Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: MOTOROKR E8
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
StratOS
i never use radio function in the phone also.. i prefer keep listening to my favourite song.. just tat too bad this phone camera no AF.. well.. its a good phone la, overall..

the camera pictures ok ka..?
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 28 2008, 10:37 PM)
i never use radio function in the phone also.. i prefer keep listening to my favourite song.. just tat too bad this phone camera no AF.. well.. its a good phone la, overall..

the camera pictures ok ka..?

Normal

2x

4x

8x - too small, no point to show...

Normal night shot
sukun
how much u pay for the E8, PRINZE?
AP set or Ori set?
PRINZE
QUOTE(sukun @ Mar 29 2008, 12:13 AM)
AP set or Ori set?

u must be first time in this motorola thread.. haha..

i dont know the price yet.. mine is sample..
Cosef
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Mar 28 2008, 07:55 PM)
E8 performance

SPMarkJava06 Results
SPMarkJava06 Score : 2712

Test Results:
2D Game: 56.6fps
3D Game: 14fps
Fillrate: 1381k Texels/s
Polygon Throughput: 46.9k Vertices/s
PNG score: 92
PNG encode: 37kPixels/s
PNG decode: 231kPixels/s
JVM score : 3494
yeah, u can noticed that it is double the performance..

Yeah....should be a good phone now.... thumbup.gif
StratOS
QUOTE(sukun @ Mar 29 2008, 12:13 AM)
AP set or Ori set?

ahaha... he got it for free... all new motorola phone's he get for free.. brows.gif

@PRINZE.. the pics kinda normal for motorola lo.. cant expect much..
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 29 2008, 07:10 PM)
ahaha... he got it for free... all new motorola phone's he get for free.. brows.gif

@PRINZE.. the pics kinda normal for motorola lo.. cant expect much..

kinda normal.. but when using camera, the viewfinder to shoot pic, display sucks... E2 has better display viewfinder..
StratOS
i dun think they aim for camera again.. more to entertainment like music for this model..
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 29 2008, 11:28 PM)
i dun think they aim for camera again.. more to entertainment like music for this model..

indeed.. they more like focus on innovative design and music... will focus on camera on the coming products with kodak i guess.. not really sure yet...
chunhau
the 5mp kodak phone..?? brows.gif
Cosef
QUOTE(chunhau @ Mar 30 2008, 04:58 PM)
the 5mp kodak phone..?? brows.gif

Not release yet so no need think about it 1st.... tongue.gif
PRINZE
QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 30 2008, 05:18 PM)
Not release yet so no need think about it 1st....  tongue.gif

maybe i can get the prototype first leh.. who knows?? hehhe..

btw, i think U9 is in the market already.. another music phone..
squall_kay
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Mar 30 2008, 05:50 PM)

wa....so jealous...
kodak phone is z12 rite?
StratOS

yeap.. its been in the market for 1 week now.. selling the ap set here now lo.. fastest in Miri i think.. ahaha..

@squall_kay.. Z12..? nolah.. its a candybar phone for the kodak phone..
Nightstalker1993
a.k.a. Genghis lol...
Cosef

I'm looking for the one that sells in market. laugh.gif
StratOS
get u9 la.. ahaha.. nice phone wor.. brows.gif laugh.gif
calvin_swk
E8 will be around RM1000-1300, U9 will be in the market soon @ RM999

E8 is really a good phone for music lover, built in 2gb support another 4gb..
nice to hold of coz brows.gif

Prinze, u work for motorola?
Nightstalker1993
holy...

1000-1300?

thats a good starting price...

expect it to drop to rm500 in 1 yr time? brows.gif laugh.gif
StratOS
yea.. like rokr e2.. ahaha.. no doubty bout it.. ahaha..
PRINZE
QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Mar 31 2008, 11:22 PM)
E8 will be around RM1000-1300, U9 will be in the market soon @ RM999

E8 is really a good phone for music lover, built in 2gb support another 4gb..
nice to hold of coz brows.gif

Prinze, u work for motorola?

used to work together.. not for now..

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:26 PM)
holy...

