Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: In Need of Inspiration & Guidance....
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Blogmasters & Webmasters
goldfries
Alright, I'm starting this as an area for newbie webmasters and bloggers.

Now, this is not for C&C of your blog la. that one you start your own thread.

This one for other stuff like need help finding directions, how to improve your blog content and style and so on so forth.

*pinning this topic for now to see if this is going to be a useful thread*
jayhan
some useful links to develop / take a look at wordpress theme codes and stuff.

Developing a Wordpress Theme
http://www.dezinerfolio.com/2007/11/27/dev...ordpress-theme/

WordPress Theme Hacks
http://www.webdesignerwall.com/tutorials/w...ss-theme-hacks/

WordPress Help Sheet
http://wpcandy.com/the-wordpress-help-sheet/

The Advanced WordPress Help Sheet
http://wpcandy.com/the-advanced-wordpress-help-sheet/

So you want to create WordPress themes huh?
http://www.wpdesigner.com/2007/02/19/so-yo...ess-themes-huh/
goldfries
erm. well not exactly resource sharing thread la but i think it's fine. smile.gif

thought to have a thread for people who want ideas or inspiration on what to write, which direction their site / blog should go, medication for bloggers' block and so on. smile.gif
etsuko
This'll sound like a kopitiam thread if you want them to thrash out ideas for writing stuff. LOL!

It should be best used for advice on how to effectively use the blog...how to write better...something along those lines so it's still controlled.
goldfries
QUOTE(etsuko @ Jan 8 2008, 11:50 PM)
It should be best used for advice on how to effectively use the blog...how to write better...something along those lines so it's still controlled.

that's what i have in mind for this thread. let's see how it goes.
Cyrus2k
Alright then, let me spit out the first question tongue.gif

I'm planning to make an ALA style webby, where there will be 3 co-authors (including me) for the site. However, it won't be featuring mainly on one direction since 3 of us have different interest.

So the question is: Is it a good idea to mash 3 types of content (Ex: Food, Accounting, Design, etc) into one blog? (I'm considering it a blog since the contents will be personally thought/opinions of each author sweat.gif )
goldfries
might be confusing. i'd say if the topics are similar then it's still quite alright. say food + cooking + healthy lifestyle.

spreading across 3 sites would mean you get to place more ads later on too. smile.gif

remember that 3 topics could lead to MANY categories
food alone later you'll come up with subs like western, eastern, local, fine dining blablablaa. then design and accounting some more leh.
Cyrus2k
Yeah, thats what I'm worrying as well.

Should I pull out (well.. for the food part) and only responsible to help my two friends to maintain the webby? I think both of them will like to post stuff more related to the finance direction sweat.gif
goldfries
splitting up would mean more work la. hehe but i'm sure it looks more organized.
etsuko
Well...as goldie already meantioned, it's really about the relation to each particular niche.

For example...if the subject is food. There could be marketing/advertising/design, cooking/ingredients/recipe, shopping/life and more.

As you may notice, it's more difficult controlling the content based on a subject. Therefore, I recommend it'll be better picking a niche and focusing around it. In other words, like you mentioned.

If the niche is finance direction...there'll be business, investment and etc. smile.gif

Much easier in my opinion.
waynelyp90
You have three writers now, right? Well, if you are the more admin style kind of guy, you can stop writing, set up, maintain the blogs for the two of your friends. As most non-tech savvy guy might think that writing is hard work and you are there doing nothing but just let them know what you will do. I am sure marketing, upgrading your blogging software, plugins, proofreading, SEOing their posts will immediately fill up your schedule.

If you are on two or more topics, I would recommend you to go for different domain names unless the domain is brandable. In today's blogosphere, it is hard to become a topic masher. Untargeted contents will not do your SEO efforts a favor and of course, it is harder to execute authority over a niche.

I hope my tips help. wink.gif
Polaris
Does paypal allow withdrawal of US$ into local debit cards? Which bank's card is best?
djzen
I heard some people having abit of trouble getting money from paypal.
some had to use a bank in singapore.
some get around it and get it straight to their maybank account.

try googling. =)
cekapstabilo
QUOTE(Polaris @ Feb 3 2008, 12:17 AM)
Does paypal allow withdrawal of US$ into local debit cards? Which bank's card is best?

