Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: PlayStation Portable For Beginners | V2
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch > Playstation
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48
Existant
Now done already ! hahahah ... But then . I pressed X , reboot d . then now pressed on M33UPDATE , then black screen come and stuck lo .. Sien ..
Lakum
QUOTE(Existant @ Feb 24 2008, 02:15 AM)
Now done already ! hahahah ... But then . I pressed X , reboot d . then now pressed on M33UPDATE , then black screen come and stuck lo .. Sien ..

Wait patiently. Sometimes it take time with black screen. DONT SWITCH OFF THE PSP!!
Existant
Alright ! I done it !!! Thanks to vorchiel and lakum ! THANKS!!!
greyfox
QUOTE(Existant @ Feb 24 2008, 02:19 AM)
Alright ! I done it !!! Thanks to vorchiel and lakum ! THANKS!!!

@Existant rclxms.gif you are so luck 2am vorchiel & lakum not sleep yet 2am i'm in dream zone laugh.gif

@vorchiel & lakum 2 am you both not sleep yet ohmy.gif
vorchiel
I'm not in Malaysia

GMT +0 tongue.gif
cwjmorpheus
Hei guys, i'm new here, sry. I want to noe isit PSP got different types of version?? if there is, which 1 is the latest version?? i wanted to get 1. what is the price in the market now?? if there is any other thread link to answer my question, can give me?? really need help here....thanks..
aliftaufiq
QUOTE(cwjmorpheus @ Feb 24 2008, 09:56 AM)
Hei guys, i'm new here, sry. I want to noe isit PSP got different types of version?? if there is, which 1 is the latest version?? i wanted to get 1. what is the price in the market now?? if there is any other thread link to answer my question, can give me?? really need help here....thanks..

Current custom firmware would be 3.90 m33-2...The price is around RM850+- for full set + 4gb mspd..
For sony orginal firmware psp i don't really know the price sweat.gif
cwjmorpheus
QUOTE(aliftaufiq @ Feb 24 2008, 11:04 AM)
Current custom firmware would be 3.90 m33-2...The price is around RM850+- for full set + 4gb mspd..
For sony orginal firmware psp i don't really know the price sweat.gif

erm...do u mean that actually PSP is actually all the same?? just that different firmware only?? meaning that old psp with old firmware can also download new firmware for upgrade?? How about games?? my friend said that he used to went to the shop to get new games, every game cost around rm8-rm10. isit true?? if i bought in Singapore, isit compatible with the games here?? i scare if i buy it there, i cant download games from the shops here.... HELP!!!! thx for the reply..
Lakum
QUOTE(greyfox @ Feb 24 2008, 07:11 AM)
@Existant  rclxms.gif you are so luck 2am vorchiel & lakum not sleep yet 2am i'm in dream zone  laugh.gif

@vorchiel & lakum  2 am you both not sleep yet  ohmy.gif

Cannot sleep. Pikir masa depan whistling.gif

QUOTE(cwjmorpheus @ Feb 24 2008, 12:54 PM)
erm...do u mean that actually PSP is actually all the same?? just that different firmware only?? meaning that old psp with old firmware can also download new firmware for upgrade?? How about games?? my friend said that he used to went to the shop to get new games, every game cost around rm8-rm10. isit true?? if i bought in Singapore, isit compatible with the games here?? i scare if i buy it there, i cant download games from the shops here.... HELP!!!! thx for the reply..

There are 2 type of PSP itself. One is fat, the old one, and another one is Slim & Lite, newer version. Usually shops only sell Slim & Lite nowadays. As for the firmware, any type of PSP, old and new can install/update to the latest original firmware or custom firmware. U can buy the PSP anywhere in the world and play the game that u get anywhere in the world too.

We cannot discuss/talk about downloaded game, where to obtain/buy/download or whatsoever. It is the rule here sweat.gif
cwjmorpheus
QUOTE(Lakum @ Feb 24 2008, 01:02 PM)
Cannot sleep. Pikir masa depan whistling.gif
There are 2 type of PSP itself. One is fat, the old one, and another one is Slim & Lite, newer version. Usually shops only sell Slim & Lite nowadays. As for the firmware, any type of PSP, old and new can install/update to the latest original firmware or custom firmware. U can buy the PSP anywhere in the world and play the game that u get anywhere in the world too.

We cannot discuss/talk about downloaded game, where to obtain/buy/download or whatsoever. It is the rule here sweat.gif

ooo, sry, i also just know the rules here...so sorry. THX FOR THE INFORMATION!!

Added on February 24, 2008, 1:39 pmI saw a question in front.... it says about Homebrews. The explanation is "In short, homebrews are third-party programs developed by programmers. Hence, PSP homebrews are third-party programs developed by programmers specifically for the PSP." Can i have some example?? i still dun understand what r this programs for...
skenzrulz
Hi Guys,

I need some help here.

