kamikraze
Nov 19 2008, 03:40 AM
learn programming not really hard lol.. me comp science student act..
c or c++ is the foundation language of most of common use programming language today.. like java n php.. huhu..
self learning is very useful for job application for engineering course..
chicaman
Nov 19 2008, 06:38 AM
QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 19 2008, 03:40 AM)
learn programming not really hard lol.. me comp science student act..
c or c++ is the foundation language of most of common use programming language today.. like java n php.. huhu..
self learning is very useful for job application for engineering course..
Programming in PSP homebrew shouldnt be difficult

, need to know the libraries and reserve word and start programming
Remember the most common
Hello World when most of the people start learning programming

, I remember the first program I wrote was printed with
Hello World.
CODE
#include <pspkernel.h>
#include <pspdebug.h>
#define printf pspDebugScreenPrintf
/* Exit callback */
int exit_callback(int arg1, int arg2, void *common) {
sceKernelExitGame();
return 0;
}
/* Callback thread */
int CallbackThread(SceSize args, void *argp) {
int cbid;
cbid = sceKernelCreateCallback("Exit Callback", exit_callback, NULL);
sceKernelRegisterExitCallback(cbid);
sceKernelSleepThreadCB();
return 0;
}
/* Sets up the callback thread and returns its thread id */
int SetupCallbacks(void) {
int thid = 0;
thid = sceKernelCreateThread("update_thread", CallbackThread, 0x11, 0xFA0, 0, 0);
if(thid >= 0) {
sceKernelStartThread(thid, 0, 0);
}
return thid;
}
int main() {
pspDebugScreenInit();
SetupCallbacks();
printf("Hello World, Lowyat PSP Thread!");
sceKernelSleepThread();
return 0;
}
Here is a simple homebrew program and will show
Hello World, Lowyat PSP Thread! , Its not written by me, I copy and paste and edit it to show its easy (Might contain error, so point it out if you can spot it). But not many MALAYSIAN writes homebrew program except
Playboy21.
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 09:44 AM
hehehehehe
Yes,developing your own homebrew is simple,as chicaman mentioned.Just refer to the headers,the functions,then insert them in your code.Add the callbacks,and you're good to go.
Added on November 19, 2008, 9:46 amAlso,you'll need plenty of patience.Remember Playboy's Shooter? I coded about 4000 + lines of code for that game.

