chrisoys
May 9 2007, 07:34 AM
Replacement for Canon Powershot S3 IS
* 12x optical zoom lens with Ultrasonic Motor (USM) and UD lens Optical Image Stabilizer
* 8.0 Megapixel CCD
* DIGIC III with advanced Noise Reduction technology and Face Detection for stills and movies
* Red-Eye Correction in playback
* 2.5" high-resolution vari-angle LCD
* Long-play VGA movies with stereo sound and Photo in Movie 22 shooting modes including full manual control and 0cm Super Macro
* High ISO 1600 and Auto ISO Shift
* Compatible with Wide/Tele/Close-up converter lenses and Canon EX Speedlite flashes

kb2005
May 9 2007, 08:25 AM
Another good product from Canon. Any idea on the selling price ?
chicaman
May 9 2007, 08:30 AM
should be at least 1.8k
jdreamer
May 9 2007, 08:37 AM
With that kind of price range, I rather add a little more for a DSLR.
tongyam
May 9 2007, 10:24 AM
the lens will extend?
shinchan^^
May 9 2007, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(jdreamer @ May 9 2007, 08:37 AM)
With that kind of price range, I rather add a little more for a DSLR.

ya White lens~
kelvinyam
May 9 2007, 04:16 PM
I can see that Canon is closing the gap between pro-sumer and DSLR, in a very careful manner, in term of feature... increase the resolution, add a few bells and whistles, but still hold back the RAW support (which can be done via third party hack).
As soon as Canon increase the sensor size and add the RAW support, there's hardly any reason for a regular user to get a DSLR anymore
tongyam
May 9 2007, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ May 9 2007, 04:16 PM)
I can see that Canon is closing the gap between pro-sumer and DSLR, in a very careful manner, in term of feature... increase the resolution, add a few bells and whistles, but still hold back the RAW support (which can be done via third party hack).
As soon as Canon increase the sensor size and add the RAW support, there's hardly any reason for a regular user to get a DSLR anymore

need to see which kind of dslr loh....
chicaman
May 9 2007, 05:51 PM

what kind of hack to add RAW lol.....
Hoodlums
May 9 2007, 06:05 PM
Hmm..
How about High ISO performance? (ISO 800 - ISO 1600)
Still usable?
chicaman
May 9 2007, 06:08 PM
Canon is famous with crappy High ISO lol
kelvinyam
May 9 2007, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(chicaman @ May 9 2007, 05:51 PM)
what kind of hack to add RAW lol.....
Err... You don't know there's a software that you can install into the S3is? LOL
QUOTE(chicaman @ May 9 2007, 06:08 PM)
Canon is famous with crappy High ISO lol
Crappy? Other than DSLR, there's hardly any prosumer with low noise at high ISO. Crappy is better than capturing black scene, isn't it?
scorgio
May 9 2007, 09:31 PM

The Sony R1 has an APS-C sensor, RAW support & a fabulous lens.
BUT it didn't do well either.
chicaman
May 9 2007, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ May 9 2007, 07:16 PM)
Err... You don't know there's a software that you can install into the S3is? LOL
Crappy? Other than DSLR, there's hardly any prosumer with low noise at high ISO. Crappy is better than capturing black scene, isn't it?

after i google around and i tried installing into A710IS....LOL! it saves in JPG not RAW. Although it is so called RAW JPG, but i still don see any different as the file size is still the same. Any tweak for that?
Compare Fuji31fd ISO with S3IS hehe
===================================================
after exploring, A710IS can take RAW already lol it saves in .crw and file size increased to 8mb ++
neoro_blitz
May 10 2007, 01:34 PM

i got 1....
Prime lens , primes
julchin_09
May 10 2007, 05:51 PM
Hopefully with the new DIGIC III Chip, Higher ISO Pics would produce less noise.....
yewkhuay
May 10 2007, 06:14 PM
y no S4 geh............?
kelvinyam
May 10 2007, 07:05 PM
The marketing boss doesn't like "4" gua...
coolzero
May 18 2007, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ May 10 2007, 06:14 PM)
Japanese pantang on "4" so they always skip 4 and jump to 5.
alex_8982
May 18 2007, 02:14 PM
Japan also pantang "4" ? hmm, maybe too close with the Big Brother - China...
sotong168
May 18 2007, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(alex_8982 @ May 18 2007, 02:14 PM)
Japan also pantang "4" ? hmm, maybe too close with the Big Brother - China...

