Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K)
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Audiophiles
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
RAV4
QUOTE(abel @ Sep 10 2008, 02:52 PM)
i got some extra coaxial cable who are interested i got 2 set of 1M is canare cable smile.gif

now i got make some power cable .... still under development .... is using Kimber wire heheh soon i make it for sale

yehlai already audit my DIY power cable liow hehehe how much is ur budget i wanna make it bulk sale smile.gif

the design is like this but no worry it will have braid sleeve to cover it up and have IEC socket n the main plug hhehe
The unique KIMBER woven cable

Cool! Let me know how much it will be. How did you get your hands on Kimber bare cables anyway? And what gauge size are they? I'm also interested in doing a DIY on the Asylum Cable but the nearest place I know with the components is in Sim Lim Tower. I don't travel to SG so often so still waiting for an opportunity do go so can pick up the parts.
sukhoi37
hi guys, i'm interested to get this DAC from Jaben (SGD250 sweat.gif)
anyone know how's it compare to Ibasso D2 Boa dac?
ccschua
The best person to answer would probably be Madmen. but ZERO dac with OPA Earth will rock you.
mADmAN
eh??????? why me???

i cant compare between the zero and the boa..... coz ive never listened to the boa before...

actually ive never listed to any ibasso before.
GodLuvSxS
QUOTE(ccschua @ Sep 10 2008, 10:31 PM)
The best person to answer would probably be Madmen. but ZERO dac with OPA Earth will rock you.

Hi chua, how's your component? Is it the leg bengkok already? The unit were shipped to me with this packaging, then It was in good condition so I ship out like that with bubble wrap wrapping the whole thing. so sorry!

I think best person to answer might be stormspider cos last time he quite frequent to yuheng's house last time, dunno currently la! He can bring over ZERO with OPA earth to do head to head review with BOA testing the analog output cos ZERO's head out is no fight to BOA's blush.gif
sep90
guys
any1 have 627 oamp for sale or something better?
wanted to get 1 for my zero dac
will be back in msia this sat
pls pm me for price and location
sukhoi37
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Sep 11 2008, 10:40 AM)
Hi chua, how's your component? Is it the leg bengkok already? The unit were shipped to me with this packaging, then It was in good condition so I ship out like that with bubble wrap wrapping the whole thing. so sorry!

I think best person to answer might be stormspider cos last time he quite frequent to yuheng's house last time, dunno currently la! He can bring over ZERO with OPA earth to do head to head review with BOA testing the analog output cos ZERO's head out is no fight to BOA's  blush.gif

You mean no fight as headphone amp? I want to use it as dac.
If boa is better then no point to change to zero dac.
mikelanding
QUOTE(sep90 @ Sep 11 2008, 10:53 AM)
guys
any1 have 627 oamp for sale or something better?
wanted to get 1 for my zero dac
will be back in msia this sat
pls pm me for price and location

I got opa627 to sell..kindly pm me for detail.
ccschua
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Sep 11 2008, 03:20 PM)
You mean no fight as headphone amp? I want to use it as dac.
If boa is better then no point to change to zero dac.

Depends on what u want. Have u check boa can do like what ZERO do or not.

For usb connection, just grab 1 converter will do, and ZERO become full function dac.

The question here is which DAC offers you the BEST value for money. do check out, and let us know.
sukhoi37
QUOTE(ccschua @ Sep 11 2008, 08:33 PM)
Depends on what u want. Have u check boa can do like what ZERO do or not.

For usb connection, just grab 1 converter will do, and ZERO become full function dac.

The question here is which DAC offers you the BEST value for money. do check out, and let us know.

erm...i want a better DAC to pair with my Heed amp.
currently using boa but i'm interested to know how zero dac sounds.
i wanna know whether it is worth for me to change to zero dac.
RAV4
Abel busy working on his power cables?

Talking about power cables, I came across these on Head-Fi that claims to perform on par or better than US$200 cables. Uses Furukawa cables and the construction of the plugs are impressive! They're made in Taiwan. Copper plug model is US65, silver plated one is US95. Anyone wanna do a bulk on the 65 one?