No joke.
benwong88
Nov 19 2008, 11:03 AM
hoho.. maybe i should go learn c or c++.. might be fun
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 11:07 AM
Yup, it'll be cool. Imagine if we manage to form a team. We can name it Team LYN and we can code together lol. That'll be cool
hagon81
Nov 19 2008, 12:03 PM
i hav two questions here
1) my UMD seems to be not working. UMD inserted and it wont load
any solution?
2) can i update from 3.80m33 to 5.00m33 directly?
thanks in advance
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 12:11 PM
I don't know about the UMD.
About the upgrade,yes,you can upgrade directly.
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 12:12 PM
Note : There have been many cases of bricks upon upgrade,so it's up to you to take the risk.Otherwise,it's all good.Requirements : 1)A phat/slim psp which has custom firmware 3.52m33-3 or any firmware above it.
*Minimum requirement is 3.52m33-3*
Guide1) First of all,you need to set your kernel to 3.xx/4.xx.You can do so in recovery mode or in your VSH menu (if you have the VSH addon plugin installed)
**Recovery : Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then HOLD R and boot your psp up.Now go to configuration,and click X at the "Game Folder Homebrew" option until it displays as 3.xx/4.xx kernel.Example : On a 3.52m33-3/4 psp,it should show as 3.52 kernel. 2) Download the 5.00M33 installer :
http://exophase.com/files/psp/5.00M33.rar3) Download the 5.00 eboot.pbp :
http://exophase.com/files/psp/500.PBP4) Use your preferred software to extract the 5.00M33 rar file.You should now get two folders (UPDATE and Translate) as well as a readme.txt file.
5) Copy the UPDATE folder and paste it in ms0:/PSP/GAME.
** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp **
6)Time,for the 5.00 eboot (step 2).
7) Copy the 500.PBP and paste it in your ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE directory.
** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp and 500.pbp **
8) That's all,seriously.All you need to do now is to run the installer on your PSP.
** The installer will seem very official like,but don't worry,that's how it's supposed to be like **
9)
Remember,once the update is over,PRESS X/O when it asks you to do so or your psp will brick!!10) What else,enjoy!
LYNsucks
Nov 19 2008, 07:22 PM
Hey Playboy21, what tool/library u use to create homebrew game on da psp?
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 07:27 PM
PSPSDK.
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 08:03 PM
Hey guys, i just found this cool plugin that allows you to change your psp's custom firmware name to anything you want like "13.37 Playboy Edition" or anything like that.
ONLY FOR 5.00 CUSTOM FIRMWARES
You can find the download link here :
5.00M33 SpoofFeel free to post screenshots of your psp's nickname in the "PSP CUSTOMIZATION THREAD - PIMP YOUR PSP by wetfusion" but REMEMBER to block your Mac Address as developers can do wonders with it.
DFlo
Nov 19 2008, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 16 2008, 01:32 PM)
My brew' has made it to the front page of psp-hacks.com.Check it out.
http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/1603Great job,
Playboy21!
5zal06
Nov 19 2008, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 19 2008, 08:03 PM)
Hey guys, i just found this cool plugin that allows you to change your psp's custom firmware name to anything you want like "13.37 Playboy Edition" or anything like that.
ONLY FOR 5.00 CUSTOM FIRMWARES
You can find the download link here :
5.00M33 SpoofFeel free to post screenshots of your psp's nickname in the "PSP CUSTOMIZATION THREAD - PIMP YOUR PSP by wetfusion" but REMEMBER to block your Mac Address as developers can do wonders with it.wow,thanks but im still using 3.71
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Nov 19 2008, 10:23 PM)
Thanks man

@5zal06 : I can't use it either, i'm on 4.01m33-2.
5zal06
Nov 19 2008, 10:42 PM
why u din't update?
i wnt but feel a bit lazy la.
bz with xbox
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 10:44 PM
Well, i see no reason to upgrade to 5.00M33. It does not have any fancy features apart from it's wave and PSN store. To be honest with you, i actually would have remained at 3.52m33-4 if it wasn't for the fact that it would not be able to use CXMB.
5zal06
Nov 19 2008, 10:46 PM
i see
i also update to 3.71m33 just because of the cxmb
but nowdays,if u want to play new games,u must update it to newest firmware
why version 4.01 only has 1??suddenly go to 5.00
coldfission
Nov 19 2008, 11:04 PM
hi playboy..
i was amazed when i saw ur name on psp-hacks.com. wow.. nowadays really got many expert.. juz 15 yrs old ald able to write such complicated program for psp. i dun think i can do tat lo.. haha.. i hv study some c and c++ in university and i'm quite interested to know more about ur homebrew development.. so wat's ur new project? i'd like to write some psp homebrew too.. however, i don't know how to start it. i dun hv the pspsdk too. those header files are not available in my visual studio ... so do u hv any tutorial guide to let me start off. thx.
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 11:04 PM
5zal06, sony memang cam tu lol
But there is a 4.20 firmware for PSP 3000.
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(coldfission @ Nov 19 2008, 11:04 PM)
hi playboy..
i was amazed when i saw ur name on psp-hacks.com. wow.. nowadays really got many expert.. juz 15 yrs old ald able to write such complicated program for psp. i dun think i can do tat lo.. haha.. i hv study some c and c++ in university and i'm quite interested to know more about ur homebrew development.. so wat's ur new project? i'd like to write some psp homebrew too.. however, i don't know how to start it. i dun hv the pspsdk too. those header files are not available in my visual studio ... so do u hv any tutorial guide to let me start off. thx.
lol thanks