yes, they pantang too
Brotherjoe
May 26 2007, 05:01 AM
Hey does anyone of you heard of the canon camera trade in programme in malaysia? I heard there is such program in US where you can trade in your old/spoil canon digicam and get a new camera with a rebate.
kelvinyam
May 26 2007, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 26 2007, 05:01 AM)
Hey does anyone of you heard of the canon camera trade in programme in malaysia? I heard there is such program in US where you can trade in your old/spoil canon digicam and get a new camera with a rebate.
Those are the marketing gimmick in The State, where it's not commonly practiced in Malaysia. I would also like to know why.
binary
Jun 19 2007, 03:22 PM
already available in market now. Saw the price is RM1699.
morph
Jun 19 2007, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(binary @ Jun 19 2007, 03:22 PM)
already available in market now. Saw the price is RM1699.

Wow!?
that's cheap !
where you saw?
would like to test it out tooo
mars2005
Jun 19 2007, 07:33 PM
Seems like there is not much difference between S3 n S5 in term of price.
Very interested with S3 recently, or should i go for S5? hmm..
seraphangel
Jun 19 2007, 08:05 PM
say what? it's available already? RM1699? Worth a look I guess, or should I get an FZ8? hmmm...
binary
Jun 19 2007, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(morph @ Jun 19 2007, 06:23 PM)
Wow!?
that's cheap !
where you saw?
would like to test it out tooo
Check on "In Tech" section in today paper inside The Star.
seraphangel
Jun 19 2007, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(binary @ Jun 19 2007, 08:39 PM)
Check on "In Tech" section in today paper inside The Star.

awww shucks, i don't have today's in-tech, how was the review? good?
julchin_09
Jun 19 2007, 11:35 PM
the S3 is roughly RM1.2K+ now? They would bundle a couple of accessories with it right? The S5 Still new, that RRP of RM1699 Includes anything? Cos it might just be a box set...... But consider all that has been said regarding the S5 vs the 1 yr old S3. Same sensor size, but bigger MP Count is the main concern for me......
mars2005
Jun 19 2007, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jun 19 2007, 11:35 PM)
the S3 is roughly RM1.2K+ now? They would bundle a couple of accessories with it right? The S5 Still new, that RRP of RM1699 Includes anything? Cos it might just be a box set...... But consider all that has been said regarding the S5 vs the 1 yr old S3. Same sensor size, but bigger MP Count is the main concern for me......
but the processor is different, digic III, which have face recognition function. I believe thr's lot of improvement in term of processing perfomance.
zio
Jun 20 2007, 11:34 AM
Wonder if they will let me trade in my old S3 for the S5

with minimal top up..
I want the larger screen...reviewing pictures on the S3 is next to pointless because it always look nice on the smaller screen..
nuox
Jun 20 2007, 09:07 PM
serious arr? 1699! i go to canon shop at the curve it is 2400 if not mistaken
julchin_09
Jun 20 2007, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(nuox @ Jun 20 2007, 09:07 PM)
serious arr? 1699! i go to canon shop at the curve it is 2400 if not mistaken
You sure thats not RRP for Powershot G7 instead?
kelvinyam
Jun 21 2007, 07:47 AM
QUOTE(mars2005 @ Jun 19 2007, 11:40 PM)
but the processor is different, digic III, which have face recognition function. I believe thr's lot of improvement in term of processing perfomance.
Maybe it's just me... I think the face recognition function is pretty useless.
Added on June 21, 2007, 7:50 amQUOTE(zio @ Jun 20 2007, 11:34 AM)
Wonder if they will let me trade in my old S3 for the S5

with minimal top up..
I want the larger screen...reviewing pictures on the S3 is next to pointless because it always look nice on the smaller screen..
Larger screen also equals to higher battery consumption. However, I got to agree with you that photos look nicer on larger LCD, that's why I still prefer to view photos on a 19" LCD
greyPJ
Jun 21 2007, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Jun 21 2007, 07:47 AM)
Maybe it's just me... I think the face recognition function is pretty useless.
Added on June 21, 2007, 7:50 amLarger screen also equals to higher battery consumption. However, I got to agree with you that photos look nicer on larger LCD, that's why I still prefer to view photos on a 19" LCD

not its not just you, alot of people + pro find face recog useless.
and 19" lcd is considered small nowadays.
seraphangel
Jun 21 2007, 07:01 PM
so has anyone tried out the S5? how's the performance and quality? better than S3? or almost the same?
yjeen
Jun 24 2007, 09:03 PM
Hi All,
Just manage to buy the S5 IS in Sungai Wang. When I was there, the stock just arrive. You can get the S5 IS at Bo Eing Photo Sdn Bhd. It is the same floor and behind VINNCI. The retail price is 14xx (just camera). Ask for Helen. She did a great job serving me.
Regards.
mengsuan
Jun 24 2007, 09:05 PM
That price is exactly like S3 IS. In fact, it's cheaper than me buying S3 last week.
yjeen
Jun 24 2007, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 24 2007, 09:05 PM)
That price is exactly like S3 IS. In fact, it's cheaper than me buying S3 last week.

