Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Nikon D40/D40X Thread V2
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50
orenzai
I was given green light to start a version 2 thread for our beloved d40/d40x users(including me).

Click here to be redirected to the V1 thread.

Let me provide you with some information about the D40. For everybody who is interested in the D40. Let me convince you to buy one!! brows.gif

A detailed review by D40.:
Introduction
Specifications with Commentary
Performance
Verdict

*For your info, D40x is 99% the same as D40 The only difference is the ISO and Resolution. Click here to view the review of D40x.

Here is a list of lenses that will have Auto Focsuing on the D40/D40X:

Nikon AF-S lenses:

12-24/4 DX
17-55/2.8 DX
18-55/3.5-5.6 DX I
18-55/3.5-5.6 DX II
18-70 DX
18-135 DX
18-200 DX VR
55-200 DX
55-200 DX VR

17-35/2.8 AF-S
24-85/3.5-4.5 AF-S
24-120 AF-S VR
28-70/2.8
70-200/2.8 VR
70-300 VR
105/2.8 VR
200/2 VR
200-400/4 VR
300/2.8 VR
300/4 AF-S
400/2.8 AF-S
500/4 AF-S
600/4 AF-S

Sigma HSM lenses:

10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC
12-24mm F4.5-5.6
17-35mm F2.8-4 DG
50-500mm F4-6.3 DG
50-150mm F2.8 EX DC HSM
70-200mm F2.8 DG MACRO
80-400mm F4.5-5.6
100-300mm F4 DG
120-300mm F2.8 DG
300-800mm F5.6 DG

14mm F2.8 EX
30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM
150mm F2.8 EX DG
180mm F3.5 EX DG
300mm EX DG
500mm EX DG
800mm f5.6 EX DG

i got the above information from:DpReview
Ken Rockwell

Max resolution: 3008 x 2000 *-3872 x 2592
Low resolution: 2256 x 1496, 1504 x 1000 *-2896 x 1944, 1936 x 1296
Image ratio w:h: 3:2
Effective pixels: 6.0 million *10 million
Sensor photo detectors: 6.3 million *10.8 million
Sensor size: 23.7 x 15.5 mm (Nikon DX)
Sensor type: CCD
Colour filter array: RGB
Sensor manufacturer: Sony
ISO rating: Auto, 200 - 1600 (plus 3200 with boost) *100-1600 (plus 3200 with boost)
Zoom wide (W): n/a
Zoom tele (T): n/a
Digital zoom: No
Image stabilization: No
Auto Focus: Yes
Manual Focus: Yes
Auto focus type: Nikon Multi-CAM530
Normal focus range: n/a
Macro focus range: n/a
White balance override: 6 positions, plus manual preset
Aperture range: n/a
Min shutter: 30 sec + Bulb
Max shutter: 1/4000 sec
Built-in Flash: Yes, pop-up
Flash guide no.: 17 m (55.7 ft) m
External flash: Yes, hot-shoe
Flash modes: Front curtain, Rear curtain, Red-Eye, Slow, Red-Eye Slow
Exposure compensation: -5 to +5 EV in 1/3 EV steps
Metering: 3D Matrix metering II, Center weighted, Spot
Aperture priority: Yes
Shutter priority: Yes
Focal length multiplier: 1.5
Lens thread: Nikkor AF / F-mount, D-Type
Continuous Drive: Yes, 2.5 fps, unlimited JPEG *3fps, Unlimited Jpeg
Movie Clips: No
Remote control: Optional (ML-L3)
Self-timer: 2 to 20 sec
Timelapse recording: No
Orientation sensor: Yes
Storage types: SD/SDHC card
Storage included: None
Uncompressed format: RAW
Compressed format: JPEG (EXIF 2.2)
Quality Levels: Fine, Normal, Basic
Viewfinder: TTL
LCD: 2.5 "
LCD Pixels: 230,000
Video out: Yes
USB: Yes, 2.0
Firewire (IEEE 1394): No
Battery / Charger Yes
Battery: Nikon EN-EL9 Lithium-Ion & charger included
Weight (inc. batteries): 522 g (18.4 oz)
Dimensions: 124 x 94 x 64 mm (4.9 x 3.7 x 2.5 in)
Notes: Auto focus only with AF-S or AF-I lenses

