Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: EOS 400D Standard Kit vs IS Kit
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
jhunter

Need to ask whether is it better to buy the camera with standard kit 15mm-55mm lens and buy better lens later.
Or buy the camera with the good 17-85mm IS lens buy adding RM1250 more? I was told that this lens alone will cost more than 2k if buy separately.

I am a beginner, I think I will shoot a lot of landscape and portraits and I know the std kit lens will not last very long.

Price with std kit: 2499
Price with IS kit: 3750

Include a bag and 2GB CF II card only. Is it a good deal? THanks
khairolnizam
its a good deal to me.. more range.. IS can be really helpful..
vichio
I prefer 400D + Sigma 18-200 OS, around 4000RM
julchin_09
I would go for the IS kit. Better lens.....
r4ydc24
if u dun mind the price, get the IS kit.. dun see the necessity to recommend other specs... whistling.gif
jhunter
QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ Nov 19 2007, 12:30 AM)
if u dun mind the price, get the IS kit.. dun see the necessity to recommend other specs... whistling.gif

Thanks for the advice. I already got the cam and IS kit yesterday for RM3700. But now a little regret because I should have paid RM800 to get 40D with the 18-55mm IS kit lens. Maybe I am over-poisoned by reading what you guys posted tongue.gif
R a D ! c 4 L
oh just be glad that you own a DSLR now laugh.gif congrats on your purchase smile.gif
khairolnizam
CONGRATS TOO..!!!
goldfries
QUOTE(jhunter @ Nov 19 2007, 12:04 PM)
Thanks for the advice. I already got the cam and IS kit yesterday for RM3700. But now a little regret because I should have paid RM800 to get 40D with the 18-55mm IS kit lens. Maybe I am over-poisoned by reading what you guys posted  tongue.gif

so now you're unit is costly on the lens part - make sure you make the fullest use of it.
NasiLemakMan
Thanks for the advice. I already got the cam and IS kit yesterday for RM3700. But now a little regret because I should have paid RM800 to get 40D with the 18-55mm IS kit lens. Maybe I am over-poisoned by reading what you guys posted  tongue.gif

But still if you get 40D 18-55mm kit later on probably you'll lament that you should get the 400D with IS kit that's only cheaper by rm800! tongue.gif

Don't worry, many good photogs are using 400D. If you use 40D and still takes crappy pics...aiyoh doh.gif .
goldfries
put it this way la. getting something cheaper now means you have more $$$ for lens upgrade. biggrin.gif
r4ydc24
i second wif wat goldfries mentioned... but as for the lens upgrade is concern, he has an IS lens liao..... now, start sharpening ya skills n be open to be poisoned by others.. bwahahahahah
vikingw2k
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 19 2007, 02:03 PM)
put it this way la. getting something cheaper now means you have more $$$ for lens upgrade. biggrin.gif

Indeed, If I were TS, I would have get myself a plain kitlens temporarily and save up a little more and get myself either a Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 or Canon 17-40mm f4 L to be use as my kitlens instead of getting the IS lens smile.gif

julchin_09

Both oso same crop factor. Just one body has better ergonomics and more functions. But when you get the 40D Kit, you're stuck with a lens which you might find insufficient in no time. So the money that went to the better more expensive lens though a cheaper body, is well worth it. icon_idea.gif
goldfries
yeah. it's the lens that makes the difference.
[ - i l l u s i o n s - ]
I second the IS lens too..
I'm using the 400D with the kitlens now and not happy with it.
NasiLemakMan
Of course you are not happy with it, particularly with Canon. After you got IS you'll not happy with it coz it's not L series (ultimate poison). After you reached the L lens series than... well it's nirvana brows.gif.
goldfries
QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ Nov 20 2007, 10:24 PM)
I second the IS lens too..
I'm using the 400D with the kitlens now and not happy with it.

hehe. kit lens ok la. a lot of my shots are used with kit lens. smile.gif

just that now upgraded my lens, my shots get nicer too. and higher success rate. smile.gif
forrest
QUOTE(jhunter @ Nov 16 2007, 03:52 PM)

Need to ask whether is it better to buy the camera with standard kit 15mm-55mm lens and buy better lens later.
Or buy the camera with the good 17-85mm IS lens buy adding RM1250 more? I was told that this lens alone will cost more than 2k if buy separately.

I am a beginner, I think I will shoot a lot of landscape and portraits and I know the std kit lens will not last very long.

Price with std kit: 2499
Price with IS kit: 3750

Include a bag and 2GB CF II card only. Is it a good deal? THanks

this is the general price in msia? hmm.gif
im surveying the price now...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.