Use Public Bank Visa Electron Debit Card.
[attachmentid=399514]
Also, do alert with Paypal's and Public Bank's charge in the whole processes. I suggest that you don't withdraw small amount of money because their charge of withdrawing money quite big... sweat.gif
Polaris
I've been using this google sitemap plugin http://www.arnebrachhold.de/projects/wordp...maps-generator/ since a few weeks ago and noticed something broken today, the "Last Change" is stuck at 8th Feb.

How to fix this?

(edit)

I discovered that I had to click this on the plugin's page,

"If you changed something on your server or blog, you should rebuild the sitemap manually."

each time to manually update the xml file, as it fails to automatically update each time I post.

Does anyone have a solution?

[attachmentid=399514]
Also, do alert with Paypal's and Public Bank's charge in the whole processes. I suggest that you don't withdraw small amount of money because their charge of withdrawing money quite big... sweat.gif

Thanks for the tip, I got that card ages ago but never thought it could be used for paypal.

(edit 2)

*sigh*

It appears that this is a ghost thread.
destfull
http://www.forwebdesigners.com/

very2 useful for me
IcedNyior
QUOTE(Polaris @ Feb 3 2008, 12:17 AM)

you can withdraw to any Visa credit or debit cards. Paypal fees are USD5 per transaction. Then I think the bank charges a little bit. Im not sure how much.
lil`pumpkinz
@goldfries, how to add an advertisement in the page header? i'm using blogspot and have been trying to add/edit the page element but failed. a newbie here, many thanks.
M1X
Though sometime it just feel hard to kep up running a blog. Busy this busy that and lazy this and lazy that. See some of my friend who are among great blogger recently jump from thousand to million ranking... life getting busy.

So... What actually blog for? Earning 'pay per click' ?! lol though some people really did that. And one more thing, what you blog on? I means the platform. Though I feel that using existing blog services might be abit down? (but the advertising or public-ing of course good), but I means might restricted to what they offer. I've seen around 'wordpress' mentioned alot, but no matter what I think a selfbuilt blog from scratch that we can do anything we want might be nicer?

Urgh, don't even know what I'm talking about... (sorry, 24 hours active no sleep... head faint...)
mrhenree
A blog is like a journal where you can write or post your daily activities on a regular basis. The term blog is the short term for web log. Blogging is the act of adding, writing and maintaining a blog.

There are several types of blogs. These are the following:

Personal blog - this is the most famous type of blog used in some of the friendly hub in the net. This is defined as the online diary or journal, where you can post your poem and other literature piece.
Cultural blog - it discusses all about music, arts, theater and other popular culture.
Topic blog - it focuses on the function like some of the search engines present now. Some writers who want to write about something unknown can use it.
Business blog - this talk about the stock market and other business related topics. It is also use to promote businesses, to talk about economics in forum type and manage information.
Science blog - it is the mode used to disseminate information and data. However, scientists only use this mode for simple scientific data and information because they believe that it could damage the credibility of their science as many people can read it.
Moblog - it contains all the information from a mobile phone.
Collaborative blog - this kind of blog is written by two or more writers. Particular site is open for all the writers to write together with others.
Eclectic blog - it focuses on niches individually or collaboratively made.
Educational blog - this is used by students to record the things they learned from their teacher including the activities done in a day.
Directory blog - this blog gives a regular update of all the visited links. It focuses on particular news and happenings.
Forum blog - it functions as an internet forum. It allows two or more bloggers to post discussion on the net.
Spam blog - this is a form of persuasive advertising. Commonly known for the name splogs. It is characterized by the use of bold letters and self-claim advertisements.

I wrote this few months ago in my blog. nod.gif
goldfries
QUOTE(lil`pumpkinz @ Mar 22 2008, 12:34 AM)
@goldfries, how to add an advertisement in the page header? i'm using blogspot and have been trying to add/edit the page element but failed. a newbie here, many thanks.

oh hey i missed this. smile.gif you have to ask blogspot users. i'm not familiar with blogspot.

can use search engine for help too. it's about editing the themes.

