Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: [Nokia(tm) N95 Official V4 Thread]
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34
toughnut
those are AP case. ori case can go rm150+
m13jump
hello,
just need info from u,
i try to update my n95 firmware, but now its dead. mean the update fail.
so my phone cant use at all, just showing nokia logo without light.

so where can i send to repair n how much the charge.
n where the location? how long it take to fix?
need help
tq
wkho555
QUOTE(m13jump @ May 10 2008, 04:18 AM)
hello,
just need info from u,
i try to update my n95 firmware, but now its dead. mean the update fail.
so my phone cant use at all, just showing nokia logo without light.

so where can i send to repair n how much the charge.
n where the location? how long it take to fix?
need help
tq

if still under warranty try bring back to the shop u bought ur phone. or go any nokia shop. they will fix it.

any1 know what the battery price for n95 n n95-8g. how to mod the back casing to fit n95-8g battery. or any shop selling? brows.gif
Scandal
QUOTE(wkho555 @ May 10 2008, 08:11 AM)
if still under warranty try bring back to the shop u bought ur phone. or go any nokia shop. they will fix it.

any1 know what the battery price for n95 n n95-8g. how to mod the back casing to fit n95-8g battery. or any shop selling?  brows.gif

n95 8G battery is BL-6F .. i buy one grade AA about rm 50 and buy a ori about rm100. the ori is ppl sell the n95 8G they take out the battery tongue.gif
and u just need sand the battery and the back cover to fit it thumbup.gif
MOMOchacha
Dude,your phone got pouch bor?if u got it..
just put it in the pouch..no need to MOD your battery case lo.
hi hi hi
pipedream
eh, anyone of u guys punya n95 will hang when overheat, for example during charging and playing games at the same time, mine did, dunno is charger problem or what, the battery very hot then suddenly hang the whole n95 and restarted, now cooling down the phone

my charger is default one
yaosiang
QUOTE(pipedream @ May 10 2008, 09:57 PM)
eh, anyone of u guys punya n95 will hang when overheat, for example during charging and playing games at the same time, mine did, dunno is charger problem or what, the battery very hot then suddenly hang the whole n95 and restarted, now cooling down the phone

my charger is default one

I Never Face Problem Like This Before.. Are You Using Original Battery From Nokia? My Phone Will Only Be Slightly Warmer If I'm On A Call For Long Duration.
pipedream
QUOTE(yaosiang @ May 11 2008, 12:51 AM)
I Never Face Problem Like This Before.. Are You Using Original Battery From Nokia? My Phone Will Only Be Slightly Warmer If I'm On A Call For Long Duration.

yeap, its original battery from avaxx, only occurs when i charging the phone. if leave it then no problem, no overheat or anything, but just can`t play games/ open apps during charging, without charging it works fine with no problem

i suspect it has something to do with the charger, but i am using the default nokia one ( 50-60hz, 180ma, output, DC 5.0v, 800ma)
skylancer
Erm...sorry...ask somethings...N95 firmware where can be download the lastest?I cant found in 1st thread.Only mention the version.
How to check the current version and download?Is it free?
THANKS!! smile.gif
aidlover
download NSU and update your n95 firmware from there wink.gif
ioriamd
how to put maps into my n95?
can it show real time map? and direct us to our locations?
like turn left.. turn right... 10meter infront turn right...
Scandal
QUOTE(skylancer @ May 11 2008, 02:41 AM)
Erm...sorry...ask somethings...N95 firmware where can be download the lastest?I cant found in 1st thread.Only mention the version.
THANKS!! smile.gif

N95 firmware can update at Nokia website. yes . it is free ..
to check ur current firmware press *#0000# in ur phone ..
pipedream
QUOTE(ioriamd @ May 11 2008, 09:58 AM)

download garmin mobile XT and malsingmaps, note u need to register / cracked or whatever to obtain the registration for both maps and program.