*Specifications of D40x. The rest not stated means its the same as D40

After some summarizing, some editing, and arranging, its done. I hope this compilation will help all those interested or planning to buy a D40/x.

i got the above information from:
DpReview
Ken Rockwell

*If you have any valuable information that you wish to share with us, you may pm me and i will add on. Thanks smile.gif

D40 User List:
1. orenzai
2. travis_ckf
3. xandman
4. jimmythw
5. szyap
6. Victor3010
7. tuxxie
8. coolboy_kl
9. Sp@wnie
10. liquid_ooze
11. Darkcursed
12. edministrator
13. shiinkuro31
14. emperor496
15. MR.Shiney
16. ajea
17. nuance
18. mindkiller6610
19. Wifi_One
20. herbie35

D40x User List:
1. BudakABC
2. adthely
3. jaycz8

ex-D40/D40x User List:
1. zzloo

PM me to get your name added into the User List.

Or3nZai
yewkhuay
congrats on V2 opening!!!!! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif
orenzai
yewkhuay,
you using d40 kah?
never heard you mentioning it...
aceejay
lolz .. his D80 master user nia ..
orenzai
lolz...haha...thats why never heard of him...lolz...anyways thanks for your support...all of you...
pac1
Wow, I went out to have lunch, just got back into here, got Nikon D40/40x Thread v2 already lah. So fast! Yeah! thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
travis_ckf
Dude, putlah all the D40 users list. Me reporting in! Lhyper:
zzloo
Weeeee.....V2 ed!!!! brows.gif
orenzai
hm...ok ok... pm me to be added into the list since many of you edi upgraded so i cant confirm...

zzloo
D40 ex-owner...
Victor3010
wow..V2 adi...u guys are fast...
pac1
QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Nov 4 2007, 07:22 PM)
wow..V2 adi...u guys are fast...

Come, come and join us together! icon_rolleyes.gif
kvkk
.hello good day everyone,

i m not yet d40/d40x user . now using d50 6mp

but i m looking on buying one dis coming year end.

b4 tat , i wish some opinions from u guys.

i mainly wil use d camera to shoot family group photos during chinese new year, and print 12' x 18' size.

i wonder if d40x 10mp is as good as d80 in term of resolution / quality ?

others features r not tat important to me .
Xannava
As good as ... i doubt. But it would give reasonable results depending on you expectations. But let a d40 owner tell you the rest.
kvkk
ok.

aaah ......... i wonder if got user here having both d40 & d40x together , mayb can do me a favor......

shooting d same object by both camera , then upload d original files here , for us to share.
aceejay
put d40 user on front page shud be nice .. just like D80 and D200 user list biggrin.gif
loon1983
QUOTE(kvkk @ Nov 4 2007, 08:39 PM)
ok.

aaah .........  i wonder if got user here having both d40 & d40x together , mayb can do me a favor......

shooting d same object by both camera , then upload d original files here , for us to share.

i dun think so... i dun think got ppl wil buy D40 n D40X.... if after D40.. they sure will go for D80 or higher... tongue.gif tongue.gif
but i play around both since i working at FOTOKEM last time... not much different.... smile.gif smile.gif (but compare to 400D, D40 sure win!!! flex.gif )
aceejay
exactly .. unless if u one of those super rich guys ..then it woudn be no prob smile.gif
xandman
me too....d40 user...
add me add me!
hehehehe....

jimmythw
So fast got v2 already. I'n D40 user reporting here. icon_rolleyes.gif
MR.Shiney
owh man, my dreams shattered ady. my dad just ignored my paperwork! vmad.gif
he doesnt take this seriously cry.gif did my best to convince him.
hmmm, better use my own money for this, since my dad doesnt
have enough trust on me.

just surveyed this camera at lowyat yesterday. RM1900 kit.
but 350D is 50 more sweat.gif look like i better take 350D lol.
can someone here tell me is the lens filter is changeable?
zzloo
sure can...
MR.Shiney
err, how much for lens filter normally?
orenzai
a UV filter will only cost you bout rm50 ringgit or less... why get 350D? d40 no good ar?