I'm planning to get a PSP Lite.

And I noticed on the box, there are different type of model name i.e. 2000CW, 2000LP and some with 2006.

I was wondering do I have to take note of which model it is when I buy the PSP? I want to get the latest machine but also make sure I don't get cheated.

greyfox
QUOTE(cwjmorpheus @ Feb 24 2008, 01:21 PM)
ooo, sry, i also just know the rules here...so sorry. THX FOR THE INFORMATION!!

Added on February 24, 2008, 1:39 pmI saw a question in front.... it says about Homebrews. The explanation is "In short, homebrews are third-party programs developed by programmers. Hence, PSP homebrews are third-party programs developed by programmers specifically for the PSP." Can i have some example?? i still dun understand what r this programs for...

homebrews are third-party programs
like your pc program ,on pc if you using photoshop it for editing or make picture or graphic photohop not made by micro$oft it made by adobe .get it??
budakdegilz
since i'm a newbie..want to ask some sifu!! if i got a PSP from authorized Sony...and want to upgrade it to custom firmware & install homebrew...will it effect my warranty??? can i flash back with a original firmware??? tongue.gif
greyfox
QUOTE(skenzrulz @ Feb 24 2008, 04:44 PM)
Hi Guys,

I need some help here.

I'm planning to get a PSP Lite.

And I noticed on the box, there are different type of model name i.e. 2000CW, 2000LP and some with 2006.

I was wondering do I have to take note of which model it is when I buy the PSP? I want to get the latest machine but also make sure I don't get cheated.

* PSP2000 - Japan
* PSP2001 - USA
* PSP2002 - Australia
* PSP2003 - United Kingdom
* PSP2004 - Europe, Middle East, and Africa
* PSP2005 - Korea
* PSP2006 - Hong Kong, Singapore
* PSP2007 - Taiwan
* PSP2008 - Russia
* PSP2009 - China
* PSP2010 - Mexico
alphabet at end is color code
PSP Slim & Lite - Rose Pink (PSP-2000RP)
PSP Slim & Lite - Lavender Purple (PSP-2000LP)
PSP Slim & Lite - Ice Silver (PSP-2000IS)
Lakum
QUOTE(budakdegilz @ Feb 24 2008, 05:16 PM)
since i'm a newbie..want to ask some sifu!! if i got a PSP from authorized Sony...and want to upgrade it to custom firmware & install homebrew...will it effect my warranty??? can i flash back with a original firmware??? tongue.gif

Yes u can flash it back to original firmware...
skenzrulz
Thanks very much!
OMGGED
Hei i have a psp with 3.71 m33-4 firmware installed on it and i wana ask is that version ok or i still need to update somemore ? Well, i paid to upgrade so i need some advice here...If that version is ok then i will not update it...Btw, What kind of 3rd party apps i can install on my psp ? My psp only can do basic things and only have some basic themes which was installed by the game shop..Nothing much already...Any other apps i can get for my psp ? Need guidance here cz i am totally new...thx in advance..really hope to get more replies =P...Thx again
enCORe
Im still 3.71 because 3.8 & 3.9 slow on certain game, 3.71 still the best at least you can load a theme
Lakum
QUOTE(OMGGED @ Feb 24 2008, 11:18 PM)
Hei i have a psp with 3.71 m33-4 firmware installed on it and i wana ask is that version ok or i still need to update somemore ? Well, i paid to upgrade so i need some advice here...If that version is ok then i will not update it...Btw, What kind of 3rd party apps i can install on my psp ? My psp only can do basic things and only have some basic themes which was installed by the game shop..Nothing much already...Any other apps i can get for my psp ? Need guidance here cz i am totally new...thx in advance..really hope to get more replies =P...Thx again

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 24 2008, 11:36 PM)
Im still 3.71 because 3.8 & 3.9 slow on certain game, 3.71 still the best at least you can load a theme

Yea...like what enCORe said.

