Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: MOTOROKR E8
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Feb 23 2008, 08:30 AM)
i just luv the ketpad graphic changing part. it makes me erect... ahaha

erect? WTF??? lol...

whether this model will boost the sales, its all depends on the price.. IMHO, i rate this phone worth RM1199 + S9 since its under ROKR series.. smile.gif
StratOS
rm1199 should be ok.. ahaha.. hmm maybe will priced at rokr e2 starting price last timr rm1299 max lor..
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Feb 23 2008, 12:27 PM)
rm1199 should be ok.. ahaha.. hmm maybe will priced at rokr e2 starting price last timr rm1299 max lor..

it wont be easily sell if more than rm1299... but i doubt the price will be low.. sigh..
StratOS
yea.. coz can get a better spec phone around tat price nowadays..
Cosef
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Feb 23 2008, 12:44 PM)
it wont be easily sell if more than rm1299... but i doubt the price will be low.. sigh..

I think will be RM1400 like that coz moto phones newly released are very exp and the price drop slow.
StratOS
price drop slow..? i dun think so.. ahaha..
PRINZE
QUOTE(Cosef @ Feb 23 2008, 12:50 PM)
I think will be RM1400 like that coz moto phones newly released are very exp and the price drop slow.

is not a good exercise... if rm1500, ppl have plenty of choices...
Cosef
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Feb 23 2008, 01:36 PM)
is not a good exercise... if rm1500, ppl have plenty of choices...

Most ppl go for SE or Nokia hp intead of Motorola ones coz thier prices drop faster and features are better.
But i like motorola build quality, its way better than SE and Nokia handphones.

Just my opinion only, real one need to wait.
StratOS
hmm.. still waiting see e8 1 sales good or not.. i think will be 1 of the best rokr series lo..
Cosef
QUOTE(StratOS @ Feb 23 2008, 05:42 PM)
hmm.. still waiting see e8 1 sales good or not.. i think will be 1 of the best rokr series lo..

Don't know will it delay so long or not.....
squall_kay
its cool n sleek factor can help to enhance its sales volume.. smile.gif
PRINZE
QUOTE(Cosef @ Feb 23 2008, 09:26 PM)
Don't know will it delay so long or not.....

probably end of march or april now.. no news and stock not yet in singapore.. but the low-end model W230 will be available real soon...

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Feb 23 2008, 09:30 PM)
its cool n sleek factor can help to enhance its sales volume.. smile.gif

i dont think so.. its depends on the pricing.. price war and spending power is the key factor here.. nowadays minimum features for phones are wi-fi, 3.2 auto-focus camera at least, 3g and memory slot. if lack of one of these and price is > RM1200, it will be dead...
StratOS
should be out any moment next month i predict.. hmm..
squall_kay
QUOTE(StratOS @ Feb 25 2008, 09:13 PM)
should be out any moment next month i predict.. hmm..

so we can have a look how its sales will be smile.gif

PRINZE
price yet to announce..
calvin_swk
this phone will be out on 2nd Quarter... which will be launching soon!!!
PRINZE
QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Mar 10 2008, 02:51 PM)
this phone will be out on 2nd Quarter... which will be launching soon!!!

delay and delay... i guess will be on May, not April..

Added on March 14, 2008, 3:38 pmOMG!! LG came out new model, KF600.. retail price at RM1099. with the cool haptics interactPAD which is far more better than Moto E8 in my opinion.. this gonna to kill the E8.. sweat.gif

MOTO E8
vs LG KF600

Well, already started using my E8.. will see how it is... hmm.gif

Short review/feedback already posted on 1st post.
StratOS
* Memory card not hot-swapped. Have to power off the phone before remove it...??

wth..?? no hotswap..??
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 25 2008, 05:41 PM)
* Memory card not hot-swapped. Have to power off the phone before remove it...??

wth..?? no hotswap..??