My current project is TrickBrick v4. It'll be released soon.
I'll give you an easy guide. You're using Windows right? If yes, follow
this tutorial.
Set up a developer's environment first, then go to the next lesson and so on. It can be frustrating, but the end result is worth it. Happy programming man!
coldfission
Nov 19 2008, 11:09 PM
lol, basic programming is not a big problem for me as i ald hv the fundamental in c and c++. i suppose that the code u write is c++ right?
jacster
Nov 19 2008, 11:14 PM
which is better ISO or CSO?
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 11:15 PM
No, that doesn't teach you how to program. It helps you install psptoolchain. It also teaches you about the psp terms. For example, in an odinary C code, you'd use printf to print some characters to your screen, but here you'd have to use pspDebugScreenPrintf("blah\n");. I assume you know that already, but that's just an example.
No, i code in C.
Added on November 19, 2008, 11:15 pmjacster, isos for big sticks.
cso's for small sticks.
jacster
Nov 19 2008, 11:19 PM
ermmmmm i tot ISO works better
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 11:21 PM
CSO is just a compressed version of an iso.
coldfission
Nov 19 2008, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 19 2008, 11:15 PM)
No, that doesn't teach you how to program. It helps you install psptoolchain. It also teaches you about the psp terms. For example, in an odinary C code, you'd use printf to print some characters to your screen, but here you'd have to use pspDebugScreenPrintf("blah\n");. I assume you know that already, but that's just an example.
No, i code in C.
oh i see.. i used to code in c++. setting up the sdk environment seems time consuming.. however i will try it when im free. do it as my part time work..
5zal06
Nov 19 2008, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 19 2008, 11:04 PM)
5zal06, sony memang cam tu lol
But there is a 4.20 firmware for PSP 3000.
xclusive to 3k only?
Playboy21
Nov 19 2008, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(coldfission @ Nov 19 2008, 11:21 PM)
oh i see.. i used to code in c++. setting up the sdk environment seems time consuming.. however i will try it when im free. do it as my part time work..

Yup. It consumes a lot of time.

5zal06, yes for 3k's only.
-milo-
Nov 20 2008, 01:07 AM
hi guys just wanna ask those psp units sold at sony style or any sony outlets can be modded? i think i read somewhere that some of the newer slim psp cant be modded,how do we identify them?
Playboy21
Nov 20 2008, 01:44 AM
Well, newer slim units and all psp3000 units come with a Pandora proof motherboard that cannot be hacked even by a Pandora's Battery up to date. However, Datel claim to have developed a new battery tool that is capable of hacking newer slim units as well as psp3000 units. It has not been confirmed yet though, still no Hello World on psp3000's so we shall see how it goes.
chicaman
Nov 20 2008, 04:10 AM
Even if datel tool is able to turn on the service mode, but that doesnt mean custom firmware is working.
Read here my explanation, add some traffic to my blog
http://kenwee.blogspot.com/2008/11/psp-300...-hacked_19.html
Playboy21
Nov 20 2008, 04:12 AM
lol ok
chicaman
Nov 20 2008, 04:26 AM
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 20 2008, 04:12 AM)
lol ok

ok spam post.... time to sleep lol~
david888
Nov 20 2008, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 19 2008, 11:15 PM)
No, i code in C.
Added on November 19, 2008, 11:15 pmjacster, isos for big sticks.
cso's for small sticks.
pspDebugScreenPrintf("blah\n")
hmmm, seems like the psp developement not that tough, as long as someone has some c programming background.
-milo-
Nov 20 2008, 11:34 AM
so psp 3000 is unmoddable..then how do we know which psp 2000 that are unmoddable?
Playboy21
Nov 20 2008, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(david888 @ Nov 20 2008, 11:13 AM)
hmmm, seems like the psp developement not that tough, as long as someone has some c programming background.
True, it's not that tough at all.
DFlo
Nov 20 2008, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(david888 @ Nov 20 2008, 11:13 AM)
david888, we're looking forward to a piece of homebrew from you then!
Lakum
Nov 20 2008, 12:31 PM
What is the good PDF reader for PSP?
chicaman
Nov 20 2008, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(-milo- @ Nov 20 2008, 11:34 AM)
so psp 3000 is unmoddable..then how do we know which psp 2000 that are unmoddable?
TA-088 mobo ~
Playboy21
Nov 20 2008, 01:27 PM
Lakum, BookR is my choice.
benwong88
Nov 20 2008, 01:31 PM
that's strange, i've always thought psp 200x & psp3k with the 088 boards are unhackable because of the tachyon/IPL thing.. not because of battery.
david888
Nov 20 2008, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Nov 20 2008, 12:28 PM)
david888, we're looking forward to a piece of homebrew from you then!

