velodyne82
Jun 10 2008, 08:33 PM
stautus for DAC???
GodLuvSxS
Jun 10 2008, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(velodyne82 @ Jun 10 2008, 08:33 PM)
Hi there, tomorrow is the promised arrival date, will phone the representative tomorrow, stay tuned
velodyne82
Jun 10 2008, 09:49 PM
COOL!!
hope to hear frm u pal
ccschua
Jun 10 2008, 09:59 PM
HI VELO,
from where u get the supra power cord and teletron power conditioner? and how much for each
looks like the opamp rolling is coming a long way. now the 637 is coming. LT 1358 any order ?
hope to receive the mysterious DY2000 for rolling. my fiber optical cable from blue jean sou be in soon.
Well this HDAM actually comes from the genius from China. The guru I admire so much.
thnks to Godluvsxs for introducing this genius.
velodyne82
Jun 10 2008, 10:39 PM
Heyo ccschua,
bought da supra some times back...dunno where edi. u want it??
wanna let go if u want...
haha...
as for teletron conditioner, i got it from jln pasar...only 1 shop selling this model...years back also haha...as i rmb, not expensive la...
u also interested wit my toys??? haha
ccschua
Jun 11 2008, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(abel @ Jun 7 2008, 10:04 PM)
LM4562 - not bad , vocal is presentable sounding quite dynamic.
LT1507 - compare all my LT range consider the best one most balance low to high sound not very harsh , bass is tight n control wide sound dstage vocal is quite forward.
LT1361 - sound harsh n thin , but detail is very good
LME49720 - ??? i almost forget how its sound

quite similar with LM4562 but the sound stage is narrow for me is the worst one hhehee
LME 49720 gives very thick warm sound but the bass lacks clarity. You can hear the acoustics well. Very relaxing at vocals, e.g. if you just listen opera/soprano and no instrument is playing in the background. This opamp is definitely out.
OPA 627 is too revealing and dynamics. Begining and ending note is fast settling. Again not really a choice for stereo vocals.
LM 4562 and LT 1057 are very close to my choice of listening. (why is LT 1364 so hot)
I guess need more listening, if not more ears or deeper ears.
velodyne82
Jun 11 2008, 01:02 PM
status??
GodLuvSxS
Jun 11 2008, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(velodyne82 @ Jun 11 2008, 01:02 PM)
Just back from lunch

Anyway phoned the logistic this morning, shipment already arrive at Port Klang, now waiting for Uncle Kastam's clearance

Hope they clear it fast
velodyne82
Jun 11 2008, 07:40 PM
Alright!!!
good good:)
ccschua
Jun 12 2008, 12:22 AM
Today finally the bluejeans cable arrive.
I swapped out the stock fiber optic and in the new Mitsubishi ESKA fiber optic cable which is made of Plastic optical fiber (POF). Now who says fiber optics will not give u a difference.
Then swapped in the LC1 RCA, which is basically low capacitance RCA cable. this cable give good separation.
Now go through one round the opamps. the worst is LME 49720, which distorts the high and low and sounded too bright.
LT 1364 and OPA 627 also very bright. Finally my opamp of the day is
LM 4562 .
With the new cables and LM 4562, I get the best separation now, it just gets more musical now. The vocal is warm and airy. the bass has more attack and extension.
I hope the DY2000 will not disappoint me... hope so.
ps. if u want to know the ZERO delivery status, pls go to the bulk section, (and promote the zero a bit lah)
abel
Jun 12 2008, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 10 2008, 09:59 PM)
HI VELO,
from where u get the supra power cord and teletron power conditioner? and how much for each
looks like the opamp rolling is coming a long way. now the 637 is coming. LT 1358 any order ?
hope to receive the mysterious DY2000 for rolling. my fiber optical cable from blue jean sou be in soon.
Well this HDAM actually comes from the genius from China. The guru I admire so much.
thnks to Godluvsxs for introducing this genius.
u want supra cable ? i know where can get ... but is bulk cable
velodyne82
Jun 12 2008, 08:56 AM
Abel, where u get it??? berapa???
abel
Jun 12 2008, 10:31 AM
abt RM 90 per m u try to find at amcorp mall Acoustics System look for LIm
velodyne82
Jun 12 2008, 12:53 PM
wah...
as i rmb not that expensive wor....
ccschua
Jun 12 2008, 03:12 PM
My samples LT 1358 is in Malaysia. LT local agent called me that he will deliver by post to me. Then it is PK time for LT 1358, DY2000 and LM4562.
GodLuvSxS
Jun 12 2008, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 12 2008, 03:12 PM)
My samples LT 1358 is in Malaysia. LT local agent called me that he will deliver by post to me. Then it is PK time for LT 1358, DY2000 and LM4562.
Wow, that was fast! I waited over 3 months just to get it

