XfX
Dec 18 2007, 05:40 PM
Why so many ppl no matter noobs or a pro.. all like to create or join AR games?
Just login into BS or go to any cybercafe, almost all are AR games, sometimes hardly got see any ppl create AP games.
For me i will always play AP, thats why in WCG competition you will always see AP games instead of AR games.
In AP games, ppl can choose their best and most familiar heros to fight which results in a more interesting game.
Once you lose, you will not have any accuse saying that 'Cheh... i got noob hero only'
AR games oso a bit unbalance bcos let say sentinel all randomed good fighters like FV, troll, PA, AM, Sven and Scourage only random support heros like Chen, Omniknight, Keeper Of Light etc etc.. Pls judge urself izit a balanced game???
Asurada
Dec 18 2007, 05:46 PM
isn't there is a comman -mm ? mirrow mode .... both side will have the same hero.
jameslionhart
Dec 18 2007, 05:54 PM
u say onli noobs play ar? lol...farney....ar game is more fun..all on luck...playing againts overwelming hero sometimes...trying out new things...just that ur perspective on the game is different so dont say ar is for noobs or noobs play ar
StrikeZ
Dec 18 2007, 05:56 PM
You can't simply say that AR is for noob but when you think this way, when people play AR, that PROBABLY means that can play almost any heroes.
XfX
Dec 18 2007, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(jameslionhart @ Dec 18 2007, 05:54 PM)
u say onli noobs play ar? lol...farney....ar game is more fun..all on luck...playing againts overwelming hero sometimes...trying out new things...just that ur perspective on the game is different so dont say ar is for noobs or noobs play ar
Then why all WCG games are AP?
asern
Dec 18 2007, 06:08 PM
u playing dota for fun or tournament?
AR = for fun
AP = tournament, its more fair
I totally disagree AR for noobs only. Hv u seen godlike visage?
Mushy
Dec 18 2007, 06:30 PM
lol i wonder why is there such a thread.. so TS ur conclusion is all to play ap is it ? do u notice tat ap also haf a draw back ? wat if ur opponent all play combo type team how are u gona play the game? for instance i played a game with tis team where 5 of them are friends.. their combo was like freaking crazy.. the moment u get nuke and that's it.. BYE esply when they haf pudge in it..
WCG plays ap doesnt mean it's a standard for every1 does it? i agree with other replies.. playin ar is juz for noobs ? haarrloo??? are u ok ? have u seen pugna killing starting from lvl 3 until the end game? tis happens in an ar game... so wat can u say bout tat ?
ar is meant for u to try and experienced with all types of hero.. in order words, test your skills in farming and also pawning the opponent.. let's juz say u used to play ap.. the oni good hero u know is oni tat PARTICULAR hero.. so? makes u a pro? wat happens when u use other hero? noob?
so u r trying to say u play dota for the sake of killing ppl with oni TAT PARTICULAR HERO and not with any other hero is it? like tat i dun see how pro can u be then.. since maybe u oni know how to farm with range.. but not meele hero.. how u qualify as a WCG player then ?
juz my 2 cents
Alpha_Tay
Dec 18 2007, 06:39 PM
so -ap is for nuts becoz they can only play their choosen hero?
ChaosXP
Dec 18 2007, 08:34 PM
AR.
Espeically in PuG games, you dont want to face a semua-kawan team on the other side with an AP edge.
I'm saying this cause I'm always playing alone. Not to mention when your team members might be potential feeders. lol
zefflodo
Dec 19 2007, 12:00 AM
ar mode really challenging.....luck also counted in AR......but kinda hard for me as i am not pro yet....
