Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: First Solar
Lowyat.NET > Roundtable Discussions > Jobs & Careers
David83
Anybody heard of First Solar at Kulim? Should be a US-based MNC who is manufacturing thin film solar? They're recruiting staffs (especially engineers) for overseas training now and building a quite big plant at Kulim.

http://www.firstsolar.com/
sueekhy
Anyone heard of a new solar panel company in Kulim beside First Solar?
SeLrAhC
hopefully dont end up in china where they simply dump d silicon waste....

rather scary 2 have it in msia since we dont have proper recycling facilities... ending up in some kampung
yukuzuna666
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 8 2008, 08:36 PM)
Anybody heard of First Solar at Kulim? Should be a US-based MNC who is manufacturing thin film solar? They're recruiting staffs for overseas training now and building a quite big plant at Kulim.

what Current Job offered? i dont see any vacant for local people.
vin_ann
Anybody heard of First Solar at Kulim? Should be a US-based MNC who is manufacturing thin film solar? They're recruiting staffs for overseas training now and building a quite big plant at Kulim.

yes.
u shd go google ma. their website got state about investment in Msia Kulim Hightech park.

as far i as i know, they are now recruiting staffs.

my lucky friend got joined it in Feb and march he got chances to USA 3 weeks for training. and coming April going to Germany soon.

chgchksg128
I can not see and vacancy in the website.
What kind of position they offer?

I think this is the solar factory that is announced to set up in Malaysia by rafidah Aziz

Added on March 19, 2008, 10:34 pmI can find the jobs....
no much different from other manufacturing plant..
BTW, is Germany comp
DerekKuah

TS!

Yes. It one of my customer. First solar total have 4 phase & the first phase is abt to complete as my jobs almost handling over to the clients. The main contractor is the M+W zander & their parent company UCT engineering.....The project site will run till 2009. YUnfortunately , my company had lost for the bidding of the other phase. For your info, even their phase is not yet operating, but they already have production order of abt billion .....
DeniseLau
For the past few months I've been reading about First Solar on Forbes.com

Seems like a good company except that their solar panels use silicon and there's a global silicon supply shortage at the moment.

However, I think it's a good career move to join them, I see a bright future for First Solar.
hauhan842001
haha!i'm from daerah kulim,based in lunas,but currently work at TPM,hehe
first solar really not bad ,very big,from the front entrance to the end entrance,i think you need take car.very big.from my hometown home,go there around 10minit only.unlackily,i think they high requirement.
David83
Any job postings from them? Their website is a little out-dated.
sofyismyname
no posting in thier webite?
solar should be quite bright in near future
yukuzuna666
QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Mar 19 2008, 10:28 PM)
I can not see and vacancy in the website.
What kind of position they offer?

I think this is the solar factory that is announced to set up in Malaysia by rafidah Aziz

Added on March 19, 2008, 10:34 pmI can find the jobs....
no much different from other manufacturing plant..
BTW, is Germany comp

i dont think this comp gonna hired pp at this moment...hmmm...any future ka? hmm.gif
David83
I have an insider news saying that two to three months ago, the job application is overwhelming due to the expansion activity at Kulim site.
hauhan842001
you all not local from kulim,willing to travel and stay there for working?if you guy work at there,i bring you guy to eat nice food la.as i know last time very easy get in,after they have hired those managerial level ppl and send to germany training,I think all based the requirement of those trained managers.
yukuzuna666
QUOTE(hauhan842001 @ Mar 25 2008, 10:45 AM)
you all not local from kulim,willing to travel and stay there for working?if you guy work at there,i bring you guy to eat nice food la.as i know last time very easy get in,after they have hired those managerial level ppl and send to germany training,I think all based the requirement of those trained managers.

