Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Scenario of Penang in panorama
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video > Photo Gallery
Pages: 1, 2
leschang
Penang International Airport Outlook

Interior, departure hall
hanifw
very nice!
leschang
Wat Chaiya Mangkalaram Buddhist Temple, Sleeping Buddha

Freak`
nice pano bro .. thumbup.gif

Freak`
ira179
nice...good attempt.. tongue.gif
leschang
thanks folks.

Gertak Sanggul Fishing Village of Penang
orenzai
rclxms.gif very nice indeed...i love it...
fookie
how u take the photo so wide??
orenzai
its called panorama...you take a few photos from left to right or vice-versa and then use image editing programs to 'stitch' it together..
leschang
Cheng Ho Footprint Temple, Batu Maung of Penang

Fishing Village

Added on December 30, 2007, 5:25 pmChurch of St. Anne, Bukit Mertajam of Penang

Added on December 31, 2007, 2:51 amPenang National Park Main Entrance, Teluk Bahang of Penang
[ - i l l u s i o n s - ]
Hei mind sharing some tips?
Your photos combine together perfectly!
xavierchan
QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ Dec 31 2007, 11:12 AM)
Hei mind sharing some tips?
Your photos combine together perfectly!

agreed... haha... should hang out with Les next time already... notworthy.gif
leschang
having fun with photomerge...hehe

here are some:

Floating Mosque Tanjung Bungah of Penang

Penang Youth Park

Penang Bridge

View from fishing village

Tanjung Marina and Ferry Terminal

Church Street Pier

Armenian Street and Mosque of Kapitan Keling

Mosque of Kapitan Keling, Georgetown
leschang
Gurney Drive

Queensbay Mall

Added on January 9, 2008, 3:09 amTanjung Marina in 360°
leschang
Lover's Isle

Batu Ferringgi Beach

Teluk Bahang Dam in 360°

thanks for viewing.
razuryza
usually u took how many shots to merge it?
leschang
much depends on the angle of coverage, 15-20 vertical shots.
razuryza
ic.. vertical eh..erm..u use photomerge in photoshop? i tried before..but the result kinda sux... haha..must practice more i think...
mindkiller6610
panorama must be shot at vertical ? i try d40 + kit lens at 18mm at horizontal, overlapped each photo with 50%+ , it still come out distorted.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
and one more thing, although i set the camera to manual mode, where I adjust the exposure myself,and used the same setting for all the shots,
but the color is still different for each shot..
may i know what have i done wrongly ?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

example :

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
leschang
how's your focus? auto focus?
InstantRetard
nice shots man...i wish i could do that
mindkiller6610
QUOTE(leschang @ Jan 10 2008, 04:04 AM)
how's your focus? auto focus?

ya, i was using autofocus, and i refocus it between each shots,
is this that caused the problem ? and i set the white balance to Auto too..

Thanks alot.. notworthy.gif

you panorama shots are simply amazing !!
leschang
auto white balance may cause a colour shift from frame to frame.

Added on January 11, 2008, 1:25 amKek Lok Si Temple

mindkiller6610
i see, i will try use daylight / custom WB next time.. thanks notworthy.gif

btw,
u did all the shots above with tripod ? or monopod ?
and that one that shot inside of the temple, they allow you to take photo ??

nice shots thumbup.gif
Haihzz
TS you are good. the pics are brilliant. can you post one in bigger size? want to compare the diff-es
leschang
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Jan 11 2008, 01:32 AM)
i see, i will try use daylight / custom WB next time.. thanks notworthy.gif
btw,
u did all the shots above with tripod ? or monopod ?
and that one that shot inside of the temple, they allow you to take photo ??

all shots handheld, no tripod needed as mostly outdoor bright sunlight shots, just crop away the high and low.
i asked permission for the sleeping buddha shots, can take picture but no flash.

