Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Unfilled Nikon warranty card
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
miraged
okay, here's the situation

just bought 18-200 VR.... however,i asked for the warranty card, UNFILLED with the company CHOP. she looked at me, slightly bewildered, but then just proceeded to inform me that i should not wait too long to filll it up and post it to nikon.

my question: a lot of u guys here buy stuff with and then sell here in forums with UNFILLED warranty cards. what does that mean? does this mean later on i can fill up the card and send to nikon wihtout any problems? what if my warranty gets rejected coz i took too long to send it to them?

purpose of unfilled warranty cards is so tht there is higher second hand value right?

how?

edit: so for those too lazy to follow the discussion, it's being said that unfiled warranty cards aren't a problem as more often than not, nikon personnel in charge of warranty will not do a cross check of the warranty card and THEIR internal database, showing when the lens was 'shipped out' to the retailers. all u need to do is provide ur warranty card to NIKON and they'll accept it with following conditions :

1. the date on the card must be sensible, for a discountinued unit such as camera, make sure the date purchased isn't the day / week before. i'd suggest a date 3-6months before.
2. make it look as natural as possible. bring the box of ur product (makes sense right? smile.gif )
3. depending on ur luck - what kinda nikon personnel u encounter on that day
WaCKy-Angel
I always wondering about this thing...
I also asked this question and dont exactly get the logical question.
timothyy
I just bought my camera and lens... both Nikon, both shop did not fill in as well.
miraged
that's the thing.. .should u fill it up, and lower ur second hand value or leave it empty.... ?

ish....

edit: btw, congrats tim! which cam and lens you got? smile.gif
WaCKy-Angel
QUOTE(miraged @ Jan 24 2008, 02:14 PM)
that's the thing.. .should u fill it up, and lower ur second hand value or leave it empty.... ?

ish....

edit: btw, congrats tim! which cam and lens you got? smile.gif

The thing is....what is the reason not to fill it up and when faulty then u fill it up return to them and then bring ur stuffs to warranty?
What if its 1 year after u bought it?

Is it logical if the model is out of date yet u just bought it and send for repair 1 week after u return the warranty card?

get wat im saying?

Btw i even get warranty card unfilled not even have the dealers chop sweat.gif
miraged
get what u saying lah! the thing is ...why is unfilled warranty card such a big thing in second hand market!?

anywyas.. i've made my mind... i'm just gonna fill it up...i won't be selling this lens, so yeah...

i'll leave this thread open for a while more... see anybody has anything to confirm ....

thanks a lot
shinchan^^
go nikon that time only fill la.
WaCKy-Angel
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 24 2008, 02:27 PM)
go nikon that time only fill la.

Thats wat im asking about..

If its faulty 1 or 2 years after u bought then u fill the card and send to warranty after 1 week?
Isnt that weird and obvious?
undazztood
they will ask u a proof of purchase aka receipt
shinchan^^
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 24 2008, 02:31 PM)
Thats wat im asking about..

If its faulty 1 or 2 years after u bought then u fill the card and send to warranty after 1 week?
Isnt that weird and obvious?

QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 24 2008, 02:38 PM)
they will ask u a proof of purchase aka receipt

exactly
ur camera few years old
dun claim warranty that time u put 1 week old
very obvious

i went nikon for few times
only provide w.card. but not receipt

hm but i heard of some of them they are required to show the receipt

depends ur luck then

even on nikon website stated there you must present the both the receipt and w.card for service
tomatos
If you dont fill up usually they check for manufacturer date
shinchan^^
haha i think for first time only you just show ur warranty card
fill up a decent date
they wont ask for receipt

2nd time already know since warranty is filled.

cleaning sensor service no need warranty card
pjiis
yeah... things like camera usually will not sit at shop form more then one year...
miraged
now it makes sense - fill up a date.... they'll just check the card. yeah... i think if there's anything wrong, just fill in the date say 3 months back or something eyyy? not a week / day la.. that's suspicious...

shinchan, got the part about 'depending on ur luck' haha! also fellas working at nikon all 'makan gaji'. so i think they'll also 'kesian' la.... if u play ur cards right that is...
timothyy
`I think ah, for D300, can fill in later as sure they know not many ppl have at this moment... so, can cheat a bit.
mindkiller6610
it really depends on your luck..

some shop will fill it out for you.. because they need to get a copy of that,

some shop wont..

if u have a unfilled warranty card,
yes, there are chances u get extra warranty, but u have to be lucky when nikon service center doesn't ask for your receipt..

i bought the camera and lens from big company, thus, they will fill it and chop with date...
TheVoIP
Date fill not not...

Company stamp yes yes...

Submit delay delay...

Lenglui snap snap...

williamngwl
even u dint fill up the warranty card,they will base on the manufacturing date or sales report that submit by the dealer
miraged
william... not many would check laaaa! u think ppl so free ar? smile.gif

theVOIP
Date fill not not...

Company stamp yes yes...

Submit delay delay...

Lenglui snap snap...

ahahhaha! supper funny..
Andy0625
It's just marketing gimmick lah , basically if you never send back the warranty card to them , the warranty should be void instead of can have longer warranty period.

Better be safe than sorry. wink.gif
williamngwl
QUOTE(miraged @ Jan 26 2008, 10:21 AM)
william... not many would check laaaa! u think ppl so free ar? smile.gif

they just simply type in the serial number,not a hard work
miraged
shrugs. ... . anywyas... i'm sendin git in smile.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.