Looking forward to see how it fares against DY2000 and LM4562

Anyway I'm still wondering when the headfi's HDAM vs OPA627 review comes out, that's really interesting
mADmAN
Jun 12 2008, 11:44 PM
wah...how come u guys can get and i cant????
weh...sedih man like this
abel
Jun 13 2008, 01:01 AM
i get mine abt 3 weeks
now my choice is LM4562 , LT1364 and LT1057 ....

DY2000 not yet try soo dunno how it sound
ccschua
Jun 13 2008, 07:26 AM
It was widely discussed Bursons HDAM is not made by him, but rebadged from Chinese products. Chinese products is not bad nowadays. Loot at the Zero, Zhaolu, Yulong, Bada, Xindak, etc.
------------------
Yes just got the following
LT 1358
LT 1028 x 2
LT 1057
LT 1361
LT 1469
PK between LM 4562, LT 1028 and LT 1358.
GodLuvSxS
Jun 15 2008, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 13 2008, 07:26 AM)
It was widely discussed Bursons HDAM is not made by him, but rebadged from Chinese products. Chinese products is not bad nowadays. Loot at the Zero, Zhaolu, Yulong, Bada, Xindak, etc.
------------------
Yes just got the following
LT 1358
LT 1028 x 2
LT 1057
LT 1361
LT 1469
PK between LM 4562, LT 1028 and LT 1358.
How's the PK result so far? I'm more interested in how LT1028 performing
ccschua
Jun 15 2008, 10:36 PM
2xLT1028 is not gain stable, that means the opamp runs super hot, upto certain stage it produces hissing noise.
Dont try LT 1028.
I just wonder how does you guys connect the source to the DAC. what u use or plan to use to connect .
Anyone try the wireless music server, like squeezebox 3 from Logitech, netgear, creative, apple airport. this looks like killer to cdp, just like cd did to tape. Apparently newer version of DAC is able to contain the so called jitter down to minimum, so it looks like the DAC route is the next future.
I will be more cautious in investing for CDP.
kwekeugene
Jun 16 2008, 04:21 PM
I tested the LT1358 in the amp section. Previously, I had the LT1364 in the amp. The OPA627 remains in the dac for this test.
What I like...
Improvements in vocals, male vocals are noticeably better. Very smooth mid range. The midrange sounds more natural on the LT1358 than the LT1364.
What I don't like...
Narrower soundstage, instrument separation is not as good, as a result, you will have to listen harder to hear the details. Background noise is more noticeable, if you have sensitive headphones, this might be a issue. Overall, it is slightly less musical than the LT1364, and less likely to get your feet tapping to your music.
I think the LT1358 is a mixture of the LT1057 and LT1364. It's not as biased towards the midrange like the LT1057 and it has a more natural mids compared to the LT1364. I'm using this in my setup

