RAV4
Jul 6 2008, 10:15 PM
yehlai, Hmm... i thought those who like orchestra go for systems with good detail, transparency and separation rather than warmth?
Power cables making a device sound better is almost the same like speaker cable. Thin cable = higher resistance = less signal reaches the end device. In the case of expensive power cable, higher current = transformer produce higher current = tubes working at higher power. Some will argue over this but the end result is what that matters. I know some serious audiophiles actually rewired their house electrical cables with thicker cables direct from power distribution point just for their audio room.
Yes, shorter cable = less resistance = better. It's also cheaper. ;-)
GodLuvSxS
Jul 6 2008, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(scy320 @ Jul 6 2008, 09:54 PM)
DY2000 suit vocal?how about instruments?
I think DY2000 suit vocal well, at least ccschua and abel seems to stick with them since they mainly listening to vocal. I bet instrument gotta be a lil bit weak with the DY2000, since pure instrumental blizz is talking about fine details, good separation, airy, wide soundstage here, maybe the LM4562 suits better?
Talking about power cord, some seasoned audiophile mentioned before silver is best to used in power cord since silver is better and purer conductor than copper, thus the received end will get purer supply of power, again it's garbage in garbage out theory here, I never tried before but I tend to quite agree with their comments, silver for power cord while copper for interconnect for sound tuning
ccschua
Jul 6 2008, 10:31 PM
Well power cord works like filter too. It removes unwanted harmonics / noise from getting into it. some argue the high end power amp will have enuf capacitors to store the current to deliver that momentary power draw. but the fact is power cord does give difference, especially the pcocc single crystal copper that is almost grainless. names like neotech, oyaide, acrolink, JPS, cardas, etc. are the league in this.
The other I tested 1 power cord that cost about RM 1000. It does give alot of diff to the power amp but to the cdp is minimal.
If you guys want to get DY2000, why not try the metal one.
scy320
Jul 6 2008, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jul 6 2008, 10:23 PM)
I think DY2000 suit vocal well, at least ccschua and abel seems to stick with them since they mainly listening to vocal. I bet instrument gotta be a lil bit weak with the DY2000, since pure instrumental blizz is talking about fine details, good separation, airy, wide soundstage here, maybe the LM4562 suits better?
Talking about power cord, some seasoned audiophile mentioned before silver is best to used in power cord since silver is better and purer conductor than copper, thus the received end will get purer supply of power, again it's garbage in garbage out theory here, I never tried before but I tend to quite agree with their comments, silver for power cord while copper for interconnect for sound tuning

how about Jazz?i mean fusion or soul jazz?
yehlai
Jul 6 2008, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Jul 6 2008, 10:15 PM)
yehlai, Hmm... i thought those who like orchestra go for systems with good detail, transparency and separation rather than warmth?
Yes, shorter cable = less resistance = better. It's also cheaper. ;-)
Yes bro, i favor detailed, high variation and dynamic. Hope OPA627 can provide me all that.
Will stick with OPA627 for orchestra
and jazz music. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=18406629(Today went to MPO listen some real performance. So nice! )
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Jul 6 2008, 10:15 PM)
Power cables making a device sound better is almost the same like speaker cable. Thin cable = higher resistance = less signal reaches the end device. In the case of expensive power cable, higher current = transformer produce higher current = tubes working at higher power. Some will argue over this but the end result is what that matters. I know some serious audiophiles actually
rewired their house electrical cables with thicker cables direct from power distribution point just for their audio room.
Thts insane, higher current might reduce life span of the gears.
RAV4
Jul 6 2008, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 6 2008, 10:31 PM)
Well power cord works like
filter too. It removes unwanted harmonics / noise from getting into it. some argue the high end power amp will have enuf capacitors to store the current to deliver that momentary power draw. but the fact is power cord does give difference, especially the pcocc single crystal copper that is almost grainless. names like neotech, oyaide, acrolink, JPS, cardas, etc. are the league in this.
The other I tested 1 power cord that cost about RM 1000. It does give alot of diff to the power amp but to the cdp is minimal.
If you guys want to get DY2000, why not try the metal one.
I have to disagree with the filter part. The only thing a long cable can do is increase resistance. Removing harmonics and noise will require capacitor and coil. A lot of people use Line Conditioner or surge protector (cheaper) for this purpose.
And yes, power cord will give more improvement to a power amp due to the higher current drawn, as compared to a CDP. I believe the effect to a DAC would be minimal as well. In this case, I believe a good digital cable will give more improvement.
scy320
Jul 6 2008, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Jul 6 2008, 11:05 PM)
Yes bro, i favor detailed, high variation and dynamic. Hope OPA627 can provide me all that.
Will stick with OPA627 for orchestra
and jazz music. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=18406629(Today went to MPO listen some real performance. So nice! )
Thts insane, higher current might reduce life span of the gears.
how OPA627 perform in Classical?
ccschua
Jul 7 2008, 12:59 AM
Well I am referring to the RFI/EMI from getting into the cable. There is something about power cord that they do to give you the kind of sound. the zero crystal (not single crystal) gives smoother path for electron to flow.
I think the DY2000 may not disappoint those on the jazz/instruments. You may find the musics dynamics not the same as OPA627, overall it is ok. The striking part of DY2000 is still on the vocal. do check out.
foongchinboon
Jul 7 2008, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jul 6 2008, 05:42 PM)
Hi bro, i just sent a email to DIYKITS, ask them to quote a price for me. Will start a bulk once I got the pricing

