PRINZE
Jul 25 2008, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(evengr @ Jul 25 2008, 02:26 PM)
Hello,
I just registered to this forum because of ROKR E8.
After reading thousands of reviews(! ) about this phone, I finally found a forum which talks about hands-on real experiences.
You have written nearly everything, thats very kind, but I have some doubts.
In the %50 of the reviews (including mobile-review.com which is not made for marketing) , it has written that the menu is sluggish or laggy. But you are saying that the menus are not slow..So have you done a firmware upgrade or why the reviewers are always saying that, the interface is sluggish or freeze sometimes?
I love this phones look. It is very beatiful regarding to its videos and pictures. But I am afraid of buying a phone which is laggy, slow and very difficult to use..
Thanks in advance for writing your comments.
just same like your pc.. first use is smooth.. once the data and sms getting more and more, the menu browsing will be laggy..
there must be some reason for u to buy this phone.. design? music? and both mentioned will not affected by the laggy menu browsing.. your call..
evengr
Jul 25 2008, 03:39 PM
Hey Prinze, thanks for the fast response

Yes if I buy this phone, the reason for me is it is very very beautiful, and it has very lovely design! Especially ,when it blacken, it becomes very cool!
Even so, I do not want to fight every time with the phone when I want to simply search and then call to someone because of its slow interface..Are you ok with me..
The point is, after charging 500 songs and 15 sms, every time that I use it, the menu is always sluggish or is it laggy rarely / time to time?
My other fear is having a scratched glass (or plastic) after 6 months which will decreasing the beauty of this phone..what are you thinking?
PRINZE
Jul 25 2008, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(evengr @ Jul 25 2008, 03:39 PM)
Hey Prinze, thanks for the fast response

Yes if I buy this phone, the reason for me is it is very very beautiful, and it has very lovely design! Especially ,when it blacken, it becomes very cool!
indeed..
Even so, I do not want to fight every time with the phone when I want to simply search and then call to someone because of its slow interface..Are you ok with me..
search and call would not affected by slow interface.. cos at home screen(without even access to phonebook), u can simply key in name or number to filter the name. so can easily call and sms..The point is, after charging 500 songs and 15 sms, every time that I use it, the menu is always sluggish or is it laggy rarely / time to time?
you can notice that the menu browsing is slightly laggy(not until like hang for 3 sec la..) but for me, i get used to it.. but for others like u, u can always use the shortcut keys. eg. if i would like to go to alarm clock, i can press menu > 5 > 6 (depends on your preference of your phone, u can always set the shortcut key - "up down left right" for your frequent apps)My other fear is having a scratched glass (or plastic) after 6 months which will decreasing the beauty of this phone..what are you thinking?
well, it isn't make from diamond.. so scratches normally will appear after long period of wear and tear. it depends on the user how well they take care. bear in mind that package should came with a pouch so that helps u protect the phone..

