jasperng
Jul 20 2008, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(Ashes @ Jul 19 2008, 08:38 PM)
Nand is the psp flash0 and flash1, pandora is the software to bring life to a brick psp. can also use to install custom firmware if current psp uses original firmware
about psp seller, all psp original. i dont think got fake psp. but do watchout for refurbished psp or psp with different colored faceplate. this is for the old phat psp. my friend bought a phat psp with gold faceplate which felt so cheap and crappy so if ur buying phat check if the faceplate if its ori. if u buying slim no problem i think. Seller in lyn i think all of them if not most are respectable. a good thing to do is check their successful trade list and see if got complaints or not. buying from shops also not a really bad idea. price for psp is pretty much the same everywhere. sumore easy to claim warranty if got problems plus u can check first b4 buying.
also if u got fake 4gb ms its ok. if i'm not mistaken psp only comes with ori 32mb ms only giga pack got ori 1gb ms. my fren bought the fake 4gb so far no problem. if u want faster ms get the 2gb fake hsmspd. i tested the read and write speed for the fake 2gb hsmspd. its faster than the ori mspd that comes free with the psp. faster than the ori 2 gb hsmspd. well at least mine is. dont know bout other fake 2gb hsmspd. i'm not sure if got fake 4gb hsmspd. never had the chance to test one. so i really dont know the speed.
Erm, what is the flash 0 flash1 >.<and is NAND a type of memory file? you see, i havent buy a psp. so Im pretty blur about these term hehe. If you say that pandora is a software, why do i see there is pandaro battery or pandora memory stick ? HOw to use a battery to bring life or update custom firmware ?
QUOTE(Ashes @ Jul 19 2008, 08:38 PM)
To update ur psp cfw juz follow the cfw instruction, nowadays its very easy plus got safety check lagi. unlike the old days haha. wanna backup ur nand? go to the cfw recovery mode got option to toggle flash0, 1 usb. open ur flash0 and flash1 in ur comp. make sure u set folder setting to see all hidden and system file. copy everything and put in safe place. i use this backup to revert to any cfw i've use. or to recovery my semi bricked psp or when i screwed up sumthing when dealing with custom XMB. but i think thats only applicable for the earlier phat psp. coz i tried this method with TA-082 mobo, doesnt work. Slim also doesnt work. but that was the test i did last year.
if ur psp brick. dont worry. any store will gladly charge u 50 bucks to revive ur psp. which is a rip off. hahaha. if u live sumwhere near tronoh or ipoh i'll gladly do it for a free meal. KFC ka. McD ka. hahaha
sorry again, what is cfw >.< ? izzit custom firmware in short term? just a wild guess hehe. Erm, do you have any guide for self-update to latest custom firmware for psp slim? what is customr XMB ? so, what you are proposing here doesnt work on psp slim ? >.<?
beatlesalbum
Jul 20 2008, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(clautee @ Jul 16 2008, 10:15 PM)
My PSP can't charge with AC Adapter. I can feel the heat on the adaptor but the led light on PSP is off. Adaptor malfunction?
Btw, charging with usb cable is ok. Any1 can help?
why not try with another adaptor(friends,or family) and see what happens? if it charges with the other adaptor, at least u know yours is faulty. yar?
miliardo83
Jul 20 2008, 06:24 PM
I plan to buy a psp... Is it easy to modify to play download games? How?
myboo_1988
Jul 20 2008, 09:05 PM
xmb is custom themes correct me if im wrg i oso noob psp ..
owner of psp slim ceramic white the best
blackamikaze
Jul 21 2008, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(miliardo83 @ Jul 20 2008, 06:24 PM)
I plan to buy a psp... Is it easy to modify to play download games? How?
most shop sell psp that already come with custom firmware means can play ehem ehem. Unless u buy from Official sony store, than u will get official firmware which cant play ehem ehem..
ikan_semilang
Jul 21 2008, 08:07 AM
QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jul 17 2008, 10:15 PM)
Just asking,
I'm charging mine PSP but smell burn at charger area. Isn't normal?
Damn....that smell not come from mine PSP but come from pouch bag...yukksss!!!
jasperng
Jul 21 2008, 09:50 AM
O_O whats inside your pouch bag man lol .. interested to know
fylon
Jul 21 2008, 10:35 AM
Ok guys.. I had spend my time on reading all the PSP beginner thread on page 1. But then still confuse with some of the issues.

