Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: House Renovation
Lowyat.NET > Roundtable Discussions > Finance, Business and Investment House > Property Talk
Pages: 1, 2
a6meister
Since there are many house owners in this forum, i am also interested to know how is your renovation ideal and also the budget spent. In addition, i believe by providing pictures, it can also help some home owners in determining the renovation plan, as renovation is a very headache task but interesting.

My kitchen - White & simple
budget - RM 3,600.00 (top and under)
- appx rm 180 per foot long for table top and underneath cabinet.
- appx rm 140 for top kitchen cabinet
- appx rm 90 for underneath cabinet without table top.

HOOB AND HOB
- appx rm 1700

CONCRETE TABLE TOP WITH 2*2 TILES
- THE JOB INCLUDE HACK AND KNOCK DOWN FOR THE PREVIOUS TABLE TOP AND REBUILD TO THIS BLACK TILES CONCRETE TABLE TOP.
- appx rm 120 for a foot long

KITCHEN SINK
- round shape
- appx rm 380.00

KITCHEN TAPE
- from wall
- rm 90.00
kb2005
Your kitchen as the your pic and you want to renovate more ?
scorgio
Renovation will not cause u any headache if your level of tolerance is high or you have a deep pocket.
jchong
QUOTE(a6meister @ Jan 27 2008, 08:56 AM)
Since there are many house owners in this forum, i am also interested to know how is your renovation ideal and also the budget spent. In addition, i believe by providing pictures, it can also help some home owners in determining the renovation plan, as renovation is a very headache task but interesting.

budget - RM 3,600.00

Is that the pic of your kitchen now or what you want your kitchen to become?
X-Zen
QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 27 2008, 05:17 PM)
Is that the pic of your kitchen now or what you want your kitchen to become?

yes, i am also wondering the same thing

also the rm3600 is the your budget to get that kitchen

I doubt can get la but if can please do share

I am sure a lot of ppl are interested here
a6meister
QUOTE(scorgio @ Jan 27 2008, 10:31 AM)
Renovation will not cause u any headache if your level of tolerance is high or you have a deep pocket.

well, to me, is just not a matter of tolerance. it is planning and ideal. once renovation is done, there is no turn back, so to me, i am quite careful and discreet in doing it. Regarding deep pocket ? i guess u mean tight budget. Indeed, u right right, i am quite tight in budget as a renovation of a house could easily come to 50k and even 100k is quite normal nowadays.

Added on January 27, 2008, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(X-Zen @ Jan 27 2008, 06:44 PM)
yes, i am also wondering the same thing

also the rm3600 is the your budget to get that kitchen

I doubt can get la but if can please do share

I am sure a lot of ppl are interested here

QUOTE(a6meister @ Jan 27 2008, 08:41 PM)
well, to me, is just not a matter of tolerance. it is planning and ideal. once renovation is done, there is no turn back, so to me, i am quite careful and discreet in doing it. Regarding deep pocket ? i guess u mean tight budget. Indeed, u right right, i am quite tight in budget as a renovation of a house could easily come to 50k and even 100k is quite normal nowadays.

well, i guess i did not clarify clearly. The picture shown above are my current new kitchen. I create this thread for forumers with newly renovated kitchen and forumers who is going to renovate their kitchen in coming days.
X-Zen

Added on January 27, 2008, 8:45 pm
well, i guess i did not clarify clearly. The picture shown above are my current new kitchen. I create this thread for forumers with newly renovated kitchen and forumers who is going to renovate their kitchen in coming days.

Edit - saw your edited first post
scorgio
well, to me, is just not a matter of tolerance. it is planning and ideal. once renovation is done, there is no turn back, so to me, i am quite careful and discreet in doing it. Regarding deep pocket ? i guess u mean tight budget.

Yes. No turning back.
That's what I said, high level of tolerance.

Assuming the finished work is not what you expected, you should also accept it as long as it's well done.
For eg, you pick a paint color from the color chart & the painter proceed with his work.
Then one day u went to ur hse & saw the paint color is not what you had in mind (color chart differs u know?), you can:
1) accept & live with it OR
2) get the painter to repaint
U get what I'm trying to say?