J-Slade
Dec 19 2007, 12:02 AM
AR have chance your opponent get hero he dunno how to use...
siren
Dec 19 2007, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(Mushy @ Dec 18 2007, 06:30 PM)
lol i wonder why is there such a thread.. so TS ur conclusion is all to play ap is it ? do u notice tat ap also haf a draw back ? wat if ur opponent all play combo type team how are u gona play the game? for instance i played a game with tis team where 5 of them are friends.. their combo was like freaking crazy.. the moment u get nuke and that's it.. BYE esply when they haf pudge in it..
ar is meant for u to try and experienced with all types of hero.. in order words, test your skills in farming and also pawning the opponent.. let's juz say u used to play ap.. the oni good hero u know is oni tat PARTICULAR hero.. so? makes u a pro? wat happens when u use other hero? noob?
Haha, I noe wat TS trying to explain here. In AP, not most of the time you must choose ur best hero, u can either -Random or pick other heros to use la. Remember in AP for those who likes to use random, there always a -random command n you r given credit for not losing money if u random.
One thing i dun agree with Mushy is that he mentioned if in AP, all ur opponents choose combo nukes heros like Zeus, Lina, Cystal Maiden, Tinker types heros, i noe their combo is freaking crazy but this does not mean the team is 100% winner.. All these heroes are just early game heroes. If late game heroes like FV, PA, Bone can survive through the early stages, they will win in late game.
Remember, one thing good about dota is that it is a balanced game and Icefrog keeps creating new versions to balanced-up the heroes and the game. All heroes have their pros and cons.
Conclusion: In terms of benefits between AP and AR, i personally think that AP has a more benefits over AR in game playing, heroes trainning, new item experiments and so on since you can choose the hero to play till you master it everytime you play AP. What's ur opinion guys?
BeglnneR
Dec 19 2007, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(XfX @ Dec 18 2007, 05:40 PM)
Why so many ppl no matter noobs or a pro.. all like to create or join AR games?
Just login into BS or go to any cybercafe, almost all are AR games, sometimes hardly got see any ppl create AP games.
For me i will always play AP, thats why in WCG competition you will always see AP games instead of AR games.
In AP games, ppl can choose their best and most familiar heros to fight which results in a more interesting game.
Once you lose, you will not have any accuse saying that 'Cheh... i got noob hero only'
AR games oso a bit unbalance bcos let say sentinel all randomed good fighters like FV, troll, PA, AM, Sven and Scourage only random support heros like Chen, Omniknight, Keeper Of Light etc etc.. Pls judge urself izit a balanced game???
TS please understand, AP and AR serves a very different gameplay.
AP is for you to choose the hero you will like to play or maybe in teamgame will choose those Combo heroes to use combos.
AR is for fun games and depend on luck and skill which also furthermore lets you play other heroes rather than the heroes you always use, whether balance or not it will depend on how players play the game, this will also test your teamwork and game situation using random heroes. If Scourge side got Chen, Omniknight, Keeper Of Light, Furion and maybe Dazzle ? i would say an early push will be an advantage if opponent like FV, PA, AM, Sven and etc. Therefore AR, is depend on gameplay and situation and not necessary unbalance.
If i were in scourge with the heroes u say. i would have go for a lvl 5 push in either 1 or 2 lane push to pressure sentinel. Chen, Omniknight, KOTL, furion and Dazzle. ( 3 healers, 1 GA, 3 pushers, 3 creep assist, 3 AOE ).
Mushy
Dec 19 2007, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(siren @ Dec 19 2007, 08:30 AM)
Haha, I noe wat TS trying to explain here. In AP, not most of the time you must choose ur best hero, u can either -Random or pick other heros to use la. Remember in AP for those who likes to use random, there always a -random command n you r given credit for not losing money if u random.
One thing i dun agree with Mushy is that he mentioned if in AP, all ur opponents choose combo nukes heros like Zeus, Lina, Cystal Maiden, Tinker types heros, i noe their combo is freaking crazy but this does not mean the team is 100% winner.. All these heroes are just early game heroes. If late game heroes like FV, PA, Bone can survive through the early stages, they will win in late game.
Remember, one thing good about dota is that it is a balanced game and Icefrog keeps creating new versions to balanced-up the heroes and the game. All heroes have their pros and cons.