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f21/new-powe...r-cable-305109/

sep90
sukhoi get the zero dac good deal and heck of a good dac
bought it from jaben and never regret it since then
maybe u have hard time looking for converter but it be found in funan 4th floor
jaben now got the upgraded version of zero and tianlong change the volume alps to much better 1
the rca and coxial is now gold plated instead of normal
CooBra
i just got my earth and sun today... just to be safe... the white wire that came out from the opamp are meant to be ground wires?
sukhoi37
QUOTE(sep90 @ Sep 12 2008, 12:27 AM)
sukhoi get the zero dac good deal and heck of a good dac
bought it from jaben and never regret it since then
maybe u have hard time looking for converter but it be found in funan 4th floor
jaben now got the upgraded version of zero and tianlong change the volume alps to much better 1
the rca and coxial is now gold plated instead of normal

hmm...but jaben price ~sgd250. sweat.gif
i've googled around, it seems like zero dac sq is about the same with boa. hmm.gif
sep90
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Sep 12 2008, 12:41 AM)
i've googled around, it seems like zero dac sq is about the same with boa. hmm.gif

boa is great for dac and it is portable not to mention it use the same dac chips as pico dac
but since u pairing with heedcanamp i believe it need more sufficient power and lower floor signal
anyhow best to test which is suitable for u afterall hearing is believing
sukhoi37
QUOTE(sep90 @ Sep 12 2008, 12:51 AM)
boa is great for dac and it is portable not to mention it use the same dac chips as pico dac
but since u pairing with heedcanamp i believe it need  more sufficient power and lower floor signal
anyhow best to test which is suitable for u afterall hearing is believing

yeah, i also wanna audition it.
but how to try dac at jaben?
it's the best if i can borrow it for one day. thumbup.gif

wait, i need another rca to rca interconnect cable for zero dac to heed. doh.gif
sep90
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Sep 12 2008, 01:12 AM)
yeah, i also wanna audition it.
but how to try dac at jaben?
it's the best if i can borrow it for one day.  thumbup.gif

wait, i need another rca to rca interconnect cable for zero dac to heed. doh.gif

lol uncle got a zero dac for audition jus bring yur canamp and yur favorite cd as well
he jus brought some recently and they r selling out fast
as for cable get the mit rca cable uncle selling as well his original cd player is using 1 btw thick and gold rca caps
i got a pair of them and they really rock thumbup.gif
sukhoi37
QUOTE(sep90 @ Sep 12 2008, 01:18 AM)
lol uncle got a zero dac for audition jus bring yur canamp and yur favorite cd as well
he jus brought some recently and they r selling out fast
as for cable get the mit rca cable uncle selling as well his original cd player is using 1 btw thick and gold rca caps
i got a pair of them and they really rock  thumbup.gif

what source they use for the zero dac?
from his laptop?

i will bring along my boa to do a head to head comparison. nod.gif
sep90
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Sep 12 2008, 01:27 AM)
what source they use for the zero dac?
from his laptop?

i will bring along my boa to do a head to head comparison. nod.gif

nope one of his cd players i dun know which 1 btw sweat.gif
jus bring yur boa and some cds as well and compare
zero is preamp so it is better u bring yur canamp if u wan to test which has a better cleaner sound and less floor signal
test by using various cans that uncle has
akg, sen, grados and sen
sukhoi37
QUOTE(sep90 @ Sep 12 2008, 01:31 AM)
nope one of his cd players i dun know which 1 btw  sweat.gif
jus bring yur boa and some cds as well and compare
zero is preamp so it is better u bring yur canamp if u wan to test which has a better cleaner sound and less floor signal
test by using various cans that uncle has
akg, sen, grados and sen

blink.gif
i thought cd players have built-in dac?
cd player>>zero dac = double dac?

