Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: PS3 with LCD Monitor
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Consoles Couch > Playstation
Pages: 1, 2, 3
ezralimm
Hi, i was wondering if i could connect a PS3 to a LCD panel and some standard 2.1 computer speakers.

Is is possible?

What cables would i need?
ruztynail
sigh..
firstly yes u can..
2ndly depending on the type of LCD u are using.
home entertainment LCD is definately a yes
PC LCD depends. 24 inch and above u should hv HDMI ready
22 inch and below u need a DVI-HDMi converter..
audio.. go get a rca female to female thn boleh.
ezralimm
will there be a loss of audio quality?
neoardi
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Nov 6 2007, 07:43 PM)
sigh..
firstly yes u can..
2ndly depending on the type of LCD u are using.
home entertainment LCD is definately a yes
PC LCD depends. 24 inch and above u should hv HDMI ready
22 inch and below u need a DVI-HDMi converter..
audio.. go get a rca female to female thn boleh.

And don't forget HDCP icon_rolleyes.gif
ezralimm
Owh... forgot to mention.

Im using a Samsung 226BW that is HDCP compliant.

User reports online claim it will work with 720p perfectly (with a slight thinning effect due to the slightly different aspect ratio) and with 1080p it downscales abit.

Now im wondering about the audio....

The HDMI to DVI connections dont include audio apparently. I'll have to figure a way to connect computer speakers to the PS3. Is it possible?

Optical out converters perhaps?
ruztynail
u can stil use the jack tat came with it. meaning the red and white jack thn using a rca female to female connect it to a green female audio jack. u can get all these at lowyat or any audio shop.

i was like u previously.. but optical is freaking exp. unless u got cash to spare.

tats how it looks like ok.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
munak991
Wow u all play PS3 on ur PC LCD wahaha... :thumps
ruztynail
no money to buy home LCD ma. so opt for the cheaper one lo
kabuto rider kick
agree nod.gif
dattebayo
its better to use a 24" PC LCD rather than those economic rm2.6k 32" LCD TV, the 24" LCD support full HD
verced
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 6 2007, 11:24 PM)
its better to use a 24" PC LCD rather than those economic rm2.6k 32" LCD TV, the 24" LCD support full HD

You won't be able to see the difference really on such a small screen. smile.gif

However, the screen estate is awesome if you intend to use the screen for your normal computer use as well.
dattebayo
LCD monitor will always produce more crispier and sharper image, and also great color dynamic range than any entry level LCD TV wink.gif

plus, bigger screen or not, it's just depends on how far u sit in front of the monitor/tv
lksing78
Any idea where can get HDMI to DVI cable from?

What type of DVI we're talking here?
munak991
Compare ur PC LCD with Samsung F96 series LCD?

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

Samsung LCD TVs offer unparalleled picture quality that can be optimised for gaming at the touch of a button. It allows for H-sharpness and a faster response time in the games.
In addition, its powerful surround sound effects produce a magical environ-ment of wonder that is filled with excitement and joy.
dattebayo
lol... how much is that?
a Dell 24" only rm2.2k iinm sweat.gif
ezralimm
Thanks for the replies guys.

Im still torn... dont know if i wanna play Crysis/Bioshock etc (new PC)... or get a PS3.

500,000:1???

You gotta be kiddin me.

My 226BW's 3000:1 ratio is nothing to shout about. Sure, photos are realistic, but for text and internet surfing, the crappy matte screen on my T60 (really crappy, completely colour inaccurate, dim) produces far deeper blacks than the samsung. Reading is much easier on the small notebook than the desktop 3000:1 Display.
munak991
Hey i want to ask my TV is Sony KLV-S32A10
It only support till 720p
can anyone know if it with PS3 it image will be good?

It result

TEST RESULT SCORE
Before color temp (20/80) 9,050/8,150K Poor
After color temp (20/80) N/A
Before grayscale variation +/- 1,611K Poor
After grayscale variation N/A
Overscan 7% Poor
Color decoder error: red +20% Poor
Color decoder error: green +0% Good
DC restoration All patterns stable Good
2:3 pull-down,24fps Y Poor
Defeatable edge enhancement Y Good

and video for review biggrin.gif

http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/son...7-31304867.html

Added on November 7, 2007, 12:20 am
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 7 2007, 12:01 AM)
lol... how much is that?
a Dell 24" only rm2.2k iinm sweat.gif

For your answer biggrin.gif

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B...ce-21/ref=nosim

Price: £2,699.00 plus

Recently Euro to Malaysia Currency is 4.85

RM 13,100 biggrin.gif rclxub.gif
ashchia
Hi, i want to buy a wide screen LCD monitor, but i have a tight budget. i want to know which brand LCD monitor that got speaker or have sound output that can plug and play with PS3?
ffrulz
QUOTE(ashchia @ Feb 5 2008, 04:14 PM)
Hi, i want to buy a wide screen LCD monitor, but i have a tight budget. i want to know which brand LCD monitor that got speaker or have sound output that can plug and play with PS3?