yes, the map is real time, meaning the arrow follows the exact position of you, u can direct the program to guide u to ur location
chriscvf
any one know how to do the setting for wi fi? have a firmware 21. can surf only if the wifi is an open network mean everyone can access but at home mine is secure one after entering the pre shared key keep on getting "gateway no reply" help pls
Putraskyline
QUOTE(ioriamd @ May 11 2008, 08:58 AM)

If you have extra money, just but memory card that contains Garmin XT from garmin smile.gif
ken3011
finaly update my OS to V21 hehe some more support N-gage game application really great for it hehe
any 1 here got updated malaysia map for asia map? can share it?
Putraskyline
QUOTE(ken3011 @ May 11 2008, 07:01 PM)
finaly update my OS to V21 hehe some more support N-gage game application really great for it hehe
any 1 here got updated malaysia map for asia map? can share it?

I'm just using Garmin XT with MSM.
kazami
hi guys... im getting mine soon... just some question
can n95 support up to 4gb memory card? (cause the seller selling phone with 4gb memory card)
and wat i cant do so that i wont void my warranty?
Redmobile is a good AP company?
ken3011
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 11 2008, 07:57 PM)
I'm just using Garmin XT with MSM.

where u get the prgram n the map?
if i get the map wit memory card how much for it?

Added on May 12, 2008, 2:03 am
QUOTE(kazami @ May 12 2008, 12:42 AM)
can n95 support up to 4gb memory card? (cause the seller selling phone with 4gb memory card)

n95 can support up to 8GB SDHC also get the information from nokia care center but den the problem is u cannot install too much application n games inside may cause ur phone laggie~~but file is nvm can put as much as can

note:** if u get the 4GB memory card better get class 6 SDHC it is much faster
8GB now oni come out wit class 4 so is slower
pipedream
QUOTE(kazami @ May 12 2008, 01:42 AM)

yup, up to 32gb of microsdhc is supported

AP company warranty TnC varies, but as i know, water damage, self inflicted damage ( drop or so ) and software problem will void the warranty

mm, never heard of this company cant comment much, reliable one are CSL and Final Choice which is a First tier AP company
Putraskyline
QUOTE(ken3011 @ May 12 2008, 02:01 AM)
where u get the prgram n the map?
if i get the map wit memory card how much for it?

I get original Garmin XT from garmin website and tweak it to become free. Just google to get the info. About maps, I'm using malsingmaps .Contribute there and get monthly updated map for free. If I'm not mistaken, its USD 99
m13jump
If u ask me, i said better go to shop n pay them, let them do the update for u.
mine got dead phone since i update from nokia server.
and i starting to hate nokia.
i cant use my phone, like own a bmw but cant drive... mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

QUOTE(skylancer @ May 11 2008, 02:41 AM)
THANKS!! smile.gif

Added on May 12, 2008, 7:22 am
QUOTE(wkho555 @ May 10 2008, 08:11 AM)

i bring to one of the lowyat.net member who do the unlocking n flash, they also cant help, now try to send to one shop at kj. n waiting for the result.
if cannot have to send to nokia and have to prepare rm500 i think.
too bad for me updating firmware from nokia server.....

crazyconsumer
Bricked? Did you pull the plug, halfway thru the update?
pipedream
QUOTE(m13jump @ May 12 2008, 08:08 AM)
If u ask me, i said better go to shop n pay them, let them do the update for u.
mine got dead phone since i update from nokia server.
and i starting to hate nokia.
i cant use my phone, like own a bmw but cant drive... mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

Added on May 12, 2008, 7:22 am
i bring to one of the lowyat.net member who do the unlocking n flash, they also cant help, now try to send to one shop at kj. n waiting for the result.
if cannot have to send to nokia and have to prepare rm500 i think.
too bad for me updating firmware from nokia server.....