Will going to get myself a psp in a day or two this week. Well here is my question, hope some senior can help.
1. Kernel & firmware is it the same? I saw some thread that some people are mentioned as kernel but some mentioned as firmware. Are they the same?

2. Do PSP Slim still need the kernel/firmware 1.5 in order to use the homebrew thingy? I really confuse with this as most of the thread i google around mentioned only PSP need it. But i wander they means PSP Slim or PSP FAT need it or not as well.
3. If 1.5 kernel needed, do i need to downgrade the PSP slim kernel/firmware to 1.5 then use a special tools to emulate it to the latest kernel/firmware again? Quite confuse with this part also.
4. I knew that Pandora batt is a hardware/device for do modding or unbrick a psp. Then how about magic stick? Is that a software or hardware?
Hope can get some simple and easy understanding explanation from all senior psp's owner.

And lastly, please dont
FLAME me on my noob question, since the section is for
PSP Beginner so i hope can get some useful information. :bow:
blackamikaze
Jul 21 2008, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 21 2008, 10:35 AM)
Ok guys.. I had spend my time on reading all the PSP beginner thread on page 1. But then still confuse with some of the issues.

Will going to get myself a psp in a day or two this week. Well here is my question, hope some senior can help.
1. Kernel & firmware is it the same? I saw some thread that some people are mentioned as kernel but some mentioned as firmware. Are they the same?

2. Do PSP Slim still need the kernel/firmware 1.5 in order to use the homebrew thingy? I really confuse with this as most of the thread i google around mentioned only PSP need it. But i wander they means PSP Slim or PSP FAT need it or not as well.
3. If 1.5 kernel needed, do i need to downgrade the PSP slim kernel/firmware to 1.5 then use a special tools to emulate it to the latest kernel/firmware again? Quite confuse with this part also.
4. I knew that Pandora batt is a hardware/device for do modding or unbrick a psp. Then how about magic stick? Is that a software or hardware?
Hope can get some simple and easy understanding explanation from all senior psp's owner.

And lastly, please dont
FLAME me on my noob question, since the section is for
PSP Beginner so i hope can get some useful information. :bow:
I will give u the simple answer.. dont bother with the kernel problem. Psp slim dont have 1.5 kernel. So new psp owner no need to think about 1.5 kernel. N no, u dont need 1.5 kernel for upgrading firmware.
N for the pandora battery n magic stick, u only need this 2 thing if u brick ur psp or when u want to downgrade ur firmware. As long as u dint play with ur flash0... u should be fine. Just enjoy ur game.
But for ur info, memory stick is just a normal memory stick that we change into "magic type" with a software.
fylon
Jul 21 2008, 08:54 PM
@blackamikaze
Ya mate. Thanks for the answer. Well i guess i read too much guide and get myself confuse with the information i get.

Only downgrading and unbricking the PSP then Pandora is needed right? Thanks for all the information mate.

Appreciate it alot.
fedoracore
Jul 21 2008, 09:18 PM
which accessories kit is the best ?
clautee
Jul 22 2008, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Jul 20 2008, 03:02 PM)
why not try with another adaptor(friends,or family) and see what happens? if it charges with the other adaptor, at least u know yours is faulty. yar?
Thx for reply. Already test with other AC adapter and my usb cable charger, both work like charm. So is confirm the adapter got problem. Test with voltmeter and no reading at all.
2months life span for stock adapter is pretty short. Check on Sony website but the price is RM149. Give me a shock.
jasperng
Jul 24 2008, 08:01 AM
hey man, just wondering can we use micro sd memory card with mspd adaptor as memory card for psp ? ...
izzit better than m2 ??
Fyrekat
Jul 24 2008, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(fedoracore @ Jul 19 2008, 07:42 PM)
original ac adaptor for sony psp slim is it made in china or made in philipines?
Mine is made in Philippines and not China...
csk3984
Jul 25 2008, 01:29 AM
hey friend when i want to make pandora battery and magic memory card will you guys rather to teach me?i got extra original battery and memory card. After make my battery become pandora battery can use that pandora battery to play game???
ikan_semilang
Jul 25 2008, 01:48 AM
QUOTE(csk3984 @ Jul 25 2008, 01:29 AM)
hey friend when i want to make pandora battery and magic memory card will you guys rather to teach me?i got extra original battery and memory card. After make my battery become pandora battery can use that pandora battery to play game???
See at here
http://forums.exophase.com/showthread.php?t=3780
csk3984
Jul 25 2008, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jul 25 2008, 01:48 AM)

