Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Satelite Broadband( SMART )
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Getting Broadband
Terence573

I lived/stuck in Pulau Ketam for 1 year now and desperate to get a broadband service.Unable to get Streamyx as there isn't a single phone line spotted.
Now I stick with Celcom 3g( but using it as gprs only) to get online.But the speed is abysmal( the worst of the worst)

Searching internet and I found this Satelite Broadband.Stating there price starting at RM150.
So is this Satelite broadband okay to get? Please share.
WaCKy-Angel
Long long time ago like 3 years ago, i heard ppl says the lagginess can kill u...
And raining definitely canot use.

Now duno lor
Terence573
So this SMART thing oledi available for 3 years liaw.....??!!
atlantis2007
should be... cox last time... few years back.. wen I am still a cafe patron.
There is one cafe using SMART.. and the connection speed.. I can say.. I curse them big time..
bhorng
Satelite broadband will always getting difficulty when ever there is a bad weather... so think twice...
Terence573
Just like astro then?
But if the connection speed is okay fine lar.But if really like what atlantis juz said.For the last few years back till now no improvement.Then I will think again.
Maybe can complain haha.
atlantis2007
but.. now I dunno.. ohh.. hehe..
u can try ask for trial... but installation fees wont come cheap, I think..
Terence573
Actually I am teacher in Pulau Ketam.
Using the schoolnet also a Satelite Broadband.But I can say this broadband really rocks!! Ultra fast!!100mb in just 10 minutes or so.But the downside is website blocking.Even friendster cant in.

Dunno what the government use what type of satelite provider.But sure hope it's the same company.
K for Ketamine
You try VPN or proxy. But i recommend u don't abuse the power as a teacher.
There must be reasons they block you from accessing those site. smile.gif
stimix
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Dec 5 2007, 03:33 PM)
Actually I am teacher in Pulau Ketam.
Using the schoolnet also a Satelite Broadband.But I can say this broadband really rocks!! Ultra fast!!100mb in just 10 minutes or so.But the downside is website blocking.Even friendster cant in.

Dunno what the government use what type of satelite provider.But sure hope it's the same company.

Interested to know the comparative speed of satelite broadband bcos from my understanding, satelite broadband dun go higher than 400kbps hmm.gif but in this wiki article it mentioned not higher than 1mbps hmm.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satellite_Internet_access
dragna
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Dec 5 2007, 02:30 PM)
So this SMART thing oledi available for 3 years liaw.....??!!

Yes, SMART was in Malaysia for more than 3 years, if not mistaken it is 2002
Terence573
QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Dec 5 2007, 03:52 PM)
You try VPN or proxy. But i recommend u don't abuse the power as a teacher.
There must be reasons they block you from accessing those site. smile.gif

Proxy avoid can be done as I tried it before. whistling.gif (SHhhh is a secret.)

Is hard to get it to personal use lar.But somehow the net is down from July I guess.Till now still no on.What is going on I dunno.Say some technician will come.But no one came.But I better stay away from it or else kena arrow. mad.gif ( u know lar)

That's y now I stuck with Celcom. Dunno this SMART is really a smart choice though.Afterall RM150 is an overkill for monthly usage or else share with people.SMART rate their Satelite speed as gold( 1.5mbps),silver( 1.0mbps) and bronze ( 512kbps) rclxub.gif .What the hell haha.
prasys
Its not about that , you must understand how satellite broadband works.

Yes you can get ~300-400Kbps (assuming the weather is fine and their uplink line is fine) .But latency will be the killer for you , you'll be getting crazy latencies but this is expected. Overall its way faster then GPRS !

Pros

1. You have Broadband - w00tness

2. You can get it , its not a problem at all

Cons

1. Installation fees

2. Bad weather = gg...You might get connection but its going to be horrible
Terence573
QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 5 2007, 07:51 PM)
Its not about that , you must understand how satellite broadband works.

Yes you can get ~300-400Kbps (assuming the weather is fine and their uplink line is fine) .But latency will be the killer for you , you'll be getting crazy latencies but this is expected. Overall its way faster then GPRS !
Pros

1. You have Broadband - w00tness

2. You can get it , its not a problem at all
Cons

1. Installation fees

2. Bad weather = gg...You might get connection but its going to be horrible

Really they offer the package of Gold,silver and bronze.Seethis

This is due to limited Broadband options in my area.
dragna
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Dec 5 2007, 08:13 PM)
Really they offer the package of Gold,silver and bronze.Seethis

This is due to limited Broadband options in my area.

Gold at 1.5Mbps/128Kbps how much you think everything will cost you? A BOMB!
Terence573
QUOTE(dragna @ Dec 6 2007, 12:53 AM)
Gold at 1.5Mbps/128Kbps how much you think everything will cost you? A BOMB!

Gold is RM350.Not a bomb a molotov.Burn slowly. biggrin.gif
dragna
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Dec 6 2007, 12:55 AM)
Gold is RM350.Not a bomb a molotov.Burn slowly. biggrin.gif

So it's RM350 per month? How much will it cost for the first time installation?
Terence573
QUOTE(dragna @ Dec 6 2007, 05:08 AM)
So it's RM350 per month? How much will it cost for the first time installation?

haha.Dunno and dun dare to try it.
I assume it will be like rm1XXX for the satelite dish installation and such.
It will cost a bomb 1st and then molotov. Ouch.

And didn't see anyone here using this SMART thing come in and share.The connection so awful that even cant even load Lowyat Forum ar? blink.gif Scare.
rajulkabir
QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 5 2007, 03:52 PM)
Interested to know the comparative speed of satelite broadband bcos from my understanding, satelite broadband dun go higher than 400kbps hmm.gif  but in this wiki article it mentioned not higher than 1mbps hmm.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satellite_Internet_access

I've used 5mbps satellite links.

It's not the speed that kills you with satellite, it's the latency. That means it's unsuitable for highly interactive applications like VoIP, gaming, remote desktop, etc.

If you're just surfing web pages and sending email you can get used to the latency. But if you're making more extensive use of the internet it will always annoy you.
Terence573
QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Dec 10 2007, 05:27 PM)
I've used 5mbps satellite links.

It's not the speed that kills you with satellite, it's the latency. That means it's unsuitable for highly interactive applications like VoIP, gaming, remote desktop, etc.

If you're just surfing web pages and sending email you can get used to the latency. But if you're making more extensive use of the internet it will always annoy you.

For how much per-month and what operator for the 5mbps speed?
Is latency that bad that even downloading things a pain in the @ss?
For surfing web and emaill only? I better stick with my GPRS lor.
rajulkabir
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Dec 10 2007, 08:15 PM)
For how much per-month and what operator for the 5mbps speed?
Is latency that bad that even downloading things a pain in the @ss?
For surfing web and emaill only? I better stick with my GPRS lor.

Downloading is not much affected by latency (so long as your router and PC are properly tuned), so that's okay on satellite. The things where the latency is most noticeable are those applications where you expect a split-second response - again, like gaming and so on.

5mbps was in Iraq, UK operator, no footprint in Malaysia.
Terence573
QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Dec 11 2007, 02:18 AM)
Downloading is not much affected by latency (so long as your router and PC are properly tuned), so that's okay on satellite. The things where the latency is most noticeable are those applications where you expect a split-second response - again, like gaming and so on.

5mbps was in Iraq, UK operator, no footprint in Malaysia.

Only in Iraq and UK operator....hmm.. sweat.gif Then is hopeless.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.