Samsung has a promo right now RM2.2k for R71 32" or RM2.4k for R81 32"
Raiko
Get This one
Coolest of all.
gr8fr8
ala better get the BENQ FP94VW. Cheap and have headphone jack...can connect either headphone or pc speaker...easy...has HDMI port...but only 720p...still ok to me for those with tight budget....19".
Thrust
Just get DELL SP2208WFP with HDMI in, solve all your problem. This is how it looks like:

[attachmentid=394185]
saiga
QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Feb 5 2008, 04:39 PM)
ala better get the BENQ FP94VW. Cheap and have headphone jack...can connect either headphone or pc speaker...easy...has HDMI port...but only 720p...still ok to me for those with tight budget....19".

bro, dis model have 22 inch one?
wild_acasia2
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 5 2008, 07:21 PM)
Just get DELL SP2208WFP with HDMI in, solve all your problem. This is how it looks like:

[attachmentid=394185]

are you by any chance from Intel?
darkskies
SP2208WFP is ur best budget wise option. The cheapest 22 inch HDMI lcd. If Money doesnt counts for u(too rich), juz buy X-FI elite pro. Solve the problem for Audio output and input. X-FI elite pro console kit got the audio jacks(red and white one) for u to direct the av cable splits signal into ur creative soundcard. But as i said , it being too spendthrift if u opted for this.
zeipher

[attachmentid=394185]

hi... planning to get the SP2208WFP for ps3 also. been wondering the picture quality of the lcd output from the ps3 and also any ghosting issues when playing fast pace games ?
gr8fr8
QUOTE(saiga @ Feb 5 2008, 07:36 PM)
bro, dis model have 22 inch one?

as far as i know, only 19" unsure.gif
Rezuan78

[attachmentid=394185]

hi bro, is this dell support up to 1080i resolution? noob question. icon_rolleyes.gif
Microsuck_360
QUOTE(Rezuan78 @ Feb 5 2008, 10:48 PM)
hi bro, is this dell support up to 1080i resolution? noob question.  icon_rolleyes.gif

bro, alang2 ambik 24" terus...sekarang dell ada offer...around 1.3++k... icon_rolleyes.gif
wild_acasia2
QUOTE(Rezuan78 @ Feb 5 2008, 10:48 PM)
hi bro, is this dell support up to 1080i resolution? noob question.  icon_rolleyes.gif

no it doesn't , you will get 720 if i'm not mistaken all monitor on this price range won't get you full HD. It's good enough IMHO.
Thrust
Ya, can go till 720p only. Most PS3 games are capable of 720p output only.
Rezuan78
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 5 2008, 11:51 PM)
Ya, can go till 720p only. Most PS3 games are capable of 720p output only.

actually i have lcd tv philips 20" but it support up to 720p only. so when i play warhawk so i cant see full screen of the game. any idea what monitor can support up to 1080i or 1080p resolution?
Fattyfei
I'm using the HP 2207H - with HDMI input. Built in speakers sucks but I can live with it for the time being. On the info page it's stated that it's running at 1080p with my PS3. Maybe upscaled. Not sure why but as far as I know 22" normally support up to 720p. Weird
maxguy
anyone try this for lcd monitor which support 1080i/p output

www.hdboxpro.com
Rezuan78
QUOTE(Fattyfei @ Feb 6 2008, 09:15 AM)
I'm using the HP 2207H - with HDMI input. Built in speakers sucks but I can live with it for the time being. On the info page it's stated that it's running at 1080p with my PS3. Maybe upscaled. Not sure why but as far as I know 22" normally support up to 720p. Weird

bro may i know 720p normal screen is it the same as 720p wide screen? do u see full screen when play game on 720p wide screen? i ask this because my 720p normal screen cannot see a few inch of the image on the left and right. refer the picture below:

[attachmentid=394472]
(720p normal screen)

[attachmentid=394473]
(720p wide screen)

hmm.gif rclxub.gif or we only can get full screen when using 1080p? any idea?
Thrust
Bro, your Phillip LCD is it 4:3 aspect ratio?
Rezuan78
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 6 2008, 10:47 AM)
Bro, your Phillip LCD is it 4:3 aspect ratio?

It has three screen format adjustment options: 4:3, 16:9 compressed, and 4:3 expand. My LCD TV spec >>> http://www.amazon.com/Philips-20PF5120-20-Flat-LCD/dp/B000AD09IU
saiga
QUOTE(Rezuan78 @ Feb 6 2008, 11:36 AM)
It has three screen format adjustment options: 4:3, 16:9 compressed, and 4:3 expand. My LCD TV spec >>> http://www.amazon.com/Philips-20PF5120-20-Flat-LCD/dp/B000AD09IU

it's your lcd problem. not actually problem but becoz af the aspect ratio.
if wanna view full screen must get the 16:9 one.if use 4:3 (like your one) will have black bars.