ps : it also doesn't run as hot as the LT1364. the opamps are fresh, i'll post my findings if there is any change after some hours.
mikelanding
Jun 16 2008, 07:20 PM
Hi all,
Since I got few pm about the opa627ap + browndog adapter. I guess is best for me to kick start 3rd Bulk.
I got 11 pcs Browndog adapters already arrived at my hand and ready to ship out. But the opa627ap need to order from my oversea friend. Min 4 units to kick start this bulk. ETA will be 1-2weeks after collected some deposit (RM15) to avoid FFK.
This might be the last bulk if all 11 pcs Browndog adapter finish coz too much hassle for me..sad.gif
Price will be
Browndog adapter (1 pc) =RM9 (with opamp), RM10 (alone)
Opa627AP (1 pc) = RM45.5
Poslaju fee+handling = RM6
note: 1 complete set will consist 1 Browndog adapter + 2 pcs opamp
Please pm me if U still interested..
1st Bulk order list:
1. mikelanding - 2 units
2. nicholas_1213 - 3 units (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
3. Kyl3 - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
4. kwekeugene - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
5. ccschua - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
6. stormspider - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
7. dark_evilz - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
2nd bulk order list:
1) Rock_Fever - 1 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP [Paid][shipped and received]
2) Madman - 2 X Browndog adapter + 4X OPA627AP [Paid][shipped and received]
3) xtremedummy - 2 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP [Paid][shipped and received]
4) CooBra - 2 X Browndog adapter[Paid][awaiting to ship out]
Hi guys,
I got 2 pcs of OPA627AP ready stock left after 1 forumer cancel his order...Whole set will be RM106 shipped (2X OPA627AP + Browndog adapter + poslaju fee). PM me if U interested.
3rd Bulk order list: (10 Browndog adapter left...grab it before it gone!!)
1) utellme - 1 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP (fund received. Waiting to pos out)
2) jackal1983 - 1 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP (fund received. Waiting to pos out)
ccschua
Jun 17 2008, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jun 16 2008, 04:21 PM)
I tested the LT1358 in the amp section. Previously, I had the LT1364 in the amp. The OPA627 remains in the dac for this test.
What I like...
Improvements in vocals, male vocals are noticeably better. Very smooth mid range. The midrange sounds more natural on the LT1358 than the LT1364.
What I don't like...
Narrower soundstage, instrument separation is not as good, as a result, you will have to listen harder to hear the details. Background noise is more noticeable, if you have sensitive headphones, this might be a issue. Overall, it is slightly less musical than the LT1364, and less likely to get your feet tapping to your music.
I think the LT1358 is a mixture of the LT1057 and LT1364. It's not as biased towards the midrange like the LT1057 and it has a more natural mids compared to the LT1364. I'm using this in my setup

ps : it also doesn't run as hot as the LT1364. the opamps are fresh, i'll post my findings if there is any change after some hours.
Yes I notice the LT1358 being skewed towards vocals, so much as the vocal has coloration. Some call it light brown, to some extent brown [I was surprised to hear the sound Aaron Neville, thought he became old overnight]. To me I feel the sound becomes more forgiving at the Ssss and Sssshhh. But this comes at the expense of detail, transparency of details at both high and low. However on a system which uses metal dome tweeter, this can be a savior.
Wheareas LT1057 is more analytical, with immediate positive effects of the sweet sounding voice. You can hear more clearly the lips twisting, breath taking, etc.. No wonder some call this chip clinical. Listening to this is fun. May be the mellow Headphiler might like this.
[all the chip is used in DAC section, again no stereophile for me]
kwekeugene
Jun 18 2008, 08:13 PM
The review for HDAM and OPA627 is already out