the beauty of E8well.. good questions.. refer above..
evengr
Jul 25 2008, 06:44 PM
Thanks Prinze. I think I will buy this phone soonly (IF ZN5 will not transform to E8)
Your ROKR E8 picture is very cool!
Nightstalker1993
Jul 25 2008, 06:54 PM
do note that Mobile-Review's unit is a pre-production unit so bugs will appear in their unit more than the end-consumer unit lol...
dinraxxx
Jul 25 2008, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 25 2008, 06:54 PM)
do note that Mobile-Review's unit is a pre-production unit so bugs will appear in their unit more than the end-consumer unit lol...
man..It sue is sweet..My phone got some battery issues.My old one sold to caterpiez.But now having some problem with the phone.Gonna send it to Motostore back..
evengr
Jul 26 2008, 02:31 AM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 25 2008, 12:54 PM)
Beside mobile-review.com I read many recent reviews about the menu of e8
Noyoudontcare
Jul 26 2008, 12:27 PM
the one review i religiously read is from smape and this is the link
http://smape.com/en/reviews/motorola/Motorola_E8-rev.htmlim gonna buy this phone in the next few weeks...or maybe i should wait for that new one coming (the kodak one) ????...gotta see if the audio quality is on par with e8
PRINZE
Jul 26 2008, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Jul 26 2008, 12:27 PM)
the one review i religiously read is from smape and this is the link
http://smape.com/en/reviews/motorola/Motorola_E8-rev.htmlim gonna buy this phone in the next few weeks...or maybe i should wait for that new one coming (the kodak one) ????...gotta see if the audio quality is on par with e8
different segment la.. e8 is music.. zn5 is more on pic sharing with kodak tech.. wait and see technique will cause u unable to buy a phone.. hehe..
Nightstalker1993
Jul 26 2008, 02:15 PM
but according to mobile-reviews the SQ is the same with the ZN5 and E8 lol...
Noyoudontcare
Jul 26 2008, 02:39 PM
While the ZN5 is not positioned as a music-centric handset, it ships with a pretty decent player, FM-radio, and 3.5mm headset jack. But more importantly, its sound quality is nearly unrivalled these days, being on a par with the ROKR E8 and some dedicated music players (by the way it trumps the Apple iPod on this front hands down). In other words, the average user will be more than content with what the ZN5 brings to the table, plus it’s quite loud and has very few settings to worry about.
wowow wowowowow..should i wait to get the phone?
http://www.toysgadget.com/review-of-gsmumt...la-zn5/motorola
evengr
Jul 26 2008, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Jul 26 2008, 08:39 AM)
I also think that ZN5 is is also cool. But on the other hand I think prinz has reasons.. If we wait for ZN5 till the end of 2008, is theese days we will see another cool phone (for example 10 MP) which will be selling in the middle of 2009. And this will continue like that.. There will be always good phones in the future...
Noyoudontcare
Jul 27 2008, 12:37 PM
yeah, but for me and possibly most people, why would one need a 10mp camera in a phone? unless you wanna print some poster size photos or have a 30 inch display screen...3mp can print an A4 size photo without loss of quality so for me its more than enough...
but then i think im possibly sticking with e8 coz i heard that zn5 keypad is not like the e8s keypad...and its uglier too heheeheh
PRINZE
Jul 29 2008, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Jul 27 2008, 12:37 PM)
yeah, but for me and possibly most people, why would one need a 10mp camera in a phone? unless you wanna print some poster size photos or have a 30 inch display screen...3mp can print an A4 size photo without loss of quality so for me its more than enough...
but then i think im possibly sticking with e8 coz i heard that zn5 keypad is not like the e8s keypad...and its uglier too heheeheh
why we need more MP camera? haha.. alot of ppl thought that higher means better pic quality.. lol.. for the sake of just want it.. that's why those new models u can see 5MP, 8MP or maybe 10MP.. i still rather use my DSLR or digicam for 10MP pics.. imagine a phone with 8MP, after captured the pic and wanna bluetooth it over to another phone, time consuming... the reason for a camera phone is because of MMS (300K max)...
just my opinion..

and for ZN5 keypad, its not the same modeshift with E8.. the keypad number still be there, just that lights off and the camera zoom keys and music keys lights on only..
evengr
Jul 30 2008, 05:49 PM
ZN5 is also cool but, ROKR E8 seems more beatiful..
Another little question..
At Rokr e8 , when we use the haptic keys, does it consume from battery? It vibres when we push a button?
PRINZE
Jul 30 2008, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(evengr @ Jul 30 2008, 05:49 PM)
ZN5 is also cool but, ROKR E8 seems more beatiful..
Another little question..
At Rokr e8 , when we use the haptic keys, does it consume from battery? It vibres when we push a button?
yes.. ..
evengr
Jul 30 2008, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Jul 30 2008, 12:26 PM)
yes.. ..

so it consumes a lot of battery when we write an sms
PRINZE
Jul 31 2008, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(evengr @ Jul 30 2008, 08:46 PM)
so it consumes a lot of battery when we write an sms

not a lot la.. mine can last for 2 days..
evengr
Aug 1 2008, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Jul 30 2008, 06:28 PM)
not a lot la.. mine can last for 2 days..
only 2 days ? should charge 3 times per week, so it consumes a lot

