Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Windows VISTA Service Pack 1 Discussion
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Windows Vista
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
mgxbox
QUOTE(scph50004 @ Mar 24 2008, 03:41 AM)
just got SP1 up and running. overall I think it was worth it, most of the stuff comes out faster, eg folder browsing, Ctrl-Alt-Del, thumbnails load faster too. BTW one more thing I noticed, before SP1 was installed on my com, 3.5GB RAM was stated at the System window. Now corrected to 4GB RAM.

Yeah, me notice that too. SP1 will recognize 4GB from now on but I guess that is the max and cant go anymore higher because of 32-bit engine. hmm.gif
vincentlaw
QUOTE(scph50004 @ Mar 24 2008, 03:41 AM)
just got SP1 up and running. overall I think it was worth it, most of the stuff comes out faster, eg folder browsing, Ctrl-Alt-Del, thumbnails load faster too. BTW one more thing I noticed, before SP1 was installed on my com, 3.5GB RAM was stated at the System window. Now corrected to 4GB RAM.

3.5gb is the real 1.... 4gb is just to clear confusion of users....... if u install 4gb on ur 32bit windows OS... the actual utilize is not 4gb... instead only about 3gb+ is used.... 4gb minus out ur hardware memory such as 3dcard and souncard and etc.... for example let say ur 3dcard is 512mb... so it only use 3.5gb for ur system....

vista sp1 stated 4gb is to clear the user confusion and stop alot of user from asking "eh i instlal 4gb and i get only 3gb+ ram, WHY????"

memory remapping = using 4gb memory on 32bit OS method, is unable to use in windows if im not wrong.... therefore want to use 4gb or more memory? go 64bit OS
BuLaNaR
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 23 2008, 04:52 PM)
1 raptor is enuf... tongue.gif... the score reflect to ur performance.. so 5.2 vs 5.9 means ur hdd perform slightly slower...... tongue.gif take note for seagate user to take off the jumper for sata2 performance....default came with jumper on....

bro,how to pull off dat jumper..im using seagate hmm.gif
alwizbthere
erh, if i'm using 2gb of rams now, with vista sp1, then upgrade to 4gb, will i need to reactivate my vista?
asked in the help desk, but some fag replied with unrelated stuffs
rayfoo
nope no need

QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Mar 24 2008, 08:33 AM)
erh, if i'm using 2gb of rams now, with vista sp1, then upgrade to 4gb, will i need to reactivate my vista?

Aoshi_88
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 03:26 AM)
his problem here is genuinely getting 5.2 which he claims to be not satisfied... maybe lower from before upgrade to sp1.... therefore there isnt any point of discussing any manipulation or hacking for the point at all since he didnt hack or do anythg..... let say if before he upgrade is 5.7 then after upgrade is 5.2, then it is either some internal problem or the sp1 is faulty on his machine...

Don't worry too much about the WEI as it isn't a true test of what your pc can do. Heck... i scored 4.3 for disk transfer but the rest of my scores are 4.8, 4.8, 5.6, 5.4.

But i don't have any problems playing games like CoD4 or DoW OR CoH.
myitlab.net
QUOTE(User_Xp @ Mar 24 2008, 12:40 AM)
only English version of sp1 are release..
juz wait for other language version release  thumbup.gif

Who told you only English version released? 5 languages the SP1 supported.

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 04:17 AM)
3.5gb is the real 1.... 4gb is just to clear confusion of users....... if u install 4gb on ur 32bit windows OS... the actual utilize is not 4gb... instead only about 3gb+ is used.... 4gb minus out ur hardware memory such as 3dcard and souncard and etc.... for example let say ur 3dcard is 512mb... so it only use 3.5gb for ur system....

vista sp1 stated 4gb is to clear the user confusion and stop alot of user from asking "eh i instlal 4gb and i get only 3gb+ ram, WHY????"

memory remapping = using 4gb memory on 32bit OS method, is unable to use in windows if im not wrong.... therefore want to use 4gb or more memory? go 64bit OS

Yes. You're right. Actually the system just use up to 3.5GB. It show 4GB just to make things clearer to end users (especially dummy). Even without SP1, you can make it to show 4GB.
http://www.myitlab.net/index.php?showtopic=144

QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Mar 24 2008, 08:33 AM)

No need.
alwizbthere
thanks mate, 4gb rams, here i come
scpt
QUOTE(DeathChaosX @ Mar 23 2008, 01:01 PM)
I already tried compatibility mode and also reinstalled it, but it's still the same.

