Panny PZ80 make to here in Malaysia?
lapaq
Apr 12 2008, 10:23 AM
Big HDTV + PC Connection + PC running MAME + Arcade stick = Heaven
rx330
Apr 12 2008, 10:47 AM
support lapaq

welwit, u urself shud know better, dun buy tv becos of resolution
go see with ur eye, whether u prefer the presentation of lcd or plasma
40 inch really doesnt matter its 720or 1080 unless ur like siting just 102 feet away from the tv
welwitchia
Apr 12 2008, 12:03 PM
Yes I know, I plan to use my TV as my PC monitor too and 1080p makes a huge difference when u use to do occassional surfing. Anyway, I think I'll make my purchase real soon.. I'm basically free from CC debt now. Time to be in debt again.
QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 12 2008, 10:47 AM)
support lapaq

welwit, u urself shud know better, dun buy tv becos of resolution
go see with ur eye, whether u prefer the presentation of lcd or plasma
40 inch really doesnt matter its 720or 1080 unless ur like siting just 102 feet away from the tv
rx330
Apr 12 2008, 01:00 PM
alamak u using for pc as well ar?
DO NOT GET THE PV80!!!
welwitchia
Apr 12 2008, 01:15 PM
Yeah, it gets tedious when u keep having to transfer files to the thumbdrive to watch it on the PS3.
Anyway, the PV80 is bad with the PC?
rx330
Apr 12 2008, 03:49 PM
nit tested and proven, better not
as the pv has only 1024 X 768 reso, so its a 4:3 image for pc
hence it will stretch the picture
welwitchia
Apr 12 2008, 08:41 PM
I took the plunge and bought the Sony 40" W400. So far, I'm very happy with it.
Gonna connect my notebook to it later with HDMI try to surf the net with it.
lightonokira
Apr 12 2008, 11:49 PM
help me out im planning on buying an lcd for daily gaming with a budget of RM 4000+ prefer 37/40 inch
ronaldjoe
Apr 13 2008, 04:16 PM
Hi sifus,
I wish enquire the price of Panasonic TX-37LZ800MK??
Please guide. Thanks in advance.
rx330
Apr 13 2008, 05:05 PM
welwit, i saw hte w400 yesterday, wow nice design... something new
welwitchia
Apr 13 2008, 08:08 PM
^ Design not bad la.. Actually the Sharps are more suited to my taste. Anyway, very happy with the W400. Celine Dion has never looked so good..
rx330
Apr 14 2008, 10:37 AM
wen has she looked good b4?
welwitchia
Apr 14 2008, 11:00 AM
^ Lol..Rx, u're bad!!
Oh BTW, before I got my Sony, I always thought all Blu-rays are 1080p...which is not the case. Some of the the Blu-ray I have is only 1080i (I guess its 720p), Celine Dion - A New Day is one of them.
rx330
Apr 14 2008, 11:06 AM
a few nia, chriss botti also 1080i
i think most movies are 1080p
only concerts and documnetray tat are taken by digital HD videocam, has 1080i
but i htink the 1080i is sufficient, no?
welwitchia
Apr 14 2008, 11:16 AM
Like u said, at 40" its pretty difficult to tell between 1080i and 1080p. If I told u otherwise, I would be lying right?
I did however tried the PSN game FLOW on 1080p and I dunno if its just my imagination but it does look pretty sharp even when compared to what I used to play on 1080i on my 32" R8 Samsung.
Next stop..(if I starve enough and eat more grass) would be to upgrade my amp.. which brings me to this question.
Lets say I just have a 5.1 speaker setup, do u think I will be able to "hear" a difference between Dolby D 5.1 and Dolby TrueHD?
lapaq
Apr 14 2008, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 14 2008, 11:16 AM)
Like u said, at 40" its pretty difficult to tell between 1080i and 1080p. If I told u otherwise, I would be lying right?
I did however tried the PSN game FLOW on 1080p and I dunno if its just my imagination but it does look pretty sharp even when compared to what I used to play on 1080i on my 32" R8 Samsung.
Next stop..(if I starve enough and eat more grass) would be to upgrade my amp.. which brings me to this question.
Lets say I just have a 5.1 speaker setup, do u think I will be able to "hear" a difference between Dolby D 5.1 and Dolby TrueHD?
Why don't you try to load The Digi Yellow Duck game (forgot the name). It supposed to be pure 1080p and not upscaled like most game (eg GT5p During Gameplay 960*1080 and not really 1920*1080.
Try it out and see if you can notice the diff...
and and ry to sit at least 2-4 feet from the tv to see the diff
rx330
Apr 14 2008, 11:31 AM
2-4 feet can see difference
even with ur curent speaker, shud bea ble to hear the difference, but for me not much btwn DD and trueHD, but PCM yes, tomolo will be able to tell DTS and HD MA got much difference or not
if u are a movie buff in bluray movie, the amp is worth it
welwitchia
Apr 14 2008, 01:25 PM
I sit around 4-5 feet from my TV..hmm..so its a good thing i got a Full HD set.
As for the amp, what would u recommend? The Yammy 663? Not released here yet right?
Also, from my limited knowledge, I understand PCM is basically uncompressed audio..like most of my concert DVDs have PCM but only in stereo. Are u saying those Blu-rays have multi-channel PCM? If so, what is it called and what is required to decode those?
Thanks ah..
lapaq
Apr 14 2008, 02:15 PM
PS3 can easily decode anything PCM....and coming with Firmware 2.30...the PS3 can practically decode anything on Bluray into PCM..and then the PCM signal will be passed to your AVR....and the AVR can pass the PCM signal (IINM almost all HDMI equipped can decode PCM to all it's speakers) straight to the speaker be it 5.1 of 7.1.
Prior to Firmware 2.2 PS3 can decode everything to PCM except DTS-MA.
RX Correct me if I'm wrong...
Of and yes there are some BD that comes with PCM 5.1 but I haven't seen 7.1 tho only compressed.
Although compressed it can be lossless...so don't confuse yourself...
rx330
Apr 14 2008, 02:57 PM
lapaq, u making bro wel penin lar
anyway, bro wel, just get the 663, shud be here by early may i suppose, earliest
if u on a tight budget, get a hdmi amp tat can do Multi PCM thru hdmi will do, such as the yammy 661
basically, the ps3 will decode avthing and send out as PCM (startign from tomolo)
welwitchia
Apr 14 2008, 05:08 PM
Thanks RX & Lapaq. One last question if u don't mind
What exactly is Bitstream..in the PS3.
Can explain ah? I just went to see the optometrist.. They say i need new glasses and they freaked out when I told them I watch a 40" TV at a distance of less than 5 feet.
Gahleon
Apr 14 2008, 05:16 PM
I heard W400 series 32" also is FullHD 1920 x 1080.
And its made in Malaysia?
http://www.av-forums.net/plus/redirect.php...goto=nextoldset
welwitchia
Apr 14 2008, 05:25 PM
The 32" W400 is not available in Malaysia.
chicano
Apr 14 2008, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(Gahleon @ Apr 14 2008, 06:16 PM)
I heard W400 series 32" also is FullHD 1920 x 1080.
And its made in Malaysia?
http://www.av-forums.net/plus/redirect.php...goto=nextoldsetYes. most of Sony TV in Malaysia nowadays is actually made in Malaysia
Only X series is made in Japan.
squall_12
Apr 14 2008, 05:59 PM
hi welwitchia how the Sony 40" W400 when using on pc is it clear as LCD monitor??? as i plan to buy it soon so need some feedback also will be using for my ps3 and xbox360??
welwitchia
Apr 14 2008, 08:28 PM
^ I tried connecting my notebook to it using HDMI and enable 1:1 pixel mapping on the W400. Here's what I noticed. If u sit about 6 feet away, its 'pretty' good BUT its not as good as LCD monitors (e.g the 24" Dell that I use for my PC).
Having said that, I've not tried a "TEXT" mode and I did not try connecting using the D-SUB (VGA) connector. Sometimes I wonder if its practical to use a 40" as a PC monitor.