Next, deep pocket = huge budget.
lousycar
what brand of hoob and hob are you using? Cheap for 1700.
Mind sharing?

Where is your location?
ejan_
I paid rm 2900 for concrete table 18Ft with tiles. Is it overpaid? concrete table with tile only.. no cabinet.....
a6meister
QUOTE(lousycar @ Jan 29 2008, 10:21 AM)
what brand of hoob and hob are you using? Cheap for 1700.
Mind sharing?

Where is your location?

the hoob & hob are the brand of IKA. Yet another china made product which is the same factory of Fagor. I get it from Puchong, if u really interested, send me a pm, I will guide you how to get it cheaper. Not bad compare wit other brands. The hob is very quiet and yet still powerful.

Added on January 30, 2008, 10:13 am
QUOTE(ejan_ @ Jan 30 2008, 12:40 AM)
I paid rm 2900 for concrete table 18Ft with tiles. Is it overpaid? concrete table with tile only.. no cabinet.....

That is why, whenever come to renovation, we should not just get rough and whole estimation from the contractor, we have to break up calculation and truely understand how they charge us.

Beforehand, what size of tile u use ? is it 1ft*1ft or 2ft*2ft ?
ejan_
QUOTE(a6meister @ Jan 30 2008, 10:09 AM)
the hoob & hob are the brand of IKA. Yet another china made product which is the same factory of Fagor. I get it from Puchong, if u really interested, send me a pm, I will guide you how to get it cheaper. Not bad compare wit other brands. The hob is very quiet and yet still powerful.

Added on January 30, 2008, 10:13 am

That is why, whenever come to renovation, we should not just get rough and whole estimation from the contractor, we have to break up calculation and truely understand how they charge us.

Beforehand, what size of tile u use ? is it 1ft*1ft or 2ft*2ft ?

2ft x 2ft.. actually what is standard market price?
a6meister
QUOTE(ejan_ @ Jan 30 2008, 01:50 PM)
2ft x 2ft.. actually what is standard market price?

ok, normally, the charges is about rm 120.00 to rm 150.00 It depends on the contractor if he sub it to other people to perfom the job, or if he rent the equipment. Most probably, RM 120.00 is most reasonable. the price should inclusive of hacking job, and remodelling of the whole table tops with tiles.
suiteng
Not bad. I'm still calculating the cost for my new house renovation. Adds up to 20k. I wanna faint rclxub.gif

Scope include built in cabinets for all 3 rooms, bathroom (glass door to separate wet and dry area), kitchen cabinets, air conds, fans, furnitures, bla bla bla..
a6meister
QUOTE(suiteng @ Feb 26 2008, 11:46 AM)
Not bad. I'm still calculating the cost for my new house renovation. Adds up to 20k. I wanna faint rclxub.gif

Scope include built in cabinets for all 3 rooms, bathroom (glass door to separate wet and dry area), kitchen cabinets, air conds, fans, furnitures, bla bla bla..

with all the scopes u mentioned, expecially added up with air conds, that should be quite cheap. But, of course, it all depends on the criterials and size.

Keep a reference price as a comparison as the price i suggested, thus you can come out with the calculation by yourself rather than get a rough and round calculation form your respective contractors.
investor
QUOTE(a6meister @ Jan 30 2008, 01:49 PM)
ok, normally, the charges is about rm 120.00 to rm 150.00 It depends on the contractor if he sub it to other people to perfom the job, or if he rent the equipment. Most probably, RM 120.00 is most reasonable. the price should inclusive of hacking job, and remodelling of the whole table tops with tiles.

Hi a6meister, don't mind pm me the contractor name and hp or shop address that help you do the concrete table for 2 X 2 tile? Look reasonable RM 120 per foot. Just now I ask one shop quote me RM 160.00 per foot. Crazy expensive. My whole L-shape I think if I didn't measure wrong it will be 15.5ft. I only want to do the concrete table no cabinet yet as I'm out of budget.

Hey I like the black color you did. Can I follow same color as you lol but sink I will go for square one haha..TQ.