I reinstalled and problem solved.

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 23 2008, 01:49 PM)
hmm that 1 is OCed? it is as if u didnt OCed at all... 333 BS and 1333FSB is the default 1... hmmm i OCed mine to 3.6ghz and no problem

Hmm seems to be a one time problem for me, now its showing my OC speed again.
vincentlaw
QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Mar 24 2008, 08:57 AM)
Don't worry too much about the WEI as it isn't a true test of what your pc can do. Heck... i scored 4.3 for disk transfer but the rest of my scores are 4.8, 4.8, 5.6, 5.4.

But i don't have any problems playing games like CoD4 or DoW OR CoH.

problem ofcoz not so obvious coz when u play games, most of the data will be transfered to ur memory... which wat memory for.. so u wont feel lack..

if u do compare data transfer, such as copy big files from one hdd to another hdd in a big sum of capacity, then u compare to better hdd, u will notice the difference

4+ index still perform well in vista since if im not wrong the min requirement is 3+ and recommended is 4+

Added on March 24, 2008, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Mar 24 2008, 09:55 AM)
thanks mate, 4gb rams, here i come

remember that if u are using those high end card such as 3870x2 or 9800Gx2...... they have 1gb memory ... so if u want to use 32bit OS(which is commonly used), then dont bother to get 4gb... instead get 3gb ram coz the max u can go is 3gb for full utilize... it will show 4gb if u install it but only 3gb is used......
vailance
my boot time is faster around 1min+ compare to last and i did a clean install 1st. also changed a new hdd la. so far sp1 giving me no prob. and it faster alot when copying large files
johnseamus
ive updated mine to sp1 n seems like no changes at all,to me dat is...
Cheesenium
I still cant get SP1 to be shown on my Windows Update.

Is there anyway to fix this?
vincentlaw
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 24 2008, 06:09 PM)

press the "check for update" on the left side panel of windows Update? wait and make sure ur internet connection is smooth...
Cheesenium
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 06:25 PM)
press the "check for update" on the left side panel of windows Update? wait and make sure ur internet connection is smooth...

Yeah,i did press and my connection is ok.I have remove the problematic drivers in my system and it's still not offered.
myitlab.net
QUOTE(vailance @ Mar 24 2008, 03:35 PM)
my boot time is faster around 1min+ compare to last and i did a clean install 1st. also changed a new hdd la. so far sp1 giving me no prob. and it faster alot when copying large files

Yes, you're right. This is the best way to find out the performance of SP1. Without format and reinstall Windows, you might have some driver or software that might cause problem. It proven to be faster on boot up time.
alwizbthere
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 12:57 PM)
problem ofcoz not so obvious coz when u play games, most of the data will be transfered to ur memory... which wat memory for.. so u wont feel lack..

if u do compare data transfer, such as copy big files from one hdd to another hdd in a big sum of capacity, then u compare to better hdd, u will notice the difference

4+ index still perform well in vista since if im not wrong the min requirement is 3+ and recommended is 4+

Added on March 24, 2008, 12:59 pm

remember that if u are using those high end card such as 3870x2 or 9800Gx2...... they have 1gb memory ... so if u want to use 32bit OS(which is commonly used), then dont bother to get 4gb... instead get 3gb ram coz the max u can go is 3gb for full utilize... it will show 4gb if u install it but only 3gb is used......

dun worry bout tat, i know pretty well bout tat as i myself has posted few post regarding it in hardware Q & A. using only 8800gts g80 312mb, so probably should see bout 3.5gb+
vincentlaw
QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Mar 24 2008, 06:47 PM)
dun worry bout tat, i know pretty well bout tat as i myself has posted few post regarding it in hardware Q & A. using only 8800gts g80 312mb, so probably should see bout 3.5gb+

lol did i seems like worrying??? im explaning there... doh.gif anbd ur 312mb.. LOL typo... but u shud get 3.7gb instead since 4,096mb - 320mb = 3,776mb..... is u have other hardware that utilises memory then will bcom lesser than 3.7gb...
1024kbps
regardless how many video memory u have, u will still get 3.25GB(3325MB) if u have 4Gb of physical memory installed on 32bit of vista.

and it will reduce further if u are using on-board VGA.
alwizbthere
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 08:25 PM)
lol did i seems like worrying??? im explaning there...  doh.gif anbd ur 312mb.. LOL typo... but u shud get 3.7gb instead since 4,096mb - 320mb = 3,776mb..... is u have other hardware that utilises memory then will bcom lesser than 3.7gb...

