Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Vista Transformation Pack 8.0.1
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Desktop Customization
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
CherasWong
Quote:Windows X

Vista Transformation Pack 8:

Overview:

I'm pretty sure you must know and have seen Windows Vista before. It looks really nice for major GUI updates. Many people who have seen it wish to get Vista-style looks for their operating system. It might sounds stupid to say this since you all know what it is but just bear it tongue.gif

This program will transform your Windows user interface to ultimate Windows Vista alike looks that everyone will never notice it's the same old Windows XP (or 2003)

Features:

Vista Transformation Pack will replace many of the resources in Windows XP/Windows Server 2003. It can change such things as:

* Boot screen
* Welcome Screen / Logon Screen
* New msstyles files (visual styles)
* New desktop and file icons
* New toolbar icons
* Progress Dialogs
* Sounds scheme
* System Tray icons
* New Wallpapers
* Windows Media Player Skins
* And much more

Changes in Version 8.0.1
-Fixed pre-configuration specifications to improve performance (Removed unstable applications from list)
-Fixed TrueTransparency's stability (some settings in skin causing input hook problems)
-Fixed Visualtooltip configuration when user accidently deletes the configuration files in there
-Removed backup files' status and put CPU model instead (obsolete checking)
-Updated system files' status report to "Out of sync" and repairing system files information
-Updated user account configuration system for more subtle performance

Changes in Version 8.0
-Added CPU Speed information in Welcome Center
-Added saving setup information file to save setup configuration for later uses with unattended transformation support
-Added installation background
-Added "System optimized" in Setup Configuration to configure the user account corresponding to machine's spec
-Added TrueTransparency 0.8.5 (Glass border with ported AeroStyle skin)
-Added WinFlip 0.42 (Vista 3DFlip)
-Fixed KB925902 hotfix issues with file processing animation
-Fixed Media Center program execution error
-Fixed rebuilding icon cache bug on non-current users during the processes
-Fixed Styler's installation checking bug (always set toolbar to styler mode when possible)
-Fixed failing to apply Vista screensaver
-Fixed program name in Add/Remove Programs
-Fixed subscribing Windows X's shrine to be default homepage bug in Welcome Center
-Fixed visualtooltip's advanced configuration bug
-Fixed WindowBlinds 6 skin installation compatibility
-Moved hotfix warning to user guide file to prevent confusion
-Re-arranged welcome dialog for richer information
-Replaced Extras in Welcome Center with Community link to forum
-Removed configuring user account's status report
-Removed obsolete dialogs (WindowBlinds warning, Before transformation, Donation, FAQ and Q&A)
-Removed Vista Live Messenger 8.1 skin
-Updated Setup Configuration in Welcome Center to cover on everything
-Updated setup transformation to pre-configure current user account before finishing the transformation
-Updated theming engine configuration
-Updated Vista Sidebar to version 2.3 Lite
-Updated Vista Sidebar user account configuration in Welcome Center
-Updated ViStart to build 2661
-Updated ViOrb to version 2.0
-Updated VisualTooltip to version 2.2
-Updated Welcome Center to pre-configure user account with system optimized option on the first run in that user account

Download:

Main Mirror:
http://rapidshare.com/files/73249318/vtp8.rar

Other Mirrors:
http://www.getvtp.com/vtpdl.html
http://www.wikiupload.com/download_page.php?id=26473
http://www.savefile.com/files/1231590

MD5 Hash (of RAR): 83901B0AD64E783F4FE7A8FFC335B52E
MD5 Hash (of EXE): E1D58F098C87D826253187830FEC04B6

If it doesn't match with your downloaded file, it might an version that contains bugs or it may be infected with malware.

Main Resource:
http://www.jcxp.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=23824
darude87
i'll wait for more reviews tongue.gif afraid of screwing up things tongue.gif
ZGMF-X24S
Wow! Added true transparency. Cool....but I won't use it. The word VTP scares me
cyew86
think i will update mine smile.gif
TechnoDude94
No replies, is it stable? First I use XP then I use Vista but then too laggy so go back to XP and using VTP 7.0, if I am not mistaken.
xtrm_cdr
I'm DL it rite now... After the install i'm gonna giv my review.. IF i rajin la.. Huhu
Noodles
ahah, anyone ady tried it? i been using VTP 7 before. screw up.
just wanna see whether this one is stable or not biggrin.gif sweat.gif rolleyes.gif
BlueWind
To be frank, it is not quite stable.. I prefer VTP 7 but because of Mr.X effort in this pack, I will continue looking for JCXP forum and see how it goes..