Added on April 25, 2008, 12:51 am
QUOTE(mrhenree @ Apr 25 2008, 12:09 AM)
There are several types of blogs. These are the following:

Personal blog - this is the most famous type of blog used in some of the friendly hub in the net. This is defined as the online diary or journal, where you can post your poem and other literature piece.
Cultural blog - it discusses all about music, arts, theater and other popular culture.
Topic blog - it focuses on the function like some of the search engines present now. Some writers who want to write about something unknown can use it.
Business blog - this talk about the stock market and other business related topics. It is also use to promote businesses, to talk about economics in forum type and manage information.
Science blog - it is the mode used to disseminate information and data. However, scientists only use this mode for simple scientific data and information because they believe that it could damage the credibility of their science as many people can read it.
Moblog - it contains all the information from a mobile phone.
Collaborative blog - this kind of blog is written by two or more writers. Particular site is open for all the writers to write together with others.
Eclectic blog - it focuses on niches individually or collaboratively made.
Educational blog - this is used by students to record the things they learned from their teacher including the activities done in a day.
Directory blog - this blog gives a regular update of all the visited links. It focuses on particular news and happenings.
Forum blog - it functions as an internet forum. It allows two or more bloggers to post discussion on the net.
Spam blog - this is a form of persuasive advertising. Commonly known for the name splogs. It is characterized by the use of bold letters and self-claim advertisements.

well, most of the above falls under what's called NICHE Blog.

about the Collaborative blog - it can be any blog, it's not a blog category IMO - just how the blog is being run, how the articles / posts are produced.
djzen
yeah, I agree with goldfries the fries machine tongue.gif

most of those are actually not blog types.

blog types are like niche blogs, personal blogs, corporate blogs, etc.
collaorative blogs are not a blog type, they are more of a blog that consists of posts by a group of people and can be any blog type.

btw, care to explain more about the topic blog ?
fraulein
Hi, I'm using blogspot too but met up with some difficulties:

- I find it hard to insert pics at the place that I wanted. When I inserted a picture, it will automatically appear at the top of the post. Hence, I have to go to HTML script format every time and cut and paste the particular image html code to the place I wanted. Can it be done in an easier way?

- I tried to do blog with Dreamweaver and paste to blogspot. Unfortunately, the html code or something always not compatible eg ; single spacing became multiple spacing etc..

So, I wonder if anyone could recommend a software where I can do the blog while I'm offline, then paste to blogspot?
GameFr3ak
Erm i have a problem here lol I'm a noob blogger who started 3 days ago and now i'm stuck with some issues.

Why when i try googling my site to check for indexing and the result is 0. Even if i type out the complete URL of my blog still google doesnt found anything.

Plz check out my blog to see if there's any problem with it >< been workin on this all day long
M1X
Blogspot's template contained alot of xml values and tags inside the HTML. It not too hard to understand if you arrange them well first in your HTML editor.

Basiclly you must make sure those tags contained properly in your custom HTML code. Keep upload and test untul you got it right. I am using Adobe GoLive but basiclly it nothing much different with Dreamweaver. I just view the code and fix it with my own template (I also using my own server to host the blog so I got my own custom address. Thus, more thing you can do with your blog with own server).

view here, still not finish yet : http://w880i.mas-1.com
GameFr3ak
Nice. How do u host ur own blog? Did u check my blog by viewing my html sources? Im so confused lol
djzen
yes he did.

try submitting your website to google.
google for 'google submit website'
GameFr3ak
yeap i found out whats the problem -.- the problem occur when i submit the sitemap to google. After deleting it, i can google my site with the search engine. Thnx for the help biggrin.gif Will try to improve my blog(s)
djzen
that wasnt the problem

the problem is u didnt wait long enough
fanco
QUOTE(fraulein @ May 19 2008, 03:46 PM)
Hi, I'm using blogspot too but met up with some difficulties:

- I find it hard to insert pics at the place that I wanted. When I inserted a picture, it will automatically appear at the top of the post. Hence, I have to go to HTML script format every time and cut and paste the particular image html code to the place I wanted. Can it be done in an easier way?

- I tried to do blog with Dreamweaver and paste to blogspot. Unfortunately, the html code or something always not compatible eg ; single spacing became multiple spacing etc..

So, I wonder if anyone could recommend a software where I can do the blog while I'm offline, then paste to blogspot?

i'm using appserv,coz most of the time i create website in '.php' file...
if u do in html,its really isn't necessary...
i use dreamweaver for check my coding, coz sometime what appear in dreamweaver isn't the same in ie or firefox...
goldfries
i wouldn't trust DW to check the code.

as long as you follow web-standards, it should work fine on FF / Opera / Safari / Netscape / blablablabl........