Hi Meng Suan,
Actually, I was torn on buying the S3 and S5. I thought the S5 would cost much more that the S3, so i actually was aout to buy the S3. However most shops have stop selling the S3, and i was lucky i went to their shop because the stock just arrived. The sales lady told me I was the first one to buy the S5 from her place.
Furthermore the price of the S3 and S5 is almost the same. (just the camera only)
Regards,
yjeen
mengsuan
Jun 24 2007, 11:10 PM
One week and two days ago, the cheapest S3 IS I found is RM1450 and I bought mine at 1480 in another nearby shop. I couldn't believe that S5 IS price starts off so low.
alex_8982
Jun 25 2007, 10:10 AM
Then should I buy S5 or S3, some would recommend me to get S5 because of the price (not very much difference), and also anyhow S3 is one year old technology..
But what are the improvements (significant ones) between S5 and S3?
greyPJ
Jun 25 2007, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(alex_8982 @ Jun 25 2007, 10:10 AM)
Then should I buy S5 or S3, some would recommend me to get S5 because of the price (not very much difference), and also anyhow S3 is one year old technology..
But what are the improvements (significant ones) between S5 and S3?
of course s5, if the choice is between the 2.
IQ no improvement, just some feature like show ISO info when half press shutter button, remove 1gb restriction on the movie mode, etc... big improvement ito features.
zio
Jun 25 2007, 10:28 AM
Yikes the S5 is indeed cheap...now tempted to trade in my S3..but i think it will fetch a very very low price now..
mengsuan
Jun 25 2007, 12:37 PM
Nah, current S3 IS users don't need to migrate to S5 IS yet, I think. Unless you find the new features essential.
zio
Jun 25 2007, 06:53 PM
Not much actually. Except that I really really hate the LCD screen on the S3. I dont use it to capture shots but I use it to review the shots.
And the small screen is a bother to me. Oh well, but a bigger screen consumes more battery. So sigh. Battery or screen, that is the question.
mengsuan
Jun 25 2007, 09:26 PM
As long as the 2" LCD can show me what I want, I don't mind scrolling a bit more(yes, I zoom in 100% to review photos). From another point of view, S3 IS uses 2" LCD for 6MP photo while S5 IS uses 2.5" LCD for 8MP photo. It's still pretty logical. Lol..
zio
Jun 25 2007, 10:17 PM
Haha can set the size for 6MP ma. 6MP more than enough for me atm.
Lol I do zoom in but sometimes I want to review quick ma. And knowing my sucky skills, those quick reviews usually means a slap on the forehead when I view it on the PC later
Rithrade
Jun 26 2007, 11:12 AM
Ummm, can any1 tell me how much is the S5? Because when I went to Mid V and scouted around,
Canon ppl told me S3 was 1699(2gb card, tripod, case and rechargable batts) and that S5 wasn't available yet....

So, that's why I'm wondering where you all got your cameras. I dun mind if it's the the camera only. Please tell me the price and a good place (after need to claim warranty leh?

)
THanks!
PS: S5 supports SDHC and 1xx cards rite?
yjeen
Jun 26 2007, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 26 2007, 11:12 AM)
Ummm, can any1 tell me how much is the S5? Because when I went to Mid V and scouted around,
Canon ppl told me S3 was 1699(2gb card, tripod, case and rechargable batts) and that S5 wasn't available yet....

So, that's why I'm wondering where you all got your cameras. I dun mind if it's the the camera only. Please tell me the price and a good place (after need to claim warranty leh?

)
THanks!
PS: S5 supports SDHC and 1xx cards rite?
Rithrade,
I bought mine the S5 IS in Sungai Wang. You can get the S5 IS at Bo Eing Photo Sdn Bhd. It is the same floor and behind VINNCI. The retail price is 14xx (just camera). Ask for Helen. She did a great job serving me.
Regards.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.