Yup! Absolutely! y not...if d payment is higher n good biggrin.gif If 1 day i manage to work there, i surely gonna find u to belanja me makan ok rclxms.gif
hauhan842001
QUOTE(yukuzuna666 @ Mar 25 2008, 08:38 PM)
Yup! Absolutely! y not...if d payment is higher n good  biggrin.gif  If 1 day i manage to work there, i surely gonna find u to belanja me makan ok  rclxms.gif

it seem to be you treat me eat,i bring u go,only?ok?i'm accompany you,not together with you.
you should treat me eat.where r u come from?
yukuzuna666
QUOTE(hauhan842001 @ Mar 25 2008, 09:18 PM)
it seem to be you treat me eat,i bring u go,only?ok?i'm accompany you,not together with you.
you should treat me eat.where r u come from?

Lol...owh u only wanna bring me ka? well it should not b a prob...will treat u if i manage/got a job over there... rclxms.gif me, in frm Kuching Sarawak rclxms.gif
David83
I don't hope for a treat but rather for a connection. brows.gif
kahhuat86
How much is the salary for engineers in this company? laugh.gif
letchuanna

Anyone know if helpdesk position at first solar still vacant?the website look not updated.Thanks,
yukuzuna666
QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 26 2008, 08:33 AM)
I don't hope for a treat but rather for a connection. brows.gif

Agree with u! if only i have a " big cable connection" to get inside laugh.gif
Kuraodo

mind to tell wat is dat??
David83
QUOTE(Kuraodo @ Mar 26 2008, 09:57 PM)
mind to tell wat is dat??

Pay a visit to their official website and click on Products or Technology (under Company) to understand what is thin film solar.
David83
US First Solar starts building new plants

By V. CHANDRASEKARAN
KULIM: US-based First Solar Inc, a manufacturer of solar panels, has started construction work on the second and third solar panel plants as part of its RM2bil project at Kulim Hi-Tech Park in Kedah.

While the first plant is scheduled to begin operations this month, the second and third plants are expected to be operational by year-end. Work on the fourth plant will commence later.

Kulim Technology Park Corp group chief executive officer Datuk Ahmad Shukri Tajuddin said this was the first solar panel manufacturing operations in Asia.

He said the solar panels or thin film photovoltaic panels were used for generating solar power and for exports to Europe.

"The first plant will employ 350 workers and the company expects to employ about 1,200 workers when all plants are operational," he said in an interview.

The solar panels, which are produced using advanced thin film semiconductor process, significantly lowers solar electricity costs and provides renewable electricity at affordable costs.

Ahmad Shukri said construction work on the first plant started last April and the RM2bil investment by First Solar was the biggest for the park last year, making total investments at the park to date at RM23bil.

The four First Solar plants would be located on a 40ha site of the third phase of the park's industrial zone, he said, adding that the fourth and fifth phases of the industrial zone, encompassing about 400ha, would be launched later.

Twenty-one manufacturing companies and 30 support service companies were currently located at phases one and two, covering 1,640ha, with a total workforce of 16,000, Ahmad Shukri said.

He said companies from the US and Japan were the major investors at the park, making up more than 50% of the current investments.

"We are in midst of finalising a few investment proposals with electronics and semi-conductor industries from the US, Europe and Japan," he said.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...84&sec=business
David83
Passed by First Solar site at Kulim Hi-tech Park.

The landscape is breath-taking and the plant size is spacious.

Expansion activity is on going.
kb2005
David83, you plan to switch job ? I heard from my friend, First Solar is a good company. They will offer you very good pay with stock option.

David83
QUOTE(kb2005 @ Apr 20 2008, 11:54 PM)
David83, you plan to switch job ? I heard from my friend, First Solar is a good company. They will offer you very good pay with stock option.

The problem is that I couldn't get chance for an interview; not that I don't consider First Solar. The career section in their corporate website is out-dated.
letchuanna

Did anyone know if there is opening for IT jobs?Thanks for replying.
Stella222
anyone work in first solar? how is the working environment? ok?
shakiraa
search thru the compny website, not much position available sad.gif
parmanesta
Hi, I'm new here. Does anyone heard about Q cell AG Company, also the Solar Cell company from Germany. Now, open the new plant at Cyberjaya.
foongchinboon
heard many ppl said is a quite good company...
oso thinking of it..hehe
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.