I'm back to 3.71m33-4 after upgrading through 3.80m33-5 and 3.90m33-2. I even patched the fatmsmod.prx when i'm at 3.90m33-2. Seems like i'm gonna stay at 3.71m33-4. I dont use Internet Radio and i cant use Skype (fat PSP). 3.71m33-4 is still good if u dont wanna use those 2 things.
tomatos
The only difference PSP from Sony Style and PSP outside is the firmware right? Can custom firmware PSP update to original firmware? If can, then original firmware PSP is exactly the same with Sony Style PSP?
jmunchar
Yes to all your questions...
msn83235502
QUOTE(tomatos @ Feb 25 2008, 12:53 AM)
The only difference PSP from Sony Style and PSP outside is the firmware right? Can custom firmware PSP update to original firmware? If can, then original firmware PSP is exactly the same with Sony Style PSP?

yes.. and the different is warranty and mspd.. all ori's and covered with sony warranty.that's all. laugh.gif

Added on February 25, 2008, 4:34 am
QUOTE(Lakum @ Feb 24 2008, 11:50 PM)
I'm back to 3.71m33-4 after upgrading through 3.80m33-5 and 3.90m33-2. I even patched the fatmsmod.prx when i'm at 3.90m33-2. Seems like i'm gonna stay at 3.71m33-4. I dont use Internet Radio and i cant use Skype (fat PSP). 3.71m33-4 is still good if u dont wanna use those 2 things.

yes... totally agree with you ! nod.gif

** lakum still didnt sleep coz he's GMT -20
hahahaha.... sweat.gif
Lakum
QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Feb 25 2008, 04:33 AM)
** lakum still didnt sleep coz he's GMT -20
hahahaha.... sweat.gif

Paku dulang paku serpih whistling.gif

msn...lets prostreet tongue.gif
gunblade99
I just bought My PSP Slim 3.71...I want to UpDate it to 3.90 but dont know how..
I put it in the Memory Card-Games folder but cant find the file on my PSP...How??
What is XMB?? Help Please..
budakdegilz
thanks guys!!..thumbup.gif
one more thing what type of video/music file format can psp support???
hwa107
hi guys it's me again to ask question here tongue.gif

im now using CFW 3.90 M33-2, is it possible for me to download the Internet Radio? will Sony know im using CFW and then brick my PSP?

is there anyway for me to manually install the Internet Radio?? and also how do i uninstall it?

thanks smile.gif
Gilthoniel
Hey guys,

I'm very new to the psp scene. Is it safe to upgrade from 3.71m33-4 directly to 3.90m33? I have the files ready (390.pbp and the 3.90m33 file), just need confirmation.

UPDATE: I did the update. No problems whatsoever. 3.90m33-2 now.
Lakum
QUOTE(hwa107 @ Feb 25 2008, 06:22 PM)
hi guys it's me again to ask question here tongue.gif

im now using CFW 3.90 M33-2, is it possible for me to download the Internet Radio? will Sony know im using CFW and then brick my PSP?

is there anyway for me to manually install the Internet Radio?? and also how do i uninstall it?

thanks smile.gif

U can download it. No problem.

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Feb 25 2008, 06:26 PM)
Hey guys,

I'm very new to the psp scene. Is it safe to upgrade from 3.71m33-4 directly to 3.90m33? I have the files ready (390.pbp and the 3.90m33 file), just need confirmation.

UPDATE: I did the update. No problems whatsoever. 3.90m33-2 now.

Congratulation rclxms.gif
freakyskull
Some seller from ebay says his psp's firmware is 3.71 U guys think its a custom firmware or an official firmware? coz i am kinda new...sob.. sob please help
greyfox
QUOTE(freakyskull @ Feb 26 2008, 11:57 AM)
Some seller from ebay says his psp's firmware is 3.71 U guys think its a custom firmware or an official firmware? coz i am kinda new...sob.. sob please help

my advice is don't buy from ebay buy from shop , you don't know condition of that psp .
you want to buy psp with dead pixel ?

this is just my advice but it's up to you to make the decision.

BTW you can ask the seller , if ofw you can update to cfw go to shop or ask anyone here who have pandora battery and willing to help you
freakyskull
thnx bro.. I am in OZ... kinda hard getting cfw..hehe
jianee89
hello, i wanna upgrade my 3.71m33-2 to 3.90m33-2 and i have downloaded the 3.90m33-2 file, i still need the 390.pbp file right? where can i get it?

Added on February 26, 2008, 7:31 pmI have done it already. Anybody knows what kind of headphone is needed so that we can use skype?
Heislyc
Hi, I'm planning to get deep red PSP slim, but how to I know if its really deep red model, instead of imitated cover?

From PSP Beginner Guide, it mentioned how to verify geninue battery pack, how about ac charger?

Is it deep red PSP means PSP-2000DR? Meaning there should be this code printed on the board(after open UMD door)?
Shufflerz
I'm not sure weather this question has been ask before or not.
Sorry if it had, but I'm still going to ask anyway.
What's the different between FAT version, and the SLIM version?
I mean in term of system differences, not physically.
mickeynic
QUOTE(Heislyc @ Feb 26 2008, 10:32 PM)
Hi, I'm planning to get deep red PSP slim, but how to I know if its really deep red model, instead of imitated cover?

From PSP Beginner Guide, it mentioned how to verify geninue battery pack, how about ac charger?

