Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: PlayStation Portable For Beginners | V2
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch > Playstation
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48
toottut89
you can see how their face are when you ask about 4.01. i asked before a shop and he was like - that firmware cannot play games one.

so you can tell that an idiot is lying.
Playboy21
hehe,penmarker and toottut89 are absulutely right.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
SheepKilledMe
i see, sounds reasonable,
then must be the shopdealer is lying, they install 3.9, when have install to many customer, they will say they have 'newer' ver 4.01 then ask people to upgrade again
toottut89
QUOTE(SheepKilledMe @ Sep 20 2008, 06:34 AM)
i see, sounds reasonable,
then must be the shopdealer is lying, they install 3.9, when have install to many customer, they will say they have 'newer' ver 4.01 then ask people to upgrade again

it might be like that, a marketing strategy, or in other words they are outdated.
jkx130289
I tried to go online via WIFI on Hot shots golf: open tee 2.... but it says connecting to server for a long time... about 30 mins....so i got fed up and off it.... is there anything wrong with my psp or my ahem game or is it streamyx sux? pls help
yeeck06
I just got my new PSP-2000 last week but the Operation manual or quick reference come with Japanese language. Anyone know where can I download the English version from website? Thanks for your help!
ccl9n
hi,guys

i just buy new psp, and i access into memory card and saw so many folder, got games, theme.......

here is the question, if i buy another memory stick put into psp, does the psp will recreate this folders into my new memory or i had to do it manually, like create new file then rename it?

if yes, then 4.01 m33-2 need to create how many folders, and wat type?
or i just create the same folder from the old memory into new memory card? got any tutorial or guide for this? i just want to know it .

if no.............then what will happen?
5zal06
QUOTE(ccl9n @ Sep 20 2008, 11:13 PM)
hi,guys

i just buy new psp,  and i access into memory card and saw so many folder, got games, theme.......

here is the question, if i buy another memory stick put into psp, does the psp will recreate this folders into my new memory or i had to do it manually, like create new file then rename it?

or i just create the same folder from the old memory into new memory card? got any tutorial or guide for this? i just want to know it .

usually it will create the folder itself.
but if u dun have any folders on m.stick and want to create it
just create this

ISO(MUST BE CAPITAL LETTERs)- its for storing ahem game.psp game only
VIDEO - for video than support .mp4 format
MUSIC - for mp3
PSP-(i think this one will be on every m.stick,if not maybe your psp folder is hidden,try tu unhide it.)

if u have a psp chotto shot,they will create another folder itself

btw,just wanna ask,my psp camera,when im taking photos (like 3g) er..like a mirror..
after taking photos the photo is..from left to right..(mcm trbalik)..sorry,dunno how to xplain la..
ccl9n
hi, guys may i know psp theme , where u guys download ? any good site? psp theme, support all version? because mine is 4.01 m33-2
penmarker
QUOTE(jkx130289 @ Sep 20 2008, 02:24 PM)
I tried to go online via WIFI on Hot shots golf: open tee 2.... but it says connecting to server for a long time... about 30 mins....so i got fed up and off it.... is there anything wrong with my psp or my ahem game or is it streamyx sux? pls help

try connecting somewhere else. psp got some wifi compatibility issues.

QUOTE(yeeck06 @ Sep 20 2008, 09:32 PM)
I just got my new PSP-2000 last week but the Operation manual or quick reference come with Japanese language. Anyone know where can I download the English version from website? Thanks for your help!

here you go.
Online User Manual
but its not a printable version and its interactive. but hope it helps. smile.gif

QUOTE(ccl9n @ Sep 21 2008, 06:31 AM)
hi, guys may i know psp theme , where u guys download ? any good site? psp theme, support all version? because mine is 4.01 m33-2

depends. there are 2 types of themes.
CXMB themes (Custom Cross Media Browser)
XMB themes

the CXMB themes is a little more complicated than the XMB themes and it relies on firmware version to be used. but the XMB themes are a lot more simpler, but they only change the icons and background of the main menu. you can backtrack this or the other psp thread for more info. i cant really remember which one.
ihawk98
QUOTE(ccl9n @ Sep 20 2008, 11:13 PM)
hi,guys

i just buy new psp,  and i access into memory card and saw so many folder, got games, theme.......

i just got a new 8gb mspd last week. just pop it into your psp and look for the "format Memory stick" option. it creates all the necessary folders after that.
lawl
How to put videos in psp? What format should i use?
penmarker
QUOTE(lawl @ Sep 21 2008, 03:37 PM)
How to put videos in psp? What format should i use?

im tired of answering the same questions over and over again..
*sigh*

psp supports MP4 format video. place it in your video folder. the one named VIDEO.
man..how obvious should it be..
C-Note
hey guys i duno wat color to get. i hav an eye on the white one but many ppl complained abt it getting stained by dirt in the long run nd the buttons turning yellow..analog button turning black...etc. So which color do u think is best? im oso interested in silver, black nd red.
nevenchailj
QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 21 2008, 07:07 PM)
hey guys i duno wat color to get. i hav an eye on the white one but many ppl complained abt it getting stained by dirt in the long run nd the buttons turning yellow..analog button turning black...etc. So which color do u think is best? im oso interested in silver, black nd red.

