Sigma 50-150 f/2.8 HSM
Sigma 150 f/2.8 HSM

or Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM

etc. biggrin.gif
but nothing cheap biggrin.gif
TheVoIP
QUOTE(ebernie @ Jan 17 2008, 01:54 PM)
Any suggestions?

I was about to suggest the 85 f1.8... but on D40 a bit hard la.... maybe have to jump directly into 70-200 VR... but expensive la
undazztood
how bout nikkor is 105mm vr.
good for macro and portrait.
price around rm2.5k.

TheVoIP
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 17 2008, 02:14 PM)
how bout nikkor is 105mm vr.
good for macro and portrait.
price around rm2.5k.

that macro is only f2.8 -> Not geng enought for potrait la...

Maybe have to bite the bulllet and jump directly to 70-200 f2.8 VR. With that lense and when use focal length started from 135 at f2.8, the power of magic started.... biggrin.gif
undazztood
but with 70-200 f2.8vr price already can buy three D40 or two D80body or one D300body tongue.gif

hellfire8888
hmm my fren last time say nikon a lot of lens to chose from and much more cheaper compare to the competitor..i dont even realise the available choice is so expensive..
xandman
d40?
portrait?
cheap?

hahahaha...no way...
at least 2.5k will be gone...
i m using a d40 myself...so i know the problem u r having...
i suggest get the 70-200 or 24-70...=)...
105 is not bad either!
ganz
TS,, any specific budget?
gogo2
QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jan 17 2008, 02:57 PM)
hmm my fren last time say nikon a lot of lens to chose from and much more cheaper compare to the competitor..i dont even realise the available choice is so expensive..

D40 is for people who won't change lens. Full stop tongue.gif
mindkiller6610
sell d40,
get d80,
get the 50mm f/1.8..

cheaper but not cheap also..haha
edministrator
Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM
TheVoIP
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 17 2008, 02:52 PM)
but with 70-200 f2.8vr price already can buy three D40 or two D80body or one D300body  tongue.gif

I know... I have many friends having the same problems... After many many dissuccion... except bite the bullet to 70-200 VR. Since Nikon also commited to CMOS, image quality from newer, higher end camera is no longer loose to others. It also mean unlikely to switch system. And also mean safe can buy that lense la... Think for future la...

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jan 17 2008, 02:57 PM)

It might be true for most Nikon camera, except D40 that Nikon decided to throw off the autofocusing motor. I think it is a Nikon mistake.... Or else 85 f1.8 will be a great choice.

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 17 2008, 03:07 PM)
d40?
portrait?
cheap?

hahahaha...no way...
at least 2.5k will be gone...
i m using a d40 myself...so i know the problem u r having...
i suggest get the 70-200 or 24-70...=)...
105 is not bad either!

105 is only f2.8, not enought power la...

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jan 17 2008, 03:58 PM)
Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM

Focal length not enought for potrait la... 30mm is for those 'environement type potrait' that include lots of surronding... Not everyone cup of tea la... wink.gif
Mavik
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Jan 17 2008, 03:53 PM)
sell d40,
get d80,
get the 50mm f/1.8..

cheaper but not cheap also..haha

All of that is still cheaper compared to 70-200mm lens or the other recommended lenses here hahaha biggrin.gif
hellfire8888
now hard to sell slr...sony coming with a200 i hear is less than 2k..pentax also new slr..and only god know when canon come out with 450d and 500d.. more feature n less $$ ..future buyer really can get good bargain.
Mavik
Yeah it is always beneficial to the consumers when prices drop. I just hope that the variety for lenses for both Sony and Pentax would be more freely available here especially if they intend to market them aggressively.
ebernie
Hmmm... never thought that buying a D40 would be so expensive lol.

f2.8 fast enough or not for shooting indoors without flash? I never tested before (and lighting in shops are usually 'good' which won't reflect its performance in low-light).

To those that suggest getting a D80 plus cheaper lens, no thanks because I already have a D40. Selling it now would mean losing more cash. Besides, the D40 is damn small and lightweight where as the D80 is quite bigger. The cost of lens also might be higher but then the loss when selling them in the future is much less.

