Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Singapore censoring animu?
Lowyat.NET > Lifestyle > Anime Shrine
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
linkinstreet
I was lurking through the internet like a proud Malaysian should do and I found a blog by a Singaporean. Seems that his blog was blocked because it featured titles of animes that are deemed licence in Singapore.
http://animedesho.animeblogger.net/?p=2539

Oh how I love being a Malaysian
wolfx
He already took down the post, but summary still there.

You got it on cache, linkin?
Depthcharge101
lol sucks to be singaporean.
Hangmen
Oh ho, and many people here talked about wanting to move to Singapore for a 'better' life. Indeed they'll get their better life in Singapore, in exchange for so many things that we Malaysians enjoy on the Internet: Torrents and free porn.
Voxdei
wow, the Singaporeans are really quick to hunt down blog posts.
just to show how much freedom of speech they have over there. It's a good thing that we can rely on our government to be ignorant and incompetent.

have i told you recently how much i love you Malaysia? I think right about now is a good time.

*hugs a Malaysian flag*
double_agent
Saya anak Malaysia!!

Saya boleh download torrent!!
Aoshi_88
Malaysia Boleh... Singapore ada apa?
seorang
Ah.... the problems of being such a small country. Very easy to cover the whole country with high-tech infrastructure (unlike Malaysia), but, so easy to be monitored by the Gahmen.
wellenstan
o my.. that's like sucking out my life
wonder how i am going to live when studying there...
4 years without anime... eeeks!
do they check on hard disks or dvds i bring when going through immigration checkpoint? :-S
[KY]
It's quite an old news. Singapore blogs can't contain things with illegal copyrights issue.
redeye84
well if they release cheap R3 then it shouldnt be that bad..
linkinstreet
QUOTE([KY] @ May 20 2007, 12:04 AM)
It's quite an old news. Singapore blogs can't contain things with illegal copyrights issue.

yes, but c'mon man. They are just blogging on what they watch, not like they are saying "download this Pirated stuff!!" or anythin
@wolfx: I don't, but move along down the comments and I think a Malaysian posted the same thing on his blog. the best thing was he posted that in singapore, using a Deutche IP, thus the list of series that not supposed to be seen can be accessed XD
read it here
wolfx
Wow....so singapore has so much stuff licensed liow eh.

Oh well....gg.
Phalanx
QUOTE(wellenstan @ May 19 2007, 11:01 PM)
o my.. that's like sucking out my life
wonder how i am going to live when studying there...
4 years without anime... eeeks!
do they check on hard disks or dvds i bring when going through immigration checkpoint? :-S

Nah, they don't check the contents of the hard disks...

They usually just scan through your luggages.

And I'm still watching bucketloads of anime despite studying in Singapore. tongue.gif
igor_is300

Oh well, blasphemy.
Aoshi_88
If taking screenshots of the anime you watch opens you to potential lawsuits and copyright infringement... i wonder what they do there.
linkinstreet
QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ May 20 2007, 09:12 PM)
If taking screenshots of the anime you watch opens you to potential lawsuits and copyright infringement... i wonder what they do there.

what else can you do in a socially opressed country? watch illigally imported porn on you kick ass LCD screen
riku2replica
anime is much better than watching p*rn...
Tsukasa
I got an idea. Bring an external 500gb hdd full of anime to Singapore.. And when Kastam ask what it is ?? You just say... oh.. school project , (School project for anime) hahha
Aoshi_88
QUOTE(Tsukasa @ May 26 2007, 02:54 PM)
I got an idea. Bring an external 500gb hdd full of anime to Singapore.. And when Kastam ask what it is ?? You just say... oh.. school project , (School project for anime) hahha

For all you know, they might plug the damn thing in and check. Then arrest you for Causeway piracy
blindbox
QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ May 26 2007, 05:35 PM)
For all you know, they might plug the damn thing in and check. Then arrest you for Causeway piracy