did ur phone still have warranty? if bricked phone, have to change motherboard, and yeah around rm 300 per motherboard, so recommended to take back to ur phone company

if its a ori set, nokia will fix for u for maybe free since its their nsu problem, i know nsu causing bricking percentage is very high, hence its recommended to take to shops to do it for a fee
spoon2272
wahhh just thought wanna buy this phone tomorrow but with so many probs u like u guys were saying make me think twice sweat.gif
pipedream
QUOTE(spoon2272 @ May 13 2008, 01:16 AM)
wahhh just thought wanna buy this phone tomorrow but with so many probs u like u guys were saying make me think twice  sweat.gif

dude, what problem are u talking about? other than the slightly weak gps chipset and low capacity battery, the n95 doesn`t have much problem
Putraskyline
QUOTE(pipedream @ May 13 2008, 12:31 AM)
dude, what problem are u talking about? other than the slightly weak gps chipset and low capacity battery, the n95 doesn`t have much problem

Hmm I'm also dont face any problem at all. Other handphone also have pro and cont
jmZ
i bricked my phone once cos i was updatin the firmware bt halfway thru d internet lags o somethin. gosh tat time was rily frightenin cos i jz bought it like...2 months before tat.
wd i did was i send to nokia care center n tol em wd happen. wd dey did was took my fon n flash it i tink den i gt it bck like 2 days later.
bt o cos..it was still under warranty n it is ori set.
i tink for AP set oso u can do d same. if shits like tis happens to u...
spoon2272
QUOTE(pipedream @ May 13 2008, 12:31 AM)

the reason i'm going to buy this phone bcoz of the gps.what dwo u mean by weak gps chipset?1 more quest N95 got many application or not?like what?tq
Bigblock
QUOTE(jmZ @ May 13 2008, 07:08 AM)
i bricked my phone once cos i was updatin the firmware bt halfway thru d internet lags o somethin. gosh tat time was rily frightenin cos i jz bought it like...2 months before tat.
wd i did was i send to nokia care center n tol em wd happen. wd dey did was took my fon n flash it i tink den i gt it bck like 2 days later.

yeah there is very high risk using NSU..used it on my N70,N73 before...N95 never updated from the day i got it...scared also but my software never gave me a prob so not taking the risc.
pipedream
QUOTE(spoon2272 @ May 13 2008, 11:22 AM)
the reason i'm going to buy this phone bcoz of the gps.what dwo u mean by weak gps chipset?1 more quest N95 got many application or not?like what?tq

N95 uses Sirf Star II Chipset if not mistaken, and its not really sensitive, it works well, but maybe u need longer time for fix and the accuracy is low too

yeah there is very high risk using NSU..used it on my N70,N73 before...N95 never updated from the day i got it...scared also but my software never gave me a prob so not taking the risc.

lol, take to nokia shops or any shops la, its worth to update to latest FW as it has demand paging and n-gage software support

u are lucky its still can be forced flashed back , some have to change the motherboard already, and lucky urs is a ori set
Putraskyline
QUOTE(spoon2272 @ May 13 2008, 10:22 AM)

Its weak gps if we compare to Nokia gps phone like 6110 Navigator. But till now I dont have any problem using gps when I go to KL. Its really work well. For application, you can install 3rd symbian application which are more than 1k application outside.
harrychoo
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 13 2008, 05:15 PM)
Its weak gps if we compare to Nokia gps phone like 6110 Navigator. But till now I dont have any problem using gps when I go to KL. Its really work well. For application, you can install 3rd symbian application which are more than 1k application outside.

How long it used to lock for the 1st time without AGPS? Let say how long it takes at open air and inside car?
Putraskyline
QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 13 2008, 05:36 PM)
How long it used to lock for the 1st time without AGPS? Let say how long it takes at open air and inside car?

For me it require 3-4 minutes. If using Garmin, 1-2 min.
harrychoo
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 13 2008, 05:41 PM)
For me it require 3-4 minutes. If using Garmin, 1-2 min.

without AGPS?

1-2min is open air? How about car?

Will it lost connection during ur travel?
calvinyou89
Guys now got black housing for N95?
Putraskyline
QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 13 2008, 05:44 PM)
without AGPS?

1-2min is open air? How about car?

Will it lost connection during ur travel?