1000-1300?

after 1 year still using E8? haha.. there is better model also using modeshift keypad..
StratOS
motorola price drop fast.. so i rather wait la.. lol.. wait 1 year the phone still nice ma.. see rokr e2.. till not still so hot.. ahaha..
calvin_swk
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:26 PM)
holy...

1000-1300?

it is possible icon_idea.gif
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 31 2008, 11:55 PM)
motorola price drop fast.. so i rather wait la.. lol.. wait 1 year the phone still nice ma.. see rokr e2.. till not still so hot.. ahaha..

hot? i dont think so.. hot only for those ppl in certain group like forumers who interested in mod.. else, the rest ppl never give a shit on E2.. lol..
StratOS
after we mod and they can see the capabilities of the mod on the phone, then people will go crazy for it.. see now in Miri.. every1 looking for E2, they dun even know its a old model and discontinued oredy.. all tot its newly launched 1.. sweat.gif
Cosef
QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 1 2008, 07:11 AM)
after we mod and they can see the capabilities of the mod on the phone, then people will go crazy for it.. see now in Miri.. every1 looking for E2, they dun even know its a old model and discontinued oredy.. all tot its newly launched 1.. sweat.gif

You sure??? laugh.gif
Then i should be proud for an E2 user tongue.gif

Gonna see how hot is this E8 in miri loh.
PRINZE
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Jan 29 2008, 05:33 PM)
My own review
1st April 08
After using the phone for more than 1 week, I feel great because it delivers a very good reception, easy to SMS/MMS, great interface and experience. Last but not the least, it is user friendly.

Basically, I love the haptics keypad because it gave us the awesome feel when pressing the button. The design of the front panel is flat and you unable to press the keypad when the lights go off (when ModeShift take place).  So I suspect Motorola made it into some sort of vibration rather than spring whenever the keypad is pressed. Now I addicted to type SMS because it is fast and feel the best so far using Motorola since StarTac. Somehow, the SMS typing response already enhanced, much faster than E2 & V8. The idea of ModeShift technologymade the phone looks neater when using camera and music playback. Unnecessary keys will not be shown during the camera mode and music playback. Thanks to the innovative design from Motorola and I guess there will be more products in Motorola line-up in the future using the ModeShift.

Furthermore, the FastScroll navigation wheel also is one of the useful tools when browsing data such as menu, phonebook and music library. You just imaging there is 1000 Mp3 stored in the phone, and do you think you need to press navigation key each time to scroll the list? Forget about it for previous models. By using ROKR E8, you can easily scroll the song list just using your thumb by moving on the FastScroll wheel. The response is quick enough and you can easily select the particular song after you scroll.

Music lovers, this should be the product you looking for because it has a great speaker and volume can be adjust to 20 maximum. Sound quality is loud and clear, moreover it includes equalizer, bass boost and 3D stereo options. You can adjust it manually by changing the bass and 3D stereo, or automatically by select the equalizer. Feel wasted after you bought an expensive KOSS/Sennheiser headphone? NO! You still can use it together with E8 because it came with 3.5mm stereo jack. For wireless experience, user can connect it with Stereo Bluetooth headphones which have A2DP profile. I highly recommend Motorola S9 or S705 because it is lightweight and easy to store in the bag. Meanwhile, how can you purchase/download a song if you forget the song title when listen on radio or Mp3? Here's the SongID application whereby it can helps you to search for it through Shazam network anytime, anywhere. It works well on most of the English songs but limited on the Chinese and Malay songs. What you have to do is just let your E8 to listen the song for 10 seconds, it will automatically connects to Shazam network via GPRS to browse for the song title. Isn't it helpful?