The Red circle one is DAC opamp, while the two Green circle are headamp opamp

Opamp is like a lens to camera, kinda plug and play, and you got the different output

PS: Thanks to bro mADmAN for the full topview pic

thx a lot for ur info bro...

(really helpful)
may i know wat is d different characteristic n function for DAC opamp and headamp opamp?
is it d Preamp mode for playing headphone?
is it if i off d Preamp mode will blow up my headphone?
scy320
Jul 7 2008, 05:07 AM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 7 2008, 12:59 AM)
Well I am referring to the RFI/EMI from getting into the cable. There is something about power cord that they do to give you the kind of sound. the zero crystal (not single crystal) gives smoother path for electron to flow.
I think the DY2000 may not disappoint those on the jazz/instruments. You may find the musics dynamics not the same as OPA627, overall it is ok. The striking part of DY2000 is still on the vocal. do check out.
DY2000 must suit those who loves vocal.
RAV4
Jul 7 2008, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 7 2008, 12:59 AM)
OK, that I agree but it's actually the special material used to wrap around the copper and also the twisting of the copper wires that filters out RFI/EMI interference. I hope there will be some good offer during the up coming Audio Show so I can get a Power Cable as well.
Have you tried changing your optical cable to see if there's any improvement? I have an Audioquest on my PS2 so I'll take that out and use it on the Zero when it arrives.
jackal1983
Jul 7 2008, 08:52 PM
[quote=GodLuvSxS,Jul 6 2008, 05:42 PM]
Hi bro, i just sent a email to DIYKITS, ask them to quote a price for me. Will start a bulk once I got the pricing

hehe.. nice bulk from GodLuvSxS soon
ccschua
Jul 7 2008, 09:03 PM
IF you use DY2000, u will sacrifice a bit of dynamics. On fast transients, the music tends to slow slightly. If your ears are really fuzzy, u will notice a bit. overall, this is give and take.
Eddie Wu from diykits is very nice guy, very knowledgeable guy, been in HIFI business for a long long time.
I hope he has a metal DY2000. The DY2000 metal is damn expensive.
I dont seem to see any review on the 1364 and 1469 in the head phone. guys come spill it.
GodLuvSxS
Jul 8 2008, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 7 2008, 09:03 PM)
IF you use DY2000, u will sacrifice a bit of dynamics. On fast transients, the music tends to slow slightly. If your ears are really fuzzy, u will notice a bit. overall, this is give and take.
Eddie Wu from diykits is very nice guy, very knowledgeable guy, been in HIFI business for a long long time.
I dont seem to see any review on the 1364 and 1469 in the head phone. guys come spill it.
After 2 days, there's still no reply from Lawrence
scy320
Jul 8 2008, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 7 2008, 09:03 PM)
ya,give us review on those opamp as well.more poison.
jackal1983
Jul 9 2008, 01:35 AM
hi, looking for LT1364 and LM4562, any1 wanna sell their tested unit?
scy320
Jul 9 2008, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(jackal1983 @ Jul 9 2008, 01:35 AM)
hi, looking for LT1364 and LM4562, any1 wanna sell their tested unit?

i think some one selling LM4562 in Music and Audio related section.
abel
Jul 9 2008, 09:59 AM
actually sound are very subjective nothing is the best or the worst
if suite ur ear even RM 5 rca say very good, is depends ur ear level the higher its ur wallet is thinner hehehe agree ????