1-2 min while driving without AGPS. But if u use Garmin and AGPS on, they will no such data charge. I'm always watch out at my bill but no such data charge while I'm on AGPS. But if u use Nokia maps, yes they will charge if we on AGPS. Sometimes connection will lost when its about raining day. But I can tell only 1/50 the problem will occur on mine.

Added on May 13, 2008, 6:47 pm
QUOTE(calvinyou89 @ May 13 2008, 06:18 PM)
Guys now got black housing for N95?

Yep got. But its not original. I dunno whether original got one or not.
harrychoo
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 13 2008, 06:45 PM)
1-2 min while driving without AGPS. But if u use Garmin and AGPS on, they will no such data charge. I'm always watch out at my bill but no such data charge while I'm on AGPS. But if u use Nokia maps, yes they will charge if we on AGPS. Sometimes connection will lost when its about raining day. But I can tell only 1/50 the problem will occur on mine.

Added on May 13, 2008, 6:47 pm
Yep got. But its not original. I dunno whether original got one or not.

But why AGPS won't charge when using Garmin? Unless Garmin didn't use AGPS at all, no?

Thanks for ur reply
kazami
i gonna get my n95 tomorrow...
then u guys gonna teach me how to mod it with useful software
calvinyou89
Now NSU cannot support vista already?
Putraskyline
QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 13 2008, 07:02 PM)
But why AGPS won't charge when using Garmin? Unless Garmin didn't use AGPS at all, no?

Thanks for ur reply

Thats a weird things about it. I read in all forum about Garmin, 50% said it charge and 50% said it dont work/charge if using Garmin. After that I take initiative to try whole using garmin while on AGPS in the setting of my N95. At end of the month bill, there is no data charge to paid smile.gif

Thats why I conclude that result. Garmin only need to subscribe to data package if we want to use Garmin Online to retrieve traffic, weather and so on.
yaosiang
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 13 2008, 09:01 PM)
Thats a weird things about it. I read in all forum about Garmin, 50% said it charge and 50% said it dont work/charge if using Garmin. After that I take initiative to try whole using garmin while on AGPS in the setting of my N95. At end of the month bill, there is no data charge to paid smile.gif

Thats why I conclude that result. Garmin only need to subscribe to data package if we want to use Garmin Online to retrieve traffic, weather and so on.

Okay. I Find That I Need To Clarify Something Here. I Find The Bolded Statement Really Wrong. I'll Use Maxis As An Example To Explain Since I'm Using That.

First Of All, We Know That Assisted-GPS Enables Us To Get Satellite Lock Much Faster, Even With Cold Start. Basically, With A-GPS Enabled, Every Time When We Want To Get Satellite Lock, The Phone Will Use The Data Connection (Maxis 3G WAP/Maxis GPRS WAP) To Exchange Information With The Positioning Server. When There Is Data Sent And Received, It Means That We Are Charged By Maxis. For Every 1 kB That We Send And Receive, We Will Be Charged RM 0.01.

So You Said That You Took The Trouble To Conduct An Experiment And The Result Is That There Is No Data Charges When You Use Garmin Mobile XT With A-GPS Enabled. You Are Wrong.

You Might Want To Check That Is Your Assisted-GPS Enabled And Working Properly? To Do That, Go To Menu -> Tools -> Settings -> General -> Positioning -> Positioning Method -> Make Sure Assisted GPS Is Ticked. Then Go Back 1 Step And Choose Positioning Server. Make Sure That You Choose A Valid Access Point (Maxis 3G WAP For My Case Since I Have 3G Activated). To Double Confirm That The Access Point Is Valid, Go To Menu -> Web. Choose Maxis Homepage Bookmark And Select Maxis 3G WAP As Access Point. If The Site Loads, It Means The Access Point Is Valid. Otherwise, You Might Want To Reactivate 3G And Try Again Or Choose Other Access Points. Once You Have Everything In Order, The A-GPS Is Working.