So anyone here going to order the HDAM?
ccschua
Jun 18 2008, 09:39 PM
compare burson with Lawrence, it is about 50% more expensive. Looks like for the 30% gain SQ is close to getting a better DAC.
Do you think the OPA 2107 can be used in the DAC section?
GodLuvSxS
Jun 19 2008, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 18 2008, 09:39 PM)
compare burson with Lawrence, it is about 50% more expensive. Looks like for the 30% gain SQ is close to getting a better DAC.
Do you think the OPA 2107 can be used in the DAC section?
OPA2107 should be able to used in the DAC section since it's unity gain stable. OPA627 with browndog cost us around RM100 while Lawrence's HDAM replica is around RM180, if we could do a bulk and able to lower it till around RM130 - RM150, that it might quite worth it, but again your DAC gotta be rooftop-less to contain the HDAM
abel
Jun 19 2008, 03:50 PM
i wanna try for LT1358
ccschua
Jun 19 2008, 05:38 PM
I would like to share the following : -
I was reading this info off a USB DAC web page.
The DAC has a single digital USB input (no SPDIF inputs). USB unlike SPDIF is bidirectional and therefore has error correction and buffering on both sides. This happens automatically so the data on the disk is identical to what is going out all the time. Also since this interface is asynchronous the clocking problems associated with SPDIF go away. What happens is... On power up of the computer the 2 devices negotiate services. In this case the Cosecant tells the computer it can do 16 bit audio at 32K, 44.1K and 48K. Since the USB receiver only has to handle these 3 frequencies, The clocking to the separate DAC IC has almost no jitter. SPDIF actually has to be synched to the exact frequency of the transport (i.e. if the transport is working at say 44.0896K instead of 44.1K the dac has to sync to that frequency). Therefore there is no interface jitter like you see in SPDIF. So using USB we have a zero error protocol to link the computer to the DAC and very low jitter.
------
My feeling for all this jitter problem is 16 bit / 48 (not 44) is enuf use. some high end CDP and DAC uses upsampling to 192 kHZ and then do the DA conversion to remove jitter, which is overkill. Remember the Marantz cd7 (costs about RM 100,000) only uses 16 bits (afterall most the cd we have in market is 16 bit)
At this moment, I am still waiting for the mysterious DY2000 to arrive. So far, My choice of OPAMP is LT 1358, LT1057 LM 4562.
stormspider
Jun 19 2008, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jun 19 2008, 10:06 AM)
OPA2107 should be able to used in the DAC section since it's unity gain stable. OPA627 with browndog cost us around RM100 while Lawrence's HDAM replica is around RM180, if we could do a bulk and able to lower it till around RM130 - RM150, that it might quite worth it, but again your DAC gotta be rooftop-less to contain the HDAM

Hmm.... Any kind soul who has experience and time on his hand to organise a HDAM bulk? Kinda interested in trying it out with my own ears the effect it has on the ZERO DAC
kwekeugene
Jun 19 2008, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jun 19 2008, 10:06 AM)

Or you can DIY to extend the socket so that the HDAM module can lie sideways. I wonder if it's worth it to splash out the cash for the "25%" improvement. I think I need a tube amp to tone down the slight harshness of Grado.
QUOTE(abel @ Jun 19 2008, 03:50 PM)
If you like a more tube like mid range, go for the LT1057 instead. The LT1358 has a very nice, colored mid range that seems to work wonderfully with male vocals. But at the expense on sound stage and details. The LT1358 doesn't show much details and the instrument separation is kinda odd.
ccschua
Jun 20 2008, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jun 19 2008, 05:56 PM)
Or you can DIY to extend the socket so that the HDAM module can lie sideways. I wonder if it's worth it to splash out the cash for the "25%" improvement. I think I need a tube amp to tone down the slight harshness of Grado.
If you like a more tube like mid range, go for the LT1057 instead. The LT1358 has a very nice, colored mid range that seems to work wonderfully with male vocals. But at the expense on sound stage and details. The LT1358 doesn't show much details and the instrument separation is kinda odd.
After listening to LT1057 more, I found the opamp is more unforgiving at giving the high end delivery of vocal. The tonality of singer is quite good. After listening to the Chinese hdcd/xrcd for a while, I found the Ssss and Ssshhh a bit stressful.
I would still think LT1358 is more smooth. You have to give time for the LT 1358 to run in and give it a try for LT1358 in the DAC and LT 1364 in the amp.
abel
Jun 20 2008, 11:06 AM
hehe chua no choice bcoz alot of china recording is like that cant help on it if wanna test try on mat salleh singer or tsai chin make sure not china recording
i received my DAC this morning abt 9am cant wait tonight will plug it n try on my system hehehe