QUOTE(Haihzz @ Jan 11 2008, 01:38 AM)
TS you are good. the pics are brilliant. can you post one in bigger size? want to compare the diff-es

click on the images for enlargement.
mindkiller6610
QUOTE(leschang @ Jan 11 2008, 05:43 AM)
all shots handheld, no tripod needed as mostly outdoor bright sunlight shots, just crop away the high and low.
i asked permission for the sleeping buddha shots, can take picture but no flash.
click on the images for enlargement.

really master.. notworthy.gif

one last question before i try go and shoot some panoramas, sweat.gif
how many % u overlapped for each shot ?

I will be using 18mm D40 kit lens.. do u think 60% is enuff?
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
leschang
QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Jan 11 2008, 09:19 PM)
one last question before i try go and shoot some panoramas,  sweat.gif
how many % u overlapped for each shot ?

I will be using 18mm D40 kit lens.. do u think 60% is enuff?

yupe 60% overlap is ideal for stitching, just to make sure that enough info for Photomerge to calculate and stitch your photos.
i divided my single frame into 3, overlapping 1/3 left and 1/3 right respectively.
leschang
Jit Sin High School

leschang
i-Avenue

i-Avenue and Bukit Jambul Complex

leschang
Penang International Sports Arena (PISA)

Bukit Dumbar, Jelutong

Wisma Yap Chor Ee

Spice & Rice Restaurant
leschang
High Court

Komtar and Prangin Mall

Dewan Sri Pinang

Convent Light Street
wKkaY
QUOTE(leschang @ Dec 28 2007, 08:33 PM)
Wat Chaiya Mangkalaram Buddhist Temple, Sleeping Buddha

The sleeping buddha's an awesome subject for photography smile.gif

I think the reflection off the floor can be controlled with a polarizer. Not sure whether there will be problems when used in a panorama setup though.
leschang
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jan 15 2008, 06:20 PM)
The sleeping buddha's an awesome subject for photography smile.gif

I think the reflection off the floor can be controlled with a polarizer. Not sure whether there will be problems when used in a panorama setup though.

yupe, the reflections were quite distracting, im sure polarizer can do something with it. thanks for pointing out.
leschang
Botanical Garden

Ayer Itam Dam

Komtar

Giant Hypermarket

Added on January 17, 2008, 5:31 amPrima Tanjung

Fishery Aquarium
leschang
Fishery Aquaiurm

Fishery Aquarium
leschang
taken 08:22 just now, Gurney Drive at dawn
leschang
Loke Mansion, Gurney Drive

Loke Mansion is a handsome "arts-and-craft" heritage villa facing the sea on prime real estate in Gurney Drive, Penang. It is one of the heritage sites in Penang threatened by surrounding developments, so I am documenting it for AsiaExplorers so that everybody can get to appreciate its heritage value.
Loke Mansion was built by Alan Loke, the son of tycoon Loke Yew, around 1924-25. In keeping with the habit among the well-to-do at that time of building ostentatious homes and giving them English-sounding names, Loke Mansion was originally called Chatsworth. The northern seafront where it was located, which is today Gurney Drive, was then called North Beach.

quote from asiaexplorers.com
http://www.asiaexplorers.com/malaysia/lokemansion.htm
KTCY
Just wondering what lens and what DSLR you use to snap all the panorama photos.
leschang
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 18 2008, 08:00 PM)
Just wondering what lens and what DSLR you use to snap all the panorama photos.

d70+kit lens tongue.gif
leschang
Metropolitan Park, Relau

Front View

Children Playground

Slope walk path
leschang
city hall
leschang
Pulau Aman Series
Batu Kawan Jetty

Pulau Aman

Pulau Aman Jetty

Kampung houses

the other side of the island

Beach

Location Map in Wikimapia
leschang
MPPP Office Balik Pulau

Rapid Penang Bus Terminal Balik Pulau
leschang
INTI College

INTI New Building
leschang
Marine Department of Northern Malaysia
jolipoli81
great work....i'm surprise with ur D70 + kit lens
my friend also own a D70 and he is always complaining abotu his D70 and now I'm gonna use this thread to inspire him....
leschang
Penang Bridge
mememe12
wah.. les... wat a collection of all the panaroma pics in penang!
dark lenanza
how to do watermark on pic??
tried one..but my pic size become big
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.