We Will Do A Simple Experiment To Prove That Maxis Does Charge Us When We Are Using Garmin Mobile XT With A-GPS Enabled. Firstly, Launch GMXT. Then Press Agree. If Your Phone Is Facing The Sky, You Should Get Satellite Lock In Less Than 15 Seconds (Green Bars Indicate That You Are Locked With Satellites). Once You Have Gotten A Satellite Lock (If You Are Indoor, Wait For 15 Seconds), Quit GMXT. After That, Go To Menu -> Tools -> Log -> Press Right. You Should See "Maxis 3G WAP" There. More Details On That Entry Shows Roughly 5-6 kB Of Data Transfer. This Indicates There Was An Active Data Connection In The Background When We Are Entering GMXT. In Other Words, We Are Charged For That.

There's Only Data Transfer When You Are Attempting To Lock With Satellites (Remember We Are Using AGPS?), And Usually It Doesn't Exceed 6 kB. Once The Phone Is Locked With Satellites, There'll Be No Data Transfer After That. So If You Are Using GMXT For Tracking, Navigation Or Positioning, There Will Be No Extra Charges. It's Free.

So As A Summary:

GMXT + Without AGPS = Everything Is Free
GMXT + AGPS = Only Pay RM 0.06 For Data To Get Quicker Satellite Lock, Others Remain Free
Use Anything That Requires Data Connection = Pay

As For Garmin Online, Since It Uses Data Connection, It Means You Need To Pay For That. (At Home, I Use Wi-Fi To Retrieve The Weather Info, So Again It's Free For Me).

Have I Made Everything Clear? smile.gif
Putraskyline
QUOTE(yaosiang @ May 13 2008, 10:36 PM)
Okay. I Find That I Need To Clarify Something Here. I Find The Bolded Statement Really Wrong. I'll Use Maxis As An Example To Explain Since I'm Using That.

First Of All, We Know That Assisted-GPS Enables Us To Get Satellite Lock Much Faster, Even With Cold Start. Basically, With A-GPS Enabled, Every Time When We Want To Get Satellite Lock, The Phone Will Use The Data Connection (Maxis 3G WAP/Maxis GPRS WAP) To Exchange Information With The Positioning Server. When There Is Data Sent And Received, It Means That We Are Charged By Maxis. For Every 1 kB That We Send And Receive, We Will Be Charged RM 0.01.

So You Said That You Took The Trouble To Conduct An Experiment And The Result Is That There Is No Data Charges When You Use Garmin Mobile XT With A-GPS Enabled. You Are Wrong.

You Might Want To Check That Is Your Assisted-GPS Enabled And Working Properly? To Do That, Go To Menu -> Tools -> Settings -> General -> Positioning -> Positioning Method -> Make Sure Assisted GPS Is Ticked. Then Go Back 1 Step And Choose Positioning Server. Make Sure That You Choose A Valid Access Point (Maxis 3G WAP For My Case Since I Have 3G Activated). To Double Confirm That The Access Point Is Valid, Go To Menu -> Web. Choose Maxis Homepage Bookmark And Select Maxis 3G WAP As Access Point. If The Site Loads, It Means The Access Point Is Valid. Otherwise, You Might Want To Reactivate 3G And Try Again Or Choose Other Access Points. Once You Have Everything In Order, The A-GPS Is Working.

We Will Do A Simple Experiment To Prove That Maxis Does Charge Us When We Are Using Garmin Mobile XT With A-GPS Enabled. Firstly, Launch GMXT. Then Press Agree. If Your Phone Is Facing The Sky, You Should Get Satellite Lock In Less Than 15 Seconds (Green Bars Indicate That You Are Locked With Satellites). Once You Have Gotten A Satellite Lock (If You Are Indoor, Wait For 15 Seconds), Quit GMXT. After That, Go To Menu -> Tools -> Log -> Press Right. You Should See "Maxis 3G WAP" There. More Details On That Entry Shows Roughly 5-6 kB Of Data Transfer. This Indicates There Was An Active Data Connection In The Background When We Are Entering GMXT. In Other Words, We Are Charged For That.