LOL really typo, cos i was tulan my car kena bang from behind today...
anyway, wat i mean bout worrying is just to tell ya u don't need to explain this to me, i know bout it pretty well
vincentlaw
QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 24 2008, 09:10 PM)
regardless how many video memory u have, u will still get 3.25GB(3325MB) if u have 4Gb of physical memory installed on 32bit of vista.

and it will reduce further if u are using on-board VGA.

obsolutely totally 100% confirm wrong... totally disagree... it varies acording to ur system memory utilization... not fix..... i have 4gb memory and Asus 8800GT TOP edition 512mb graphic card.... i get only 3.5gb utilization from ram only....
1024kbps
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 09:43 PM)
obsolutely totally 100% confirm wrong... totally disagree... it varies acording to ur system memory utilization... not fix..... i have 4gb memory and Asus 8800GT TOP edition 512mb graphic card.... i get only 3.5gb utilization from ram only....

post a screenshot of ur dxdiag then brows.gif or task manager also can.
or may be u can explain to me, why im using 2600xt with 256mb of video memory, my total physical memory only left 3.25gb?
vincentlaw
QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 24 2008, 09:59 PM)
post a screenshot of ur dxdiag then brows.gif or task manager also can.
or may be u can explain to me, why im using 2600xt with 256mb of video memory, my total physical memory only left 3.25gb?

as u wish notworthy.gif .... here is the screenshot rclxms.gif ... sry for those who think too big.. purposely dont want to minimise so it is CLEAR enuf to see nod.gif .... the everest ultimate is to double confirm it... icon_rolleyes.gif

im not sure how can u get 3.25gb but im pretty sure it is cause by the rest of ur hardware..... or maybe settings.. anyway ur statement is a wrong statement...

as for mine... 4 x 1,024mb = 4,096mb...... 4,096mb - 512mb = 3,584mb........ but im still wondering why 2mb missing from dxdiag... the everest is the correct value.... maybe 2mb use for BIOS or sumthg like that
BuLaNaR
ur sata 2 is wat brand and model.. if seagate then u shud have a white jumper on ur seagate hdd and u shud plug that out to get sata2 performance... by default the white jumper is plugged into the harddisk for compatible sake, activating at sata1 only...

[/quote]

bro...if i pull the jumpe at the hard disk..need to pull jumper at mobo oso??? icon_question.gif
vincentlaw
QUOTE(BuLaNaR @ Mar 24 2008, 10:56 PM)
bro...if i pull the jumpe at the hard disk..need to pull jumper at mobo oso???  icon_question.gif

i assume u are using biostar ta690g mobo acording to ur signature..... ur mobo support sata2 hdd... so ur u can take off ur seagate hdd jumper for sata2 mode... default plug in = sata1 compatibility mode..... about ur mobo.. there shudnt be anythg to configure for sata..... its automatic.... so just go ahead and take off the white small tiny jumper from ur seagate hdd to get into sata2 mode.. off ur computer only do it ah...... i will faint if u leave ur computer on and do that......

my seagate model???? see above quoted picture... ST3320620AS... u can see it in everest report or everest OSD or in my signature below...
xk2
before update service pack 1
xk2
after update ,my max clear theme become like tis doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
vincentlaw
ur maxclear thggie is a customization of windows... so perhaps u need to reinstall it to get the compatibility coz in the process of upgrading sp1.. some of the system file code is change or wat... anyway just try to reinstall it
xk2
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 11:39 PM)
ur maxclear thggie is a customization of windows... so perhaps u need to reinstall it to get the compatibility coz in the process of upgrading sp1.. some of the system file code is change or wat... anyway just try to reinstall it

lazy to reinstall window,now only customize theme wont work,but the original aero still can run,so use back original looks lo sweat.gif

and i notice tat my pc become slow during start up,need to wait about 2 minutes before i can start click anythings,only the wireless connection become faster than b4
1024kbps
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 10:47 PM)
as u wish notworthy.gif .... here is the screenshot rclxms.gif ... sry for those who think too big.. purposely dont want to minimise so it is CLEAR enuf to see nod.gif .... the everest ultimate is to double confirm it...  icon_rolleyes.gif

im not sure how can u get 3.25gb but im pretty sure it is cause by the rest of ur hardware..... or maybe settings.. anyway ur statement is a wrong statement...