yup, i will also bring the canamp. cool.gif
sep90
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Sep 12 2008, 01:34 AM)
blink.gif
i thought cd players have built-in dac?
cd player>>zero dac = double dac?
yup, i will also bring the canamp. cool.gif

uncle also got an very ancient cd player (btw i dun know its name ) that can bypass its dac
i sure that he can hook it up with zero jus to let u try biggrin.gif
well be sure that u prepared for it poisoning time brows.gif
RAV4
QUOTE(sep90 @ Sep 12 2008, 06:22 AM)
uncle also got an very ancient cd player (btw i dun know its name ) that can bypass its dac
i sure that he can hook it up with zero jus to let u try  biggrin.gif
well be sure that u prepared for it poisoning time  brows.gif

Actually when you connect to the CDP or DVD's digital out, you're bypassing the internal DAC. DAC = Digital Analog Converter. Once you pass the digital signal through the DAC section, it will be Analog output hence the digital out from any player is before the DAC section.
GodLuvSxS
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Sep 12 2008, 12:41 AM)

If the stock ZERO dac's SQ is about the same with stock Boa is about the same, then prepare fork out to some money for the discrete opamp, definately worth a shot, my ZERO is getting better with it biggrin.gif

Oh ya, those who received the USB to coaxial converter please do post your comment here, either it's sound bright or warm, I'm not kidding, converter does sound bright or warm too, i tried 2 different converter before, my former one is warm and depth, while the current on is bright, crisp and PRaT!
abel
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Sep 10 2008, 10:07 PM)
Cool! Let me know how much it will be. How did you get your hands on Kimber bare cables anyway? And what gauge size are they? I'm also interested in doing a DIY on the Asylum Cable but the nearest place I know with the components is in Sim Lim Tower. I don't travel to SG so often so still waiting for an opportunity do go so can pick up the parts.

is 2 x 14 gauge i got some left over kimber wire now i already make 1.5m this just my prototype the cable i will put in the braided sleeve
look nicely hehehe
i wanna do in bulk who interested let me know if more ppl is more cheaper but give me some time to do

Added on September 12, 2008, 10:55 am
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Sep 11 2008, 10:33 PM)
Abel busy working on his power cables?

Talking about power cables, I came across these on Head-Fi that claims to perform on par or better than US$200 cables. Uses Furukawa cables and the construction of the plugs are impressive! They're made in Taiwan. Copper plug model is US65, silver plated one is US95. Anyone wanna do a bulk on the 65 one?

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f21/new-powe...r-cable-305109/

wow nice plug
CooBra
QUOTE(CooBra @ Sep 12 2008, 12:33 AM)
i just got my earth and sun today... just to be safe... the white wire that came out from the opamp are meant to be ground wires?

err guys? a little help here? or maybe a link to a installation guide for it?

thanks cool.gif
abel
QUOTE(CooBra @ Sep 12 2008, 06:31 PM)

thanks  cool.gif

u can see the ground cable u will know the direction already
RAV4
Abel, if you didn't check out the link, those plugs are made using Furukawa copper and acid bathed and chemically treated to resist oxidation.

BTW, is that the China made YYW filtered cable you're using on your Zero? How much did you get that and where from?

I should have added this photo coz it shows how much larger the IeGO cable is, compared to the standard one. And the reviewer can hear quite a bit of difference when used on his DAC! http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f21/review-i...-cables-326799/

Added on September 12, 2008, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(CooBra @ Sep 12 2008, 06:31 PM)

thanksĀ  cool.gif

I just got mine this morning at about 11AM. biggrin.gif

Take a close look on the board under the pins. There's a C marking to match the socket which has a small indent on 1 side. The extension cable's sockets have the same too so just align according to that. I assume the socket on the Zero would have the same but I didn't really check the last time I open it up so can't confirm that.
abel
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Sep 12 2008, 10:03 PM)
Abel, if you didn't check out the link, those plugs are made using Furukawa copper and acid bathed and chemically treated to resist oxidation.

BTW, is that the China made YYW filtered cable you're using on your Zero? How much did you get that and where from?

