Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: PlayStation Portable For Beginners | V2
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch > Playstation
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48
Mgsrulz
QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Feb 19 2008, 04:26 PM)
hahaha..i dont know why but yes, i did noticed dell's USB are running at lightning speed.very much faster than other pc.hahaha..

and 700mb should not be 30mins..i think ur usb or card reader is running on slow usb.i'm using fake 4gb non high speed too.but didnt took that long.

more or less..
it feels like forever when im sitting in front of the pc tongue.gif

nevertheless,dell's memory card reader is rclxms.gif thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
msn83235502
it's not the memory card reader,i think it's the architecture inside it itself.coz transferring using ext hdd also very fast.go in or go out is the same.great job.
enCORe
Its the slow card reader which is not really USB 2, Im using decent multicard reader cheap brand 'Clipart' is very good. But I prefer to make contact between PSP with PC, becoz the speed still the same (USB 480MB)
Mgsrulz
QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Feb 19 2008, 04:38 PM)
it's not the memory card reader,i think it's the architecture inside it itself.coz transferring using ext hdd also very fast.go in or go out is the same.great job.

inside what?the mspd?

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 19 2008, 11:09 PM)
Its the slow card reader which is not really USB 2, Im using decent multicard reader cheap brand 'Clipart' is very good. But I prefer to make contact between PSP with PC, becoz the speed still the same (USB 480MB)

in built card readers use usb ports? sweat.gif
msn83235502
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 20 2008, 12:19 AM)
inside what?the mspd?

inside the dell pc. rclxms.gif

erm.and yes.internal built-in may use many way.some usb,some ide,or whatsoever.it's just we dont see it and maybe different cable but hooked into the usb controller. nod.gif
akachester
QUOTE(greyfox @ Feb 19 2008, 04:16 PM)
we talk about umd movies , not game , yes there is option free umd region but it's not working

@bill3 like Lakum said i think you got free region umd movies .A lot people over the net/forum find it's not working

IC. Thanks for correcting me. Its just that i saw the Free UMD Region setting in the recovery menu (IIRC) and i thought that will allow us to play non-region free UMD as well. smile.gif

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Feb 19 2008, 04:26 PM)
hahaha..i dont know why but yes, i did noticed dell's USB are running at lightning speed.very much faster than other pc.hahaha..

and 700mb should not be 30mins..i think ur usb or card reader is running on slow usb.i'm using fake 4gb non high speed too.but didnt took that long.

Added on February 19, 2008, 4:28 pm

yup greyfox.eventhough there are fake region.but it still not work.i've tried mine with lakum's umd.

Wow...700MB for 2mins? Same case here for my 4GB memory. Damn, something with 700MB would take me, roughly about 10 - 12 mins to finish transferring doh.gif via USB cable.
Cyrus2k
hmm, actually, what is the 1.50 kernel for? I mean, wasn't the 3.80M33 firmware sufficient for gaming?
msn83235502
QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Feb 20 2008, 01:52 PM)
hmm, actually, what is the 1.50 kernel for? I mean, wasn't the 3.80M33 firmware sufficient for gaming?

dont bother about 1.5 kernel anymore.before this they are meant for fat and to run homebrews.but now developer make their homebrew runnable without 1.5 kernel because slim dont have it.so no need to worry. sweat.gif
lildaredevil906
QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Feb 19 2008, 12:02 PM)

edit: Screen cloths, can use those wipe specs cloth ah? Same material isnt it??

no one?? i wanna take off my psp already hehe =) so? can or not? i dont wanna scratch the LCD screen
Cyrus2k
QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Feb 20 2008, 04:57 PM)
dont bother about 1.5 kernel anymore.before this they are meant for fat and to run homebrews.but now developer make their homebrew runnable without 1.5 kernel because slim dont have it.so no need to worry. sweat.gif

hmm, I noticed that too; but then why they are still releasing 1.50 kernel addon for 3.90? hmm.gif (btw. mine is phat one sweat.gif )
Lakum
QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Feb 20 2008, 04:57 PM)

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Feb 20 2008, 05:28 PM)
hmm, I noticed that too; but then why they are still releasing 1.50 kernel addon for 3.90? hmm.gif (btw. mine is phat one sweat.gif )

Some homebrew still using 1.50 kernel thats why DaX still releasing 1.50 kernel addon. Even PSP slim now can use 1.50 kernel after DaX create the TimeMachine v0.1 to install 1.50 kernel on PSP slim.
epsilon_chinwk86
HAY GUYS

planning to buy a psp soon. Wanted a black one but tempted to get a silver set.

