Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Windows VISTA Service Pack 1 Discussion
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Windows Vista
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
froz3nnoob
Download link

i saw this on newspaper but i can't download it.. anyone success dl it please let me know ^^
linkinstreet
there are already 3/4 threads that gave that link already. Godai for bringing up old news
Lineage
Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Overview??
this pdf file i got it long long time ago.. icon_rolleyes.gif
isoooo
Microsoft announced release note for window vista SP1 on 31/1/08.,including some change and security update.

Please visit
http://snipurl.com/1ypt0

Info From http://wongsk.blogspot.com
isoooo
Microsoft announced release note for window vista SP1 on 31/1/08.,including some change and security update.

Please visit
http://snipurl.com/1ypt0

Info From http://wongsk.blogspot.com
yvliew
so is this final yet?
linkinstreet
no it's not
froz3nnoob
yes, its final i think. i saw on the newspaper. it say they got through alot of tester already. sweat.gif
linkinstreet
QUOTE(froz3nnoob @ Feb 1 2008, 02:01 PM)
yes, its final i think. i saw on the newspaper. it say they got through alot of tester already. sweat.gif

yes, I'm one of the beta testers you dum dum
and this is what you get from ur link
[attachmentid=391676]
It's not even frickin' RC1 version
user posted imageuser posted image
TristanX
Just visit Microsoft's site. They will advertise on their main page if release SP1 for Vista.
dualshock
from microsoft website:

Media Alert: Microsoft Releases Windows Vista Service Pack 1, Windows Server 2008 to Manufacturing
Client and server operating systems help provide customers with increased efficiency, performance and security.

REDMOND, Wash. - Feb. 4, 2008

What: Windows Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1) was released to manufacturing today and will start being available to customers in March, starting with Microsoft Volume Licensing customers. Windows Server 2008 was also released to manufacturing today and will be available for purchase to new customers on March 1. Microsoft Volume Licensing customers with active Microsoft Software Assurance coverage or an Enterprise Agreement will be able to download the server software toward the end of February as part of the joint Microsoft SQL Server 2008 and Visual Studio 2008 "Heroes Happen Here" launch event.

Where: http://windowsvistablog.com/blogs/windowsvista/default.aspx

http://blogs.technet.com/windowsserver

http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/feature...2-04WS2008.mspx

How: Windows Vista SP1 includes quality improvements that help enhance reliability, security and performance. Windows Server 2008 builds on the success and strengths of past server solutions and helps give organizations a solid foundation for their information technology (IT) infrastructure. Organizations using Windows Vista SP1 and Windows Server 2008 together can see a number of improvements for IT professionals, including benefits in security and manageability, overall system performance, and streamlined planning and deployment.

source: http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/press/2...VistaSP1MA.mspx
gstoh
QUOTE(dualshock @ Feb 4 2008, 11:21 PM)
from microsoft website:

Media Alert: Microsoft Releases Windows Vista Service Pack 1, Windows Server 2008 to Manufacturing
Client and server operating systems help provide customers with increased efficiency, performance and security.

What: Windows Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1) was released to manufacturing today and will start being available to customers in March, starting with Microsoft Volume Licensing customers. Windows Server 2008 was also released to manufacturing today and will be available for purchase to new customers on March 1. Microsoft Volume Licensing customers with active Microsoft Software Assurance coverage or an Enterprise Agreement will be able to download the server software toward the end of February as part of the joint Microsoft SQL Server 2008 and Visual Studio 2008 "Heroes Happen Here" launch event.

Where: http://windowsvistablog.com/blogs/windowsvista/default.aspx

http://blogs.technet.com/windowsserver

http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/feature...2-04WS2008.mspx

How: Windows Vista SP1 includes quality improvements that help enhance reliability, security and performance. Windows Server 2008 builds on the success and strengths of past server solutions and helps give organizations a solid foundation for their information technology (IT) infrastructure. Organizations using Windows Vista SP1 and Windows Server 2008 together can see a number of improvements for IT professionals, including benefits in security and manageability, overall system performance, and streamlined planning and deployment.

source: http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/press/2...VistaSP1MA.mspx

already can get the iso from BT
pikacu
QUOTE(dualshock @ Feb 4 2008, 11:21 PM)

What: Windows Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1) was released to manufacturing today and will start being available to customers in March, starting with Microsoft Volume Licensing customers.

wtf march??? zzzzz

i tot it was 8 feb...grr
jinaun
QUOTE(gstoh @ Feb 5 2008, 12:05 AM)
already can get the iso from BT

holy shit.. 2.8GB for SP1? lol
gstoh
QUOTE(jinaun @ Feb 5 2008, 12:53 AM)

that is vista with sp1 ....
linkinstreet
QUOTE(jinaun @ Feb 5 2008, 12:53 AM)

full installation la dude, not an update.
harmeet15
can sm1 pm me whr 2 download da full version?
n i kal microsoft, nt released atm..oni in march...
which one correct now?
ongoky
Vista SP1 aviable in March ..