Indeed.. but no big deal for me.. its already 2GB built-in.. lol

the slot blocked by battery.. will post the photo if i have time.. stay tune..
StratOS
sure.. post more pics.. wanna see..
Cosef
Good review~
Maybe you can try write in details to provide better information.
PRINZE
QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 25 2008, 05:55 PM)
Good review~
Maybe you can try write in details to provide better information.

i'm not sure what to write.. lol.. perhaps, u guys can ask me any questions so that i can test it and give u guys feedback...

at this stage, honestly, damn good phone... icon_rolleyes.gif
squall_kay
nice one TS, hope to see ur rokr e8 in action soon (live pics) brows.gif
StratOS
is the scroll wheel sensitive enough..? no problems..? still love the feature which allows the keypad to change according to the function ur running on..
Cosef
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Mar 25 2008, 06:05 PM)
i'm not sure what to write.. lol.. perhaps, u guys can ask me any questions so that i can test it and give u guys feedback...

at this stage, honestly, damn good phone...  icon_rolleyes.gif

Hmmm.....then i'll ask some question also.
Do you feel it is durable enough?
Does this phone reliable when you're in hurry? eg. car accident, urgent calling.
Can it handle multitasking? Like Play music with effects turning on + sending sms/mms rapidly or playing 3d games.
Mind to do some benchmark? with SPmark, Jbechmark 2.0, 3D....

Honestly E2 will scream hard when i play music without effect on and sending mms to myself. The phone like telling me it can't breathe anymore. laugh.gif
StratOS
and also the speakers.. lol.. loud or same as e2 and the others..
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 25 2008, 10:25 PM)
is the scroll wheel sensitive enough..? no problems..? still love the feature which allows the keypad to change according to the function ur running on..
sometimes i feel too sensitive.. anyhow, u have to get used to it.. ya, the modeshift thingy is rather cool and useful.. but if the phone suddenly hang, u unable to press anything.. hehe..

QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 25 2008, 10:37 PM)
Hmmm.....then i'll ask some question also.
Do you feel it is durable enough? i felt that it is durable.. the side/frame of the phone looks more solid than V8. the front i think is scratch resistant, will check before scratch it with car key..
Does this phone reliable when you're in hurry? eg. car accident, urgent calling. reliable? normal phone also can do that right? power on quite fast..
Can it handle multitasking? Like Play music with effects turning on + sending sms/mms rapidly or playing 3d games. no prob for multitasking. music will continue while changing equalizer, sending sms, take pics, play game provided game sound is off... but u will notice the phone menu browsing rather slower than usual..
Mind to do some benchmark? with SPmark, Jbechmark 2.0, 3D.... hmm, never try that before, will do it if have spare time. do provide me the link to download the programs..

Honestly E2 will scream hard when i play music without effect on and sending mms to myself. The phone like telling me it can't breathe anymore.  laugh.gif

good question... refer above in blue..

Added on March 25, 2008, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 25 2008, 10:58 PM)
and also the speakers.. lol.. loud or same as e2 and the others..

QUOTE(PRINZE @ Jan 29 2008, 05:33 PM)
* Speaker volume for music playback(max is 20) and FM radio were superb. Loud and clear, additional with Equalizer, Bass boost and 3D stereo options. Furthermore, came with 3.5mm stereo jack.  drool.gif

Much more louder than E2..
StratOS
will the phone get recent hang after u played till now..?
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 25 2008, 11:25 PM)
will the phone get recent hang after u played till now..?

hang once only.. so far so good..
Nightstalker1993
how did u get the phone and when are u gonna upload the pix and vids lol...
StratOS
patient la my fren.. ahaha... he steal from motorola 1.. tongue.gif
Cosef
SPMark Java06 download here
Main web download the main web dunno why i cannot access it.
Jbenchmark 2.0 download
Jbechmark 3D Download

anyway prinze, does the phonebook able to scroll very fast like sony ericsson phone? currently screaming while scrolling and searching phonebook with E2 laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
thats why theres a search feature in the phonebook tongue.gif
Cosef
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 26 2008, 12:08 AM)

Yea but while on e2, its like wanna hang.....when i press a letter to search.
PRINZE
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 25 2008, 11:38 PM)
how did u get the phone and when are u gonna upload the pix and vids lol...

there's always have 1 unit for me cos work related.. probably upload the pics by tomorrow..

QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 26 2008, 12:05 AM)
anyway prinze, does the phonebook able to scroll very fast like sony ericsson phone? currently screaming while scrolling and searching phonebook with E2  laugh.gif

sorry, never use any nokia, sony ericsson before.. so really can't compare.. scroll just like V8, normal synergy phone..