opss thanks for inform me typing error
thh1212
Jun 20 2008, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(abel @ Jun 20 2008, 11:06 AM)
hehe chua no choice bcoz alot of china recording is like that can help on it if wanna test try on mat salleh singer or tsai chin make sure not china recording
i received my DAC this morning abt 9pm cant wait tonight will plug it n try on my system hehehe
Not 9am meh?
After a short comparing between Zero(OPA2107) n PSC805. (No point for me to stick with the OPA2604, since i have a OPA2107 on my hand)
The Zero pwned the PSC805 kao kao.
The vocal are more focus, more realistic and more forward. The soundstage is bigger too.
Now is the time for my PSC805 to step down
abel
Jun 20 2008, 01:45 PM
ohh opa2107

wanna try it out
mikelanding
Jun 20 2008, 02:08 PM
Hi all,
Since I got few pm about the opa627ap + browndog adapter. I guess is best for me to kick start 3rd Bulk.
I got 11 pcs Browndog adapters already arrived at my hand and ready to ship out. But the opa627ap need to order from my oversea friend. Min 4 units to kick start this bulk. ETA will be 1-2weeks after collected some deposit (RM15) to avoid FFK.
This might be the last bulk if all 11 pcs Browndog adapter finish coz too much hassle for me..sad.gif
Price will be
Browndog adapter (1 pc) =RM9 (with opamp), RM10 (alone)
Opa627AP (1 pc) = RM45.5
Poslaju fee+handling = RM6
note: 1 complete set will consist 1 Browndog adapter + 2 pcs opamp
Please pm me if U still interested..
1st Bulk order list:
1. mikelanding - 2 units
2. nicholas_1213 - 3 units (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
3. Kyl3 - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
4. kwekeugene - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
5. ccschua - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
6. stormspider - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
7. dark_evilz - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid][shipped and received]
2nd bulk order list:
1) Rock_Fever - 1 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP [Paid][shipped and received]
2) Madman - 2 X Browndog adapter + 4X OPA627AP [Paid][shipped and received]
3) xtremedummy - 2 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP [Paid][shipped and received]
4) CooBra - 2 X Browndog adapter[Paid][awaiting to ship out]
All 3rd buk order sent out today.
3rd Bulk order list: (10 Browndog adapter left...grab it before it gone!!)
1) utellme - 1 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP (fund received. Shipped)
2) jackal1983 - 1 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP (fund received. Shipped)
3) Kiding - 1 X Browndog adapter + 2X OPA627AP (fund received. Shipped)
Any1 who want to order the set can PM me. I still got around 10 pcs Browndog adapter, once finish I will not order anymore. Hurry!!
ccschua
Jun 20 2008, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(thh1212 @ Jun 20 2008, 12:32 PM)
After a short comparing between Zero(OPA2107) n PSC805. (No point for me to stick with the OPA2604, since i have a OPA2107 on my hand)
The Zero pwned the PSC805 kao kao.
The vocal are more focus, more realistic and more forward. The soundstage is bigger too.
Now is the time for my PSC805 to step down