Oh yeah, I'm located at Jalan Puchong. biggrin.gif
a6meister
QUOTE(investor @ Mar 2 2008, 11:00 PM)
Hi a6meister, don't mind pm me the contractor name and hp or shop address that help you do the concrete table for 2 X 2 tile? Look reasonable RM 120 per foot. Just now I ask one shop quote me RM 160.00 per foot. Crazy expensive. My whole L-shape I think if I didn't measure wrong it will be 15.5ft. I only want to do the concrete table no cabinet yet as I'm out of budget.

Hey I like the black color you did. Can I follow same color as you lol but sink I will go for square one haha..TQ.

Oh yeah, I'm located at Jalan Puchong. biggrin.gif

yes, some contractor do charge up to 160 per square feet for the job, which include the labour. But, nare in mind that a 2*2 tiles is only about rm 25 to 30 a piece.

ok, i will try to find out the contractor number cause the number is in my office. By the way, where is ur location ? thanks
a6meister
ok, time for me to show the paint colour of my house. I personally think the colour scheme had been messed up by me and my fiancee decision, but, nothing i can do since had bought the paint.

I did all the painting for this whole semi detached house, which took me almost 1 month, cause i only did it during weekend, but cost saving. it took me almost 7 cans of 5 litres NIPPON SATIN GLO, which is rm 78 a can.

the whole painting work had save me about 2k if compare to i hire some one to do, plus, i can confirm that my own workmanship is not bad at all compare with the professional painter.
zeist
My new house kitchen, or should I say my mom's kitchen. laugh.gif

Whole cabinet, RM7K+.

Hood & Hob RM5K+.

My new house renovation not much, around RM40K+. The people here spent more, close to RM100K. The corner house behind even more powderful, more than RM200K+. His house is like a freaking traditional museum style sial, not my type but greatly done. He also bought like 6 palm trees to put them at the alley, this fella most probably got too much money to spend...

My whole house is using Dulux Supreme, except for 2 rooms. There are 5 rooms in total. I'm using another Dulux, because Superme does not have the color that I want. Supreme is pretty expensive RM130+. We hired a painter, workmanship RM2.5K.

My apple green, FTW!

a6meister
QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 22 2008, 10:17 PM)
My new house kitchen, or should I say my mom's kitchen.  laugh.gif

Whole cabinet, RM7K+.

Hood & Hob RM5K+.

My new house renovation not much, around RM40K+. The people here spent more, close to RM100K. The corner house behind even more powderful, more than RM200K+. His house is like a freaking traditional museum style sial, not my type but greatly done. He also bought like 6 palm trees to put them at the alley, this fella most probably got too much money to spend...

My whole house is using Dulux Supreme, except for 2 rooms. There are 5 rooms in total. I'm using another Dulux, because Superme does not have the color that I want. Supreme is pretty expensive RM130+. We hired a painter, workmanship RM2.5K.

My apple green, FTW!

very energity colour. ok, this is the thread i hope will keep coming with attached pictures no matter is a kitchen, garden or living room with furnitures, it will gives us hints and ideal on the best way to renovate with cost saving but nice as an objective.

thanks Zeist
zeist
QUOTE(a6meister @ Mar 22 2008, 11:06 PM)
very energity colour. ok, this is the thread i hope will keep coming with attached pictures no matter is a kitchen, garden or living room with furnitures, it will gives us hints and ideal on the best way to renovate with cost saving but nice as an objective.

thanks Zeist

No prob, I love to pimp a house. biggrin.gif

Most lightings are bought from IKEA some from wholesale shop, air-cond got "lubang" to get dealer price. 1.5HP = RM7xx, 2HP = RM1,2xx (York brand). Fans bought from wholesale shop. smile.gif

My grill protector cost RM5K for whole house. We picked a simple grill, it's easier when we need to open the curtain. I don't like fancy, flower type of grills. Disadvantage are, hard to see cleary outside, hard to clean, it's sharp will get hurt easily and etc. smile.gif

investor
QUOTE(a6meister @ Mar 22 2008, 01:43 PM)
yes, some contractor do charge up to 160 per square feet for the job, which include the labour. But, nare in mind that a 2*2 tiles is only about rm 25 to 30 a piece.