Encryption FTW!!! Rawr.
Aoshi_88
Heck..who knows... Customs might have military grade decryption software. laugh.gif
wellenstan
how about zero-filling the hdd
load in anime, then format.
when you get there, just recover the content (carry the recovery software in your phone's miniSD card?)
btw this requires another hdd with the same or larger capacity
not to say that they won't possible be aware of this method, but...will they spare hours just on a 250GB ?
miloy2k
QUOTE(Hangmen @ May 19 2007, 07:24 PM)
Oh ho, and many people here talked about wanting to move to Singapore for a 'better' life. Indeed they'll get their better life in Singapore, in exchange for so many things that we Malaysians enjoy on the Internet: Torrents and free porn.

in this case MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!!!!!! XD
seorang
Is tmnuts still throttling? Its not much torrents and free porn if we're still throttled to the max.
s[H]sIkuA
QUOTE(Tsukasa @ May 26 2007, 02:54 PM)

You going to bring in for? brows.gif

Now theres one of the few reason I still love Malaysia biggrin.gif
wolfx
New info on singapore banning free animu and animu blogging! Looks like they are really serious.

http://www.riuva.com/?p=628

http://that.animeblogger.net/2007/05/29/a-...ging-very-soon/
Aoshi_88
Lol...more chances of them coming here, downloading and taking an external HDD back to SG now.
infested_ysy
QUOTE(wolfx @ May 30 2007, 12:56 PM)
New info on singapore banning free animu and animu blogging! Looks like they are really serious.

http://www.riuva.com/?p=628

http://that.animeblogger.net/2007/05/29/a-...ging-very-soon/

The idiot deserves the maximum fines. Just look at what he downloads, loving Bleach and Inuyasha, ONLY those two.
Aoshi_88
QUOTE(infested_ysy @ May 30 2007, 03:09 PM)
The idiot deserves the maximum fines. Just look at what he downloads, loving Bleach and Inuyasha, ONLY those two.

I suggest trial by fire.
wolfx
The cease and desist order written by odex:

http://www.darkmirage.com/stuff/letter.pdf

Klesk
who's odex?
Aoshi_88
Sound's like the dog from Garfield.
infested_ysy
QUOTE(Klesk @ May 30 2007, 08:01 PM)
who's odex?

ITT, we're illiterate.
thenobodies
why the s'porean ppl dont buy the animu original dvd/cd? no shops selling it? btw, the currency with us(malaysia) higher than us, so i guess its more cheaper.

p/s: i'm not just lucky to be here in Malaysia, I born here. ahak~
proud to be Malaysian.
infested_ysy
QUOTE(thenobodies @ May 31 2007, 03:23 PM)
why the s'porean ppl dont buy the animu original dvd/cd?

"Buy"?

What is this... "buy"?
hafez13
buy is somhing in internet download world we call SHI-
IntegraTypeR
This is the second time i am feeling slightly proud that i am a Malaysian equipped with Screamyx.

Advancement of technology is a scary thing. Luckily we Malaysians still live on trees.
infested_ysy
QUOTE(IntegraTypeR @ May 31 2007, 05:40 PM)
Luckily we Malaysians still live on trees.

But I live underground, constantly digging holes and walls to fancy this old fat fag who's the village's leader :/
linkinstreet
Did you found a glowing key and a face? chances are you might feature in the next episode of Gurren Lagann
wolfx
Screw the glowing key and face. I want a bikini-clad, hot-pants-wearing-chick-with-a-big-gun who squashes her mammaries on my face without feeling uncomfortable. laugh.gif
Aoshi_88
QUOTE(wolfx @ May 31 2007, 10:10 PM)
Screw the glowing key and face. I want a bikini-top, leather-skirt-wearing-chick-with-spectacles who squashes her mammaries on my face without feeling uncomfortable. laugh.gif

FIX'D laugh.gif
linkinstreet
QUOTE(wolfx @ May 31 2007, 10:10 PM)
Screw the glowing key and face. I want a bikini-clad, hot-pants-wearing-chick-with-a-big-gun who squashes her mammaries on my face without feeling uncomfortable. laugh.gif

LIES!! UR A LOLITARD!! U HAET BREAST!
wolfx
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 2 2007, 10:41 AM)
LIES!! UR A LOLITARD!! U HAET BREAST!