Added on August 3, 2008, 12:53 amHey Prinze,
can you tell me please; if I buy this cool phone and if its battery lasts every 2 days, can I buy another Battery which is more powerful? Does this kind of batteries (lithium etc..) exist that are more endurable who are appropriate for ROKR E8?
PRINZE
Aug 4 2008, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(evengr @ Aug 1 2008, 12:41 AM)
Added on August 3, 2008, 12:53 amHey Prinze,
can you tell me please; if I buy this cool phone and if its battery lasts every 2 days, can I buy another Battery which is more powerful? Does this kind of batteries (lithium etc..) exist that are more endurable who are appropriate for ROKR E8?
only 1 type of battery, BK60 @ 930mAH.. u can get another battery, and get the desktop charger as well.. alternate way is get portable charger, P790..
evengr
Aug 5 2008, 08:09 PM
thank you very much PRINZE
OK good idea to get another battery BK 60 (+charger) like this :
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MOTOROLA-BK60-EXTEND...p3286.m63.l1177In the compatible model list ROKR e8 does not existe but I thnik because e8 is a new model..
PRINZE
Aug 6 2008, 09:45 AM
melvin91motorola
Aug 6 2008, 04:44 PM
well at least dat rokr em30 caught my attention

so i know dat em30 is kind of cheap ver. of e8 but i might consider it...hmmmmmmm question:
1) wat do u think the price will be for em30 when it hit malaysia????
2) whth em<<<stand for???
THX
PRINZE
Aug 6 2008, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 6 2008, 04:44 PM)
well at least dat rokr em30 caught my attention

so i know dat em30 is kind of cheap ver. of e8 but i might consider it...hmmmmmmm question:
1) wat do u think the price will be for em30 when it hit malaysia????
2) whth em<<<stand for???
THX

1. Should be less than RM1k since it consider as mid end.. no more fast scroll..
2. ROKR series will be categories as EM -> Entertainment + Music OR Experience Music...
evengr
Aug 7 2008, 01:22 PM
ROKR E10 !
If you want to wait, there are always reasons..
Like ROKR E8, but bigger interface, 3 MP...
http://www.gadgets-network.com/gadgets/rum...10-music-phone/
PRINZE
Aug 7 2008, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(evengr @ Aug 7 2008, 01:22 PM)
ROKR E10 !
If you want to wait, there are always reasons..
Like ROKR E8, but bigger interface, 3 MP...
http://www.gadgets-network.com/gadgets/rum...10-music-phone/E10?? i thought it should name it as EM1.. touchflo based...
evengr
Aug 7 2008, 03:40 PM
PRINZE
Aug 7 2008, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(evengr @ Aug 7 2008, 03:40 PM)
it ain't like E8.. more in touch screen.. try for 5 mins 2 months ago but just prototype..
evengr
Aug 7 2008, 04:47 PM
so did not you like it as you have bought E8?
PRINZE
Aug 7 2008, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(evengr @ Aug 7 2008, 04:47 PM)
so did not you like it as you have bought E8?
that E10 is next year product dude... btw, as i mentioned b4, i use/loan the phone cos work related..
Noyoudontcare
Aug 9 2008, 03:13 PM
i bought the baby today...
so far, been impressed...
however, it took me 30 minutes to figure out how to open the battery cover, silly me.ehehe.!
melvin91motorola
Aug 9 2008, 07:44 PM
however, it took me 30 minutes to figure out how to open the battery cover, silly me.ehehe.!
so....how was the sound quality????(external speaker) and how much u bought it?????is da price drop or wat ???
PRINZE
Aug 9 2008, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Aug 9 2008, 03:13 PM)
welcome.. added u to the list..
QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 9 2008, 07:44 PM)
so....how was the sound quality????(external speaker) and how much u bought it?????is da price drop or wat ???