I forgot to add : Don't pay anything more than RM7000 for the 40" W400.
rx330
Apr 14 2008, 10:44 PM
welwit, the ps3 now can only bitstream DD and DTS and 2 channel ocm thru hdmi as well as optical
bitstream the audio signal to be decoded by ur receiver, hence lighting up the wordings DD or DTS and pcm
players like panny BD30 and sammy 1400, is able to bitstream HBR to the receiver for it to decode truehd and dtshdma
so for ps3 to enjoy next gen audio, it will need to decode itself in the ps3 and send out the signal as PCM thru HDMI to get surround
welwitchia
Apr 15 2008, 01:07 AM
^ Har? Decoding Dolby HD or DTS-HD should be the primary function of these next-gen receivers right? Why would the PS3 still need to do the decoding??

Nevermind, found out the following
The PS3's default is to convert recognized audio streams to Linear PCM, an uncompressed audio format, for output via HDMI or digital optical audio. This can be advantageous if, for example, you're outputting to an HDTV that has built-in speakers and decodes only Linear PCM. If you're using your own home theater receiver, though, you'll want to use the Bitstream setting: In this mode, the PS3 passes the audio "bitstream"--be it Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS, or DTS-HD--through to your receiver via the HDMI or optical connector; from there, the receiver decodes the audio and outputs it to your speakers.
If you go with the default and use HDMI for a source with 7.1-channel audio, you'll need to output to a device that can read Linear PCM at 7.1 channels to get the full benefit. If your disc has DTS-HD 7.1-channel audio, that audio will be output at 5.1 channels instead. If you choose the Linear PCM default but use the digital optical connection, you can have only 2- and 5.1-channel sound. The multi-A/V-out (either component or composite video) supports 2-channel audio only.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,127892/article.html
rx330
Apr 15 2008, 01:22 AM
In this mode, the PS3 passes the audio "bitstream"--be it Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS, or DTS-HD--through to your receiver via the HDMI or optical connector; from there, the receiver decodes the audio and outputs it to your speakers.
the fella who post this shud be shot and hung,
heck, linear pcm 5.1 thru optical??
knn... welwit, i guess u ask the shifu here better, this is bull crap
PS3 will not send next gen audio for receiver to decode it
lightonokira
Apr 15 2008, 03:07 AM
i wonder astro will have hd or not?
rx330
Apr 15 2008, 10:02 AM
astro HDing in indon, but not in msia
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.