Anyone using the old 50 mm f1.8? This one doesn't auto focus but I'm curios if it will be good enough. Planning to take candid shots for family gatherings. Worried that manually focusing will make me lose the candid moments.
R a D ! c 4 L
i'd suggest the Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 HSM. Budget wise i think this is the best you can get smile.gif
soulfly
sigma 50mm f2.8 macro can do portrait as well
vincent_audio
i have found that macro/micro lens to be slightly slower in focusing. Candid shot for family gathering will be a challenge for these lens.
travis_ckf
Just buy a 50mm F1.8 lens and practice alot of manual focusing. I know one friend of mine who has a d40 n 50mm f1.8 did that, and his taking good pics. Practice more, that all he says! tongue.gif
hellfire8888
hhehe using manual focus is no fun at all...no fun...especially if u want to focus it fast..
undazztood
ts want lens that can AF with D40..
ebernie
QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 17 2008, 08:32 PM)
i'd suggest the Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 HSM. Budget wise i think this is the best you can get smile.gif

Hmm.. I believe I've not googled for this one yet.

Thanks for the alert about focusing performance on macro lenses. One of the questions I was about to ask was whether or not it's ok to get one of the macro/micro lenses.
zzloo
although is macro/micro lens, but they still can b use as a normal lens
ebernie
QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jan 17 2008, 10:45 PM)
hhehe using manual focus is no fun at all...no fun...especially if u want to focus it fast..

Actually for shooting slowly, I don't mind slowing down my pace to focus manually.

Wah lau: 18-50MM f2.8 is 2.2k!
R a D ! c 4 L
^of course you better don check through shashinki. Its cheaper than that.
TheVoIP
QUOTE(ebernie @ Jan 17 2008, 08:32 PM)
Anyone using the old 50 mm f1.8? This one doesn't auto focus but I'm curios if it will be good enough. Planning to take candid shots for family gatherings. Worried that manually focusing will make me lose the candid moments.

Your worry and concern is right. You do need autofocus for candid shots, some more a good auto-focuser. But choices are hard... really...

Maybe the closest for your camera is the new macro 105 f2.8 VR. That's all.... biggrin.gif
xandman
105vr is good...but i think a bit long for candid...why not take 17-55 instead?
it is also a good range for portraits...
darthbaboon
Did some reading and someone suggested for portrait shots the following lenses :

AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D (Really cheap @ RM 428 RSP)

Are these any good? Seem to meet the <f/2.8 requirements.
Mavik
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Jan 18 2008, 04:02 PM)
Did some reading and someone suggested for portrait shots the following lenses :

AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D

Here is the more realistic price list.

AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D (RM1000)
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D (RM380)
undazztood
how bout 18-200vr. also good for portrait and candid. the f2.8 lens r pricey.

tsubok
How about Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM?
My friend has one and made excellent photos from it but beware...many bad copies, have to test thoroughly before buying.
Mavik
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 18 2008, 05:54 PM)

Good if you are in a studio environment and outdoors with bright lights, if he wants indoor candid shots, the 18-200mm VR has to go with a flash or else you might have to pump the ISO to about 1600 to get any decent low light candids.
soulmad
i selling 28-70mm sigma F2.8
interested let me know
KTCY

AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 18 2008, 04:21 PM)
Here is the more realistic price list.

AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D (RM1000)
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D (RM380)

This 2 lens have to manual focus if using it with D40 right ? As the lens doesn't come with built in AF motor right ?
BurgaFlippinMan
if what you want is just to shoot portraits, having to manual focus is no biggie, especially with a bright lens
hushymushy
ahhhhh another f2.8 lover...

any f2.8 is expensive.....

tammys and siggies are the cheaper options....

D40/X.......only sigmas support with HSM

18-50 f2.8 HSM...works with D40/x.....