Short of memory capacity in previous model? E8 offers 2GB built-in and additional of 4GB using microSD card, you will not running out of space anymore. Its equivalent to 3000 songs* can be stored in 6GB capacity. (Average of 4 mins in 64kbps bit rate. Recommend to use AAC+ enhanced format because the quality is as good as MP3 + smaller file size. Most of the phones in the market nowadays support AAC+ enhanced.) There also a built-in file manager to allow user to browse the data that stored in phone memory and microSD card. As a music phone, came with USB 2.0 spec. Tested the speed for phone and card:
- Phone: Transferred 570MB file in 3:40 minutes, around 2.6MBps.
- Card: Transferred 570MB file in 4:30 minutes, around 2.0MBps.
*Average 2 seconds per song (4MB)

E8 has a 2 megapixels camera. I can say it is a decent camera because Motorola did not focus on the camera since it is market as music series. Personally, I would still prefer the viewfinder of E2 because it has clearer viewfinder compared to E8. For picture quality, I am pleased with it. Click here for picture quality. In camera mode, resolution can be adjusted to 1600x1200, 1280x960, 320x240 and 160x120. If you received a picture from 5MP camera phone, you still able to view the picture but the phone will automatically resize to 1600x1200 without your notice. Is this good or bad? You judge it! In terms of video mode, there is no specific duration as long as the memory is available. You can capture more than 20 hours for video in 2GB storage. I think it is fine since I do not take much of video using phone.

Another great improvement was the Phonebook search when wanted to make a call. It works like Windows Mobile now. Meaning to say that user can easily call a contact by typing alphabet or phone no. on the home screen to filter out the contact. Personally I waited for this method since I used the old Motorola MPX200. This method eliminates one step when making a call because user does not necessary to access phonebook to search for contacts.

In battery performance, I would urge Motorola to look into this issue and extend the performance with higher capacity battery. I would like to rephrase, I think it is quite decent when just for phone and sms usage. The result can be seen in below "2nd test":
Battery type: BK60, 930mAh
1st test:

- Normal phone call: around 60 mins
- SMS: around 50
- MP3 playback: 5 songs (3 mins each)
- SongID: 4 times
- Mobile Internet: 5 mins
- Bluetooth ON: connected to headset, about 30 mins in total
Charge completed: 26 Mar, 12pm
Low battery alert: 27 Mar, 10pm

2nd test:
- Normal phone call: around 60 mins so far
- SMS: 19 so far
- MP3 playback: nil
- SongID: nil
- Mobile Internet: nil
Charge completed: 31 Mar, 8am
Full bar: Shows 100%, 1 Apr, 1pm
2 bar: Shows 50%, 2 Apr, 11am
1 bar: not yet
Low battery alert: not yet

Overall, the User Interface is enhanced. It is better looking and faster response compared to E2 and V8. I personally preferred this UI than the rest of the Linux-Java phones. What I can see is the new UI will be available in the coming model such as U9, and let's hope Motorola will not fall back to previous version of UI in the oncoming models. Last but not the least, I strongly recommend this ROKR E8 for mobile user. More buying guidelines, refer below.

Experience Rating: user posted image

Who should upgrade to this MOTOROKR E8
- Those who are music lover!
- Those who carry 2 gadgets, phone and mp3 player. Say bye-bye to Ipod!
- Those who using ROKR E2. You will never regret!
- Those who image conscious, needs lifestyle, dump your V8 now. tongue.gif

Who SHOULD NOT UPGRADE to this MOTOROKR E8
- Camera quality is priority.
- Always connected to Internet for data.

Wrote my E8 review on 1st post... pai seh pai seh.. tongue.gif

You gotta love this E8.. thumbup.gif
StratOS
QUOTE(Cosef @ Apr 1 2008, 01:41 PM)
You sure???  laugh.gif
Then i should be proud for an E2 user  tongue.gif

Gonna see how hot is this E8 in miri loh.

sure a lot of people wont buy till they know wats good bout it.. but i hope i can own it 1st in miri.. tongue.gif
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 1 2008, 04:00 PM)
sure a lot of people wont buy till they know wats good bout it.. but i hope i can own it 1st in miri.. tongue.gif

the good thing already mentioned in the review.. icon_rolleyes.gif
StratOS
well.. people in my area always wait for the phone price to drop a lot especially moto then buy lo..
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 2 2008, 10:29 AM)
well.. people in my area always wait for the phone price to drop a lot especially moto then buy lo..

well.. u should educate them.. or u can start a ceramah about moto modding.. lol..
StratOS
lol.. Cosef can give me help also.. we should make a booth for Motorola during the PC Fair.. ahaha..
PRINZE
QUOTE(PRINZE @ Jan 29 2008, 05:33 PM)
In battery performance, I would urge Motorola to look into this issue and extend the performance with higher capacity battery. I would like to rephrase, I think it is quite decent when just for phone and sms usage. The result can be seen in below "2nd test":
Battery type: BK60, 930mAh
1st test:

- Normal phone call: around 60 mins
- SMS: around 50
- MP3 playback: 5 songs (3 mins each)
- SongID: 4 times
- Mobile Internet: 5 mins
Charge completed: 26 Mar, 12pm
Low battery alert: 27 Mar, 10pm
Around 34 hours...

