Doom
Jul 5 2007, 04:16 PM
After dragging for long long time .. finally able to complete partial of my modding...
Side panel cutting, filing and polishing.

Shinning edge but too bad not mirror shine
Transparent window cutting, filing and polishing again

Before cutting...

After the cutting was done...

Filling all edges becomes straight .

Fan hole cut ..
Doom
Jul 5 2007, 07:51 PM
Case with the window done partially.

Fan grill that got from MNPCtech long time before ... but never put into use ... sanded all edges and polished it as well...
Different views of the side panel in action ..

Sorry about the photo earlier .. coz I couldn't access Photobucket so have to use Imageshark ...
ianho
Jul 5 2007, 07:56 PM
Pls dont put thumbnails. Teruk lar hafta click on them to load 1 by 1.
Zicron
Jul 5 2007, 08:02 PM
Doom ar, how come the pic still so small ar?
Can make it bigger, a bit hard to see all ur hardware inside..lol
Doom
Jul 5 2007, 08:32 PM
More photo would be uploaded during weekend .... I would be doing some cable extends, LCD display for temperature and hopefully get the case ready with some decal for the side panel ...
sniper on the roof
Jul 5 2007, 09:20 PM
Sweet.... but the smallest ATX case title goes to the LC02
http://www.silverstonetek.com.tw/products/...o=lc02&area=usaFollowed by the PC-C35...followed by the LC04
llllNarutollll
Jul 6 2007, 12:58 AM
Doom you tinted the acrylic?
Doom
Jul 6 2007, 08:46 AM
akachester
Jul 6 2007, 09:04 AM
Wow..at last you are modding your beloved LL..LOL..Any other further modding for the case?Nice filter there..
Doom
Jul 6 2007, 09:52 AM
There's more it doesn't end here yet .... read post number 5 (#5)...
I;m getting the LCD display today .. .will test it out tonight and upload a photo or two afterward ///
fo33il
Jul 6 2007, 11:15 AM
wooohhh....
two thumbs up for u doom....very2 nice!
care to share wer do u get the red arcrylic?
awesome! i love the look of the red acrylics and the fan grill is wicked
LExus65
Jul 6 2007, 01:18 PM
Doom
Jul 7 2007, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(fo33il @ Jul 6 2007, 11:15 AM)
wooohhh....
two thumbs up for u doom....very2 nice!
care to share wer do u get the red arcrylic?
Jalan Pasar .. the only shop that sale acrylic in large size and different colors...
QUOTE(Ryo @ Jul 6 2007, 11:42 AM)
awesome! i love the look of the red acrylics and the fan grill is wicked

hahha the fan grill alone cost me RM55 ... ohh god ... but still I like it ...
QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jul 6 2007, 01:18 PM)
Red arcylic...........devil's colour
yah ... and there's more red things coming ....
Only can update some photo at sunday night ... coz 2mr will be working on another PC-A05B
So only can mod on sunday itself and upload the results ...
Hope everyone like this small modding project ....
LExus65
Jul 7 2007, 08:35 AM
the fan grill plastic or aluminum ?? ..........show us ur mod on another PCA05 too.......... we would like to see it, that's no doubt it...........
Doom
Jul 7 2007, 11:00 AM
The term working on it, is for normal cable management ...
not cutting or whatsoever... haha sorry about that...
Btw the fan grill is made of acrylic ....
Anyway this is the LCD temperature that I promised .... courtesy of teckchoi...
It's simple but that's what I like about it the font size is big ..about 2 cm tall and 0.5 cm wide.. easier to read.

I will be making a custom holder to hold both displays together ....
cgha
Jul 7 2007, 02:14 PM
There are 2 LCD temperature there - 24.5 and 23.7.
How do u connect the censor?.
I have 3 LCD.I want to connect to :
1. motherboard - for mobo temp
2. HD temp
3. CPU temp.
How to connect that.......
TQ
Doom
Jul 8 2007, 02:04 AM
ok ... basically during the installation of the CPU cooler u have to put the edge of the sensor into one end of the CPU die.
as for the mobo then u have to remove the original heat sink and place the edge to one end of the chipset..
as for the HDD u could just stick to any side, the best would be the surface of the HDD....
cgha
Jul 8 2007, 11:23 AM
Tq for ur answer.
Do u mind show me the foto to make it clear
Tq very much for ur kindness.....
Doom
Jul 8 2007, 09:17 PM
hmm that u have to wait a bit more of time coz I really have not attach the sensor to the CPU or GPU ... or anything ,,
I will upload the photo once I'm certain with how would like to do with the interior first ...
Doom
Jul 12 2007, 02:59 PM
Finally got something done ... being busy with other stuffs lately ..
Changed some hardwares and redo cable management...