I should have added this photo coz it shows how much larger the IeGO cable is, compared to the standard one. And the reviewer can hear quite a bit of difference when used on his DAC! http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f21/review-i...-cables-326799/

huh i dont get wut u means China made YYW filtered cable ?? smile.gif the Kimber i get locally and i make as Power Cord now i using this Kimber for my amp temporary to let it run-in i didnt use any China cable mostly my cable are US or U.K
kwekeugene
Some comparison quoted from Head-fi

I have a question. Has anybody compared this DAC in this thread or another thread vs any of the other more expensive DACs like the Zhaolu, DAC-1, or Lavry DA10, Headroom Micro Dac or even the DAC and headphone out of a quality CD/DVD/SACD player like the Nad T585?

I'd put the stock zero to be close to the Musiland MD10, which is twice the price of the zero. stock 2.5C is a tad
bit better but the Keces is more musical.

With the DAC HDAM, it is better than all three above, The OMZ 4.1 is still slightly better - more "flesh and bones" than the modded Zero. But it's 90% the level of the OMZ for one-third the price.

After the the OMZ and the modded Zero, I can't listen to the stock unit anymore. Nor the MD10 and stock 2.5c for that matter. And yes, I have used all those DACs so my comments are valid.
GodLuvSxS
QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Sep 13 2008, 02:49 AM)
I'd put the stock zero to be close to the Musiland MD10, which is twice the price of the zero. stock 2.5C is a tad
With the DAC HDAM, it is better than all three above, The OMZ 4.1 is still slightly better - more "flesh and bones" than the modded Zero. But it's 90% the level of the OMZ for one-third the price.

After the the OMZ and the modded Zero, I can't listen to the stock unit anymore. Nor the MD10 and stock 2.5c for that matter. And yes, I have used all those DACs so my comments are valid.

If these comments are valid, then we should be glad for having ZERO! The OMZ 4.1 reported to be way better than stock Benchmark DAC-1 which costs around RM3k, having 90% performance of the OMZ, we should be really glad!
foongchinboon
found these two Sun n Earth schematic, just want to share... smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
how was u all review??? i havnt test yet.... biggrin.gif
[attachmentid=591837]
[attachmentid=591839]
RAV4
QUOTE(abel @ Sep 12 2008, 11:19 PM)
huh i dont get wut u means China made YYW filtered cable ?? smile.gif the Kimber i get locally and i make as Power Cord now i using this Kimber for my amp temporary to let it run-in i didnt use any China cable mostly my cable are US or U.K

Sorry, i was looking at your attached photo and saw the YYW connector. I guess that's not your setup. BTW, how's the Kimber Abel cord doing so far? :-)
abel
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Sep 14 2008, 10:41 PM)
Sorry, i was looking at your attached photo and saw the YYW connector. I guess that's not your setup. BTW, how's the Kimber Abel cord doing so far? :-)

not bad is when plug to my CDP the sound more smooth n clear but dont compare to Transparent Cable heheheh
ccschua
QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Sep 13 2008, 02:49 AM)

That's the most important review I have seen. u have done a great job, no wonder you are spending when in lowyat forum.

I wonder if any felllow zero users with OPA earth would like to stand forward and give yr testimony.
GodLuvSxS
QUOTE(ccschua @ Sep 15 2008, 11:21 PM)
That's the most important review I have seen. u have done a great job, no wonder you are spending when in lowyat forum.

I wonder if any felllow zero users with OPA earth would like to stand forward and give yr testimony.

It's good to have u back Chua, how was your trip?

Anyway heard that MOON is going to come out within a week time! Guess what! Time to bulk again, Brothers! cool2.gif
RAV4
Chua, any recommendation for the cap mod to be added to the OPAMP? PP (from Head-Fi) recommends PIO (Paper In Oil) Russian Military spec capacitors for best results. Any idea where we can get those here?

You also mentioned that you have snipped the 2 ceramic caps at the analog output stage. I assume this is a recommended step for better SQ?

Thanks!
abel
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Sep 16 2008, 11:45 AM)
Chua, any recommendation for the cap mod to be added to the OPAMP? PP (from Head-Fi) recommends PIO (Paper In Oil) Russian Military spec capacitors for best results. Any idea where we can get those here?

