Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: [WTA] Maxis Wireless Bandwidth 3GB Limitation
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Getting Broadband
sciencefiesta
I am a new user of Maxis Wireless Broadband (Advance Package:RM78 per month)

I discovered the following HIDDEN clause on Maxis Broadband Fair Usage Policy:
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband/termncon.asp

5.3.1 Each customer's total usage per month shall NOT exceed 3GB of data volume transmitted (total upload and download usage). This is to ensure that no individual hogs the bandwidth at all times.
5.3.2 If a customer wishes to use more than the volume permitted, a written request should be made to Maxis.
5.3.3 Maxis reserves the right to reject the said application or charge for any additional data volume transmitted from what is already allocated.

I believe my total usage for now has exceeded 3GB limitation. I wish to enquire whether Maxis will impose or charge additional fee to my monthly bill which is RM78 currently.

Thank you!
elfreakz
there's so many maxis broadband threat discuss about this.. try search for maxis thread.
wr6969
QUOTE(sciencefiesta @ Nov 18 2007, 08:43 PM)

I discovered the following HIDDEN clause on Maxis Broadband Fair Usage Policy:
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband/termncon.asp

I don't want to be picky, but if you found the clause, how can it be hidden? How do you define hidden? rolleyes.gif
Synco
QUOTE(wr6969 @ Nov 19 2007, 12:40 AM)
I don't want to be picky, but if you found the clause, how can it be hidden?  How do you define hidden?  rolleyes.gif

i am using maxis BB for nearly 14 months
average 1 month i download more than 30gb so far nothing happen
dragna
They have it in black and white now but the haven't implemented it just yet. It can be tmorrow or the month after no one knows and when it comes you can't complain.
JWCheah
In my opinion, the Terms and Conditions (ToC) is used as a legal shield for their operation only. I do not think that Maxis will implement it as they are still fighting off competition with other ISPs whom is not tied to this kind of terms. So in business terms, highly unlikely, close to impractical. However, by having this clause in, if you are a 24/7 super heavy user, they can actually perform severe throttling or even dc your line (probably using QoS), legally, to "control" your BW usage without prior notice as the ToC covers this. Well just my tots... dun shoot me if they start implementing it; sweat.gif
as I am a victim too.... I'm in second month usage with an average of 15GB/week brows.gif

[edited due to typo error]
aiman04
I was worried about this too, I registered without reading thoroughly the TOC. 3 GB is ridiculously tiny.

But now from what I have been reading here, I can actually sit back and relax now.

QUOTE(JWCheah @ Nov 19 2007, 07:33 PM)
In my opinion, the Terms and Conditions (ToS) is used as a legal shield for their operation only. I do not think that Maxis will implement it as they are still fighting off competition with other ISPs whom is not tied to this kind of terms. So in business terms, highly unlikely, close to impractical. However, by having this clause in, if you are a 24/7 super heavy user, they can actually perform severe throttling or even dc your line (probably using QoS),  legally, to "control" your BW usage without prior notice as the ToS covers this. Well just my tots... dun shoot me if they start implementing it;  sweat.gif
as I am a victim too.... I'm in second month usage with an average of 15GB/week  brows.gif

I totally agree.

Just hope they don't control my bandwidth usage. Even though I don't torrent, I download from hosters like Rapidshare quite heavily. And what good is my PS3 if I can't download games & update the system software?

Synco
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Nov 19 2007, 07:46 PM)
I was worried about this too, I registered without reading thoroughly the TOC. 3 GB is ridiculously tiny.

But now from what I have been reading here, I can actually sit back and relax now.
I totally agree.

Just hope they don't control my bandwidth usage. Even though I don't torrent, I download from hosters like Rapidshare quite heavily. And what good is my PS3 if I can't download games & update the system software?

well i am sure they will implement it when a lot of user complaint abt the slow speed laugh.gif
but again speed is getting slower nowadays
hon
becoz of this terms.. i return the modem already..
i tried called up and ask but they find many excuse to answer ur question.. and finally u will never get the answer..
i juz wan to say tat Maxis have many hidden cost.. and if you dont aware, u will pay more. i rather pay more and i will never trust Maxis anymore...

my frez is 1 of the user and he realise there is extra RM5 in the bill makes it up to RM7X.. he go and ask counter y.. their answer.."Becoz we print the bill so clear to u.. then we charge tat fees... " my frez juz tell her.. iX wan bill cum to my house anymore.. i will cum and pay every month..

now when i saw Maxis BroadBand roadshow.. im yelling "Bla la" Poor services..

* And ur question.. u juz have to bcareful coz once ur getting their services.. it's 2 years contract and in this period.. they can say.. "we juz started charge to any acct tat exceed 3gb per month..." then wat can u said? it's in the terms.. u cannot say NO... X wan use it? Kena penalty...have to pay oso...
so think carefully...now dont charge not means tat future not charging u..
they juz pursuiting u all use it.. when they reach their target of user... BOOM...u can imagine how rich they r...
Many ppl already know how "good" services provided by maxis.. and many user choose to not apply it now..
for those who applied.. scratching their hair ask who wan...
dragna
QUOTE(hon @ Nov 21 2007, 06:25 PM)
* And ur question..  u juz have to bcareful coz once ur getting their services.. it's 2 years contract and in this period.. they can say.. "we juz started charge to any acct tat exceed 3gb per month..." then wat can u said? it's in the terms.. u cannot say NO... X wan use it? Kena penalty...have to pay oso...
so think carefully...now dont charge not means tat future not charging u..
they juz pursuiting u all use it.. when they reach their target of user... BOOM...u can imagine how rich they r...
Many ppl already know how "good" services provided by maxis.. and many user choose to not apply it now..
for those who applied.. scratching their hair ask who wan...

Isn't it a 18 month period not 24 month, not mistaken the other day one of the resellers said it.
hon
QUOTE(dragna @ Nov 22 2007, 07:06 PM)
Isn't it a 18 month period not 24 month, not mistaken the other day one of the resellers said it.

haha... maybe i forget about the offer liao.. not sure 18 o 24...
haiz... this ISP.. 12month i oso X dare to apply liao..
Synco

i think all isp also like that
thats how malaysia company runs anyway
we as consumer always at their mercy
zexynova
wah lao if they charge for more than 3gb dl. a lot of us will cry. and i will leave maxis when my 16 months is done
Alexes
I used maxis for 4 month n I downloaded round 5-20GB per month (direct down).

Everything fine with me....
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.