Is it deep red PSP means PSP-2000DR? Meaning there should be this code printed on the board(after open UMD door)?

i have a deep red slim psp ..
as i bought it , just simply .. never see so much to it
just test , and play and make sure everything is working

well , i can only differentiates that deep red slim psp comes with a white and DEEP red PSP boX brows.gif

and the serial code of the box and ur psp handset .. its same serial code lor shocking.gif

OHYAH .. and i just checked my psp deep red is 2006
strife01
1 question: brick = crash in other term?
mickeynic
QUOTE(strife01 @ Feb 26 2008, 11:18 PM)

i never face such problem before
but i think it means cannot turn on ur psp gua .. black screen blink.gif
mickeynic
QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Feb 26 2008, 10:41 PM)
I'm not sure weather this question has been ask before or not.
Sorry if it had, but I'm still going to ask anyway.
What's the different between FAT version, and the SLIM version?
I mean in term of system differences, not physically.

as im a noob to answer , correct me if im wrong ..

SLIM can use SKYPE
FAT can't
SLIM loading is faster abit
FAT is slower abit ... (as ive seen the youtube video shown)

i think for my knowledge thats abt the difference ..
Lakum
QUOTE(strife01 @ Feb 26 2008, 11:18 PM)

Crash in game or XMB doesnt count as brick.

QUOTE(mickeynic @ Feb 26 2008, 11:22 PM)
i never face such problem before
but i think it means cannot turn on ur psp gua .. black screen  blink.gif

Yes, something like that. Switch on the PSP, power led light on...nothing on the screen. If still can enter recovery menu, it is semi-brick. If cant, full brick sweat.gif
mickeynic
hehehe .. phew luckily answer almost correctly .. rclxms.gif
strife01
thanks for the reply.

@mickeynic: is that psp earphone in your siggy? o_o
mickeynic
QUOTE(strife01 @ Feb 26 2008, 11:34 PM)
thanks for the reply.

@mickeynic: is that psp earphone in your siggy? o_o

yup , cheap one rm30 only .. bought new one from a shop near asia cafe in subang lor

but i MUSTTTTTT say its dam GOOD sound quality as i had used a PSP sony original earphone with remote ..zzzz
BIG difference though that cost rm120
strife01
which shop in subang? o_o u mean apposite taylor's college 1?
mickeynic
i must ask my fren who also has a psp using this earphone wor..
cos what i know is he bought it from a shop near asia cafe in subang

im not sure which shop it is .. but Around that corner .. cos he works near there , and he got one for me

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2008-02D...ay_Warranty.htm

this above link is one of the seller from lelong.com
but the price is higher compared with mine rm30

here is also a pic of it ...

And LOL .. i think this could be a better way for ppl to know im actually a GIRL .. maybe its my fault
cos i only NOTICE .. y everyone pm me and calls me BRO .. zzzz
The reason is i only notice i didnt show im a FEMALE in GENDER in my profile and now that ive change it cry.gif
strife01
oh i see tongue.gif. tell me when u know which shop it is. lol. btw, can take a clear photo of it. Upload and pm me the link? tongue.gif im searching for an earphone right now. =(
Shufflerz
QUOTE(mickeynic @ Feb 26 2008, 11:25 PM)
as im a noob to answer , correct me if im wrong ..

SLIM can use SKYPE
FAT can't
SLIM loading is faster abit
FAT is slower abit ... (as ive seen the youtube video shown)

i think for my knowledge thats abt the difference ..

SKYPE - I don't care this much, or can I say, at all. tongue.gif
Loading speed - Yup I've see this over the net, like very significant.

Other than the above 2, anyone got additional info?
strife01
QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Feb 26 2008, 11:56 PM)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_P...e_Slim_and_Lite
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_Portable

i think this 2 links can help to clear your question tongue.gif
Heislyc
QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Feb 26 2008, 11:56 PM)

Hey bro...(i mean gal tongue.gif)

Watch this > http://youtube.com/watch?v=fMtY-I4C9d0 (and related videos)

Where you saw the video about loading speed? biggrin.gif
Shufflerz
QUOTE(Heislyc @ Feb 27 2008, 12:14 AM)
Hey bro...(i mean gal tongue.gif)

Watch this > http://youtube.com/watch?v=fMtY-I4C9d0 (and related videos)

Where you saw the video about loading speed? biggrin.gif

Thanks for the vids.
Erm, as for the loading speed vid, refer HERE.
Quite significant.
kunimi
Hi guys/girls can psp install any software like msn etc etc??? Still very noob with my psp =.=''
Btw do i need to change any settings so that I can browse internet faster?? Even loading Lowyat main page takes few quite a time =.=''
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.