Question is does silver set get yellowish over time? like wat happened(frequently happened) to white coloured stuff.
Lacus
I don't think so..If will, u'll see tons of user complaining..Even the limited edition FF:Crisis Core PSP comes in silver tongue.gif
msn83235502
QUOTE(Lakum @ Feb 20 2008, 06:48 PM)
Some homebrew still using 1.50 kernel thats why DaX still releasing 1.50 kernel addon. Even PSP slim now can use 1.50 kernel after DaX create the TimeMachine v0.1 to install 1.50 kernel on PSP slim.

oh ya with time machine.forgot that.
but nevermind.i'd love to keep my phat without 1.5 kernel.more spaces for theme. thumbup.gif
Gilthoniel
i'm planning to get a PSP but when trying to research about homebrew stuff, I notice that alot of the FAQs are still related to the old 1.5 firmware of the phat psp.

my question is, is there a difference between the way things work then with the way things work now in the PSP slim with 3.90m33 etc?

I'd be really appreciative if someone can point me in the right direction to start and then I can begin my research more systematically.

Thanks!

ps: I've tried reading your threads and I have no idea what is kernel, etc etc.
aliftaufiq
QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Feb 21 2008, 01:47 AM)
oh ya with time machine.forgot that.
but nevermind.i'd love to keep my phat without 1.5 kernel.more spaces for theme. thumbup.gif

Yeah..Some custom theme need a lot of space.. sweat.gif
cyloh
QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Feb 21 2008, 02:37 AM)
i'm planning to get a PSP but when trying to research about homebrew stuff, I notice that alot of the FAQs are still related to the old 1.5 firmware of the phat psp.

my question is, is there a difference between the way things work then with the way things work now in the PSP slim with 3.90m33 etc?

I'd be really appreciative if someone can point me in the right direction to start and then I can begin my research more systematically.

Thanks!

ps: I've tried reading your threads and I have no idea what is kernel, etc etc.

Actually, homebrews that work with 1.50 kernel may work with 3.++ CFW.
You just need to convert the homebrew with PSPBrew (its a software) and try it out.
Aeon_Clock
anyone here using PSP radio?
stormaker
To all sifus,

Is there any software i can use to convert Divx, xvid ..... etc .avi video files, which support .srt and .sub subtitle files, so that it can be play on PSP Slim with subtitle display ?

Also, if i output to tv using the composite output cable, can it display the movie on TV with full screen ? And the video and audio will be clear or not ?

Thanks !
Lacus
psp video 9 can convert almost all..those files with embedded subs will b in the video u converted. Does not work will files that has to load the sub file (tried on gundam 00 mkv version.) Yes, it will display full screen but only works for LCD/Plasma TV. Video and sound, quite clear imo...Tried it at SCE last saturday tongue.gif
andythology
I can't seems to convert some rmvb files to mpeg4, using psp video 9 and xilisoft psp video converter.
is been 4hours, status is not moving or is been completed. but the file only 1KB in size.
radical85
i bricked my psp, i dunno what happened. im freaked out now
I tried to replace all the file in flash0 wif my backup, just copy and replace everything in it. And now i cant even enter recovery menu. Can only see the power light on and then off. Thats a full brick i assume cry.gif
damn i felt so bad killing my psp that way, is there any way i can unbrick it

edit: lol sorry dunno i have to post here
- ok i found out the only way to unbrick is to use pandora battery -__-
jmunchar
You can unbrick if you have a pandora battery. If not go back to the shop & pay $$$ to get it unbricked
aliftaufiq
U need pandora batt which requires 1 working psp to do it...Or else shop may quote u around rm30 for unbricking purpose
Lacus
swt...everyone tries to change XMB without reading the guide properly ><"
greyfox
QUOTE(radical85 @ Feb 21 2008, 05:11 PM)
i bricked my psp, i dunno what happened. im freaked out now
I tried to replace all the file in flash0 wif my backup, just copy and replace everything in it. And now i cant even enter recovery menu. Can only see the power light on and then off. Thats a full brick i assume  cry.gif
damn i felt so bad killing my psp that way, is there any way i can unbrick it

