Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Fungus, dust, finger print, Water Mark
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2
timothyy
Now, many of us know how to go out and take photos. Enjoy it and then go home, take out the memory card and look at tall the photos taken. On the other end, the camera is left behind.

For PROs, we know you have the dry selve, blower, special liquids n etc. But how about ppl like us? What'sw the best way to clean your camera especially if got fungus growth?
soulfly
There are cheap carbon based lens brushes i think.
timothyy
QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 10 2008, 11:46 AM)
There are cheap carbon based lens brushes i think.

You gonna use that on your lenses? blink.gif blink.gif
tongyam
bring the camera to camera shop lor
timothyy
You so rich ah? Everytime go outings bring to shop ah?
tongyam
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 10 2008, 12:13 PM)
You so rich ah? Everytime go outings bring to shop ah?

free one mah rclxms.gif
calvin_gsc
timothyy, you're creating a thread for every question you have. laugh.gif

Try googling. Sure can find answer for such questions.

Anyway, I am gonna share my experience. Not as a pro, but as a dslr user.

I use compressed air to clean dust off my sensor. You can get those can of compressed air to clean dust from computer products.

Otherwise, most people will invest in a blower, cause it's more convenient to bring around.

Next, I also use a lenspen for my lenses.

The flat black tip had carbon material on it to absorb stains from finger prints. Very effective.

There is also an anti static brush on the other end to remove dust/lint.

And if serious, got fungus growth, you wont be able to clean it unless you know how to disassemble a lens. Fungus growth usually happens in the inside of a lens cause moisture can get inside and it's hard to dry up.

However, you will hardly get fungus issues in your lens if you use your camera always and not leave the lens in a humid place for years.
timothyy
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jan 10 2008, 12:37 PM)
timothyy, you're creating a thread for every question you have.  laugh.gif

Try googling. Sure can find answer for such questions.

Anyway, I am gonna share my experience. Not as a pro, but as a dslr user.

I use compressed air to clean dust off my sensor. You can get those can of compressed air to clean dust from computer products.

Otherwise, most people will invest in a blower, cause it's more convenient to bring around.

Next, I also use a lenspen for my lenses.

The flat black tip had carbon material on it to absorb stains from finger prints. Very effective.

There is also an anti static brush on the other end to remove dust/lint.

And if serious, got fungus growth, you wont be able to clean it unless you know how to disassemble a lens. Fungus growth usually happens in the inside of a lens cause moisture can get inside and it's hard to dry up.

However, you will hardly get fungus issues in your lens if you use your camera always and not leave the lens in a humid place for years.

Ha! Ha!
Well, I guess this kinda tips not just for me but for everyone else. Furthermore, there are more dSLR owners nowadays.

Thanks for your info. I googled this before but seems like its all for PROs. Sometimes, we just need basic care... not the extreme one. Some of us only got 1 lens to play with...
Andy0625

For storing , you could place your camera and lens inside an air-tight container which with a little bit of Silica will do the job to prevent it from fungus growing in the lens.
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 10 2008, 12:56 PM)
Ha! Ha!
Well, I guess this kinda tips not just for me but for everyone else. Furthermore, there are more dSLR owners nowadays.

Thanks for your info. I googled this before but seems like its all for PROs. Sometimes, we just need basic care... not the extreme one. Some of us only got 1 lens to play with...

Which is why some people don't need to worry about the questions you asked. whistling.gif
shockk
calvin_gsc, can share how much you bought the lenspen and where to get it? thanks. biggrin.gif
undazztood
i only use blower after shooting and keep all my gears into drybox.
shockk
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 10 2008, 07:30 PM)
i only use blower after shooting and keep all my gears into drybox.

what drybox are u using?
undazztood
Aipo with 5 year warranty

bought from forumer here
shockk
that drybox looks good. biggrin.gif

i'm thinkin to get one but don't know which one to get. hmm. any advice?
undazztood
it can be fitted with 2 body, 2 tele lens, 2 normal lens size, 2 external flash and other accesories like batt camera and flash.
size 48L. price also quite reasonable.
Power consumption is rated at 5watts cos saving compare to other brand 45watts

but for future expansion i have to upgrade the drybox sad.gif .

knightrazor
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 10 2008, 09:10 PM)

bought from forumer here

It looks like the box that keeps wine in restaurants. BTW, how much does it cost?
undazztood
RM450 i think. not really remember. but free delivery to your door step klang valley.
timothyy
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 10 2008, 08:40 PM)
it can be fitted with 2 body, 2 tele lens, 2 normal lens size, 2 external flash and other accesories like batt camera and flash.
size 48L. price also quite reasonable.
Power consumption is rated at 5watts cos saving compare to other brand 45watts

but for future expansion i have to upgrade the drybox  sad.gif .

QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 10 2008, 08:51 PM)
RM450 i think. not really remember. but free delivery to your door step klang valley.