IE6 / IE7 / IE8 - might go a little off so some work needed for workaround to make it look right.

best test is on the browser itself, not those applications.
djzen
u can use w3c.org's web standard check, if you want to make it standard code. usually it will look same in most browsers.
kemanisan
how to add chatbox in wordpress?
coffeelover
-removed-
found the answer to my question...
MNet
QUOTE(kemanisan @ Jul 6 2008, 08:32 PM)
how to add chatbox in wordpress?

u can try http://cbox.ws, install is easy, just added some simple html code
Magnarod
I wished to create a new blog entitled "Badan Cina Jiwa Melayu."If I post in Malay language,what content should I post to attract non-Malay readers?
cassplayer
erm can blogspot become a place like a portal service??? wanna ask.. cuz planning on making one
goldfries
depends on your intended function.
cassplayer
QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 24 2008, 06:18 PM)
depends on your intended function.

portal so ppl can sign up account... and chat/discuss.... for one big big group of friends
djzen
yea u can maybe? but certainly not on blogspot. you can link to other sites though.

i suggest you use something like a free forum service (google it). alternatively what i would reccomend is you get your own hosting for about rm80 a year if u can afford (most ppl can nowadays tongue.gif) and install a few scripts if you like:
-forum
-blog
-flash chat
-gallery, etc.
LimHolic
QUOTE(cekapstabilo @ Feb 17 2008, 05:24 PM)
[attachmentid=399514]

Use TuneMoney also can..
coffeelover
i have trouble changing to another blogskin (editing templete)
this is what appeared ><

Your template could not be parsed as it is not well-formed. Please make sure all XML elements are closed properly.
XML error message: The element type "body" must be terminated by the matching end-tag "".

can anybody help?
B-Mecha
erm...i dont know much about xml, but can u post the xml file / content?

xml element usually in this format
<message>hello</message>

so in your case it might be the </body> tag missing:
<body>hello

Maybe u can check the code see is there a "</body>" end tag in the file... if it is missing then u can try add it to the correct line and it should work. I hope my limited understanding of xml can help u smile.gif. else u need other gurus around to help u liao.
madmoz
i so need someone to teach me how to make posts in my blogspot to go

Title

Body & Intro blah blah blah

Read More.

Tried countless times with googled advice but still tak jadi sad.gif

IcedNyior
QUOTE(coffeelover @ Nov 13 2008, 12:03 AM)
i have trouble changing to another blogskin (editing templete)
this is what appeared ><

Your template could not be parsed as it is not well-formed. Please make sure all XML elements are closed properly.
XML error message: The element type "body" must be terminated by the matching end-tag "".

can anybody help?

Blogger has two kinds of templates. the 'classic' html based one and newer XML ones. the XML ones are the ones with codes like [b:skin] and stuff like that. Could it be that your using the new blogger but pasted the classic blogger skin?

any link to the skin you want to use?

QUOTE(madmoz @ Nov 16 2008, 05:56 PM)
i so need someone to teach me how to make posts in my blogspot to go

Title

Body & Intro blah blah blah

Read More.

Tried countless times with googled advice but still tak jadi sad.gif

tutorial here : http://www.eblogtemplates.com/how-to-add-t...ble-posts-link/
I personally havent tested it but it was written in feb 2008 so it should still work wink.gif
madmoz
tq. tq. will try it out later in the week.
pwincess
QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Nov 13 2008, 01:24 AM)
erm...i dont know much about xml, but can u post the xml file / content?

xml element usually in this format
<message>hello</message>

so in your case it might be the </body> tag missing:
<body>hello

Maybe u can check the code see is there a "</body>" end tag in the file... if it is missing then u can try add it to the correct line and it should work. I hope my limited understanding of xml can help u smile.gif. else u need other gurus around to help u liao.

i am having the same problem as coffelover does. i dont know where to change it. here, take a look :
IcedNyior
pwincess

you might need to revert back to the Classic blogger. That skin your using is for the classic blogger. its NOT the XML template.

Reverting back will cause u to lose your widgets. so save the text in your widgets in a notepad file. You can add it in later.

If im not mistaken, with the Classic template you have to add in stuff in the sidebar by editing the coding urself. Not too sure tho
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.