edit: lol sorry dunno i have to post here
- ok i found out the only way to unbrick is to use pandora battery -__-

if your psp is slim i hope you have NAND backup .
slim owner backup your NAND before you do anything
radical85
QUOTE(jmunchar @ Feb 21 2008, 05:36 PM)
You can unbrick if you have a pandora battery. If not go back to the shop & pay $$$ to get it unbricked

QUOTE(aliftaufiq @ Feb 21 2008, 08:39 PM)
U need pandora batt which requires 1 working psp to do it...Or else shop may quote u around rm30 for unbricking purpose

yeah, but prob is the place im studying now got no ppl selling psp. Got no extra psp now, have to wait till june only i can fix it. Rm30 sounds good to me though, better than buying a new battery

QUOTE(Lacus @ Feb 21 2008, 08:41 PM)
swt...everyone tries to change XMB without reading the guide properly ><"

no i didnt change the xmb.... haih hard to explain it here

QUOTE(greyfox @ Feb 22 2008, 05:39 AM)
if your psp is slim i hope you have NAND backup .
slim owner backup your NAND before you do anything

mine is psp fat fortunately biggrin.gif
aliftaufiq
Buying a batt for pandora is just a precaution..Haha
Well u can use it all over again and help ur friend who brick their psp too smile.gif
Lacus
lol.weird..I can make a pandora battery. And the weirdest thing is...My psp slim still can boot up like normal tongue.gif
aliftaufiq
QUOTE(Lacus @ Feb 22 2008, 12:18 PM)
lol.weird..I can make a pandora battery. And the weirdest thing is...My psp slim still can boot up like normal tongue.gif

I can't boot my psp normally using pandora batt sweat.gif
But of course can revert it back to normal wink.gif
syiafuku
sorry if this is already asked b4 ; when charging, is it normal if the orange LED doesn't go off immediately even after the battery charge reaches 100%?it's supposed to go off when the charging is complete right? icon_question.gif
Lakum
QUOTE(aliftaufiq @ Feb 23 2008, 10:02 AM)
I can't boot my psp normally using pandora batt sweat.gif
But of course can revert it back to normal wink.gif

U can use multi ipl loader to boot pandora battery to normal xmb. No need to change back the battery to normal as we need to find other PSP to make it pandora if ours brick, useless...

That is if u have only 1 battery like me... sweat.gif
WilliamG
Using slim now and i still don hav either pandora or my own NAND backup geez...guess hav to do it sometime when im free dry.gif
greyfox
QUOTE(WilliamG @ Feb 23 2008, 01:09 PM)
Using slim now and i still don hav either pandora or my own NAND backup geez...guess hav to do it sometime when im free dry.gif

you can make NAND backup without pandora battery . how?? Google is your friend sorry suddenly I'm no mood to spoon feeding anyone right now but only spoon feeding my baby laugh.gif
Existant
My PSP is PSP-1006 .
I tried upgrading it from 3.10 to Version3.90 today .

But it an error (DADADADA) came out .
Sigh .. I can't seems to play any new game now ..

I am bored ... Please help me NOW! IF anyone can tongue.gif

Thanks!!!!
greyfox
QUOTE(Existant @ Feb 23 2008, 11:29 PM)
My PSP is PSP-1006 .
I tried upgrading it from 3.10 to Version3.90 today .

But it an error (DADADADA) came out .
Sigh .. I can't seems to play any new game now ..

I am bored ... Please help me NOW! IF anyone can tongue.gif

Thanks!!!!

DADADADA - Running a FW Update in DAX custom FW
don't update using ori fw
you need to update with 3.52-4M33 then 3.90 m33
Lacus
Thats the weird thing. I can unpandora and pandora my battery anytime i want..Only works on my psp though...Can't work with others biggrin.gif
Existant
Hello greyfox ! I appreciate your help but I am really new to this PSP thing ... I don't know whats DAX ... FW is firmware , right ?