TQ TQ, hem one more thing is how can i mod my PSP to play PS game? PS1 i means
bitebug
Jul 26 2008, 08:26 PM
psphacks.com <<< GO THERE FOR ALL YOUR PSP QUESTIONS.
Took me 1 hour to homebrew my psp to 3.71 M33-4 firmware. Btw remember to buy an extra battery lol
Also 3.71 M33-4 is the best firmware right now. Don't go 3.90 if you want to play your ps1 games nicely.
Also can someone convince me not to sell my psp lol? I've been using it for only 6 months but I'm already bored... Lack of games and too much ps1>psp port.... Furthermore, I'm buying a ps3.. Srsly is it worth it?
someone_stupid
Jul 27 2008, 01:55 AM
umm pros i wanna ask i saw somewhere bt i cant remember where abt order of the game menu like 1st is FFIIV 2nd is NBA third is something thn whn u upload something in the first goes down to 2nd n etc i wanna ask which app can i use to rearrange ah?
bitebug
Jul 27 2008, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jul 27 2008, 01:55 AM)
umm pros i wanna ask i saw somewhere bt i cant remember where abt order of the game menu like 1st is FFIIV 2nd is NBA third is something thn whn u upload something in the first goes down to 2nd n etc i wanna ask which app can i use to rearrange ah?
PSP Game Structure Utility. Google it.
Faith+1
Jul 27 2008, 03:40 AM
Hey guys, want to ask some advice here.
Under PSP folder, can I delete the GAME371, GAME150 and etc etc....
Will games affected if I delete those files, because the files all 0kb. I want to delete them.
anthrax33
Jul 27 2008, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Jul 27 2008, 03:40 AM)
Hey guys, want to ask some advice here.
Under PSP folder, can I delete the GAME371, GAME150 and etc etc....
Will games affected if I delete those files, because the files all 0kb. I want to delete them.