*d40 user list updated
Victor3010
d40 user here too..^^

Added on November 4, 2007, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Nov 4 2007, 11:32 PM)
have enough trust on me.

lowyat things...u better be careful..my advice
orenzai
lowyat or lowyat forum? if lowyat shopping mall, then better be careful... if lowyat forum then get it from popular seller like vladimir...
aceejay
if u wanna get camera ..i suggest u get ur self at the International shop or foto selangor at pertama complex..
try do more survey before u buy this expensive thingy.. theres a good shop at ampcorp mall ( J-One camera shop )
seriously dont get at sg.wang or lowyat .. take my words for it ..
Victor3010
QUOTE(orenzai @ Nov 5 2007, 12:24 AM)
lowyat or lowyat forum? if lowyat shopping mall, then better be careful... if lowyat forum then get it from popular seller like vladimir...

lowyat mall...

is it ok to put a download link at lowyat forum??? (i wanna put it in my photo album thread)
aceejay
lol.. is there a rules say cant put meh ?
Victor3010
just in case....to make sure....
tuxxie
QUOTE(orenzai @ Nov 4 2007, 02:38 PM)
I was given green light to start a version 2 thread for our beloved d40/d40x users(including me).

Click here to be redirected to the V1 thread.

*For your info, D40x is 99% the same as D40 The only difference is the ISO and Resolution.

D40 flash sync speed is 1/500 vs D40x's 1/200 only. smile.gif

D40 user here by the way. icon_rolleyes.gif
pac1
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Nov 4 2007, 10:32 PM)
have enough trust on me.

Have you try out and handling both camera yourself at the camera shop? Let your hand decide! Just my 2 cents! icon_rolleyes.gif
aceejay
rm1900 still can get nia.. for nikon d40x set u gotta be smart searching the goods smile.gif click here for some d40 sells ! goodluck biggrin.gif
Xannava
D40 the lens come with IS ah? Or isit the camera body?
aceejay
QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:07 AM)

im affraid dont have that stuff for kit lens.. btw,nikon called VR
canon called IS smile.gif
pac1
QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:07 AM)

IS is for Canon, Nikon is VR. Neither D40 kit lens nor its body have VR, just have to buy other VR lens to have the function. icon_rolleyes.gif
Xannava
Oo my bad. So VR... what does it stand for?

Hmm... so no VR than got to pay more for lens la?
pac1
QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:13 AM)
Oo my bad. So VR... what does it stand for?

Hmm... so no VR than got to pay more for lens la?

VR = Vibration Reduction.
Yup, VR lens are much more expensive! sweat.gif
Xannava
Ooh. Haihz.. the more I use my S5 the more I want to get a dslr...
coolboy_kl
Yo D40 user here, still new with DSLR, and learning from all Sifu here..
You could see my pictures at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=514767

Bought a Sigma 18-200mm yesterday (RM1750 from Megamall, About RM700 cheaper then Nikkor 18-200mm... will post some picture soon..

pac1
QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:23 AM)
Ooh. Haihz.. the more I use my S5 the more I want to get a dslr...

Ooo....better slow down. DSLR is a pool of poison with a never ending buying list! sweat.gif
Xannava
Yeah.. no money.... haihz. Maybe I should get a part time job.. just to get my lens adapter and hood and uv filter..
pac1
QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:31 AM)
Yeah.. no money.... haihz. Maybe I should get a part time job.. just to get my lens adapter and hood and uv filter..

Then good luck in getting those! thumbup.gif
Funny, I never found any use of my lens hood. Most of the time, it just stay in my bag! hmm.gif
Xannava
Do I need a lens hood to fix a uv filter?
pac1
QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:40 AM)
Do I need a lens hood to fix a uv filter?

I' m not sure bout that, I just got the lens protector on my S3 IS and that all! icon_rolleyes.gif
Xannava
But that should be enough...
pac1
QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:51 AM)
But that should be enough...

Well, that's depends to you, or you can also add a flash and wide converter like the one selling in garage sales here! laugh.gif
Xannava
Blek no money!
pac1
QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:56 AM)
Blek no money!

Hahaha, save, save, save and buy, buy, buy! laugh.gif
yawchoong
i heard there will be a year end sales.
is it on for almost every camera shop.i am looking for a better price other wise i will go for a second hand
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.