2nd test:
- Normal phone call: around 66 mins so far
- SMS: 20 so far
- MP3 playback: nil
- SongID: nil
- Mobile Internet: nil
Charge completed: 31 Mar, 8am
Full bar: Shows 100%, 1 Apr, 1pm
2 bar: Shows 50%, 2 Apr, 11am
1 bar: Shows 20%, 2 Apr, 3pm
Low battery alert: not yet
Around 56 hours by now...

wow.. check out the E8 battery performance.. "2nd test" is normal usage, just phone call, sms and standby.. so i could expect that it will last more than 2.5 days.. thumbup.gif
StratOS
wow.. not bad ler the battery performance.. considerable to buy..
calvin_swk
Prinze,have u got the U9? how's the perfomance??? i only test once..
PRINZE
QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Apr 3 2008, 10:39 AM)
Prinze,have u got the U9? how's the perfomance??? i only test once..

nope.. i dont have it.. looks cool.. but more like ladies product huh???
StratOS
U9 is aimed for the ladies lo.. and U9 battery life i tested it at my neighbours shop b4.. 2 days and a half stand by.. usage as in 100sms and frequent calls like 3 hours a day 1.5days max for the battery..
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 3 2008, 05:50 PM)
U9 is aimed for the ladies lo.. and U9 battery life i tested it at my neighbours shop b4.. 2 days and a half stand by.. usage as in 100sms and frequent calls like 3 hours a day 1.5days max for the battery..

something cool about U9 is the screensaver on external screen... battery life as u mentioned seems ok..
StratOS
the battery life is ok la.. the external screensaver..? havent tried tat lol.. not much interest towards tat model lo..
calvin_swk
U9 out already?
PRINZE
QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Apr 8 2008, 10:55 AM)
U9 out already?

havent seen any.. should be out soon...
StratOS
its out oredy ler..

RM950 AP set for Rose Bloom with 512MB Memory Card and RM 900 for Graphite Grey..

Package contents:-

* 1 Motorola U9 Phone
* 1 BX40 Battery
* 1 SKN6238A Data Cable
* 1 SPN5342A Charger
* 1 Handsfree
* 1 User's Manual
* 1 CD software
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 8 2008, 06:49 PM)
its out oredy ler..

RM950 AP set for Rose Bloom with 512MB Memory Card and RM 900 for Graphite Grey..

Package contents:-

* 1 Motorola U9 Phone
    * 1 BX40 Battery
    * 1 SKN6238A Data Cable
    * 1 SPN5342A Charger
    * 1 Handsfree
    * 1 User's Manual
    * 1 CD software

AP set available doesn't mean it is launched.. i'm authorised supporter..
StratOS
im waiting for Ori set also la.. coz now bring in AP set for sell 1st ma..
calvin_swk
i only sell original set of Motorola brows.gif
waiting Brightstar to bring in..
StratOS
me also waiting for brightstar lo.. haha.. see how much the selling price.. i think also rm1k only la..
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 9 2008, 05:10 PM)
me also waiting for brightstar lo.. haha.. see how much the selling price.. i think also rm1k only la..

u mean U9? should be RM999 lor... if E8 is RM999, fatt tat lor... hehe...
StratOS
yealor.. i hope e8 also rm999.. then wait for 6 months then buy.. XD
PRINZE
QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 10 2008, 11:38 AM)
yealor.. i hope e8 also rm999.. then wait for 6 months then buy.. XD

but too bad it wont be rm999... and i hope it really can sell...

hey music lover!! pay attention to this phone ok?? dump your ipod.... tongue.gif
StratOS
ipod=ipood.. haha.. the sound quality very good?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.