better dont do anything.
if its 0kb just leave it lor.
its used for homebrews mainly like lightmp3
kamikraze
Jul 29 2008, 04:49 PM
well i just buy a new psp slim a few weeks..
but in these time i had change my sandisk 4Gb mem card 2 time..
i dunno what is the problem.. the shop owner said it is mem card prob..
the reason he said like that is i cant play certain games like Monster Hunter 2 Freedom.. and a few games.. but i just worried of it also relate to my console itself or it kernel? any help here?
for certain game also cannot load.. when try to load my psp going to shut down.. @.@"
blackamikaze
Jul 29 2008, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 29 2008, 04:49 PM)
well i just buy a new psp slim a few weeks..
but in these time i had change my sandisk 4Gb mem card 2 time..
i dunno what is the problem.. the shop owner said it is mem card prob..
the reason he said like that is i cant play certain games like Monster Hunter 2 Freedom.. and a few games.. but i just worried of it also relate to my console itself or it kernel? any help here?
for certain game also cannot load.. when try to load my psp going to shut down.. @.@"
what ur psp firmware?... On the xmb menu, press select, n change UMD mode to sony-9660 n change game speed to 333mhz
kamikraze
Jul 30 2008, 03:42 AM
hurmm.. how to check the firmware? well on the M33 VSH MENU..
said..
CPU Clock Xmb - Default
CPU Clock Game -Default
USB Device - Memory Stick
UMD Iso Mode - Sony NP9660
Iso Video Mount - None
Reset Device
Exit..
is that ok?
NOX
Jul 30 2008, 07:04 AM
oo.. same here.. some game will crash/psp restart.. is it firmware or the clock speed?
blackamikaze
Jul 30 2008, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 30 2008, 03:42 AM)
hurmm.. how to check the firmware? well on the M33 VSH MENU..
said..
CPU Clock Xmb - Default
CPU Clock Game -Default
USB Device - Memory Stick
UMD Iso Mode - Sony NP9660
Iso Video Mount - None
Reset Device
Exit..
is that ok?
to check firmware, on xmb menu, go to settings -----> System Setting ------> System Information
n yeah, its better to change the CPU Clock Game to 333.
If U still have problem, the problem might be the "game" itself, find another source.
QUOTE(NOX @ Jul 30 2008, 07:04 AM)
oo.. same here.. some game will crash/psp restart.. is it firmware or the clock speed?
If ur firmware is 3.71 mm3 and above. U should have no problem to play most of the game on the market right now.
If the setting is right but still have a problem, then maybe u need to check the "game" itself.
jasperng
Jul 30 2008, 09:20 AM
hello, how do i make sure that my psp is not set to download from sony offical website for the firmware update ?
where do i check it ? ..
also any general setting i need to do ?? .. kinda noob here >.<. ..
btw there are adhoc and another type of connectivity. what is the difference?
someone_stupid
Jul 31 2008, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Jul 30 2008, 08:58 AM)
to check firmware, on xmb menu, go to settings -----> System Setting ------> System Information
n yeah, its better to change the CPU Clock Game to 333.
If U still have problem, the problem might be the "game" itself, find another source.
If ur firmware is 3.71 mm3 and above. U should have no problem to play most of the game on the market right now.
If the setting is right but still have a problem, then maybe u need to check the "game" itself.
mine too! i cant play gripshift so siennnn wat do u mean by check the 'game'?
blackamikaze
Jul 31 2008, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jul 31 2008, 12:25 PM)
mine too! i cant play gripshift so siennnn wat do u mean by check the 'game'?
check the "games" means find another sources..
kamikraze
Jul 31 2008, 09:56 PM
hurmm... i'd check.. im using 3.71 mm3.. well now im not getting any prob..
seem fine to me.. 1 more question.. is theres any side effect if i charge the battery before it run out its power? coz i had saw anywhere else said that would shorten battery life.. is that true?
blackamikaze
Jul 31 2008, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jul 31 2008, 09:56 PM)
hurmm... i'd check.. im using 3.71 mm3.. well now im not getting any prob..
seem fine to me.. 1 more question.. is theres any side effect if i charge the battery before it run out its power? coz i had saw anywhere else said that would shorten battery life.. is that true?
no its fine...
toottut89
Jul 31 2008, 11:06 PM
can psp play avi video format?
blackamikaze
Jul 31 2008, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(toottut89 @ Jul 31 2008, 11:06 PM)
can psp play avi video format?
nope...
toottut89
Aug 1 2008, 12:36 AM
is there any guide to get psp youtube?
-edited-
which memory is faster for psp? some pointers please.
Sandisk Memory Stick Pro Duo 8GB
or
Sandisk Memory Stick Micro M2 8GB
fylon
Aug 1 2008, 10:03 AM
@kamikraze
Fren, i do face the same problem with u last time when i first bought my PSP. And the same game as u mentioned gave me problem. MH2! The psp got shut down half way while loading the game. And i found out that the problem were came from the memory card actually.

The reason is because im using a pirated MSPD (which bundle together with the PSP when i bought), problem resolved after i changed the memory card to original one. Guess probably is cause by the slow witting/reading speed.
toottut89
Aug 1 2008, 10:17 AM
@fylon
no talking about ehem game from your memory card.
fylon
Aug 1 2008, 10:24 AM
@toottut89
Did i? I just refer to kamikraze's case where i had face the same problem as him. And also, i dont even mentioned the game name, i just a cap alphabet to represent it as well. If my post and sentence above were considering as privacy talk, than mod are please to delete my post.
Lastly, no offence as i dont think that my post above were pointing to privacy talk. Its more to telling other forumer what are the source or main reason which cause the problems.
kamikraze
Aug 1 2008, 01:08 PM
@fylon
hmm.. im really desire to play 'that' game.. just play the 1st ver..
is there any other way to play without change the mem card?
coz my money all done spend on the psp god of war limited ed..
plus the accessory.. zzz.. by da way.. thanks for sharing it with me.. =)
magnumrolez
Aug 1 2008, 02:14 PM
i'm trying to watch youtube's movies yesterday at old town throught wifi connection ... the speed is ok ,.... but the browser unable to watch it because it does not support flash player ... i did activated it in recovery with holding R key to turn on the psp ... but still couldn't watch, grrr
fylon
Aug 1 2008, 04:46 PM
@kamikraze
No problems.