ok, i will try to find out the contractor number cause the number is in my office. By the way, where is ur location ? thanks

Aiya, a6meister too late you reply to me. I already ask some one to do the concrete table with 2 X 2 tiles, cost me RM 2500.00. Later I upload the file and show you guys and give some opinion. tongue.gif

Added on April 5, 2008, 10:47 am
QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 23 2008, 05:59 AM)
No prob, I love to pimp a house.  biggrin.gif

Most lightings are bought from IKEA some from wholesale shop, air-cond got "lubang" to get dealer price. 1.5HP = RM7xx, 2HP = RM1,2xx (York brand). Fans bought from wholesale shop.  smile.gif

My grill protector cost RM5K for whole house. We picked a simple grill, it's easier when we need to open the curtain. I don't like fancy, flower type of grills. Disadvantage are, hard to see cleary outside, hard to clean, it's sharp will get hurt easily and etc.  smile.gif

Wow, really got lubang woh for the air-con. Very cheap, i think it is not inclusive installation. brows.gif

Added on April 5, 2008, 11:02 amHere you go:

One pic first later upload one more thumbup.gif

babyshey
hi..i am getting my house key soon... i am having headache here because my kitchen is square and looks like a room!! a very small room, 95sft only!! i think put fridge the kitchen looks full already :S

please help me!!
i don't know what to do!!
PGGTrader
a6meister - very nice kitchen u have there....

i am also renovating my house soon.... care to share the contractor's contact ?
Thanks !
abarai
QUOTE(babyshey @ Apr 7 2008, 10:43 PM)
hi..i am getting my house key soon... i am having headache here because my kitchen is square and looks like a room!! a very small room, 95sft only!! i think put fridge the kitchen looks full already :S

please help me!!

its really hard to give any meaningful advise without knowing your layout.

but some common sense suggestions:

1) if you do a lot of cooking, may have to consider knocking down partitions and take up some of the surrounding areas

2) buy a smaller fridge!

3) dont worry so much abt it. a lot of ppl worry a lot abt small kitchen but eventually they hardly even use it. makan luar smile.gif
mytrader
How about grill and wiring pricing ? Any guideline to share ?

justin_nys

please help me!!

Let me guess, Villa Wangsamas? hahaha..
dEviLs
Hi guys, may i know which kind of energy saving downlights you all are using ?
adrianocy
i use GE bulb
dEviLs
QUOTE(adrianocy @ Apr 14 2008, 11:07 AM)
i use GE bulb

Thanks mate, but may i know the detailed specs of it and the price ? am thinking of the philips one 15w with 75w light output unsure.gif
lanfearxt
can share the contrator's number? looking to renovate kitchen also, and solid surface is very expensive la. total cost for kitchen quoted RM10k la....wanna faint....

i think easy easy do the concrete with 2x2 tiles la...
hanif444

can anyone shares their good contrator number?...i renovation my house soon..
a6meister
well, have not visited this website for long time. let me update some pictures i have to share.

i would like to share a little about the kitchen sink and tape. i spent quite a heft amount on these 2 items as i believe it will be for long run. To buy a nice and good quality kitchen sink ( such as TEKA OR REGINOX ), try to identify few aspects. first, it must be WHOLE PIECE. Which mean, the whole sink is made or mould by using one piece of stainless steel. secondly, do not buy a shining type. try to find a piece that has a rough vision on top.

eurayle
QUOTE(a6meister @ Jun 5 2008, 09:45 PM)
secondly, do not buy a shining type. try to find a piece that has a rough vision on top.