Added a custom made side fan bracket .. hohoho dual 12cm fan running in low RPM and silent ..

More photo would be uploaded tonight .. .going out now .. .chow !!!
HaHaNoCluE
Jul 12 2007, 08:57 PM
wher u gonna install the fans??? nice fans there...
Doom
Jul 12 2007, 09:19 PM
hmm where am I going to install those fans .......
Here it is ....

Polar_012
Jul 12 2007, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 12 2007, 09:19 PM)
hmm where am I going to install those fans .......
Here it is ....
Nice
How's the GC temps?
Where did you buy your silicon vibration dampening kit for the 120mm fan? The 1 put between the fan and the casing.
Doom
Jul 12 2007, 11:13 PM
hmm overall drop to 54 during idle and max about 78 ,,,
thanks to the poor design of all the stock cooler found on the graphic card now days ... before that was idle at 60 and load about 85 ...
Overall the fans also lowered the chipset temperature by 4c ..
as for the dampening kit I sapu whenever it's available at All IT Hypermall last time ...
Now days it's no more available anywhere..
Polar_012
Jul 12 2007, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 12 2007, 11:13 PM)
hmm overall drop to 54 during idle and max about 78 ,,,
thanks to the poor design of all the stock cooler found on the graphic card now days ... before that was idle at 60 and load about 85 ...
Overall the fans also lowered the chipset temperature by 4c ..
as for the dampening kit I sapu whenever it's available at All IT Hypermall last time ...
Now days it's no more available anywhere..
Wow 6 degrees cooler

I feel like it's not the stock cooler's poor design but mainly due to the rise of performance of the GC. At least stock hsf of high end GC now utilises heatpipes.
Doom
Jul 13 2007, 12:22 AM
hahah trust me the heatpipes is nothing .. coz it's only two short heatpipes that fixed to a high airflow restriction fins that doesn't help to dissipates heat fast enough to keep the card cool ..
I'm looking for Thermalrigh HR-03 R600 version right now ...
With that cooler on hand then the system would be really complete with silent and quiet yet powerful....
HaHaNoCluE
Jul 13 2007, 02:48 PM
but that gc cooler might oso cost a bomb at around rm300...! but ur red arclic is really nice, nice choice of fans as those r very silent type... but y ur arctic freezer terbalik??? isn't facing the rear might be better??? wher u bought those fans??? owez a fan of AC fans... the frame juz looks cool (like those restaurant fans, haha)... ur case is quite tiny too... any bling bling???
Doom
Jul 13 2007, 06:58 PM
Yah... I could still effort the cooler ...
The artic heat sink is mounted reversely because my rear case fan is intake and front fan is exhaust ...
I bough the AC fan 2 months back @ Singapore over Sim Ling Square....
I would be getting a CM red CCFL to light up the case ......
llllNarutollll
Jul 13 2007, 07:10 PM
idea of that little boy that own casing same like urs its definitly good.
is there any bling2 inside?
Doom
Jul 13 2007, 11:34 PM
U mean for the little kid's case or mine ??
I would be getting a red CCFL if possible to light up my case ...
llllNarutollll
Jul 14 2007, 02:24 AM
of course ur case la.
if u put red CCFL it will be kinda oven in ur case
LExus65
Jul 14 2007, 03:38 PM
doom where is ur HR-01............
red CCFL not much effect in lighting up in interior, i suggest try to get UV instead.....
Doom
Jul 14 2007, 11:00 PM
My HR-01 is officially retired from my hardware list ... I put it aside ..
I find it doesn't performs the same every time after re-installation .
that's why gone for this Artic Cooler that perform more stable ...
@LExus65 ..
Why u said that red CCFL doesn't lights up the interior ...
I thought CCFL is always brighter than UV CCFL ..
The only reason that I don't go for UV coz there's nth much within my case that's UV reactive ... so what to glow with UV CCFL ..
llllNarutollll
Jul 15 2007, 03:39 AM
CCFL are brighter than uv CCFL.
just put the red CCFL and see how its goin, it will add a burn effect hooot
Doom
Jul 15 2007, 10:45 AM
That's what I thought and wanted to get a GTR sticker to paste within case ..
close by the side panel of course ....
Now working on the LCD temperature display .... still struggling to think off how to mount the two display with a on/off switch as well .
llllNarutollll
Jul 15 2007, 11:22 AM
doom does that akasa work as u expect?
Doom
Jul 15 2007, 02:53 PM
Hmm ... for certain area only .. actually I pasted one piece behind the front panel and it does absorbs the noise generated by the front fan that exhaust air though the front panel.
As for the piece that u guys seems laying at the lower section of the case is to cover all scratches mark that don't know done by whom ...
sHawTY
Jul 15 2007, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 15 2007, 02:53 PM)
scratches mark that don't know done by whom ...
I did that, remember when we're raping the casing at ATE?
I got jealous of you and i use the carkey to scratch scratch it.
Nahh, just joking.
Hungry_Wolf
Jul 15 2007, 10:39 PM
doom..when u go england, sell me the case, ok?
wanna build my server and this case really good for me...
so far u found any weakness of this case?
Doom
Jul 16 2007, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 15 2007, 10:08 PM)
I did that, remember when we're raping the casing at ATE?
I got jealous of you and i use the carkey to scratch scratch it.
Nahh, just joking.