720p normal (4:3) and 720p wide (16:9) not same. must depends on the source.no need 1080p to
get fullscreen.

maybe you can try change the screen format,but the image will no be like usual (maybe people will fatter n etc).like
in your case you can view fullscreen but some details is missing (left and right)

p/s: time to get wide lcd biggrin.gif
Rezuan78
QUOTE(saiga @ Feb 6 2008, 12:29 PM)
it's your lcd problem. not actually problem but becoz af the aspect ratio.
if wanna view full screen must get the 16:9 one.if use 4:3 (like your one) will have black bars.

720p normal (4:3) and 720p wide (16:9) not same. must depends on the source.no need 1080p to
get fullscreen.

maybe you can try change the screen format,but the image will no be like usual (maybe people will fatter n etc).like
in your case you can view fullscreen but some details is missing (left and right)

p/s: time to get wide lcd  biggrin.gif

so now should i buy lcd monitor widescreen? if i buy lcd monitor widescreen it only support up to 720p also. so is the 720p lcd monitor widescreen can see full screen? rclxub.gif

p/s: not enough budget to buy one more lcd tv laugh.gif
Thrust
I see your phillips LCD has square screen. I guess you should try to play your games @ 4:3 aspect ratio and see whether you can view the full screen of the game image.

If you want to play widescreen (16:9), better get a true widescreen LCD. smile.gif

Edit: Bro, it seems that it is your LCD limitations. You LCD has only 640 x 480-pixel resolution and not 1366x768 like those HD ready set. Best bet is to get a new LCD TV. tongue.gif
Rezuan78
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 6 2008, 01:07 PM)
I see your phillips LCD has square screen. I guess you should try to play your games @ 4:3 aspect ratio and see whether you can view the full screen of the game image.

If you want to play widescreen (16:9),  better get a true widescreen LCD. smile.gif

Edit: Bro, it seems that it is your LCD limitations. You LCD has only 640 x 480-pixel resolution and not 1366x768 like those HD ready set. Best bet is to get a new LCD TV. tongue.gif

ok bro will find 1366x768. nod.gif laugh.gif rclxub.gif
Thrust
QUOTE(wild_acasia2 @ Feb 5 2008, 09:02 PM)
are you by any chance from Intel?

Nop, I am not from Intel.
Raiko
QUOTE(Rezuan78 @ Feb 6 2008, 01:24 PM)
ok bro will find 1366x768.  nod.gif  laugh.gif  rclxub.gif

Bli je ni Wan..

QUOTE(Raiko @ Feb 5 2008, 04:29 PM)
Get This one
Coolest of all.

darkskies
If really want good lcd wait for benq X series. X2200 is a good model and it had arrive in malaysia already. But not too sure have any suppliers or agent taking orders of it yet. Its already in www.benq.com.my list now. Price i'm not too sure since its very new. It inherit the specs of formal benq FP241VW(with more specs) but just that it isnt 24" and 22" only. Too bad i bought Dell 2208 or else i sure choose this one. 2208 doesnt perform much to what i expected but its budget wise so it doesnt matters to me.
Rezuan78
QUOTE(Raiko @ Feb 6 2008, 02:27 PM)
Bli je ni Wan..

piff... asus tu menarik tertarik aku melihatnye. tapi dia cuma 1680x1050 ja so kalu 1680x1050 cuma dpt 720p ja. tadi aku dah check dgn sorang member dia kata better beli yg 1920 x 1080 atau 1920 x 1200 baru dpt full 1080p. tapi walaupun begitu asus tu bagus jugak sbb ade usb 2.0 component, composite dll. thumbup.gif
Thrust
1080p full HD memang bagus tapi most PS3 software or "baranglembut" can support 720p saja.
Rezuan78
QUOTE(darkskies @ Feb 6 2008, 02:35 PM)
If really want good lcd wait for benq X series. X2200 is a good model and it had arrive in malaysia already. But not too sure have any suppliers or agent taking orders of it yet. Its already in www.benq.com.my list now. Price i'm not too sure since its very new. It inherit the specs of formal benq FP241VW(with more specs) but just that it isnt 24" and 22" only. Too bad i bought Dell 2208 or else i sure choose this one. 2208 doesnt perform much to what i expected but its budget wise so it doesnt matters to me.

if benq i would prefer to buy this http://www.benq.com.my/products/LCD/?produ...=specifications because it support up to 1920 x 1200 pixel resolution whistling.gif
jeman
My 22in Acer LCD does not come with HDCP, any solutions?
Thrust
QUOTE(jeman @ Feb 6 2008, 11:03 PM)
My 22in Acer LCD does not come with HDCP, any solutions?

Yes there is! Change monitor thumbup.gif
jeman
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 6 2008, 11:10 PM)
Yes there is! Change monitor  thumbup.gif

Duh! doh.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.