When u future expand, let me know, I buy from you cheap cheap...
Rm450 to me expensive la... price of a fridge...
undazztood
if my tele lens got fungus it will cost more then buy 3 fridge to clean it..
timothyy
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 10 2008, 09:30 PM)

True also... like this, you better buy a bigger one. Sell this to me... tongue.gif
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 10 2008, 07:25 PM)
calvin_gsc, can share how much you bought the lenspen and where to get it? thanks. biggrin.gif

I bought mine from a photo shop in Subang Jaya, the one closest to Public Bank in SS15. Forgotten about the name of the shop. It's an old shop. and that person couldn't sell his stuff, so I think he sold it to me for RM20.

Retails at RM50 and above I think.

Otherwise you can get it from YL Camera in Pudu Plaza. They have many versions.

I also got one for use with the sensor. It's a smaller version called Lenspen Mini Pro

timothyy
But if we don't have this...
I mean yeah, everyone would love to have 1... but if we have nothing... what do we use to clean? Or is it neccessary?
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 11 2008, 06:24 PM)
But if we don't have this...
I mean yeah, everyone would love to have 1... but if we have nothing... what do we use to clean? Or is it neccessary?

You could at least use a spectacle cloth aka lens cloth.

If you really wanna save some $$ , go and ask for a free one from optical shops.

But this will only clean the surface of your camera lens.

For sensor, a blower or a can of compressed air is necessary. Or once again if wanna save $$, within the warranty period, bring the body to Nikon Malaysia for sensor cleaning service for free.
timothyy
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jan 11 2008, 09:29 PM)
You could at least use a spectacle cloth aka lens cloth.

If you really wanna save some $$ , go and ask for a free one from optical shops.

But this will only clean the surface of your camera lens.

For sensor, a blower or a can of compressed air is necessary. Or once again if wanna save $$, within the warranty period, bring the body to Nikon Malaysia for sensor cleaning service for free.

See... we learn new things everyday. I didn't know they do this for you for free... Hmmm... so, we should do that?

Too much cleaning will it spoil the sensor or something?
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 12 2008, 12:06 AM)
See... we learn new things everyday. I didn't know they do this for you for free... Hmmm... so, we should do that?

Too much cleaning will it spoil the sensor or something?

Never heard it will get spoilt because of cleaning.

Well, you don't need to clean it if there's no problem in your photos. I think I have only used the blower 2/3 times in 8 months. And I always change lenses. To prevent dust in sensor, you have to change lenses the right way.

If you only have one lens and it's always on, you never need to worry about dust in your sensor.
julchin_09
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 10 2008, 07:40 PM)

bought from forumer here

QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 10 2008, 09:30 PM)

I didn;t know it would cost 3 fridges to get your lens cleaned. 3 Being 3 X RM450 Right? Thats a lot of dough...

Anyway, this dry fridge looks great. What are the dimensions? The shelfs adjustable in height?

Another question. 5 Years warranty. What type of servicing does it need? Electrical? And the counter/meter for the hygrometer is digital?

Sorry for the bombardment of questions. Intending to get one to care for my investments...... icon_rolleyes.gif
porkchop
how do identify fungus in lenbs?? u know the inside is dark...where will it grow? the lens or the barrel??
julchin_09
I've seen a lens with fungus which belonged to a friend. Against a bright light source, it looks like patches of powder. Some even look like trails of crystalised liquid.

cjtune
QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 13 2008, 09:35 PM)
how do identify fungus in lenbs?? u know the inside is dark...where will it grow? the lens or the barrel??

Look at the inner lens elements carefully... it'll look like a spiderweb and when young, it looks like powdery specks (look at below the left hand side fungal web). How big it is will depend on how severe the infestation is. Below is a shot from an old 1970's or 1980's 2nd-hand lens I got from Ebay (seller somehow "wasn't aware" of the fungus):

It won't totally kill your lens. It'll still be functional but image quality will be degraded slightly or moderately. Mostly loss of sharpness and loss of contrast due to internal flaring from reflections off the fungal colony.

Fungus can also grow inside your camera body. One friend of mine had to replace the prism element of his Canon 350D as it was badly infested.

Protect your bags too. Fungus can grow on it (from feeding off residues of grime, soil, sweat, etc.) and then later transfer over to the stuff you put inside. Get a big tub and store your bags inside with a big pack of Thirsty Hippo or silica gel.
timothyy
Eww.... That looks yucky...
Pray hard!
undazztood
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jan 13 2008, 09:31 PM)
I didn;t know it would cost 3 fridges to get your lens cleaned. 3 Being 3 X RM450 Right? Thats a lot of dough...

Anyway, this dry fridge looks great. What are the dimensions? The shelfs adjustable in height?

Another question. 5 Years warranty. What type of servicing does it need? Electrical? And the counter/meter for the hygrometer is digital?