Conclusion: In terms of benefits between AP and AR, i personally think that AP has a more benefits over AR in game playing, heroes trainning, new item experiments and so on since you can choose the hero to play till you master it everytime you play AP. What's ur opinion guys?
well i do agree tat if u get to survive through u can own them in the end... but the chances are really slim since said edi.. it's COMBO TEAM... unless the COMBO team makes mistakes and drag the game too long then i hafta nthz to say...
it would be totally impossible with early game heros + GOOD TEAMWORK.. yes tis is wat i emphasize on.. i played with a team of frens tat choose great combo nukes and hell.. they really haf good teamwork.. every nukes comes juz at the right time.. example.. stun 2 sec... then slow... then stun or other nukes... the nukes juz keep coming LOL
well juz my 2 cents
SticH
Dec 19 2007, 01:41 PM
AP for serious game
Ar for non-serious game
siren
Dec 19 2007, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(Mushy @ Dec 19 2007, 01:11 PM)
well i do agree tat if u get to survive through u can own them in the end... but the chances are really slim since said edi.. it's COMBO TEAM... unless the COMBO team makes mistakes and drag the game too long then i hafta nthz to say...
it would be totally impossible with early game heros + GOOD TEAMWORK.. yes tis is wat i emphasize on.. i played with a team of frens tat choose great combo nukes and hell.. they really haf good teamwork.. every nukes comes juz at the right time.. example.. stun 2 sec... then slow... then stun or other nukes... the nukes juz keep coming LOL
well juz my 2 cents
Mushy, i noe combo nukes heroes very geng early game n you mentioned the importance of good teamwork. If the FV, AM, PA team know how to manage the nuke heroes well, then they will own late game. Dota is all about unit handling, unit controlling, unit understanding and wat items synergizes the heroes and so on.
I have see pro play the old version naix survive 4 nukes heroes and when late games come, he own like mad... juz like every 5-7 secs kill 1 hero.. but of course, the team got 2 lanes of rax destroyed earlier on, but the naix team still win in the end.lol!
rOtiCaNai05
Dec 19 2007, 04:10 PM
I definitely support AP game, coz i can use whatever hero i like and can master it very well. I don't agree that play random can master all the DOTA heroes, please take note: 8x12-3-4 =89 heroes. But, we cannot argue ar or ap is for noob player, coz those are the same players. I just can say ap have more option and advantages where you can -random mode in ap game, but don't blame once your team is lose. That is noob attitude. So i understand host concern why he opened this thread because he encounter many noob attitude player (blaming when lose in ap game -random mode or lose in ar mode).
Many also say ar game is for fun, coz the game not so tension (no combo hero, bla bla). But please don't forget that there is a possibility of gathering for combo heroes at one site in ar mode. Then what you do? Quit game? That is 1 more noob attitude that always happens in DOTA.
So, what you learn in ar mode? Luck? If because of luck, then better go gamble. For me, fun will appear if every player has tried their best in the game. Then, improvement (strategies, teamwork, skill, and etc) will appear.
Conclusion is ap have more advantages compare ar mode.
nickisthemost
Dec 19 2007, 04:15 PM
-ar for pro+luck/fun game
-ap for Noob/tournament
using the same hero over and over again don't u think is boring ?, cheers
rOtiCaNai05
Dec 19 2007, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Dec 19 2007, 04:15 PM)
-ap for Noob/tournament

You everday also eat, shit and sleep. It's boring?

: Just joking!
Dont you mean tournament player = noob player?
It's Ap game will repeating using the same hero over thousand of years? As i mention just now, ap game is to master the hero that you pick. No regreat, more satisfaction. Once you master it or bored on it where you always godlike, you can switch to another target hero. That is over time course.
For example, once you bored with your girl friends, you can change to another girl which you prefer. All very flexible. Not as passive as you mention... BORING!! Use your hands to change it, dont wait the sky drop, dont wait for LUCK. Dont wait until you get a sotong and blame it.