wut i audit for soo long dy2000 sound very musical is not very warm or even not very dynamic for orchestra or jazz i think can try for LT1364 or LM4562 but i dunno how opa627 perform on jazz or orchestra i think we make a small TT section for Zero DAC onwer ....
i got find some DY2000 metal but it cost abt RM 100 + per pc
scy320
Jul 9 2008, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(abel @ Jul 9 2008, 09:59 AM)
if suite ur ear even RM 5 rca say very good, is depends ur ear level the higher its ur wallet is thinner hehehe agree ????

wut i audit for soo long dy2000 sound very musical is not very warm or even not very dynamic for orchestra or jazz i think can try for LT1364 or LM4562 but i dunno how opa627 perform on jazz or orchestra i think we make a small TT section for Zero DAC onwer ....
hope to hear more review from you guys after the TT section.
arrsoo
Jul 9 2008, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jul 8 2008, 05:48 PM)
After 2 days, there's still no reply from Lawrence

gonna be another long long wait

Added on July 9, 2008, 4:06 pmQUOTE(abel @ Jul 9 2008, 09:59 AM)

DY2000 ceramic vs metal can got very big different SQ wise meh?? paying more than double justified??
scy320
Jul 9 2008, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Jul 9 2008, 04:04 PM)
gonna be another long long wait

Added on July 9, 2008, 4:06 pmDY2000 ceramic vs metal can got very big different SQ wise meh?? paying more than double justified??

i think the material got effect on sound.
ccschua
Jul 9 2008, 11:04 PM
Well, for those who interested in DY2000, pls indicate your interest. I believe GodLuxsXswill be back with the news not too long.The metal one is 10 times better than ceramic, dunno how true, I have not seen it. Discovery hifi in Thailand is selling them.
If you notice Zhaolu 2.5c, it has 2 units of DY2000 in it. shiok.
arrsoo
Jul 9 2008, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 9 2008, 11:04 PM)
Well, for those who interested in DY2000, pls indicate your interest. I believe will be back with the news not too long.The metal one is 10 times better than ceramic, dunno how true, I have not seen it. Discovery hifi in Thailand is selling them.
DY2000 x 2 for me pls...ceramic punye unless metal can not too far off in $$
scy320
Jul 9 2008, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 9 2008, 11:04 PM)
Well, for those who interested in DY2000, pls indicate your interest. I believe GodLuxsXswill be back with the news not too long.The metal one is 10 times better than ceramic, dunno how true, I have not seen it. Discovery hifi in Thailand is selling them.
wow,no wonder Zhaolu sound so good.
ccschua
Jul 10 2008, 12:05 AM
Oops, the DY2000 stock is limited.
Anyway, pls try the DY2000 on the Headphone and see how it sounds.
Najmods
Jul 10 2008, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Jul 9 2008, 04:04 PM)
DY2000 ceramic vs metal can got very big different SQ wise meh?? paying more than double justified??

Yup the metal can and ceramic one indeed have difference. Some reported that LME49720 in TO-99 metal can sounds better than the ceramic MDIP one
scy320
Jul 10 2008, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(Najmods @ Jul 10 2008, 12:06 AM)
Yup the metal can and ceramic one indeed have difference. Some reported that LME49720 in TO-99 metal can sounds better than the ceramic MDIP one
The LME49720 from National Semiconductor is the ceramic one?
foongchinboon
Jul 10 2008, 05:10 AM
QUOTE(foongchinboon @ Jul 7 2008, 01:36 AM)
thx a lot for ur info bro...

(really helpful)
may i know wat is d different characteristic n function for DAC opamp and headamp opamp?
is it d Preamp mode for playing headphone?
is it if i off d Preamp mode will blow up my headphone?

y nobody wan answer my question?
anyone expert here can answer my question?
GodLuvSxS
Jul 10 2008, 10:17 AM
Both DAC and headamp opamp is just like part of the module, some said it's there to tune the sound, so you could change them to tune the sound you wanted.
Preamp mode is not for amping headphone, preamp is like a booster to power amp. Detailed and technical explanation please google it. For headphone playing, just switch to headphone mode will do.
Switching around mode will not blow up your headphone but it's advice to it with the volume turned to zero
arrsoo
Jul 10 2008, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 10 2008, 12:05 AM)
Oops, the DY2000 stock is limited.
errr...which one is limited, the ceramic or metal can?? hv you decided whether to bulk it in?
foongchinboon
Jul 10 2008, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jul 10 2008, 10:17 AM)
Both DAC and headamp opamp is just like part of the module, some said it's there to tune the sound, so you could change them to tune the sound you wanted.
Preamp mode is not for amping headphone, preamp is like a booster to power amp. Detailed and technical explanation please google it. For headphone playing, just switch to headphone mode will do.
Switching around mode will not blow up your headphone but it's advice to it with the volume turned to zero

but i cant see there got a headphone mode for playing headphone.

read from google alr, but preamp mode how to use?
mADmAN
Jul 10 2008, 02:27 PM
the phone button on the front of the zero is the headphone la
foongchinboon
Jul 10 2008, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 10 2008, 02:27 PM)
the phone button on the front of the zero is the headphone la
i know d jack for headphone, but wer is d headphone mode bcoz GodLuvSxS said hav to switch to headphone mode for playing headphone in d previous reply.
jz got 3 button only rite? Preamp, Optical, Coaxial
help me..

iziit d phone button u means is Preamp button? but GodLuvSxS said Preamp is not for playing headphone....