There's Only Data Transfer When You Are Attempting To Lock With Satellites (Remember We Are Using AGPS?), And Usually It Doesn't Exceed 6 kB. Once The Phone Is Locked With Satellites, There'll Be No Data Transfer After That. So If You Are Using GMXT For Tracking, Navigation Or Positioning, There Will Be No Extra Charges. It's Free.

So As A Summary:

GMXT + Without AGPS = Everything Is Free
GMXT + AGPS = Only Pay RM 0.06 For Data To Get Quicker Satellite Lock, Others Remain Free
Use Anything That Requires Data Connection = Pay

As For Garmin Online, Since It Uses Data Connection, It Means You Need To Pay For That. (At Home, I Use Wi-Fi To Retrieve The Weather Info, So Again It's Free For Me).

Have I Made Everything Clear?  smile.gif

Oh My goodness, I forgot to setup positioning server. After I have setup all the need, I logon into GMXT, it require 1-2 min also to locked with satellites but when I go to Logs-Data packet, there are amount that I'm using when I logon GMXT. It is cleared now. Than Bro for clearing it up.
wkho555
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 13 2008, 11:25 PM)
Oh My goodness, I forgot to setup positioning server. After I have setup all the need, I logon into GMXT, it require 1-2 min also to locked with satellites but when I go to Logs-Data packet, there are amount that I'm using when I logon GMXT. It is cleared now. Than Bro for clearing it up.

but 1 thing for sure. use garmin to lock satellites then onli open nokia map is much much faster. biggrin.gif
i wonder any1 use nokia map navigation hmm.gif
pipedream
QUOTE(kazami @ May 13 2008, 08:15 PM)
i gonna get my n95 tomorrow...
then u guys gonna teach me how to mod it with useful software

welcome to the club biggrin.gif
for starters u may want to check out rotateme and shakeme etc

Now NSU cannot support vista already?

better dun flash with vista, with all those security stuff, it probably will brick ur phone

but 1 thing for sure. use garmin to lock satellites then onli open nokia map is much much faster.
i wonder any1 use nokia map navigation

nokia maps u need to pay for a yearly fees and summore the maps are downloaded as u go sweat.gif

anyway, wikipedia info regarding A-GPS, its not important, but i found out that accuracy increases from >78m to <50m

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS
kazami
QUOTE(pipedream @ May 14 2008, 12:27 AM)
welcome to the club  biggrin.gif
for starters u may want to check out rotateme and shakeme etc

where can i download it?
if i not mistaken, GPS need to pay to use right... is there anyway to use it for free?
pipedream
QUOTE(kazami @ May 14 2008, 01:28 AM)
where can i download it?
if i not mistaken, GPS need to pay to use right... is there anyway to use it for free?

www.bysamir.fr/rotateme
Software still in beta phase, u need to sign it to use it

Refer to yaosiang `s post regarding A-GPS and without A-GPS, GPS itself is free, but if u turn on A-GPS, it will uses data connection ( hence the fees ) to download information for quicker fixing
toughnut
regarding faster GPS locking, i found this trick on my N95. can lock faster even without A-GPS.

1. open and hide GMXT at background.

2. call a toll free number or request credit summary etc. anything that involve calling or using network service but free-of-charge.

3. get back to GMXT, u will notice GPS locked already. working successful 9 out of 10 times on my phone.

4. dont be stingy and just pay for 6kb of data transfer via A-GPS tongue.gif
yaosiang
QUOTE(toughnut @ May 14 2008, 08:25 AM)
regarding faster GPS locking, i found this trick on my N95. can lock faster even without A-GPS.

1. open and hide GMXT at background.

2. call a toll free number or request credit summary etc. anything that involve calling or using network service but free-of-charge.

3. get back to GMXT, u will notice GPS locked already. working successful 9 out of 10 times on my phone.

4. dont be stingy and just pay for 6kb of data transfer via A-GPS tongue.gif

I Should Try This.. Sounds Interesting.. biggrin.gif
harrychoo
Can i know, let say i want to go to my fren house, he only provide his address only, can i only enter the address to the Garmin and let it search?

I try cannot..it ask me to enter the State 1st, but it cannot found.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.