Maybe you like SOTONG
nickisthemost
Dec 19 2007, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(rOtiCaNai05 @ Dec 19 2007, 04:38 PM)
You everday also eat, shit and sleep. It's boring?

: Just joking!
the difference is there are different type of foods and preferences, same as hero has int, agi and str, you lack in english or what ?
Dont you mean tournament player = noob player?
i said noob
or used for tournament only, u are lousy in understanding english
It's Ap game will repeating using the same hero over thousand of years? As i mention just now, ap game is to master the hero that you pick. No regreat, more satisfaction. Once you master it or bored on it where you always godlike, you can switch to another target hero. That is over time course.
for me people who pick the hero is the hero that they are strong, not for training if train people used ar to train the hero they are not familiar with, in that way they can learn faster
For example, once you bored with your girl friends, you can change to another girl which you prefer. All very flexible. Not as passive as you mention... BORING!! Use your hands to change it, dont wait the sky drop, dont wait for LUCK. Dont wait until you get a sotong and blame it.
Maybe you like SOTONG

from your post look like a person that had never have a gf b4 lol, cheers
siren
Dec 19 2007, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Dec 19 2007, 04:15 PM)
-ap for Noob/tournament

Hello, how to you justify that AP is for noobs?
AP is for the best against the best.
If you say AP for noob, I bet that u never play AP before unless u admit that u r a noob.
nickisthemost
Dec 19 2007, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(siren @ Dec 19 2007, 05:26 PM)
Hello, how to you justify that AP is for noobs?
AP is for the best against the best.
If you say AP for noob, I bet that u never play AP before unless u admit that u r a noob.
i play AP when i was a newbie, same as most of the people in this community, do you know why people play AP instead of AR in CC ? because they scared if they put AR some noob might leave the game because they don't know how to used that hero, which mean AR in a LAN game is for poeple who are well rounded and almost familiar with all the heroes not some who pray to god that he/she can get the best hero
yes this is true AP is for the best against the best but this is consider a tournament or match, maybe i play to much in CC liao, cheers
sbz2000
Dec 19 2007, 08:53 PM
how to say....
i'm a noob so my voice are not strong and ppl should not consider my opinion are very true.
well in my situation i only play AP is to test item to a specific hero. in another case is that i only play that mode if my friend host insist on it. my grudge with this mode is that, its almost the same hero being used again and again to a point its not funny anymore (although diff player have diff result when playing that specific hero). i agree about best against the best factor, but i just get bored fighting the same hero again and again.
in ar, luck indeed play a role in the game but in the end, team play will prevail whatever advantage/disadvantage a team has. i quite fond in this mode because usually game host resides in sentinel along with his/her friend. so team cooperation is already good, but with random heroes the team cooperation may jumble and make their existing cooperation less effective. of course if they are good, that's no problem at all. i usually play in scourge, of course in public you get a bunch of misfits member. with ar mode, sometime the team work effeciently nad if that so, the win become more satisfying than ever.
just my opinion. peace.
yhtan
Dec 19 2007, 08:53 PM
i play AR the most because i need to train each different hero

btw i sux of some heroes, don't wanna mention here
Irishcoffee
Dec 19 2007, 09:30 PM
i damn like ar
coz i dun wan use any boring hero anymore
lightonokira
Dec 20 2007, 01:48 AM
ar n ap both r great but when im bored/challenging mode i play ap
Quick`
Dec 20 2007, 02:55 PM
yea roticanai05 you got your point..eat, sleep,shyt everyday
but do you want to eat rice and only rice every single day?
or u want to add noodles,chicken,bao yue etc etc
get what i mean?
something different perhaps in your gaming life?
in WCG they play very tactically...
AP,both sides gets to pick 5 hereos alternately
and see how they fight among themselve
the best teamwork or should i say best comboes...would probably win
wcg aint as easy as you think....