You also mentioned that you have snipped the 2 ceramic caps at the analog output stage. I assume this is a recommended step for better SQ?

Thanks!

wut value u want i have some of the cap mine is 0.22uf 160v Russian PIO green colour 1 just left 2 pc

if u want Evox Rifa u try to look at www.farnell.com is from malaysia their office in subang near mac food
ccschua
QUOTE(abel @ Sep 16 2008, 11:53 AM)
wut value u want i have some of the cap mine is 0.22uf 160v Russian PIO green colour 1 just left 2 pc

if u want Evox Rifa u try to look at www.farnell.com is from malaysia their office in subang near mac food

I have Evox but it is 100uF. Anyway u can try the Abel PIO cap that would be good.
GodLuvSxS
Ok guys .... MOON is here!!!!!!!!!!!! Lush and Warm, I'm for sure getting this! The current offer is buy any 2 discrete opamp free one MOON, since everyone got their SUN n EARTH, so we are concentrating on getting moon.

MOON = USD25 x 3.4(yes, ringgit is getting weaker) = RM85 each
shipping = USD30 x 3.4 = RM102 as usual settle later

let's make a deal here, we are either getting 9units, 12units, 15units ... so it would cost RM57 each ... explanation: Buy 6 units free 3 units (85x6/9=RM57)

MOQ=9 or 12 or 15

1. GodLuvSxS
2. jerren + 1 extension cable

Guys ... this is da last for our "world elements" collection, MOON, EARTH n SUN!
jerren
finally, get my hands on 1 of the discrete opamp since i missed the last flight to SUN & EARTH
DEz012
Moon opamp 1 unit for me please. smile.gif
GodLuvSxS
QUOTE(DEz012 @ Sep 17 2008, 09:25 AM)
Moon opamp 1 unit for me please. smile.gif

1. GodLuvSxS
2. jerren + 1 extension cable
3. DEz012
abel
heheh dunno got STAR or not now got moon liow
InF.anime
later got moonlight smile.gif
RAV4
Chua, Thanks! The value that Abel has is OK?

Abel, please keep both for me. I'll arrange on how to deal when Chua confirms. BTW, you mentioned that your Kimber still lose to your Transparent... was your Transparent a factory terminated unit or it was another DIY effort?

And after Star, the ultimate OPAMP will be Supernova! biggrin.gif
abel
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Sep 17 2008, 02:07 PM)
Chua, Thanks! The value that Abel has is OK?

Abel, please keep both for me. I'll arrange on how to deal when Chua confirms. BTW, you mentioned that your Kimber still lose to your Transparent... was your Transparent a factory terminated unit or it was another DIY effort?

And after Star, the ultimate OPAMP will be Supernova! biggrin.gif

my Transparent cable also DIY buy the cable only than terminate myself how interested my Kimber cable i got Belden power cable also heheheheh
DEVICLOT
sun earth moon each+cable thx
GodLuvSxS
QUOTE(DEVICLOT @ Sep 17 2008, 05:06 PM)
sun earth moon each+cable thx

1. GodLuvSxS (MOON) RM57
2. jerren (MOON + 1 extension cable) RM67
3. DEz012 (MOON) RM57
4. DEVICLOT (sun earth moon each + 3 cables) RM210
5. FiSHjIGN (sun earth moon each + 1 cable) RM190
RAV4
Chua, PP is recommending 1uF caps. Abel's is only 0.22. Would that be sufficient? What rating are you using now?

Abel, sure I'm interested but after you said that the Transparent is much better... well... how about doing the Transparent? I mean, what's the price difference anyway?
GodLuvSxS
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Sep 17 2008, 05:08 PM)
1. GodLuvSxS (MOON) RM57
2. jerren    (MOON + 1 extension cable) RM67
3. DEz012 (MOON) RM57
4. DEVICLOT (sun earth moon each + 3 cables) RM210
5. FiSHjIGN (EARTH) RM78

Wow, the response is kinda emm ... cool biggrin.gif Maybe guys satisfied with EARTH? I will set a deadline till this Sunday, then I will submit the order with what I got smile.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.