Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: need advice pls
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
tadasu
sifus out there, need some advice! i cant decide between getting a new canon 450D or a used 30D?? 1 of my photography fren strongly adviced me to get the used 30D, he said it's like getting a used "merc" compared to getting a new "proton"(450D) lol... what say u?? thx notworthy.gif
vincent_audio
image quality wise sure 30D.... feature wise 450D
vikingw2k
QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 24 2008, 12:54 PM)
sifus out there, need some advice! i cant decide between getting a new canon 450D or a used 30D?? 1 of my photography fren strongly adviced me to get the used 30D, he said it's like getting a used "merc" compared to getting a new "proton"(450D) lol... what say u?? thx notworthy.gif

I would go for 30D, reason? 450D just launched, in terms of pricing, 450D price gonna drop faster compared to 30D. Moreover you are getting a used 30D, you won't lose much if you were to upgrade to better bodies next time.

In terms of spec, 30D is an Intermediate Level DSLR compared to 450D which is still an Entry Level DSLR. 5fps over 3fps drool.gif

calvin_gsc
I wonder how many months will it take before the 450D arrive to shores in Malaysia. 4-6 months?
dgrebel
30d now then downgrade to 450d. 12.2MP maaa... huhuhuhu... droolzorsss..
anthrax33
well, the 30d has a 8 mpx sensor while the 450d has a 12 mpx sensor.
the 450d has live-view that can also be viewed on a pc monitor.
30d has magnesium alloy body while 450d has engineering plastic.
you can say that the 30d is an old volvo while the 450d is a sentra.

so it depends lo, if you are a wartime photographer, the 30d is your obvious choice. biggrin.gif
vikingw2k
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Jan 24 2008, 01:04 PM)
30d now then downgrade to 450d. 12.2MP maaa... huhuhuhu... droolzorsss..

Then 5D users need to downgrade to 450D as well? doh.gif
It's not the megapixel that count.

Else might as well migrate back to PnS can shoot in 12mp. tongue.gif
soulfly
i'd go for 30D
dgrebel
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 24 2008, 01:05 PM)
Then 5D users need to downgrade to 450D as well?  doh.gif
It's not the megapixel that count.

Else might as well migrate back to PnS can shoot in 12mp. tongue.gif

u dont get the sarcasm dont u.
NasiLemakMan
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Jan 24 2008, 02:03 PM)
u dont get the sarcasm dont u.

Sarcasm depends on the agnostics value of the receiver cool2.gif .

30D definitely. Unless size does matter than the smaller 450d would be your choice.
dgrebel
QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Jan 24 2008, 02:20 PM)
Sarcasm depends on the agnostics value of the receiver  cool2.gif .

30D definitely. Unless size does matter than the smaller 450d would be your choice.

well agreed. cool2.gif
undazztood
30D for the 5fps
tadasu
regarding the difference in image quality between these 2, is it noticeable to the naked eye? or do i need to enlarge the photo considerably to notice the difference?
csrulez
I'd say 30D for the image quality/sensor. smile.gif
tadasu
looking at the photos comparison at dpreview, i can hardly see the difference... maybe bcos im a noob sad.gif

400D

30D
ndgoh
QUOTE(anthrax33 @ Jan 24 2008, 01:05 PM)
well, the 30d has a 8 mpx sensor while the 450d has a 12 mpx sensor.
the 450d has live-view that can also be viewed on a pc monitor.
30d has magnesium alloy body while 450d has engineering plastic.
you can say that the 30d is an old volvo while the 450d is a sentra.

so it depends lo, if you are a wartime photographer, the 30d is your obvious choice. biggrin.gif

Couldn't agree more... One advise is.... go and molest both camera and see which one really turns you on... It feel really different when its in your hands... nod.gif

Added on January 24, 2008, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 24 2008, 03:59 PM)
looking at the photos comparison at dpreview, i can hardly see the difference... maybe bcos im a noob sad.gif

400D

30D

Don't just see... see... only... GO and test drive the machine ma... You will know what I mean... icon_rolleyes.gif

For me... I made up my mind instantly after I had held these cameras that is of different class... whistling.gif
soulfly
QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 24 2008, 03:32 PM)
regarding the difference in image quality between these 2, is it noticeable to the naked eye? or do i need to enlarge the photo considerably to notice the difference?

quality difference would be almost 0% if you shoot at ISO400 and print in 4R
clemong_888
i'd hafta say 30d as well,might b a lil old but it's still good.
cheefai7
I would say 30D, its a intermediate DSLR anyway. Start collecting lenses and then move to FF.
vichio
image quality, it's about the same or even 450D better cause got 14 bit Raw
But once u try out the xxD u won't like to hold xxxD anymore biggrin.gif xxD With magnesium body, bigger & heavier, more function buttons, top LCD etc. i feel xxD more comfortable when use. I did go for 30D while still can wait for this 450D biggrin.gif
Price wise, i bought new 30D for 780USD. So while 450D cost around 800USD in next 3 months that's no reason for me to choose 450D over 30D biggrin.gif
ifer
wow! didnt know 450D is announced.

anyway, i will still go for the 30D
tadasu
QUOTE(vichio @ Jan 24 2008, 11:30 PM)
image quality, it's about the same or even 450D better cause got 14 bit Raw
But once u try out the xxD u won't like to hold xxxD anymore biggrin.gif xxD With magnesium body, bigger & heavier, more function buttons, top LCD etc. i feel xxD more comfortable when use. I did go for 30D while still can wait for this 450D biggrin.gif
Price wise, i bought new 30D for 780USD. So while 450D cost around 800USD in next 3 months that's no reason for me to choose 450D over 30D biggrin.gif

hey where did u get ur new 30D for that kinda price??
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 25 2008, 01:22 AM)
hey where did u get ur new 30D for that kinda price??

Since he mentioned USD, I think he could possibly have got it from the USA.

In USA, used DSLR bodies and lenses are way much cheaper.
vichio
no, in Vietnam ^^
goldfries
QUOTE(tadasu @ Jan 24 2008, 03:32 PM)

put it this way la. you going to display the pic on the web, then 8MP vs 12MP won't make a difference, well other than for some cropping.

the thing about the 30D I like would be the generally better placement of buttons / accessibility and also the adjustable WB by 100k which you don't get on the Canon's entry range.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.