as for mine... 4 x 1,024mb = 4,096mb...... 4,096mb - 512mb = 3,584mb........ but im still wondering why 2mb missing from dxdiag... the everest is the correct value.... maybe 2mb use for BIOS or sumthg like that

ok it seems only nvidia 8 series user can use up to 3.5gb on 32bit OS
while ati user only can see 3.2gb, again please prove im wrong lol doh.gif
xk2
anybody facing the same theme problem same with me after update ?
vincentlaw
QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 24 2008, 11:54 PM)

u really want ah.... then i have to do it with my old x800GT... hahaha... u want me do it with X800GT? maybe later u "ohh maybe x800 range users only can get it, mine diff cause x2000 series"... tongue.gif
1024kbps
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 25 2008, 12:10 AM)
u really want ah.... then i have to do it with my old x800GT... hahaha... u want me do it with X800GT? maybe later u "ohh maybe x800 range users only can get it, mine diff cause x2000 series"...  tongue.gif

i did search on google before, as i cant find any ati card user have 3584mb of ram with 32bit of xp or vista, unless they are using x64 of xp or vista. icon_idea.gif
i will stop discuss it further as we are in off-topic already, post ur x800gt and the dxdiag+everest, and full stop lol whistling.gif
vincentlaw
QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 25 2008, 12:26 AM)
i did search on google before, as i cant find any ati card user have 3584mb of ram with 32bit of xp or vista, unless they are using x64 of xp or vista. icon_idea.gif
i will stop discuss it further as we are in off-topic already, post ur x800gt and the dxdiag+everest, and full stop lol whistling.gif

ooo hmmm will try later
hoongji
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 24 2008, 06:09 PM)

sp1 thru windows update only available from mid april
xphonerz
QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 24 2008, 11:54 PM)

no lo...
i can get 4 gb in my vista 32 bit witg geforce 8600m gt brows.gif brows.gif

2x2gb combination shocking.gif

hmm vista sp 1...
faster than rtm...
but now wan try server 08 as workstation brows.gif brows.gif
vincentlaw
QUOTE(hoongji @ Mar 25 2008, 01:09 AM)
sp1 thru windows update only available from mid april

wrong.. pls read the 5pages before this... alot of use use WU to do it including me.

Added on March 25, 2008, 1:38 am
QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 25 2008, 12:26 AM)

dude this is wat u asking for again...... ATI x800GT 256mb.... everest + dxdiag....... and below that is a pic of my 8800GT + x800GT..

hmm but why still like that 3.5gb ah.... didnt refresh or wat??? here are some article which help to understand why 3.5gb and the max memory to utilize..... happy reading

http://www.vistaclues.com/reader-question-...-memory-limits/
http://blogs.msdn.com/dcook/archive/2007/0...-my-memory.aspx
http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000811.html
http://littleway.blogspot.com/2007/12/enab...to-support.html

mgxbox
Hellgate London on Vista SP1 using 2GB very smooth now hoho~~~ brows.gif
defaultname365
QUOTE(cwk88 @ Mar 24 2008, 01:44 AM)
vista sp1 run fine & smooth on my 2 yr'o com

See? Vista works great not only on new hardware, but on old hardware too.
Joseph Hahn
Arr matey!

Anyone using Optical sound output here ? Specifically X-Fi users. I'm having problem with Digital output since there's no sound coming from it. Analog is working fine.
mgxbox
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Mar 25 2008, 09:35 PM)
Arr matey!

Anyone using Optical sound output here ? Specifically X-Fi users. I'm having problem with Digital output since there's no sound coming from it. Analog is working fine.

Contact Creative for a solutions this is not a Vista problem. It's a driver Creative problems. Shoot Creative! whistling.gif
cwk88
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Mar 25 2008, 08:43 PM)
See? Vista works great not only on new hardware, but on old hardware too.

yes.. im still using althon 3500+ (single core) with asus A8N-E mobo
zonan4
ah it working fine wif my pc a little bit faster....
froz3nnoob
anyone can list the full update of service pack one T_T i can't find out all myself ~~ plx ^^ wink.gif
Amrik
Is the loading screen, when you boot your computer different with the SP 1 ?
LaskarCinta
QUOTE(mgxbox @ Mar 27 2008, 03:34 PM)
It's works much more faster on files transfering between partitions than the release version & more stable with lesser bug

haha...not as fast as transfers in xp. btw it's a good improvement on Vista, hope microsoft can bring better updates for it next.
QUOTE(User_Xp @ Mar 27 2008, 07:42 PM)
...when malaysia can build the pure os? thumbup.gif

i believe its a mmm.... nope. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Mar 27 2008, 08:33 PM)
Different versions of Vista exist for DIFFERENT USERS. It's NOT because Microsoft is trying to squeeze every cent out of you. Why sell you Vista Business at a higher price when you are a home user and only require Vista Home Premium?