AR,why ar?
more fun..in sense that you dont get a hero you always do...
you get to train and play random hereos
yes a person may not be good to play a certain hero
at least they can learn and try
instead of keep using the same hero..
use new hereos as some would use this term " use noob hero to pawn keng hero " or they have their own term by the dota community
besides if ure having a 5 friend teammate vs 5 public teammate
you dont want to have an AP game which all 5 friends might end up picking relatively strong comboes hero againts 5 public that is rather weaker(pardon me, of course sometimes public can be strong players to if we meet the right ppl)
would that be fun?yes maybe to some...but those that wants a good game wouldnt agree on this
edit++
AP for noobs? ridiculious
a big topic to talk about...
some people enter AP game but they choose to random, why?
doesnt really matter isnt it ( perhaps they want more challenge,perhaps they want to see if they are capable of dealing *stronger* classification of enemy hereos with random hero?
well...it all depends on individual, what they think...
give you an Example of what ppl might be thinking in AP game:
[Sentinel] P1 Moon rider has been choosen ( i want to ******* pawn all of them, must pick this hero)
P2 Faceless void has been choosen ( a noob player, everyone pick this hero..so i also must pick)
P3 Troll warlord has been choosen ( i wanna test new item build on this hero..shall pick this)
P4 Magnataur has been choosen ( this fellar might be thinking...teams need a stunner so i pick this)
P5 Random ( DAMM it whole team so gugu pick until like that..i random lar)
[Scourge] P6-P10 all random ( mixture of pro players,ameteur or average players all follow to random )
this above is just an example...dota community has few thousand ppl,which category do u fall into we dont know
well its all up to individual..how they think will decide how a game will goes
what they decide affect game play..
so you see...the dota community ure playing with is kinda big..you will never know the capabilities of your enemies till you experience them in game, pro's + ameteur player all joining and play together
1 reason to have fun...
pros...might feel unhappy meeting with ameteur players
vice versa
but thats the way it is..
thats why people form private game for their own liking..
M1X
Dec 20 2007, 03:10 PM
AP, but I really hate people just love to flame the others if things go mistake. It make the game not fun at all and no meaning. I am serious here. Where is the fun that it suppose to be?
InfiniteJustice
Dec 21 2007, 09:30 AM
My vote goes to -AR.....
Well, as stated by most of those who replied, its juz a matter of preference for the players. Some like -AP, some like -AR, u can't juz say that the mode is created for noob or pro.
U play the mode that u enjoy, thus u enjoy the game, but most important is NO GAME SPOILER
Cheers everyone
M1X
Dec 21 2007, 12:18 PM
It a game, so let's play it. No matter it AP or AR they are both challenging. Just that, let;s play it WITH PEACE, not flamming each other while playing. I hope there are some way to shut down the stupid chatting system.
yhtan
Dec 21 2007, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(M1X @ Dec 21 2007, 12:18 PM)
It a game, so let's play it. No matter it AP or AR they are both challenging. Just that, let;s play it WITH PEACE, not flamming each other while playing. I hope there are some way to shut down the stupid chatting system.
shutting down the chat system not going to help
even more is worst, u can't communicate with ur teammate as well
M1X
Dec 21 2007, 12:55 PM
It not nessassary to communicate with text that we already can do it with mouth, just that disable the chat option can make those who we do not see and know won't start fire around.
nickisthemost
Dec 21 2007, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(M1X @ Dec 21 2007, 12:55 PM)
It not nessassary to communicate with text that we already can do it with mouth, just that disable the chat option can make those who we do not see and know won't start fire around.
so u are the one keep shouting in CC like a monkey, i always hate those screaming in CC like thier father open the place
M1X
Dec 21 2007, 01:31 PM
I always keep my mouth shut. I only talk softly when I need opinion from my teammate.
The one who keep shouting are those people behind me NOW (in CC now...sick) I also hate people shouting around, don't they ever learn to respect the others? And also, those fire-staters online are really... Kurang Ajar.
So, sorry run out of topic. Let's get back to the topic.