There are some issues which seems to happen to everyone is the ViOrb and the TrueTransparency.. Disable TT temporary, otherwise you won't be able to close your windows.

Btw, anybody here using Windowblinds 6 full version?
renzoku
Going to try this one
CA5273
i'll try... rite now i'm using vtp 7.0
yarusaru
what differ between vtp 7 n vtp8 ekh?
anyone pls.. hmm.gif
ZGMF-X24S
Read the first post....yarusaru
cyew86
using it now, together with windowblinds 5.5
not much difference that i can notice of, besides the welcome screen and the boot screen. i never had any stability issue with vtp7 b4, maybe coz i did not install any 3rd party program. do note that styler and winflip do not work well with each other
cy97
Using now and it is better than VTP 7. Well i only run visual tool tip in the 3rd party software. If you enable other 3rd party software, your laptop may freeze. Other than that it is really nice...Try it and choose not to integrate with your windows system to avoid having to perform full system restore in case..
CherasWong
I din prefer d sidebar...
Im using original windows vista sidebar get it from www.wincert.net
ZGMF-X24S
QUOTE(CherasWong @ Nov 30 2007, 10:12 PM)
I din prefer d sidebar...
Im using original windows vista sidebar get it from www.wincert.net

Can use 3rd party sidebar gadgets?
Irishcoffee
no much diff
i only can notice the welocme screen change like vista liao
other juz same
adwin
i just wanna know how stable is it

the true transparency thing scares me .....

VTP7 i have no problem .... just some slight decrease in performance oni ..... but when i unloaded the VTP and installed Vistamizer with that true transparency thingee .....

my whole PC -___-"""
cyew86
if u used vtp7 and found no problem, vtp8 shudnt give u any issue too
guess u can disable true transparancy if u dun like it
danieljoey
ah cool.. version 8 already
cy97
Hey guy go and download the latest version 8.01 as it is much more stable. I am using the following setting and no more freeze problem and i get
true transparency, visual tooltip and winflip. cool. rclxms.gif
BlueWind
QUOTE(adwin @ Dec 1 2007, 12:40 AM)
i just wanna know how stable is it

the true transparency thing scares me .....

VTP7 i have no problem .... just some slight decrease in performance oni ..... but when i unloaded the VTP and installed Vistamizer with that true transparency thingee .....

my whole PC -___-"""

Now with the VTP 8.0.1 you can don't worry about it. Some issues like TT is fixed as well as making the system more stable than the previous one. smile.gif
haka
yaya... quite stable for this version...
I lov VTP8!! hehe...
cy97
Too bad true transparency and visualtooltip give me BSOD. So decided to do away with all these third party feature. If BSOD again will restore my laptop and uninstall it. So far ok. Any one face the same problem as me ?
BlueWind
I have no problems with VTP 8.0.1 at all.
clawhammer
QUOTE(BlueWind @ Dec 4 2007, 10:35 PM)

I second that - it's been working like a charm smile.gif
XTREME
hi guys.. err... I have prob with true transparency too... not severe prob like bsod.. but problem clicking the buttons >.<... I have to click on desktop first then only the buttons will work... tried to disable all other effects but still persist... any idea? >.<

after some googlin'... it appears to be viorb's prob >.<... I tried beta 2.2 straight away right after... but still same cry.gif
clawhammer
I didn't use that but did you try downloading the latest version? The one included in VTP might not be latest.
cyew86
i wonder if someday they will be able to imitate vista's transparency 100%
amir89
QUOTE(BlueWind @ Dec 4 2007, 10:35 PM)

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 6 2007, 02:46 AM)
I second that - it's been working like a charm smile.gif

quite interested after reading ur comments..
used VTP 6.0 before and it's disappointing me.. sad.gif

clawhammer
amir89, the latest version is a lot different and have been using it for weeks without problems. Give it a try yourself smile.gif
cy97
If you dun use third party software and true transparency, the VTP 8.1 is quite stable. I am using laptop by the way.
cyew86
it never crashed on me, never install any 3rd party program and use WB6 for transparency smile.gif
amir89
just tried...
sadly...
cannot LEFT CLICK sometimes..
really frustating..
sad.gif
cyew86
well, that's weird, none of us having problem so far
clawhammer
Yeah, both my friend and myself does not have left-click problems smile.gif
XTREME
it only happens with TT & ViOrb enabled though... sad.gif
kazalan_kamitake
why you dont try uninstall and install back...maybe ur window already have problem..
AzkA
VTP so scare for me..before this..effect my window..i can't not some program..so sad.
bLuE^dEv|L
hmm.gif ,never try vtp, think need to try this vtp 8.0.1