hmm .. probably .. hahahah
Anyway there's lots of scratches here and there... but what to do ...
I was being unlucky gua ... hahahha
I have taken four A05 from ATE and the worst is mine ... just no luck ...
QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Jul 15 2007, 10:39 PM)
doom..when u go england, sell me the case, ok?
wanna build my server and this case really good for me...
so far u found any weakness of this case?
hmm weakness ... lack of intake is the problem ..
but it does resolve with a intake fan and blow hole on the side ..
another problem would be the HDD zone .. it's not recommended to have more than two HDDs..
The temperature would not be that positive ..
This is the concept .. when u use the rear as intake and the air that passed through CPU cooler would be slightly warmer .. so the warm air that passed through the HDD scan't provides cool airflow as compared to standard case that intake cool air to cool of HDDs before other component..
Other than that .. nth much coz this is a small case with lots of space to work on with ...
LExus65
Jul 16 2007, 09:30 AM
red CCFL indeed is brighter then UV one, but it have a good chance wont light up your case as u expected (glowing red) as there are not much reflective surface inside ur casing left i presumed plus a red light may not light up a red arcylic panel as well as you think
futhermore red CCFL itself may be just too bright ...........become unbalance like most cases with neon LED fans,
to get a glowing u may need to apply back lighting method with different colour of CCFL.........try to borrow 1 and see how it goes..........
Doom
Jul 16 2007, 03:53 PM
hahha u got one to borrow ???
Basically I don't plan to just stick the CCFL and light it up ..
I'm fully aware of the over bright issue with CCFL ...
It's killing and just doesn't serve aesthetic purpose ...
I played with lightings a lot last time that's why I have some other modification need to be done to the CCFL after I grab one ...
Anyway some updated would be posted tonight ... have to back to mod again ...
Doom
Jul 16 2007, 11:07 PM
Finally able to update something after working for whole day long ...
shh ,,, really tired ...
Anyway .. here u go .. hopefully can speed up the process .. .2mr will be running with full engine again ,,,

Some old Cooler Master bezel and stock Lian Li bezel that would be used for the modification ...

Power connector that I would modify to power up my Burner and HDD ..

This is what I done for the floppy bezel .. .just a simple carbon fiber sticker ...

Soldered the header with wires to SATA connector ..

Custom LCD display that make of Lian Li bezel plus some wiring ... cutting the holes and mounting the bezel took me whole day long ..

LCD in action

Another view from further away ....
2mr would work on the rest of the wiring soldering and a switch for the LCD display .. now it on all the time when the system is running ...
Tsubasa66
Jul 16 2007, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 16 2007, 11:07 PM)
Finally able to update something after working for whole day long ...
shh ,,, really tired ...
Anyway .. here u go .. hopefully can speed up the process .. .2mr will be running with full engine again ,,,
Another view from further away ....
2mr would work on the rest of the wiring soldering and a switch for the LCD display .. now it on all the time when the system is running ...

superb man how much u get this stuff ??
Doom
Jul 17 2007, 01:24 AM
hhahah RM17 for the LCD and other stuffs spent about RM20 guah ,,
Can't remember clearly .. coz don't want to remind myself how much I spent for the mod ...
LExus65
Jul 17 2007, 08:20 AM
very nice job with the LCD display hehe............u plan to connect external hdd at the front ? btw ur lcd display is come cover with a layer of plastic ?
well indeed i have a spare CCFL, but 3 colours (which colour i forgot, RGB perhpas)......
may be u can cover the colours 1by1 and see which does the best...........PM me if u want......
Doom
Jul 17 2007, 11:41 AM
hmmm ,,, can the light stay at one particular color that I want ...
I would prefer constant lighting ...
Yah there's a layer of tint that cover the LCD ... so that the color would not over bright ..
Anyway the photo doesn't show clearly how it suppose to looks like ..
I would adjust my cam after finished with today's mod and hopefully able to deliver the way the display should looks like ..
It suppose to be glow in dark red ... very nice .. but thanks to my cam....
Anyway stay tune,,,
Doom
Jul 17 2007, 05:41 PM
z3r0717
Jul 17 2007, 05:52 PM
got to say this is one heck of a nice casing tat u did.. love the side panel, creative and different from others...

for u..
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.