Added on February 5, 2008, 3:23 pmRTM is availabe but not avaible to WU TECHNET MADN After march
TristanX
Be careful of what you download. There is an iso with major bug there. I think it's 1840 at the end of version number for x64. Builds with 2040 is the one without bug.

I don't have info for x86(32bit) though. However, there is this news like this one that discourages me:

http://neowin.net/index.php?act=view&id=45439
sotong168
Microsoft may have soothed the angst of the service pack hungry masses by releasing Vista SP1 to manufacturing, but users won't be able to actually download it until mid-March at the earliest, company officials said Monday. During beta testing for Vista SP1, Microsoft found that some device drivers were causing problems on systems with SP1 installed. Although the issues can be fixed by uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers, Microsoft decided this would be too complicated for most users. As a result, Microsoft will spend the next month hunting for additional problematic device drivers, said David Zipkin, senior product manager in Windows Client Group."With drivers, we wanted to make sure when folks upgrade to Vista that they have a smooth experience," Zipkin said.

In mid-March, Microsoft plans to release Vista SP1 in 5 languages - English, French, Spanish, German and Japanese - through Windows Update and the Download Center, Zipkin said, adding that Microsoft will ensure that SP1 isn't pushed out to PCs that have the aforementioned drivers installed. In April, Microsoft will begin auto updates of Vista SP1 to users who've chosen this option, and will also release the rest of the language specific versions of Vista SP1, Zipkin said. Microsoft has handed off the final Vista SP1 bits to its OEM partners, and if testing goes well, they'll soon begin building new PCs based on Vista SP1 images. Microsoft has also begun pressing Vista SP1 DVDs for its retail and volume licensing customers.

more details @ CRN News
Darkmage12
when only can get it?
deric88
i am already running SP1, 1800
from what i heard, RC1 Refresh 2 will be exactly the same as RTM... so far no problem with this one

E-J@1
QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 7 2008, 02:10 AM)
i am already running SP1, 1800
from what i heard, RC1 Refresh 2 will be exactly the same as RTM... so far no problem with this one

http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/7905/sp1oj7.jpg

me too using it

Darkmage12
got improvement?
riku2replica
seems like no respond..... nod.gif
E-J@1
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Feb 7 2008, 04:21 PM)
got improvement?

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Feb 8 2008, 12:48 AM)
seems like no respond..... nod.gif

dunno, can't feel any (if any)

i thought SP1 just an upgrade version (adds new stuff only) sweat.gif
deric88
QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Feb 8 2008, 01:23 AM)
dunno, can't feel any (if any)

i thought SP1 just an upgrade version (adds new stuff only) sweat.gif

the version of SP1 u having is the SP1 beta, not even RC1

RC1 Refresh 2 is confirmed to be the RTM version tht will be released soon.
Uninstall your service pack 1 to install the RC1 Refresh 2,
more info pm me
Sony Trinitron
As usual, Vista SP1 cracked..... lol
linkinstreet
QUOTE(zidane01zidane @ Feb 8 2008, 01:41 AM)
wat laa  microsoft....I upgrade to SP1 also still BSOD all the time. My PC specs is quite powerful already! Later I'll go and reformat to XP and wait until Vista get bttr

when other ppl have no such problem, blame your PC, not the OS
Sony Trinitron
QUOTE(zidane01zidane @ Feb 8 2008, 01:41 AM)
wat laa  microsoft....I upgrade to SP1 also still BSOD all the time. My PC specs is quite powerful already! Later I'll go and reformat to XP and wait until Vista get bttr

yala, i have no problem whatsoever installing vista so many times on different pc,
Thunderbolt
QUOTE(Sony Trinitron @ Feb 15 2008, 12:04 PM)
As usual, Vista SP1 cracked..... lol

And many to follows laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Paine
i'm using sp1 too...
but seems like nothing diff.. not much diff at all..
hmm.gif
easyzuddin
Just download and installed vista sp1 from MSDN Subscriber Downloads links & Geewizzz! there a lot of different with this sp1 running on my vista home premium.