I wanted to get a white PSP too but I realized that it would turn colour too as everyone said. So I got myself a red and it matches my Sony Vaio that is in red too. brows.gif
ReaperOfSoul
Hey guys I need some urgent help here. rclxub.gif
My psp was version 3.80-M xx . Just now I updated the firmware to official 3.93 without realising it wont read iso/cso file .
What should I do now to change it to custom firmware ? cry.gif
Pls help me Thx
blackamikaze

its up to u la... diffrent people have diffrent taste. Just choose any colour u like.. no colour is the best. All same...
penmarker
QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Sep 21 2008, 07:27 PM)
Hey guys I need some urgent help here.  rclxub.gif 
My psp was version 3.80-M xx . Just now I updated the firmware to official 3.93 without realising it wont read iso/cso file .
What should I do now to change it to custom firmware ?  cry.gif 
Pls help me Thx

re-flash it to custom firmware. look for playboy21 posts. he got a guide for it.
ReaperOfSoul
From his posts he says that I need pandora battery to flash from an official firmware cry.gif . Any ideas ??
ccl9n
looks like someone pening already since so many newbieee asking same question at psp section these day because so many new gamers play psp lolz
ReaperOfSoul
Nobody can help ? cry.gif
Is Pandora battery the only way to change it to custom firmware back? Any shops in 1utama , curve have this service? Thanks
blackamikaze
QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Sep 21 2008, 07:54 PM)
Nobody can help ?  cry.gif
Is Pandora battery the only way to change it to custom firmware back? Any shops in 1utama , curve have this service? Thanks

yes... only pandora battery can do the job. Any game shop have this services...
penmarker
maybe i should gather all the posts and create a FAQ or something.
@_@

Added on September 21, 2008, 9:40 pmthe complete FAQ by ts.
5zal06
QUOTE(penmarker @ Sep 21 2008, 04:04 PM)
im tired of answering the same questions over and over again..
*sigh*

psp supports MP4 format video. place it in your video folder. the one named VIDEO.
man..how obvious should it be..

answer my prob,it different from the others.
read at pge 88
penmarker
QUOTE(5zal06 @ Sep 20 2008, 11:59 PM)
btw,just wanna ask,my psp camera,when im taking photos (like 3g) er..like a mirror..
after taking photos the photo is..from left to right..(mcm trbalik)..sorry,dunno how to xplain la..

this one? ok ok. =] the chotto shot mimics a mirror. so it just turns into a mirror. so, sideways, like a 3g cam.
jkx130289

so if u want white but dont want it so dirty or turn yellow so why not choose a color a cross between white and black... which is SILVER... got mine recently and its nice.... cheerio
5zal06
QUOTE(penmarker @ Sep 22 2008, 09:44 AM)
this one? ok ok. =] the chotto shot mimics a mirror. so it just turns into a mirror. so, sideways, like a 3g cam.

is there anyway i want to turn it back to normal??
when i click R,and take the photo,-the photo looks normal,but after saves it,it become sideway

and when taking video more than 15 sec,how im gonna put that vid to psp chotto shot edit??must create what folder?

ya,btw,can u give all of your setting of your chotto shot
irkuysm
Ussualy shop will give 1 year free service after u buy a new PSP.

Can some one tell me what is the 1 year free service given by shop ussually??
Free download games?
allen96713
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Sep 19 2008, 04:40 PM)
The difference between all those three custom firmwares is the firmware itself.

I disagree with what the shopdealer told you regarding the stability of the firmware.All three firmwares were made by the very same developer (Apart from 3.93m33),and they all posses the very same functions thus making them all similar and equally good.There is no such thing as "This is more stable than that and so on".

4.01m33-2 is very good and 99% bug free.I've been using it for a period of time now,and i see nothing wrong with it.I had the very same feeling when i was back on 3.40oe-a and when i was on 3.52m33-4.It actually isn't the firmware,it is the user itself.It depends on what you want to do on your psp.For example,many prefer 3.71m33 and 3.52m33 for their plugins.

hi, playboy long time no see,
i found a bug between 3.71 m33 and 3.90/4.01m33
if the ISO name is in chinese word, then 3.90/4.01m33 cannot open the games....

but 3.71 m33 dont have this kind of problem smile.gif

but just a simple bug for those want to play chinese ISO games:)
penmarker
QUOTE(5zal06 @ Sep 22 2008, 03:49 PM)
is there anyway i want to turn it back to normal??
when i click R,and take the photo,-the photo looks normal,but after saves it,it become sideway

and when taking video more than 15 sec,how im gonna put that vid to psp chotto shot edit??must create what folder?

ya,btw,can u give all of your setting of your chotto shot

i dont have a chotto shot, sorry. i read somewhere about that mirror effect. its one of the features.
irkuysm
Noob question here.