All lolis will grow up eventually whurt...and look at my idol, Irie Saaya....mune-mune.....*nosebleed*

Hikki Kokurabuji
QUOTE(wolfx @ Jun 2 2007, 06:28 AM)

I doubt that people will think twice of obeying the law, since not all lows are meant to be followed. Oh the paranonia....

...which is why I'm thankful to God for being a Malaysian. laugh.gif
wolfx
Article from Straits Times.

LENGTH: 418 words

HEADLINE: Getting anime illegally online? Beware;
Japanese animated cartoons distributor sending letters to culprits warning of legal action

BYLINE: Chua Hian Hou

BODY:

PRICES of anime DVDs here are the world's lowest, but fans of these Japanese animated cartoons prefer to get them online - for free.

Now they may land in the soup because a crackdown has been launched, and they are the targets for downloading these English-subtitled cartoons through file-sharing networks.

Local anime distributor Odex, which brings in the DVDs from Japan, has sent out letters to culprits it has identified as having downloaded these 'fansubs' using the Internet and peer-to-peer systems like BitTorrent.

'Fansubs' are the works subtitled by bilingual fans of anime as a service to the community of non-Japanese-speaking anime fans.

Odex spokesman Stephen Sing would not say how many legal letters have been issued.

A copy of one such letter obtained by The Straits Times announced that Odex would take legal action against the alleged downloader unless he settled the issue. Odex did not say what constituted a settlement.

The letter to this particular alleged downloader - a SingNet subscriber - came attached with a three-page listing of alleged downloads.

Mr Sing said that Odex, together with the Anti Video Piracy Association of Singapore, had no choice but to take legal action, because 'pirates' here download more anime files than any other country except the United States, which was 'ridiculous, considering our population'.

Anime fansubs, around since the 1980s, used to come in video cassettes, but the Internet and BitTorrent have made it cheap and easy to get hold of the cartoons.

An anime fan here, who declined to be named, said the community was downloading fansubs because original anime works were of poor quality and overpriced.

Mr Sing's counter: 'Perception problem.'

Focus groups, he said, have been unable to differentiate fansubs from its DVDs when played back on a 42-inch TV set.

Mr Sing added that on a per-DVD basis, prices here were the world's lowest, and that even when Odex bundled three DVDs for a $9.90 trial offer, fans did not bite.

In the US, the price of a two-DVD set costs between US$15 and US$20, depending on the anime title.

The anime fan was dismissive of the crackdown and said it would not stop fansub piracy. The community is tech-savvy and will find ways to continue downloading without getting caught, he said.

Under Singapore's Copyright Act, users found guilty of 'wilful' and 'significant' downloads face fines of up to $20,000 and up to six months behind bars.

The Act does not specify what constitutes a significant number of downloads.
Dyna-Storm
An anime fan here, who declined to be named, said the community was downloading fansubs because original anime works were of poor quality and overpriced.

Mr Sing's counter: 'Perception problem.'

Focus groups, he said, have been unable to differentiate fansubs from its DVDs when played back on a 42-inch TV set.

Second counter : 'not perception problem' Fans are more concern about the quality of subs not the quality of the picture! rclxub.gif
Aoshi_88
If they think it's bad quality, obviously they haven't tried AnimeTech in Malaysia!
IntegraTypeR
QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Jun 2 2007, 08:09 PM)
If they think it's bad quality, obviously they haven't tried AnimeTech in Malaysia!

And those crapped up Naruto from SunComics.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.