Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Polariser Filter on Front Spinning Focus.
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
derek87
I heard that polarising filters are used by adjusting it's angle. So lens which has the front part spinning while focusing can hardly use it... So any solution to this?

THANKS!
szyap
use finger of ur left hand to hold it lor...smile.gif
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 25 2008, 11:32 AM)
I heard that polarising filters are used by adjusting it's angle. So lens which has the front part spinning while focusing can hardly use it... So any solution to this?

THANKS!

Assuming the adjustable polarizing filter you are talking about is a CPL...

I would say use manual focus. Or if you want to AF, make sure you compose your shot, lock AF and then adjust your CPL.

Otherwise, your only option is linear polarizing filter which is not adjustable. And will not interfere with normal AF.
soulfly
Normally I will focus... then focus lock, then re-adjust CPL
TheVoIP
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jan 25 2008, 11:39 AM)
Assuming the adjustable polarizing filter you are talking about is a CPL...

I would say use manual focus. Or if you want to AF, make sure you compose your shot, lock AF and then adjust your CPL.

Otherwise, your only option is linear polarizing filter which is not adjustable. And will not interfere with normal AF.

I agree on that... Have to manual focus in this case, then adjust CPL.

Anyway, it is always ok to manual focus for landscape shots, where you need your CPL the most.
derek87
I see.. so that's how you use CPL on these lens....Thank you for the reply
mindkiller6610
if you hand is super sensitive to the force of the motor, u can always hold the outer part of the CPL filter, and focus, since the CPL is made from 2 parts, the part u hold will stay as it is..but the only problem is the lens come in and out, ur hand has to follow to allow that, or lens, u might spoil ur lens..sweat.gif

thus, that is not recommended, just focus first, and adjust CPL, or use manual focus.. smile.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 25 2008, 12:44 PM)
I see.. so that's how you use CPL on these lens....Thank you for the reply

I do not have such problem because I do not have any front rotating lense.

Anyway, for landscape and scenery, I usually still use manual focus for optimum sharpness and coverage for the DoF. So it is still the same... laugh.gif
derek87
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Jan 25 2008, 03:20 PM)
I do not have such problem because I do not have any front rotating lense.

Anyway, for landscape and scenery, I usually still use manual focus for optimum sharpness and coverage for the DoF. So it is still the same...  laugh.gif

What lenses do u use for now that dont rotate the front part while focusing?
vikingw2k
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 25 2008, 03:53 PM)

USM lenses tongue.gif Internal zoom.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 25 2008, 03:53 PM)

// Deleted.... Some lenses la...

So far these lenses all do not rotate while autofocusing.... thumbup.gif

And from my experince with lots of Canon lenses, I cannot remember which actually rotating... sweat.gif
derek87
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Jan 25 2008, 03:59 PM)
EF17-40 f4 USM L, EFS17-55 IS USM, EF50 f1.4 USM, EF70-200 f2.8 USM L, EF85 f1.2 USM L, EF100-400 USM L

So far these lenses all do not rotate while autofocusing....  thumbup.gif

And from my experince with lots of Canon lenses, I cannot remember which actually rotating...  sweat.gif

wow plenty of L lenses you've got there. You can have a lot of shooting styles with those gears you have.. Envy evny... cry.gif haha...

BTW why do u need the EFS17-55 IS USM? << constant f2.8 right? since u already have 17-40 f4 L and ef 50 f1.4 USM.
kaichiat82
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 25 2008, 11:32 AM)

THANKS!

if your camera can take up filter adapter then should be fine. instead of screwing cpl on objective lens you can use adapter.

never use a screw-in filter so that's just my 2 cent. i use cokin filter btw. smile.gif
orenzai
i also focus first...then only adjust my CPL...then baru click the shutter as the the barang edi focused.. so no nid worry..
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.