What's wrong with a shining type?
And what do you mean by rough vision on top?? You mean the surface of the sink?
yewkhuay
QUOTE(investor @ Apr 5 2008, 10:38 AM)
Aiya, a6meister too late you reply to me. I already ask some one to do the concrete table with 2 X 2 tiles, cost me RM 2500.00. Later I upload the file and show you guys and give some opinion.  tongue.gif

Added on April 5, 2008, 10:47 am

Wow, really got lubang woh for the air-con. Very cheap, i think it is not inclusive installation. brows.gif

Added on April 5, 2008, 11:02 amHere you go:

One pic first later upload one more  thumbup.gif

this kitchen hard top wil cost how much?
Givenz
This is what i did for my kitchen. I also did plaster ceiling and other stuff as well.
BTW my contractor has website to correspond with quotation and consult service for free, you can get him at

http://www.ckconstruction.com.my/

link to my photo album or click the spoiler for kitchen renovation only. My table top all in + tap and sink cost me RM2600

kunngor

please help me!!

no need to worry too much, shape is just an illusion. dont judge ur kitchen out look and sentence it. try to put some beauty inside it and it can become a wonder. hold on to simple and nice. it take me a week to figure out what to do with my low cost house kitchen. turn out that all my friend was shock to see it. show to people what u have and ask around for advise before u plan anything. take ur time and relax.
a6meister
QUOTE(eurayle @ Jun 6 2008, 09:17 AM)
What's wrong with a shining type?
And what do you mean by rough vision on top??  You mean the surface of the sink?

yes, it looks like blurish on the surface. This, will prove the quality of stainles steel which is from a accurate metal types composition.

Added on June 10, 2008, 10:31 pm
QUOTE(Givenz @ Jun 10 2008, 08:52 PM)
This is what i did for my kitchen. I also did plaster ceiling and other stuff as well.
BTW my contractor has website to correspond with quotation and consult service for free, you can get him at

http://www.ckconstruction.com.my/

link to my photo album or click the spoiler for kitchen renovation only. My table top cost me RM2600.

your kitchen and mine kitchen sort of have some similarity. and honestly, i think the black cabinet looks good in those combination. How much do they charge you for a feet of the top kitchen and 1 feet long underneath ? is it using a solid wood, or chip board ?

Givenz
QUOTE(a6meister @ Jun 10 2008, 10:28 PM)
yes, it looks like blurish on the surface. This, will prove the quality of stainles steel which is from a accurate metal types composition.

Added on June 10, 2008, 10:31 pm

your kitchen and mine kitchen sort of have some similarity. and honestly, i think the black cabinet looks good in those combination. How much do they charge you for a feet of the top kitchen and 1 feet long underneath ? is it using a solid wood, or chip board ?

Thanks, my wife is also happy about it. Lucky got things right and didnt blow a huge amount on furniture since i got it from cavenzi instead of ikea. I cant seem to find the quotation, since its awhile ago but initially its RM4600 for top and bottom cabinet. But i ask to add in aluminum trimming on all the cabinet doors, frosted glass, hydraulic arm, stainless steal tray and stainless steal handle. OK i didnt ask, but my friend which did this design for me ask me to, so that it enhances the contrast between steel and wood. Everything comes up to RM5.5k The material use are ABS melamine board, i did consider chip board but my contractor told me to use the ABS one cause it has better water resistance. If i remember right, solid wood price is crazy high, cant afford them. Back 4 years ago I did one small cabinet ~ 6 feet for my mom's place and cost me RM 3000++ and god was that small. But it really do look good cause of the classic appearance.
myhat
QUOTE(hanif444 @ Jun 5 2008, 07:10 PM)
can anyone shares their good contrator number?...i renovation my house soon..

visit this website - http://www.meridiandesign.com.my/
the other one (by the wife) - http://www.meridiandesign.blogspot.com/
contractor name Lim
very friendly chap
his number is stated in the website

so far....
his quotation is reasonable for the quality of his work
advantage - biz owned by both husband n wife...
husband do the construction work aka project manager
wife do ID
so u got complete package with them.... rclxms.gif

Added on June 11, 2008, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(a6meister @ Jun 5 2008, 09:45 PM)
well, have not visited this website for long time. let me update some pictures i have to share.

i would like to share a little about the kitchen sink and tape. i spent quite a heft amount on these 2 items as i believe it will be for long run. To buy a nice and good quality kitchen sink ( such as TEKA OR REGINOX ), try to identify few aspects. first, it must be WHOLE PIECE. Which mean, the whole sink is made or mould by using one piece of stainless steel.  secondly, do not buy a shining type. try to find a piece that has a rough vision on top.