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 26 2008, 12:08 AM)

well said.. so need not worry...

oops.. very busy these few days.. will try to upload the pics by this weekend...
Nightstalker1993
still waiting for the pix lol...
StratOS
time is wut we have now.. pics pics pics..~!! laugh.gif
PRINZE
Sorry, keep u guys waiting.... refer 1st post and below...

Front with ROKR engraved

user posted image user posted image

SongID

ModeShift rocks!!

Side by side

user posted image user posted image user posted image

No hotswap

Added on March 28, 2008, 12:38 amFor the battary usage:

- Normal phone call: around 60 mins
- SMS: around 50
- MP3 playback: 5 songs (3 mins each)
- SongID: 4 times
- Mobile Internet: 5 mins
- Bluetooth ON: connected to headset, about 30 mins total

Charge completed: 26 Mar, 12pm
Low battery alert: 27 Mar, 10pm

Nightstalker1993
woah nice pix there PRINZE....

mind to intro me to ur job once i finish studying? tongue.gif

might be taking electronics after SPM hehe....

Added on March 28, 2008, 12:56 ambtw whats the expected retail price of the e8?
Cosef
Still on normal motorola battery's life.... laugh.gif

@Nightstalker... want take electronic liao wor...i also on the way taking electronic one ah laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
samer samer interested in hp lol...
PRINZE
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 28 2008, 12:54 AM)
woah nice pix there PRINZE....

mind to intro me to ur job once i finish studying? tongue.gif

might be taking electronics after SPM hehe....

Added on March 28, 2008, 12:56 ambtw whats the expected retail price of the e8?

haha.. secret now.. tongue.gif electronics? u better study hard and design more phones.. lol..

no announcement on the retail price yet.. cant really dig the info... will ask again...

QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 26 2008, 12:05 AM)
SPMark Java06 download here
Main web download the main web dunno why i cannot access it.
Jbenchmark 2.0 download
Jbechmark 3D Download

anyway prinze, does the phonebook able to scroll very fast like sony ericsson phone? currently screaming while scrolling and searching phonebook with E2  laugh.gif

haven't try the SPMark yet..

JBenchmark2

JBenchmark2: 634
Details:
Image manipulation: 582
Text: 1058
Sprites: 475
3D Transform: 1047
User interface: 332

JBenchmark version: 2.1.1
Screen (canvas) width: 320
Screen (canvas) height: 174
Color screen: true
Number of colors: 262144
JPEG support: true
Transparency (Alpha level): 256
Double buffer: true

Total memory: 2097152
Free memory: 1544588

JBenchmark3D

Performance

JBenchmark3D HQ: 335
JBenchmark3D LQ: 355
Triangles ps: 35959
KTexels ps: 3369

JBenchmark version: 3.1.0
Screen (canvas) height: 240

3D subsystem:
M3G Version: 1.1
Antialiasing: false
True: color: false
Dithering: false
Mipmapping: false
Perpective Correction: true
Local Camera Lighting: true
Max Lights: 256
Max Viewport Dimension: 1024
Max Texture Dimension: 1024
Max Sprite Crop Dimension: 1024
Max Transforms Per Vertex: 2
Number of Texture Units: 2

Other properties:
No of colors: 262144

Free memory: 1501032
StratOS
too bad whenever wanna change memory card need to off and take out battery lagi.. aih.. ahaa..
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 28 2008, 07:11 AM)
too bad whenever wanna change memory card need to off and take out battery lagi.. aih.. ahaa..

the phone itself has 2GB, how often u use memory card? the start up time is quite fast compared to v8..
Cosef
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Mar 28 2008, 02:11 AM)
haha.. secret now.. tongue.gif electronics? u better study hard and design more phones.. lol..

no announcement on the retail price yet.. cant really dig the info... will ask again...
haven't try the SPMark yet..