If i want to change my battery to higher capacity,i need to change my charger or the normal chrager can be use to chrage the battery??
ccl9n
HOW TO GO TO VSH MENU ? I'M USING 4.01 M33-2 VERSION
penmarker
QUOTE(irkuysm @ Sep 22 2008, 08:54 PM)
Noob question here.

If i want to change my battery to higher capacity,i need to change my charger or the normal chrager can be use to chrage the battery??

no need. laugh.gif
the MAh is higher, but the voltage is the same. so can use the same charger.

QUOTE(ccl9n @ Sep 23 2008, 12:48 AM)
HOW TO GO TO VSH MENU ? I'M USING 4.01 M33-2 VERSION

turn off your psp by pushing and holding the power button until it shuts down. then press and hold the R button and turn it on. it'll take you to the recovery mode.
enable the VSH menu and exit the recovery mode.

in the XMB, press the select button. smile.gif
xXAaronXx
Does SanDisk M2 8Gb compateble for psp??? I wanna double confirm be4 I buy it
blackamikaze
QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Sep 23 2008, 02:04 PM)
Does SanDisk M2 8Gb compateble for psp??? I wanna double confirm be4 I buy it

yes... confirm can use...
ccl9n
Sandisk , yeah can used i already buy one from here

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/514973/+0
rockstar teddy
guys..u all knw how much n where to reflash the firmware?im at bukitbintang area
penmarker
any gameshop selling psp will do. but the prices range from just 30 to 80. depends where n how u talk with them. wink.gif
dep18
ello...new at here...have a noob question
if browse internet on psp...will virus get to it...if yes how to remove it...
wetfusion
aik kat putera pun ko post??
pkai la antivirus komputer... jgn risau, setakat ni xde lagi virus yang boleh harm psp sbb psp pkai memory flash.
xXAaronXx
I juz got my M2 8GB wif mspd adapter. I find the loading slightly slow then using the fake
dep18
QUOTE(wetfusion @ Sep 24 2008, 01:49 PM)
aik kat putera pun ko post??
pkai la antivirus komputer... jgn risau, setakat ni xde lagi virus yang boleh harm psp sbb psp pkai memory flash.

Ahaha...saje nk feedback cpt...huhu...thanx bro..been so worried
///M
Hi, guys.. Newbie ere. Juz wondering if any of you guys have ever managed to play old PSX games on the PSP. My specific interest is in FF7, 8 & 9. Are there any tutorials available regarding the mods required to achieve this? Sorry if this is in fact a common/repeated/taboo question here.

Another question I have is regarding modding/use of CFW on the PSP. Does it involve modifications to the PSP hardware itself(solder here, cut there..) or is it purely software in nature? Thanks in advance.

BTW, I'm using PSP slim (2000).
irkuysm
QUOTE(///M @ Sep 25 2008, 12:34 PM)
Hi, guys.. Newbie ere. Juz wondering if any of you guys have ever managed to play old PSX games on the PSP. My specific interest is in FF7, 8 & 9. Are there any tutorials available regarding the mods required to achieve this? Sorry if this is in fact a common/repeated/taboo question here.

Another question I have is regarding modding/use of CFW on the PSP. Does it involve modifications to the PSP hardware itself(solder here, cut there..) or is it purely software in nature? Thanks in advance.

BTW, I'm using PSP slim (2000).

You should read at the 1st post in here regarding CFW.
///M
Thanks, but I already read the 1st post. What I'm asking isn't stated there.
xXAaronXx
The game cannot be emulated 100% like the ps1.
5zal06
QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Sep 26 2008, 11:08 PM)
The game cannot be emulated 100% like the ps1.

ya, and it feels bored when playing on psp..dunno why,
i prefer playing psx games on psx consoles
xXAaronXx
I agree. Sumhow u feel tat the game got less interection wif stuff.
|nsanity
[COLOR=blue]
Hi all, does anyone noe how to install the ppa software thing? my psp firmware is 3.9... and where do i save the prog in my psp?
anyone noe pls provide the link
thanx!
C-Note
hey guys i've decided to get one of these bundles as announced but not sure which wud be the best. opinions wud be appreciated thumbup.gif

1.)Ratchet & Clank PSP Entertainment Pack - available October 14th for $199.99 in North America and October 15th Europe for €199 ($291)

Mystic Silver PSP-3000
1GB Memory Stick PRO duo
Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters
National Treasure 2: Book of Secrets UMD
echochrome PSN voucher
AC adaptor
battery pack

OR

2.)PSP 4GB Memory Entertainment Pack - available this November in North America for $199.99

Piano Black PSP-3000
4GB Memory Stick PRO duo
Everyday Shooter PSN voucher
AC adaptor
battery pack
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.