Flizzardo
Dec 21 2007, 01:40 PM
y i nv haf this problem? if got ppl scold me i wil whack them
ellimist
Dec 21 2007, 06:18 PM
Personally like AP,since you get what you want

and there's the "building a team" factor involved.
But I do play AR,since most of my frens prefer that mode.
Lynixx
Dec 21 2007, 07:32 PM
i choose AR...
cuz AR will proof how pro u are
zephyrus9999
Dec 22 2007, 09:06 PM
for me, AR is for pros
back in times, i used to own with 4 fav heroes (AP).. Then when comes to AR, i wont know the strat for the hero that im not familar with.. Then i started training new heroes with AR.
i wont consider oneself a pro* if he can only use 1-3 hero.
Ban Guan
Dec 24 2007, 11:25 AM
my vote go for NULL
coz i join AP game then type -random
hahahahaha

i do not waste the gold for choose a hero
lion168
Dec 24 2007, 03:52 PM
it depends... if 5 friends all around then prefer AP.... else AR... coz dunno what to chose lol
Flizzardo
Dec 24 2007, 06:59 PM
ya if i with my 5 pro fren together normally we play ap
and we will choose troll , facelessvoid, phantom assassin ,stealth assassin and spectre
for sure win game
MPIK
Dec 24 2007, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(Flizzardo @ Dec 24 2007, 06:59 PM)
ya if i with my 5 pro fren together normally we play ap
and we will choose troll , facelessvoid, phantom assassin ,stealth assassin and spectre
for sure win game
Then i will choose zeus, lina, crystal maiden, lich, akasha..... for sure before u level 15 u gg liao...
Flizzardo
Dec 25 2007, 12:13 AM
lol say easy la u noe wen we haf buritze+mkb+satanic+butterfly
how u gg us?? all 5 int hero 1 agi hero oso can tapao all ..zzZzzz
MPIK
Dec 25 2007, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(Flizzardo @ Dec 25 2007, 12:13 AM)
lol say easy la u noe wen we haf buritze+mkb+satanic+butterfly
how u gg us?? all 5 int hero 1 agi hero oso can tapao all ..zzZzzz
Hallo, Zeus 2nd skill follow by 1st skill then cm's stun+lina stun+lich slow skill u think can pawn how many heroes? Haven mention Zeus ulti, cm ulti lina ulti n lich ulti. If all ulti cast at the same time... Can u imagine the powerfulness of the combo effects and consequences of ur team?
Power threads+vanguard or some cheap items maybe can get.
azmihamzah
Dec 25 2007, 11:57 PM
-AR game start with a bit more gold...
[ - i l l u s i o n s - ]
Dec 26 2007, 03:18 AM
ar good for people who lazy to choose hero
Flizzardo
Dec 26 2007, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(MPIK @ Dec 25 2007, 01:07 AM)
Hallo, Zeus 2nd skill follow by 1st skill then cm's stun+lina stun+lich slow skill u think can pawn how many heroes? Haven mention Zeus ulti, cm ulti lina ulti n lich ulti. If all ulti cast at the same time... Can u imagine the powerfulness of the combo effects and consequences of ur team?
Power threads+vanguard or some cheap items maybe can get.
lol u think wat zeus ulti cm ulti lina ulti lich ulti
troll no ulti?... my hero oso got skill n ulti wor...
MPIK
Dec 27 2007, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(Flizzardo @ Dec 26 2007, 11:45 PM)
come come, we experiment it.... talk oso no point..
where r u staying... come out to have a friendly match.. AP game
yhtan
Dec 27 2007, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(Flizzardo @ Dec 26 2007, 11:45 PM)
this PemakanDunia very kecoh
always talk crap wan, just ignore him
Galala
Dec 29 2007, 08:51 AM
ar = noob game
in one match, we all hero randomed agility heroes, and enemy got all stunner heroes, and we none, then how?
they all gather and stun us and we no need play already, you call this fair? this definitely S**KS game
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.