how about Abeiter or Rubine?
i guess those are much better than TEKA...

i'm not sure about that...still noob
just asking

Added on June 11, 2008, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 23 2008, 01:59 PM)
No prob, I love to pimp a house.  biggrin.gif

Most lightings are bought from IKEA some from wholesale shop, air-cond got "lubang" to get dealer price. 1.5HP = RM7xx, 2HP = RM1,2xx (York brand). Fans bought from wholesale shop.  smile.gif

mind sharing total cost of ur air-cond including installation?
mind sharing the shop/seller, plez?

vincentyys

HOOB AND HOB
- appx rm 1700

- THE JOB INCLUDE HACK AND KNOCK DOWN FOR THE PREVIOUS TABLE TOP AND REBUILD TO THIS BLACK TILES CONCRETE TABLE TOP.

KITCHEN SINK
- round shape
- appx rm 380.00

KITCHEN TAPE
- from wall
- rm 90.00

this price is still av available ?
a6meister
QUOTE(vincentyys @ Aug 12 2008, 09:11 AM)
this price is still av available ?

That consist of few different contractors. If you want a contractor for kitchen cabinet work, i will let you have the number. thanks

Added on November 17, 2008, 9:41 amwell, actually, i quite some enquiries through PM regarding the kitchen cabinet. For those who wants to renovate their new house, please just call me at 0124272637.

before you want to get a quotation, please do some following thing -

1. use a measurement tap to measure the length of the desired renovate area.
2. for kitchen cabinet, make 3 different measurements -
a.) WALL CABINET = ___ ft b.) UNDER CABINET = ___ ft c. KITCHEN TABLE TOP WITH UNDER CABINET = ___ft.

For those provided measurements, you will get a quotation from me.

P/S, I STRONGLY SUGGEST THAT YOU GET A FEW QUOTATION FROM OTHER RENOVATORS BEFORE YOU REACH ME IN ORDER TO GET A COMPARISON.

ck cheing
a6meister, are u a cabinet contractor ? i am actually looking for one to do mine. will call you to discuss further.
Lawyer1
Good thread here,...... about to do kitchen cabinets soon. ....
a6meister
QUOTE(ck cheing @ Nov 17 2008, 09:28 PM)
a6meister, are u a cabinet contractor ? i am actually looking for one to do mine. will call you to discuss further.

nope, i am not a cabinet maker. But, the cabinet maker is a close friend of mine. i was in the construction business as well, thus, i believe his price is very reasonable compare with other cabinet maker in KL. if you are interested, kindly give him a call. he might help you.
nikita
can give me ur contacts who did this cabinet for u ?
urs look lovely n clean..

HOOB AND HOB
- appx rm 1700

KITCHEN SINK
- round shape
- appx rm 380.00

KITCHEN TAPE
- from wall
- rm 90.00

Lawyer1
QUOTE(nikita @ Dec 12 2008, 07:58 PM)
can give me ur contacts who did this cabinet for u ?
urs look lovely n clean..

Yeah, I'd like to know too,..... if you get it from him, can you kindly PM me too please ? Thank you,......
ah liew
ts how big is your kitchen?
a6meister
QUOTE(ah liew @ Dec 13 2008, 10:52 PM)
ts how big is your kitchen?

should be around 10 feet width and 19 feet long.
by the way, why ?

desperado80
QUOTE(a6meister @ Mar 22 2008, 09:59 PM)
ok, time for me to show the paint colour of my house. I personally think the colour scheme had been messed up by me and my fiancee decision, but, nothing i can do since had bought the paint.

I did all the painting for this whole semi detached house, which took me almost 1 month, cause i only did it during weekend, but cost saving. it took me almost 7 cans of 5 litres NIPPON SATIN GLO, which is rm 78 a can.

the whole painting work had save me about 2k if compare to i hire some one to do, plus, i can confirm that my own workmanship is not bad at all compare with the professional painter.

im getting my house very soon... and i plan to have plaster ceiling & downlight as well....roughly how much it cost? do they take long to finish this?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.