JBenchmark2

JBenchmark2: 634
Details:
Image manipulation: 582
Text: 1058
Sprites: 475
3D Transform: 1047
User interface: 332

JBenchmark version: 2.1.1
Screen (canvas) height: 174
Number of colors: 262144
JPEG support: true

Free memory: 1544588

JBenchmark3D

Performance

JBenchmark3D HQ: 335
JBenchmark3D LQ: 355
Triangles ps: 35959
KTexels ps: 3369

JBenchmark version: 3.1.0
Screen (canvas) height: 240

3D subsystem:
M3G Version: 1.1
Antialiasing: false
True: color: false
Perpective Correction: true
Local Camera Lighting: true
Max Lights: 256
Max Viewport Dimension: 1024

Other properties:
No of colors: 262144

Free memory: 1501032

Heres my motorola ROKR E2 benchmark results, tested with ilove3D 46P New Beginning firmware.
For comparism

Jbechmark 2: 362

Details:
Image Manipulation: 335
Text: 682
Sprites: 392
3D Transform: 661
User Interface: 105

Jbenchmark version : 2.1.1
Screen(canvas) width: 240
Screen(canvas) height: 249
Colour screen: true
Number of colours 262144
Jpeg support: true
Transparency (Alpha Level): 4
Total Memory: 1048576
Free memory: 522196

Jbenchmark 3D

Performance
Jbenchmark3D HQ: 210
Jbenchmark3D LQ: 222
Triangles ps: 23699
KTexels ps: 1941
Jbenchmark version: 3.1.0
Screen(canvas) width: 240
Screen(canvas) height: 320

3D subsystem
M3G Version: 1.0
Antialiasion: false
True colour: false
Perspective correction: true
Local Camera Lightning: true
Max Lights 256
Max Viewpoint Dimension: 1024

SPMarkJava06 Results
SPMarkJava06 Score :1818

Test Results:
2D Game: 25.7fps
3D Game: 7.7fps
Fillrate: 1154k Texels/s
Polygon Throughput: 34.7k Vertices/s
PNG score :75
PNG encode: 26kPixels/s
PNG decode: 218kPixels/s
JVM score :2517
JVM test results....ahh....lazy already sweat.gif

seems like E8 performance almost double of E2 one.....
Will feel better when using it rclxms.gif
StratOS
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Mar 28 2008, 09:55 AM)
the phone itself has 2GB, how often u use memory card? the start up time is quite fast compared to v8..

well.. im a music listener so 4GB should be enough.. 2 GB memang not enough.. listen like 12 hours a day.. laugh.gif
Cosef
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 28 2008, 05:19 PM)
well.. im a music listener so 4GB should be enough.. 2 GB memang not enough.. listen like 12 hours a day.. laugh.gif

I think need bring some backup battery also, if not cannot tahan.
PRINZE
QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 28 2008, 02:42 PM)
SPMarkJava06 Results
SPMarkJava06 Score :1818

Test Results:
2D Game: 25.7fps
3D Game: 7.7fps
Fillrate: 1154k Texels/s
Polygon Throughput: 34.7k Vertices/s
PNG score :75
PNG encode: 26kPixels/s
PNG decode: 218kPixels/s
JVM score :2517
JVM test results....ahh....lazy already  sweat.gif
seems like E8 performance almost double of E2 one.....
Will feel better when using it  rclxms.gif

E8 performance

SPMarkJava06 Results
SPMarkJava06 Score : 2712

Test Results:
2D Game: 56.6fps
3D Game: 14fps
Fillrate: 1381k Texels/s
Polygon Throughput: 46.9k Vertices/s
PNG score: 92
PNG encode: 37kPixels/s
PNG decode: 231kPixels/s
JVM score : 3494

yeah, u can noticed that it is double the performance..
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 28 2008, 05:19 PM)

2GB not enough?? dont forget it has FM radio.. u have unlimited music with lot of channels..
Nightstalker1993
my 2gb memmory is already full with music and videos after like 3 months using it lol....

i need a new mem card cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
PRINZE
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 28 2008, 08:09 PM)
my 2gb memmory is already full with music and videos after like 3 months using it lol....

i need a new mem card cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

my 2gb card already used for 1 year.. maximun stored 500mb.. what else to store ah? lol.. even my mp3 in PC also less than 1gb... hahaha.. most of the time listen radio, but not from the phone itself.. my phone only served me phone call and sms most of the time..
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.