Can you please tell me the link to download the update of 3.52-4M33 and 3.90 M33 ? I am sorry !

Appreciate your help .. really ..
Lakum
QUOTE(Existant @ Feb 24 2008, 12:14 AM)
Hello greyfox ! I appreciate your help but I am really new to this PSP thing ... I don't know whats DAX ... FW is firmware , right ?

Can you please tell me the link to download the update of 3.52-4M33 and 3.90 M33 ? I am sorry !

Appreciate your help .. really ..

DAX mean Dark_Alex, a PSP developer.

U got DADADADA msg because u wanna update from custom firmware to original firmware. Just update it to custom firmware then..

U can download custom firmware and other files at http://www.dark-alex.org
Existant
Thank you so much Lakum !!!

But greyfox said I have to get 3.52-4 M33 first , does that means I DL the "3.52 M33-4" ? and then "3.90 RELEASE" ? Or is it "3.90 M33-2" ?

Sorry !!!
vorchiel
QUOTE(Existant @ Feb 24 2008, 12:50 AM)
Thank you so much Lakum !!!

But greyfox said I have to get 3.52-4 M33 first , does that means I DL the "3.52 M33-4" ? and then "3.90 RELEASE" ? Or is it "3.90 M33-2" ?

Sorry !!!

If in doubt, do it incrementally or read the README of your final desired firmware for requirements
Existant
Sigh .. I am extremely new to this ...

I DL-ed 3.52 M33-4 and the official 3.52 , renamed it to 352.PBP . I pressed on the "M33CREATOR" which stats a "3:33:33" on the screen . An error came out again ..

My current version is "3.10 OE-A' "

I am sorry again guys .. Sigh
vorchiel
QUOTE(Existant @ Feb 24 2008, 01:42 AM)
Sigh .. I am extremely new to this ...

I DL-ed 3.52 M33-4 and the official 3.52 , renamed it to 352.PBP . I pressed on the "M33CREATOR" which stats a "3:33:33" on the screen . An error came out again ..

My current version is "3.10 OE-A' "

I am sorry again guys .. Sigh

Try with 3.52 M33-1 first
Existant
So I try 3.52 M33-1 , do I straight away access it ? Or just download M33-1 and then access the official file .. and then 3.52 M33-2 and so on ?
I am sorry if I am being annoying ... Hope you can shed some light .. thanks !!!
vorchiel
Download 3.52 M33 (1).. put the 352pbp as usual and follow the readme.. after your PSP is on 3.52 M33 (1), then upgrade incrementally to 3.52 M33-3 and then only to 3.90 M33
Existant
Ok I copied the M33CREATOR file to my PSP/GAME , and then I copied my 352.PBP into it .. Accessed it from my PSP , an error (80020148)came out .. sayin' "The game could not be started" ... sigh
vorchiel
Try to put in PSP/GAME150
Existant
Sorry vorchiel , I know you are trying very hard to help me ! I am sorry for all the troubles ..

Anyway , I put it into PSP/GAME150 , I once again , accessed the M33 thing . A command thingy came up : --

3.52 M33 FIRMWARE CREATOR

Loading 1.50 firmware... File 150.BPB couldn's be opened.

Do I have to install the 1.50 firmare and everything too ? oh man ..
Lakum
QUOTE(Existant @ Feb 24 2008, 02:05 AM)
Sorry vorchiel , I know you are trying very hard to help me ! I am sorry for all the troubles ..

Anyway , I put it into PSP/GAME150 , I once again , accessed the M33 thing . A command thingy came up : --

3.52 M33 FIRMWARE CREATOR

Loading 1.50 firmware... File 150.BPB couldn's be opened.
Do I have to install the 1.50 firmare and everything too ? oh man ..

Have u download the official 1.50 firmware eboot? U need official 3.52 eboot and 1.50 eboot, both rename to 352.PBP and 150.PBP (its not *.BPB tongue.gif). And both of it must be in the M33CREATOR folder.
vorchiel
I guess so.. Follow the guide in 3.50m33 starting from step 3 I think.. Sorry I'm not really familiar with earlier FWs of PSP as I've only been on Slim since 1-2 months ago notworthy.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.