Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: BEST ADSL MODEM
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Getting Broadband
neo_6053
Any recommendation for tat? currently using billion from TM. but was strike by lightning last week ... rclxub.gif so need to buy a new one ..

Requirement :
- 1 person use only(no need sharing)
- prefer cheap (around RM100)
- mainly use for BT, DOTA

anyway, can i ask for a new modem from TM if it's strike by lightning?? tongue.gif

and anyone know streamyx package(RM77) tat include modem, do i need to pay for installation and other fees again if i cut my line and register a new one .. haaha... if can, then can save money to buy new modem... brows.gif
----------------------------------------------------------------

and any recommendation for surge protector ?? get frustrated after 3 of my modems get strike by lightning .... i want to protect the lightning from coming thru telephone line , coz i believe it comes from there...

Added on November 20, 2007, 10:25 amno body can help?
Perseus
If you want my honest opinion, the best one I used since 2003 I got my streamyx, is artnet.

It's a local product and has not failed me since I got it.

I had 3 modems taken out by lightning and they're all aztech crap.

Don't buy Aztech, it can't handle minor spikes and it overheats easily.

Artnet has been working for me for so long and I thought I bought a dud since I never heard of this brand.
monaro
Dlink Modem Router (ADSL2) is good for performance but doenst last long.

Arnet, long life but not much in performance.

For lightning protection, just unplug it. Or you could get a fused wired telephone box, which u can get anywhere in KL. It include a box and a thin long fused wire, where you cut it yourself and tie it inside the box. When there is a lightning strike, it wire will cut off.

Still, unplug your telephone. Please take note, surge can come from your power outlet. I got hit 6 times already.

Still buying a UPS with surge protection and lightning telephone line protection wont do you good since it can protect to certain amount of voltage (e.g. protection up to 450 volt, etc). Your UPS will be destroyed as well.

Best way, unplug everything.

Oh ya, earthing system also play important part to protect your equipment.

Some houses doesnt met the requirement of proper earthing.
crazymelon
Linksys or D-link modem also not bad, really don't buy Aztech, currently using DSL605EW model, not good at all.
unknown
I'm using Aztech 600EU, so far this problem never give me any problem for heavy BT.
normeck
anymore best modem router?...im looking one of it
zhi1437
D-Link DSL 2640T
Linksys WAG200G

this 2, which 1 better??
ff8ong
Linksys running CISCO sys,dlink price is much cheaper,AZTECH GOT WARRANTY FOR LIGHNING STRIKE FOR 5 TIMES
2640T rm190,
linksys AIO RM225.
605EW RM185
legolego
i really want to know which brand is the best.
friends say linksys, netgear, buffalo good in performance while aztech and dlink is no good.

I'm using artnet now, and it keeps disconnected for few months..
i really don't know what is the problem. sometimes it won't dc, but most of the time keep dc.

gonna buy a good and stable modem+router..
freako
i would recon Aztech 600E! has been serving me for years... with no problem as a modem i bt heavy. very heavy. while chatting and all. no overheat yet. smile.gif
kok_hui
I am using prolink 9300G, very realiable, it never dc.
Lineage
Aztech 600E already no stock liao lor..replacement model is 605E(if im not mistaken)..as i know, modem spoil mostly just got 1 common reason, it is electric problem..example: lightning..
on for how long it is nothing..every modem can on 24 hours...
legolego
just bought dlink 2540T..
duno is the modem prob or our line..
sometimes the LAN will go off and connected, but the ADSL light din blink. But then still make the connection stop, and reconnected. It is very very weird.
And it still got dc.
when it connected, even loading the website use a lot of time.
I really don't know why.

bryanyeo87
if your streamyx subscription is the one with the modem package, and it is less then a year, you can replace it with them FOC.

on the topic of best modem, i would say, the old kasda ke318D provided by telekom. it works without a flaw and 24/7 for about 3 years ++ already.. and best part of all, it doesnt hang during heavy and i mean really heavy BT usage smile.gif
legolego
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Jan 5 2008, 11:50 PM)
if your streamyx subscribtion is the one with the modem package, and it is less then a year, you can replace it with them FOC.
on the topic of best modem, i would say, the old kasda ke318D provided by telekom. it works without a flaw and 24/7 for about 3 years ++ already.. and best part of all, it doesnt hang during heavy and i mean really heavy BT usage smile.gif

is not.. using router+modem...
any brand except Aztech......

honestly , i'm using Aztech now (used from year 03 until now tongue.gif) i can said i'm a heavy gaming/bt users here

then y i don recommends Aztech ?....remember last time my frz modem get burned and i recommend him use Aztech , how i noe....he so lucky New Aztech modem get burn again = =" he blame me why recommends Aztech =.=!! <== this case i faced 2 times , bcos i recommends 2 frz use Aztech
Scandal
QUOTE(3536837 @ Jan 9 2008, 11:41 PM)
any brand except Aztech......

honestly , i'm using Aztech now (used from year 03 until now tongue.gif) i can said i'm a heavy gaming/bt users here

then y i don recommends Aztech ?....remember last time my frz modem get burned and i recommend him use Aztech , how i noe....he so lucky New Aztech modem get burn again = =" he blame me why recommends Aztech =.=!! <== this case i faced 2 times , bcos i recommends 2 frz use Aztech

i use aztech too.. biggrin.gif from 03 till now(08) thumbup.gif
AHBOON
i dun believe such a modem got lighthing stricke wont spoil one, i been using aztech, dlink , zte, actualy are all same nia...speed wont be much different. as long as u got stable line,then should be no prob.but for me, i favoured dlink
bulibulizaimon
Add surge protector la to make ur electric equipment protected from spike
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.