too bad, no time for this yet. maybe next time when i got free time.
Lakum
Nov 20 2008, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 20 2008, 01:27 PM)
Lakum, BookR is my choice.
Ok thanks.
Playboy21
Nov 20 2008, 08:36 PM
No problem man
C-Note
Nov 20 2008, 08:45 PM
hey guys jz got my new psp2k in HongKong. HKD2050(arnd RM935) for a white psp wit 8gb card wit firmware 4.01 m33-2. so far i tried the system and its pretty neat nd nice. howeva jz a lil glitch here, when i play Justice League, the game trailer seems to be a lil off-sync wit the sound(as in a lil slower den the video). iz der any solution? and also, how come my pc prompts me to format my card everytime i insert it? it jz wont read the card.
-milo-
Nov 20 2008, 09:06 PM
normally on the box can see wat mobo the psp is having? or we have some special way to identify wat mobo it is?
metalslayer
Nov 20 2008, 09:40 PM
hi guys, i juz wan to ask..
i juz bought my psp last weeks wednesday and i found that my psp got 1 very2 small white dot at the side of the screen between the button.., so at 1st i tot is dush then i use my finger to remove it but cant then i see closer to the screen and i found that is some small white dot and i tot is dead pixel not so sure coz i am new for this stuff.. so, i search in the forum and i find out the ans adi..my psp having a stuck pixel .. so at this week wednesday i bring my psp to the shop where i bought it and i ask the fellow who sell to me ..
me : bro, i found that the psp u sell to me wan got 1 white dot at the right side of the button between the screen.. so he take my psp and see..
seller : confirm, is dead pixel..
me : so how..?
seller : cant do anythings..
me : cant be solve the prob...?
seller : sori cant do anything.
me : so cant do anything adi.. can i change another unit since i bought from u juz 1 weeks coz i scare later on the prob will be effect the console or spoil ...
seller : why, u buy that tm nvr check and aft 1 weeks only comeback say got dead pixel aft sold adi cant change the unit even u buy from
sony center oso they wont allow u to change another unit aft u live the sony center... if the dot apper 7 dot the sony will allow u to change wan sony center say..
me : but this unit bought from ur shop last weeks wednesday and juz 1 weeks some more i not familiar about psp hw to check..and u nvr tell me or explain to me hw to check...i only noe hw to check the screen got crack or calar, button funtioning or not and got screen protecter onot that all i noe hw to check the psp... and if my psp later on got 7 dot then i bring back to ur shop to change ..?
seller : sori, u suit check on the spot before u live the shop ... and nw got prob..and aft that if got prob somemore or got 7 dot in the the screen i cant change another unit to u...
me : i tot got prob then bring back to u and nw u say cannot help adi...
guys, izit true wat is the seller say..? coz i am not familiar wit psp dono wat he say wan is correct or wrong ... becoz some of the shop seller will be not honest and untrustable to buyer and i need u guys opinion .... thankue very much..
ajis
Nov 20 2008, 10:06 PM
edit: wrong post
hagon81
Nov 20 2008, 10:46 PM
thanks for the answering guys
I have another question.
im using CFW 500m33-3
i downloaded some demos from PSN
but it cant play and given error 80010013
Anyone can help on this?
david888
Nov 20 2008, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 20 2008, 08:45 PM)
hey guys jz got my new psp2k in HongKong. HKD2050(arnd RM935) for a white psp wit 8gb card wit firmware 4.01 m33-2. so far i tried the system and its pretty neat nd nice. howeva jz a lil glitch here, when i play Justice League, the game trailer seems to be a lil off-sync wit the sound(as in a lil slower den the video). iz der any solution? and also, how come my pc prompts me to format my card everytime i insert it? it jz wont read the card.
i guess u are using high compress CSO instead of ISO.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.