already mentioned few times in this thread.. why keep asking leh..
melvin91motorola
Aug 10 2008, 11:48 AM
already mentioned few times in this thread.. why keep asking leh..
bcuz i wan to know if the sound is loud enough to beat my sister nokia 5610 xpress music la....and the price is also nice...like 7++ compare to this...so wat do u think??? 3.2 mp or 2.0mp??? 3g or 2.5g???
amalost
Aug 10 2008, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 10 2008, 11:48 AM)
bcuz i wan to know if the sound is loud enough to beat my sister nokia 5610 xpress music la....and the price is also nice...like 7++ compare to this...so wat do u think??? 3.2 mp or 2.0mp??? 3g or 2.5g???

i think u might try this one cause i have 5610 n i love it but got few bugs in it to also u sis got it already,just try new things...
melvin91motorola
Aug 10 2008, 03:56 PM
i dunno la...i will buy the nkia if the price for moto is damn high + the screen also bigger ma.............
PRINZE
Aug 10 2008, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Aug 10 2008, 03:56 PM)
i dunno la...i will buy the nkia if the price for moto is damn high + the screen also bigger ma.............
best thing is go to phone shop and try out there... nokia might be loud but less sound quality, motorola sound quality is good but might volume might softer than nokia. just try with the wired headset.. camera 2.0 or 3.2MP? better get a decent compact camera.. lol.. 3G? if u need, E8 already out from your list.. and price is arounf rm1100 for E8... so i'm sure u already know which model to purchase..
melvin91motorola
Aug 10 2008, 06:40 PM
hoho....dun worry, im still a motorola biggest fan and totally buy moto brand cuz i like the design. ohya!! im a slvrl7 moto modder...im definitely try it at the phone shop....
Noyoudontcare
Aug 12 2008, 02:55 PM
hiya, i got a few problems...
how can u set ur ringtone to the loudest? i think mine doesnt play as loudest as it should...and also has there been updates from motorola to maximize the current sound volume coz its not really loud enough
the sound quality is pretty good, better than ipod...i think u gotta rip the songs at high bitrates to fully utilize the E8's true capacity
PRINZE
Aug 12 2008, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Aug 12 2008, 02:55 PM)
hiya, i got a few problems...
how can u set ur ringtone to the loudest? i think mine doesnt play as loudest as it should...and also has there been updates from motorola to maximize the current sound volume coz its not really loud enough
the sound quality is pretty good, better than ipod...i think u gotta rip the songs at high bitrates to fully utilize the E8's true capacity
main menu > settings > profiles > 2nd tab > alert volume = 7
evengr
Aug 13 2008, 08:31 PM
At last, I bought my baby phone today

, but I did not open its box.
I will say my impressions later...
So for the first time, how many hours should I charge the battery?
Nightstalker1993
Aug 13 2008, 09:27 PM
until it says battery full....
evengr
Aug 13 2008, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 13 2008, 03:27 PM)
until it says battery full....
But I think, for the first time, it should be charged at least 15 hours even if it says full, am I wrong?
xk2
Aug 13 2008, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(evengr @ Aug 13 2008, 09:52 PM)
But I think, for the first time, it should be charged at least 15 hours even if it says full, am I wrong?
somebody say no nid,some body say nid,but i no follow
PRINZE
Aug 13 2008, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(evengr @ Aug 13 2008, 09:52 PM)
just charge overnight.. about 8-10 hours...
evengr
Aug 14 2008, 04:42 PM
ok.. I charge it.
This phone looks very very beatiful

I hope it will work as also
PRINZE
Aug 15 2008, 11:58 AM
r u good in programming? motomagx is the way to go? wanted to create widget?
take a look on this
http://developer.motorola.com/docstools/motodevstudio/webui/
Noyoudontcare
Aug 15 2008, 04:10 PM
my god my fingers ache when i try to type...
still hoping my ringtone gets louder coz i cant reallly hear it sometimes
PRINZE
Aug 15 2008, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Aug 15 2008, 04:10 PM)
my god my fingers ache when i try to type...
still hoping my ringtone gets louder coz i cant reallly hear it sometimes
lol.. easy for me.. i use finger nail..
Noyoudontcare
Aug 15 2008, 04:59 PM
yeah i do that sometimes after my thumbs got sore...
btw, have u seen motorola e10 wow...looks soo hot hehehe
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.