OPA 2107 is used in some of the DAC. How do you find the power cord. You need to modify to suit local connection.
have fun. try more chip like LT 1057, LM 4562, DY2000 and LT 1364.
Hi Owners of ZERO, are u guys ready for a small gathering to test out the zero and also the headphone.
---------------
ZERO dac DY 2000 just arrive. time to pk again.
thh1212
Jun 20 2008, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 20 2008, 03:59 PM)
OPA 2107 is used in some of the DAC. How do you find the power cord. You need to modify to suit local connection.
have fun. try more chip like LT 1057, LM 4562, DY2000 and LT 1364.
Hi Owners of ZERO, are u guys ready for a small gathering to test out the zero and also the headphone.
---------------
ZERO dac DY 2000 just arrive. time to pk again.
??? what power cord? Just take the OPA2604 out n stuck the OPA2107 in.
I have 2 OPA2107 in my amp, another 1 in Zero. i think it is good enough, since OPA2107 is said to be the dual OPA627 and i
also like the sound. I purposely choose OPA2107, coz it retains 80-90% of OPA627 sound signature and it's cheap.
I often read those op-amp sound signature comment by other forumers and i know op-amp rolling is fun, but after all only 1 op-
amp can stay inside the DAC and the others are wasted. (I'm not using headphone)
About the gathering, my next semester is going to start, no time de...
abel
Jun 21 2008, 01:17 AM
ermm i found OPA627 too dynamics for me .... not suite my taste
i prefer warm n laid back n have thick vocal ....
ccschua
Jun 21 2008, 05:20 PM
Initial impression with DY2000 is not bad at all. Slightly different sounding than the LT 1057 and LT 1358. Looks like I have to dig back all the opamp and do a fresh comparisons.
Isnt this DY2000 is a designer opamp. Very mysterious. Anyone can enlighten (heard it is designed by Zhaolu engineer, true or not) Stay tune. I will be back for more.
mADmAN
Jun 21 2008, 05:40 PM
uiks??? gathering??? where and when? hopefully me free then can bring muh modded unit oso

anyway, i LOVE the 2107. i think theyre wicked awesome for the price. i especially love how they tamed the highs on my DT990 man. also making the sound airy makes music really enjoyable.
but since i paid like over 300 bux for my 627....im sticking to those

sounds very similar anyway, though it is better than the 2107 in more than one way
abel
Jun 21 2008, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 21 2008, 05:40 PM)
uiks??? gathering??? where and when? hopefully me free then can bring muh modded unit oso

anyway, i LOVE the 2107. i think theyre wicked awesome for the price. i especially love how they tamed the highs on my DT990 man. also making the sound airy makes music really enjoyable.
but since i paid like over 300 bux for my 627....im sticking to those

sounds very similar anyway, though it is better than the 2107 in more than one way
yala wanna compared ur mod unit with stock unit hehehe now waiting opa2107 to arrived
now i let my DAC to run in .... ermm now wanna find the coaxial cable