- Several Reliability Improvements
- Performance and Power Consumption Improvements
- Security Improvements

If you were the MSDN Subscriber why wait? Go & visit there for this sp1!
linkinstreet
QUOTE(Paine @ Feb 16 2008, 11:33 AM)
i'm using sp1 too...
but seems like nothing diff.. not much diff at all..
hmm.gif

Full or RC version?
dattebayo
by the time it's available, would our pc download it automatically, using default windows update settings
froz3nnoob
i can't download it T.T when i download is a PDF file.. how to open?
Melfice
so now is Vista SP1 is offically released ?? i got download the ahem version but scared to install ... later got bug and whatnot ==""
Eoma
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 16 2008, 06:01 PM)
Full or RC version?

Well it's (RTM) released on connect for sure.
kapitan
So when are they going to release it huh?
Im tired of waiting liao...

Not really want to use but if got improvement, will try n see. Currently downgraded to XP which runs perfectly but does battery management a bit poorer.
linkinstreet
QUOTE(Eoma @ Feb 18 2008, 05:54 PM)
Well it's (RTM) released on connect for sure.

I know, just asking him what version he's using

linkinstreet
QUOTE(microsoft)
We know that many of you are anxious to get your hands on the Windows Vista Service Pack 1 RTM bits. And to that end, we have some good news. We are pleased to announce that--while broad RTW availability is still scheduled for March--the SP1 Update RTM bits are available now to TechNet subscribers. If you are subscriber, please visit TechNet Plus Subscriptions and sign in to access Top Subscriber Downloads. If you have a prior version of the SP1 beta installed, you must uninstall it prior to installing the final version. Check out Things to know before you download Windows Vista SP1 for more information, and for updated details on all aspects of Windows Vista SP1, stop by the Windows Vista TechCenter.

For a closer look Inside Vista SP1 File Copy Improvements pull up Mark Russinovich's (of Sysinternals fame) blog and learn about the evolution of the file copy. Also catch Mark and a panel of experts on March 5 at 9:00 AM Pacific Time for a live, interactive discussion on adopting Windows Vista into a desktop infrastructure. Sign up for Still Undecided on Windows Vista? and hear about the challenges, workarounds, and tips & tricks they have learned along the way. For access to guidance, resources, tools, and straight-talk articles today, visit the Springboard Series for Windows Vista.

Also from the Sysinternals crew, you'll definitely want to grab the update of Sigcheck, a command-line file version display and signature checking utility. Sigcheck v1.50 adds a new option for displaying file hashes.
Go Get it if ur a technet subscriber
ongoky
Running SP1 Full version now .

Improved network connectivoty
File transfer HIGHLIGHT !!!! 40 % faster ... almost same with XP speed or some how faster
boot up
battery
and overall performance ..
easyzuddin
rclxms.gif For oem system builder go and get it today 02/22/2008 at the site. Register as partner with your live id and get the file.

download consist of :

1. 6001.18000.080118-1840_iso_client_sp_wave0-frmcsp0_dvd.img (iso) (1.13 GB) -
Vista SP1 image file
- The file will be in .img format.
- Use a third-party DVD authoring software to burn the .img file to a DVD.
- Select the appropriate .exe file(s) in the language(s) you need to install and copy from the DVD to your destination computer.
- Follow the instructions in the step-by-step guide for upgrading your existing system image(s) to Windows Vista SP1.

Important In order to upgrade to Windows Vista SP1, you must use the new OEM Preinstallation Kit.

2. 6001.18000.080118-1840-kb3opk_en.img (iso) (1.43 GB) - English version
The Windows OEM Preinstallation Kit (OPK) has been updated to support the following operating systems:
- Windows Vista with Service Pack 1 (SP1)
- Windows Server 2008

Link
User_Xp
hye..just downloaded vista sp1 from torrent..
after installing..no directX 10.1?
Kidicarus
QUOTE(User_Xp @ Feb 22 2008, 08:51 PM)
hye..just downloaded vista sp1 from torrent..
after installing..no directX 10.1?

Why the fuss? just got it vista64 SP1 over windows update.
4agze
64bit got SP1, 32bit still need to wait, damn...
User_Xp
QUOTE(4agze @ Feb 23 2008, 05:08 AM)
64bit got SP1, 32bit still need to wait, damn...

lol...directx 10.1 only in vista x64?? sweat.gif sweat.gif
Irishcoffee
juz installed vista sp1
y no dx10.1??any sifu can help?
jerangkungliar
stable enough??
Eoma
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Mar 10 2008, 12:43 AM)
juz installed vista sp1
y no dx10.1??any sifu can help?

You need a DX10.1 card and DX10.1 supporting drivers before it will show in DXDiag (Display--> DDI version)
Only ones supporting that are the Radeon HD 2xx and 3xx series.

To ease your suspense a bit, go look in the Windows\System32 folder, if you see d3d10_1.dll that means you've got DX10.1 already. All SP1 installations will have that, it's just a matter of whether your hardware calls for it.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.