???
mADmAN
Jul 10 2008, 03:46 PM
i didnt say the word jack oso in my post la bro...
i said phone BUTTON. where got preamp button.
in front got 3 buttons.....
optical, coaxial and phone.
the phone button is the headphone mode la.
the preamp thing is automatically activated when u press the phone button.
foongchinboon
Jul 10 2008, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 10 2008, 03:46 PM)
i didnt say the word jack oso in my post la bro...
i said phone BUTTON. where got preamp button.
in front got 3 buttons.....
optical, coaxial and phone.
the phone button is the headphone mode la.
the preamp thing is automatically activated when u press the phone button.
okok....thx a lot bro.

soli for asking those fool question.
ccschua
Jul 11 2008, 12:31 AM
I have tried the DY2000 with the B&W 602S3. Playing jazz tracks from the Chesky label, the instrument separation and the beats and ryhthm really make my feet tap and the head banging.Wow, the musics really reach the senses.
scy320
Jul 11 2008, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 11 2008, 12:31 AM)
I have tried the DY2000 with the B&W 602S3. Playing jazz tracks from the Chesky label, the instrument separation and the beats and ryhthm really make my feet tap and the head banging.Wow, the musics really reach the senses.
wow,looks like the DY2000 is good.
foongchinboon
Jul 11 2008, 01:27 AM
after i save enuf money sure buy one.....
scy320
Jul 11 2008, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(foongchinboon @ Jul 11 2008, 01:27 AM)
after i save enuf money sure buy one.....

haha,kena poison.

Added on July 11, 2008, 9:20 amAny Zero owner want to sell their
LT1361 and
LT1364 Opamp?interested here.
abel
Jul 11 2008, 10:49 AM
ermm i think i plan for Dy2000 metal can but is about RM 100++ per pc almost double price
yehlai
Jul 11 2008, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 11 2008, 12:31 AM)
I have tried the
DY2000 with the B&W 602S3. Playing jazz tracks from the Chesky label, the instrument separation and the beats and ryhthm really make my feet tap and the head banging.Wow, the musics really reach the senses.
Poison.. poison

QUOTE(abel @ Jul 11 2008, 10:49 AM)
ermm i think i plan for Dy2000 metal can but is about RM 100++ per pc almost double price
sell me ur DY2000
abel
Jul 11 2008, 11:02 AM
dunno yet maybe i sell my DAC still not yet decide

if that time i sell my DAC i let u know .... i sell u the Dy2000 i put u my first dy2000 piority
scy320
Jul 11 2008, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Jul 11 2008, 10:49 AM)
Poison.. poison

sell me ur DY2000

This forum full of poison.make people hand itchy.
foongchinboon
Jul 11 2008, 11:33 AM
may i know DY2000 is DAC opamp part or Headamp part?
how much around for DY2000 per peice?
abel
Jul 11 2008, 11:43 AM
abt RM 50+ per pcs i use on DAC part
headphone can use also but iam not headphone kaki
foongchinboon
Jul 11 2008, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(abel @ Jul 11 2008, 11:43 AM)
abt RM 50+ per pcs i use on DAC part
headphone can use also but iam not headphone kaki
ic..... thx

y Headphone part hav to use 2 piece ar?
abel
Jul 11 2008, 02:41 PM
yup ...
scy320
Jul 11 2008, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(foongchinboon @ Jul 11 2008, 11:51 AM)
ic..... thx

y Headphone part hav to use 2 piece ar?

the headphone amp got 2,so need to change all.
abel
Jul 12 2008, 09:05 PM
see urself better get the DAC n listen first
ccschua
Jul 13 2008, 09:37 PM
Tried the zERO with Grado RS60, never though the grado can sound so natural with human vocal, a bit warm. First experience! Overall it is still the DY2000 that is more like all rounder.
I would love to try DY2000 with LT 1364 at the headphone amp, when meet for ZERO collection.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.