18-200 nikkor is another great lense....
can't have big apperture.....go high ISO....
anyway i like some pix with f8 stops...or f10....depending....gives the depth sharper.....

learn to hold your camera longer....hehehehehehehe go to slow shutter lor...

when u meet waterfall.....pratice it!
timothyy
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 19 2008, 11:43 AM)
Good if you are in a studio environment and outdoors with bright lights, if he wants indoor candid shots, the 18-200mm VR has to go with a flash or else you might have to pump the ISO to about 1600 to get any decent low light candids.

D300 can do... whistling.gif whistling.gif
yewkhuay
nikkor 17-55 f2.8?

nikkor 50mm 1.4 fast enuf....
TheVoIP
QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 18 2008, 03:08 PM)
105vr is good...but i think a bit long for candid...why not take 17-55 instead?
it is also a good range for portraits...

I had tried the Nikon 17-55 on D300. It is a bit bigger than my Canon 17-55, with slightly slower autofocusing... maybe it is just on the D300... yet to have try on D3.

Ok... I think the 17-55 is meant for demanding serious amature who has at least D200 or D300 la... and certainly not for those using D40 la... blink.gif

AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D

The poster was using a Nikon D40, not Canon 40D. The D40 do not has something call a autofocusing motor inside the camera, thus lots of Nikon lenses cannot autofocus liao... sweat.gif

This is indeed a headache... because there are 3 D40 camera in my office and asking me the same question, but withouit affordable answer... sweat.gif

QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 18 2008, 05:54 PM)

I like that lense personally. It think it is a great lense for such a camera. But... yeah I know it was not what the posted originally thought about.
hellfire8888
i think this will become a drawback for most potential d40 owners...high total cost of ownership in the future if they wanna upgrade their lens..

KTCY
Just wondering Sigma 30mm f/1.4 can be used at portrait shooting ?
And, will it be a good choice using 30mm f/1.4 under low light ?
Sorry very new in DSLR blush.gif
soulfly
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 21 2008, 05:36 PM)
Just wondering Sigma 30mm f/1.4 can be used at portrait shooting ?
And, will it be a good choice using 30mm f/1.4 under low light ?
Sorry very new in DSLR blush.gif

can.... just nice
ebernie
But with 30mm, the photographer might have to get real close & personal with the subject. Depending on situation, this might or might not be possible.
Joseph Hahn
30mm is good for full body shot, 50mm for half body, 85 for head and shoulders, IMO. But then again you can always adjust your zoom, by moving yourself. tongue.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jan 22 2008, 11:25 AM)
30mm is good for full body shot, 50mm for half body, 85 for head and shoulders, IMO. But then again you can always adjust your zoom, by moving yourself. tongue.gif

Hmmm... good "guide" here.

But is it worth to pay extra RM600-700 for the 50mm f/1.4 compared to the 50mm/f1.8?
Mavik
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 22 2008, 11:28 AM)
Hmmm... good "guide" here.

But is it worth to pay extra RM600-700 for the 50mm f/1.4 compared to the 50mm/f1.8?

Well it all depends on what you want. When shooting with the 50mm f/1.8 at wide open, you might not achieve the sharpness you want. You might have to set it to f/2 and above to get the superbly sharp images you have.

Compared to the 50mm f/1.4, shooting under low light would be extremely helpful as well so some people do feel that paying RM1000 for this lens is worth it.

I tried the 85mm f/1.4 on Sunday and it was sweet!
shinchan^^
50mm f/1.4 better built smile.gif
timothyy
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 22 2008, 01:29 PM)
Well it all depends on what you want. When shooting with the 50mm f/1.8 at wide open, you might not achieve the sharpness you want. You might have to set it to f/2 and above to get the superbly sharp images you have.

Compared to the 50mm f/1.4, shooting under low light would be extremely helpful as well so some people do feel that paying RM1000 for this lens is worth it.

I tried the 85mm f/1.4 on Sunday and it was sweet!

Hmm... So... you are saying that a 1.4D can shoot at 1.4 and still having sharp image out?

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 22 2008, 02:20 PM)
50mm f/1.4 better built smile.gif

Build is just a small part of it. If the performance is the same, then I can buy 2.5 lens with 1 lens price.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.