Added on December 10, 2007, 10:11 amjust installed and found something interesting ( not sure vtp problem or my windows problem)
1. problem in left click (someone already point it out) when True Transparency is enabled cry.gif
2. in the vtp welcome screen "configure user account", some tick-box is not functioning (unable to tick). sad.gif
3. although changes hav been made in the vtp welcome screen "configure user account" "advanced configuration", but the configuration will back to default after restart windows. sweat.gif

The rest working fine on my lappy as i disable the winflip and sidebar. Btw, i doesnt install wb, using visual style. smile.gif
cheekeong1985
how about include vista dx10 in the next release for real vista transformation!! tongue.gif
Aquariusdenz
hmm.. vista interface that nice? lolz...
cyew86
QUOTE(bLuE^dEv|L @ Dec 10 2007, 08:36 AM)

Added on December 10, 2007, 10:11 amjust installed and found something interesting ( not sure vtp problem or my windows problem)
1. problem in left click (someone already point it out) when True Transparency is enabled  cry.gif
2. in the vtp welcome screen "configure user account", some tick-box is not functioning (unable to tick).  sad.gif
3. although changes hav been made in the vtp welcome screen "configure user account" "advanced configuration", but the configuration will back to default after restart windows.  sweat.gif

The rest working fine on my lappy as i disable the winflip and sidebar. Btw, i doesnt install wb, using visual style.  smile.gif

3rd party softwares are buggy, better not to install em. i did not even install the vista startmenu

QUOTE(cheekeong1985 @ Dec 10 2007, 04:47 PM)
how about include vista dx10 in the next release for real vista transformation!! tongue.gif

that would be impossible sweat.gif
xtrm_cdr
Just don instal vtp8! Full of bugs!
~Rogue~
mind listing out wat problem u encounter instead of posting it dat say " ITS FULL OF BUGS" no offences ok! cheers!!!
BlueWind
QUOTE(bLuE^dEv|L @ Dec 10 2007, 08:36 AM)

1. problem in left click (someone already point it out) when True Transparency is enabled  cry.gif
2. in the vtp welcome screen "configure user account", some tick-box is not functioning (unable to tick)sad.gif
3. although changes hav been made in the vtp welcome screen "configure user account" "advanced configuration", but the configuration will back to default after restart windows.  sweat.gif

The rest working fine on my lappy as i disable the winflip and sidebar. Btw, i doesnt install wb, using visual style.  smile.gif

The bolded text, I assume that you didn't check the Third-party programs during the installation right?
bLuE^dEv|L
QUOTE(BlueWind @ Dec 11 2007, 05:44 PM)
The bolded text, I assume that you didn't check the Third-party programs during the installation right?

hmm.gif , i mentioned some right? i even installed ALL Third-party programs .. sweat.gif

Added on December 11, 2007, 8:06 pm
QUOTE(xtrm_cdr @ Dec 11 2007, 02:53 PM)

mind to point out some bugs tat u found out to support your comment? hmm.gif doh.gif

currently, i disabled the TrueTransparency and WinFlip, installed the Windows Vista Sidebar, pretty satisfy the "vista fee" by vtp8.0.1. Most vital, doesnt feel any serious lagging, not 'eating' so much ram as i thought before i install it. thumbup.gif
Fr3eStyL3r
I'm facing with the left-click problem as well after enabling transparancy option wink.gif
The rest just work fine....
Aquariusdenz
QUOTE(xtrm_cdr @ Dec 11 2007, 02:53 PM)

well dude.. you have opinion that it have alot of bugs.. hmm.. hmm.gif then explain why then.. haha... i want to know..
iluvena
guys.. give it a try to use the 8.0.1 pack.. i installed all 3rd party application n it just work nice.. start menu working great. and the most important to me that it doesn't need windowsblind.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.