dunno which one to use
DY2000 is from AD (Analog Device)
utellme
Jun 22 2008, 11:48 AM
received opamp627 set from Mikelanding yesterday. spent about 4 hrs on varies type of CD. musical tone very much different from the stock 2604, I can't said it's far better than 2604. 627 works well with fast & rock musical where 2604 much suitable for jazz and vocal (Chinese artise type music), very tube type. Those jazz lover can happy stay with the stock for the time being.
Suk
Jun 23 2008, 12:07 AM
good item u have there.
yehlai
Jun 23 2008, 02:10 AM
Guys, im planing to get an Aego..
Kindly advice me which set up is better.
1) Buid in sound card - Zero DAC - Aego M
2) X-Fi Extreme Music - Zero DAC - Aego M
Question:
1) Zero DAC = opamp ?
2) Can i use Zero like this? : Dvd palyer - Zero DAC - Intergrated Amp - Wharfedale Diamond 9.1
(Cheapo JVC Dvd player, not hi-end one)
Thanks in advance!!
ccschua
Jun 23 2008, 06:25 AM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 23 2008, 02:10 AM)
Guys, im planing to get an Aego..
Kindly advice me which set up is better.
Question:
1) Zero DAC = opamp ?
2) Can i use Zero like this? : Dvd palyer - Zero DAC - Intergrated Amp - Wharfedale Diamond 9.1
Thanks in advance!!
Soundcard is not required. Try to get spdif, the thing that is connected to Cdrom. If not, just buy DAC with USB/SPDIF converter. works equally good.
this work great. your X-FI should have optical out. X-FI is a great trasnport.
Question:
1) Zero DAC = opamp ?
you can use opamp to change the output characteristics.
I am using this arrangement now. this works quite well. many will be using this. for budget arrangement.
RAV4
Jun 23 2008, 05:50 PM
mikelanding, I've just put down my order for the Zero DAC with GodLuv and would be very interested in your OPA627. However, I think the shipment can only come in by end of next month at the soonest. If you don't mind, hope you can wait till GodLuv orders the units before I put down my order? I don't want to have a set of OPA627 with nothing to plug it into. Thx!
Added on June 23, 2008, 5:51 pmQUOTE(utellme @ Jun 22 2008, 11:48 AM)
received opamp627 set from Mikelanding yesterday. spent about 4 hrs on varies type of CD. musical tone very much different from the stock 2604, I can't said it's far better than 2604. 627 works well with fast & rock musical where 2604 much suitable for jazz and vocal (Chinese artise type music), very tube type. Those jazz lover can happy stay with the stock for the time being.
What ru using to listen to your Zero? Thx
yehlai
Jun 23 2008, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Jun 23 2008, 05:50 PM)
mikelanding, I've just put down my order for the Zero DAC with GodLuv and would be very interested in your OPA627. However, I think the shipment can only come in by end of next month at the soonest. If you don't mind, hope you can wait till GodLuv orders the units before I put down my order? I don't want to have a set of OPA627 with nothing to plug it into. Thx!
Boss, im newbie here. I also wanna get one set of Zero to mod like u guys. (am i too noob + agresive?)
Im gonna get it pair like this: Dvd player - Zero - Integrated Amp - Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 or Aego M.
Wish to get OPA627 too. Can sifu here teach me how to MOD please.
Zero build in chips is opa2107? OPA627 is better than the build in chips?
Wht the sound quality different between this two?
How to change the chips?
Edit:
"1 complete set will consist 1 Browndog adapter + 2 pcs opamp"
But why many sifu here will get extra few pcs OPA627? (OPA627 = opamp rite?)
Really hope to learn from sifu here.
Thanks!
InF.anime
Jun 23 2008, 06:36 PM
Guys how good is this zero compare with X-Fi sound cards?
Please commend please.
stormspider
Jun 23 2008, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 23 2008, 06:02 PM)
Boss, im newbie here. I also wanna get one set of Zero to mod like u guys. (am i too noob + agresive?)
Im gonna get it pair like this: Dvd player - Zero - Integrated Amp - Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 or Aego M.
Wish to get OPA627 too. Can sifu here teach me how to MOD please.
Zero build in chips is opa2107? OPA627 is better than the build in chips?
Wht the sound quality different between this two?
How to change the chips?
Edit:
"1 complete set will consist 1 Browndog adapter + 2 pcs opamp"
But why many sifu here will get extra few pcs OPA627? (OPA627 = opamp rite?)
Really hope to learn from sifu here.
Thanks!
You can pair the zero as per your suggestion - DVD Player > Zero > Integrated Amp > Wharfys/Aego
but Aego M has its own amp built in, you won't need a integrated amp if your pairing it with Aego M.
Some of the people here who have owned similar setups are Csschua who used to pair it
using a Sony DvD player > Zero > Integrated Amp > KEF/New speakers (Forgot his current speakers

)
I myself am using my PC > Zero > Denon Integrated Amp > Mordaunt Short
The OPA 627 is the most common opamp used in the DAC section and it gives a different sound
signature compared with the stock 2106... but you will need to listen to decide which opamp sounds
better to your ears...
The opamps are easy to roll.. its just plug and play (though you will need a long nose plier to remove the
stock opamps) Just remove the stock opamp and then plug in the new opamp.
So far I have only know that MadMan has 3 sets of 627 opamps in the DAC and headphone amp section.
(You'll need 2 opamps for the headphone amp section). Most people use only one 627 in the DAC section.
Hope my long winded explanation helps...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.