btw it will be better if it only got 1 or 2 version.
from my point of view, Vista Basic is made just for the sake of the late "Designed For XP : Vista Capable" logo slapped onto the computers year before Vista was unveiled. and there are too much versions of Vista.

btw, better discuss more on SP1 features here.
Darkmage12
hey after you install the SP1 do you guys type in this command in command prompt "vsp1cln.exe"
vincentlaw
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Mar 28 2008, 04:39 PM)
hey after you install the SP1 do you guys type in this command in command prompt "vsp1cln.exe"

nope.. but i just tried after u mention... will complete it now... and will show some printscreen here before and after do this... this info is what i get from net
====================================================================
Vsp1cln.exe - Vista SP1 File Removal Tool

I've been running Vista SP1 for the past few days, and the system is quite stable. It was time to make Vista SP1 permanent on this machine. I had 45.6 GB free before running the above tool. Vsp1cln.exe is described as:

Vsp1cln.exe is an optional tool that you can run after you install SP1. This tool removes older versions of components that have been updated in SP1, which are stored during the installation in case you need to uninstall SP1 later. Saving these older components increases the amount of disk space that is used. Typically, you should run Vsp1cln.exe if you want to reclaim this disk space after applying SP1 and if you will not need to uninstall SP1. Note, however, that you cannot uninstall SP1 after you run this tool.

UAC asks for permission when running the tool, and a command prompt pops up asking if you want to make SP1 permanent. After the tool had run on my machine, disk space went from 45.6 GB to 47.3 GB. If you're sure you are going to be keeping SP1 this might be a worth while tool to run.

After installing Windows Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1), you probably will notice that the free disk space of your system hard drive will reduce significantly. The additional space used and occupied by Vista SP1 is used to store Vista RTM files so that system can be reverted to old RTM version when users decide to uninstall the service pack. If you have installed SP1 and decided to keep it, Microsoft has packaged SP1 with Vsp1cln.exe File Removal Tool to reclaim disk space.

Windows Vista SP1 Deployment Guide describes that vsp1cln.exe File Removal Tool as following:

Windows Vista SP1 File Removal Tool Vsp1cln.exe is an optional tool that you can run after you install SP1. This tool removes older versions of components that have been updated in SP1, which are stored during the installation in case you need to uninstall SP1 later. Saving these older components increases the amount of disk space used.. Typically, you should run Vsp1cln.exe if you want to reclaim this disk space after applying SP1 and if you will not need to uninstall SP1. You can use this tool both online and offline, but you must have SP1 installed. You cannot uninstall SP1 after you run this tool on an image.

To run Windows Vista SP1 File Removal Tool, open a command prompt (Cmd) or simply press "Winkey + R" keyboard shortcut. Then enter the following command:

Vsp1cln.exe

Once cleaning process completed, several hundreds megabytes of disk space will be freed, with reports saying around 800 MB, depending on edition of Vista installed. For advanced users,there are plenty of switches and options available to Vsp1cln.exe:

VSP1CLN.exe [/h] | [/o: offline Windows files folder path] [/quiet]

/? or /h: display Vsp1cln commands list.
/o:[offline windows files folder path]: location of Windows Vista offline image that wants to remove RTM files
/quiet: silent execution, no display.
/verbose: display extra details.

There is no download needed, as Vsp1cln.exe comes included with SP1. Note that once ran, SP1 cannot be uninstalled. For those who really run out of disk space, Vista Junk Cleaner script can also be used to delete unwanted files and reclaim more space.

Darkmage12
i also dunno lo cos it say make this permanent.....btw after i install SP1 it seems my hard disk space increase by more than 10GB how come? you also like that?
vincentlaw
Ok here is about the Vista Service Pack 1 File Remover Tool..... vsp1cln.exe
basically it delete ur backup for old vista(no sp1).... tats all.... gain back ur hdd space... below is what happen

BEFORE

PROCESS - only took me 10-15sec to finish it...

AFTER

conclusion... Gaining back ~800mb free space... might differ for other PC
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.