Sorry for the bombardment of questions. Intending to get one to care for my investments...... icon_rolleyes.gif

the more expensive your lens then more expensive to clean it or something like that sweat.gif
its analog dry box, digital also got and the shelf is adjustable. i dont think this drybox need to do servicing
unless u counter a problem like power problem which someone already counter this. but he got replaced a new unit. here some picture for your reference.

the fungus looked scary rclxub.gif

Added on January 13, 2008, 11:46 pmu also can ask this guy from lyn hre bout Aipo

Added on January 13, 2008, 11:47 pmu also can ask this guy from lyn hre bout Aipo. pm wanoridz
timothyy
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 13 2008, 11:45 PM)
the more expensive your lens then more expensive to clean it or something like that sweat.gif
its analog dry box, digital also got and  the shelf is adjustable. i dont think this drybox need to do servicing
unless u counter a problem like power problem which someone already counter this. but he got replaced a new unit. here some picture for your reference.

the fungus looked scary rclxub.gif

Added on January 13, 2008, 11:46 pmu also can ask this guy from lyn hre bout Aipo

Added on January 13, 2008, 11:47 pmu also can ask this guy from lyn hre bout Aipo. pm wanoridz

Just saw this in DCM Malaysia.
calvin_gsc
I just cleaned my sensor. It wasn't an short and easy process. Didn't have the right tools.

Compressed gas helped a bit, but still got really small dots on the sensor, so I had to use the lenspen.

julchin_09
@ undazztood

Thanks for the info.......
hshane
go and buy those things that u mentioned coz it's important for ur camera.
porkchop
than for the update n0w i know how it looks like

anyway 40% humidity setting is alright then??
datto
any idea where can i send my 400D for sensor cleaning in KL? can i send to KLCC or Pavilion canon concept store?

BTW, any idea where to get the silica gel?
undazztood
QUOTE(datto @ Jan 14 2008, 11:37 PM)
any idea where can i send my 400D for sensor cleaning in KL? can i send to KLCC or Pavilion canon concept store?

BTW, any idea where to get the silica gel?

Hakuba Ultra Strong Anti-Fungus Packs

this is a good one with good price. last longer about a year.
YL pudu plaza can do the cleaning service.

porkchop
i keep my drybox humidity at 40%-50%.
datto
thanks undazztood for the info
but mine still got 1mth warranty wor. can send to YL ar?
julchin_09
QUOTE(undazztood @ Jan 14 2008, 11:47 PM)

Besides Shashinki, where else can I get it? Seen it at any of the better known camera shops or franchises in KL?
cjtune
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jan 15 2008, 10:31 AM)
Besides Shashinki, where else can I get it? Seen it at any of the better known camera shops or franchises in KL?

That Hakuba 'anti-fungus pack' sounds like a very expensive dessicant.
So what if it's 'specially formulated' or whatnot? Silica gel and thirsty-hippo can do the job better and I suspect it is probably fake. Water is incompressible. In one year how much water do you expect that guy will collect? In my clothes cupboard, my Thirsty Hippo already maxes out its 500ml capacity in 3-4 weeks where I live (80-90% RH!). Can you imagine the Hakuba stuff expand to fit that 500cc of volume? Over a whole year? (water density = 1g/cc) Don't think so.
porkchop
hmm so wat is the recommended range for dryboxes?
cjtune
QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 15 2008, 02:06 PM)
hmm so wat is the recommended range for dryboxes?

40-50%, but mine usually dips to almost 30% and no problems after 2 years of usage.
julchin_09
my hygrometer in my room reads an average of 50%. Prolly better leaving my gear outside the bag than in it.

Im using a reusable silica gel packet at the moment. Have to stuff it into the microwave regularly to get it dry and thirsty again.....troublesome at times....
cjtune
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jan 15 2008, 04:52 PM)
my hygrometer in my room reads an average of 50%. Prolly better leaving my gear outside the bag than in it.

Im using a reusable silica gel packet at the moment. Have to stuff it into the microwave regularly to get it dry and thirsty again.....troublesome at times....

So dry? Air-cond is turned on?
I think the guideline for comfortable relative humidity that building services use is between 50-70%.

Yah, better in the open, as light and circulating (dry) air helps in preventing fungus. But exposure to dust (carriers of fungal spores) is a problem.

Silica gel is troublesome, but I don't think there's a magical alternative compared to it... well, someone can try out the Hakuba thingy and monitor its performance with a hygrometer and let us know.
faceythingy
If you get a dry box, you don't have to worry about anything right? Like silica gels and such.. You just put your stuff in the dry box and make sure the power supply is switched on right? If you leave a lens untouched in a camera bag next to the window for like, a month.. is that dangerous? How much does it usually cost to get lens with fungus fixed?
zio
Dry box should keep your stuff safe. Mine is about 45% since the shop tell me thats the range I should go for.

Anyway, my camera care includes the drycabinet, a blower and a lenspen. I need to go buy a good wipe for it too.
ikan_semilang
Hi guys,

I'm thinking want to make DIY Dry Box...

Just want to knwo, where i can get Silica Gel at KL? Superstore like Tesco, Giant, Carrefour got selling it?
calvin_gsc
QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Apr 20 2008, 03:08 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm thinking want to make DIY Dry Box...

Just want to knwo, where i can get Silica Gel at KL? Superstore like Tesco, Giant, Carrefour got selling it?

I think those stores you can only get dehumidifier like thirsty hippo type. Those don't last long and big. try and get something like this

http://yamiya.com.my/store/product.php?pro...88&cat=0&page=1

This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.