Just i got my problem solved with changing into an original card. Oh yea.. Btw, im using sandisk M2. Well.. Just wanna save few bucks up. I had just sent my previous MSPD to claim warranty. Hope can get a good one back.

Oh yea, btw are u MSPD is ori type? If its original type, it shouldnt have problem i think. If its ehem type than that might be why u unable to play that game.
kamikraze
Aug 1 2008, 05:15 PM
@fylon
well.. mine is not original.. i think.. btw i dunno how to recognize the status of a mmc.. but im using sony proDuo MagicGate..
i get it after i change my mmg 2 times.. haha..
fylon
Aug 1 2008, 10:11 PM
@kamikraze
Did the MagicGate function on ur PSP is been recognized? If not then probably ya mmc is not the original type.

Im waiting for mine from RMA.
Nemesis
Aug 1 2008, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(magnumrolez @ Aug 1 2008, 02:14 PM)
i'm trying to watch youtube's movies yesterday at old town throught wifi connection ... the speed is ok ,.... but the browser unable to watch it because it does not support flash player ... i did activated it in recovery with holding R key to turn on the psp ... but still couldn't watch, grrr
Use PSP Tube.
Mido_Ban
Aug 2 2008, 12:12 PM
Sorry is this correct thread to ask what is PSP price now? Any recomemded shop to buy PSP in JB area?...Feel getting 1 next month...Because everyday house -> to office office -> to house cost me 7 hours a day traveling...So a PSP will help me ease my bored...thank!
kamikraze
Aug 2 2008, 03:51 PM
@fylon
im not sure.. but untill now my mmc work fine.. by da way.. i dont know how to know either magicgate being recognize by my psp or not..
@mido_ban
well.. for my PSP.. and with the price around 2 weeks before..
the cheapest i found is around 600++.. i just can find 699..
and for my PSP.. the limited ed god of war.. around 8++..
im buying at Giant tmn U.. u can buy psp at 699 with accessory set.. im not sure the accessory is ori or not.. so the range price at JB from 600-870.. remind if im wrong.. thx
maolnorlexu
Aug 3 2008, 01:12 PM
hey kamikraze, u from jb?
lawl
Aug 3 2008, 11:24 PM
What is the difference between cfw3.90 M33-3 and 4.01 M33-2?
kamikraze
Aug 4 2008, 03:15 AM
@maolnorlexu
hurmm.. im not from jb.. but im stdy in jb..
im quite new here.. y r u askin me bout dats?
well.. do u hav any *ehem* psp's game?
maybe we can trade if u from jb too? hehe
kubrick16
Aug 4 2008, 03:55 AM
hey guys,
I need help here.
I got my PSP 1.50 Phat version 3 years ago and it worked well till one day which is somewhere last week, I think I bricked my PSP. I was using firmware v3.52 m33 and just last week I couldnt launch my game which I have been playing fine for past 10 weeks (PES 2006).
I have tried lotsa ways to launch the game by delete and copy back the ISO into my memory stick and even formatting my memory stick but I still couldnt play it.
Thus, I planned to upgrade my firmware to upgrade to v3.71 m33-2 by launching the program. But it ended telling me I should be in v3.52 or higher before I can continue. I tried twice but still got the same results. It puzzled me as I'm in v3.52.
Thinking that I might need to upgrade to v3.52 m33-4, thus I download the firmware and tried to upgrade it.
That is when I unluckily bricked my PSP.
The upgrading went well, then the last step was to press "X" to shut down the PSP and restart it. Before I could even press it, my PSP just shut down by itself. When I tried to search for ways to unbrick psp, I noticed that the PSP should be attached to power adapter while performing an upgrade. Perhaps, it was my mistake. I didnt aware of that.
So I tried to turn on my PSP again hoping it would start again and the green light is lit but the screen went blank. That is when I know that I bricked my PSP.
I hope that you guys could lend me a hand to solve this problem. And your help would be deeply appreciated.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.