MOTHER BOARDS A-Z BY EMPIRE23! WHEEAMD or Intel? Make the leap of faith right here!As for the processors themselves i'll leave it up to you and is beyong the aspect of this article, but make your choice wisely. And remember that certain version of processors with different pin configurations imparts different features, due to more pins being required to transfer more information at the same time. For example, Athlon 64 boards with 754 pins do not support Dual Channel memory transfer, unlike the 939 pinned based bigger brothers. So choose your processor wisely young padawan.
Elephants aren't the only ones with huge memoriesSimply said, buy the memory that fits your board, because different boards use different memory. But it can't be that hard can it, there are only 2 standards out there DDR1 and DDR2, i'm sure you won't get confused because DDR will only fit in DDR1 slots and DDR2 will only fit in DDR2 slots, of course the latency of the memory will affect performance, and different chipsets like different settings, go do a benchie do find out man!
Form factor, personally i like em cute and small, but the smaller they are the less well endowed they come 
When it comes to mother boards Size does matter, with extra size you can jam pack more features into it. But this is more about form factors than features so let's get to it.
ATX- Bog standard the great balance between the giant server form factors and the small ATX-MINI form factor, generally ATX is a standard that specifies the size of a motherboard and various clearings. And that means if a board or casing is ATX certified, it'll fit. ATX-MINI is for smaller and less poverful pcs and the boards based on this standard usualy have lower specifications and performance.
BTX- Next generation form factor proposed my intel to manage various heat problems and optimize air flow, but this time the casing opens from the opposite side, and the processor is located at the cold air intake, and turbulance zones are eliminated to air flow is clean and hot air isn't recycled. Might solve your preshot problems, but then again mother boards for this form factor aren't even here yet, but a few manufacturers are starting to sell ATX and BTX hybrid cases.
Chipsets man, personally i prefer mister potato and nvidia.There are many chipsets out there with different pros and cons, so weigh each one with objectivity, not just the one with the flashing lights and biggest bewbies. Each chipset can be boiled down to different points which i will tackle later. Let's just say that some chipsets are superior that others, and to me the superior one is the one that can contain all it's crap in the smallest single package, because, no only does it save space, but latency, power consumption and such. And the only single chip solutions out there built by Nvidia, as in the Nforce Series. The rest just use the tried and true North and South bridge method, at a small imparting of performance due to fact that any device connected to the south bridge must take a 2 fold journey to the land of EAX.
PCI-EXPRESS or AGP, personally i prefer PCI-EXPRESS, the expess makes it sound faster...heck IT IS!AGP is standard as old as the chewing gum stuck under the seat at the NRD and utilizes the good ol' parrallel method transfer to get it's way. It come in flavours of 2x, 4x and 8x in which 4x and 8x cards aren't backward compatible with 2 x due to voltage difference.
Taking over the helm of High speed graphics bus is PCI-express, that beats AGP hands down with twice the amount of bandwidth via it's serial and bi-directiona method of transfer. But remember the bandwidth used by graphics cards cant even saturate an AGP 4x bus, so saturation of a 16x bus or even an 8x of the PCI-express variety is unlikely at best and does no impart any extra performance. But for the sake of future proofing i recommend getting a PCIE based motherboard, spend now, less regret later.
SLI, why have one wife when you can have 2 or even 4!Currently Nvidia is extolting the virtues of SLI, what the heck is SLI you ask? boleh makan ah? No silly, simply put it, what happens if you think that you're graphics card ain't up to the challenge? Simply with SLI you add in another one! But both the cards must be SLI compatible and of the same brand, make and yadda yadda yadda. Currently only the NFORCE4 chipset supports SLI. But it seems that ATI has something up it's sleeve, called Crossfire, yes it sounds pretty, but is it worth the money? if you ask me. Yes, it seems that Crossfire will work with ALL programs unlike SLI, ditches that ugly connector that SLI uses and you only need to have ONE crossfire card, the other can be any other ATI card on the PCIE bus. Hows about 4 grahics cards? Gigabyte is looking into it, so keep your undies on.
IT'S A RAID!! surrender your women and none will be hurt!RAID is a relatively old technology to the computer word but has recently been given some atteantion by motherboard makers. Since most motheboard makers already support spanning RAID over mutiple interfaces, we'll leave that to the TS guys. But as i always say the more RAID levels the better but i'll give you the skinny on RAID
-RAID 0, fake RAID because it isn't redundant, data is split between the 2 hard disk to make reading faster, but if one drive fails, your goose is cooked
-RAID 1, total RAID, both disks have an exact copy of each file right down to the last bit, so if one fails, your goose isn't so cooked, but then again diskspace is wasted, you only get 50 percent of your true capacity
-RAID 5, this level of raid always wastes around 10-25 percent of your capacity due to the fact it creates a parity to restore data, but this parity calculation is at the expense of CPU processor cycles, a real resouce muncher, but combines all the powers of lower level raids
-RAID 10, a combination of RAID levels 1 and 0, where half of each hard disk is partitioned to a different level, one half is stripped and the other is mirrod and space waste is around 25 percent only, but then again you get no parity protection
Everybody loves extras!Normally motherboard manufacturers throw in extras to make us buy their shit, and that's not a bad thing at all. I'll just give you the quickie for extras around here.
-Extra Hard Disk Controllers, does what is says, allows you to attach more hard disks!
-Firewire, Ouch, HOT! This connection should be the choice of ipod owners and all video editing geeks around.....comes in flavours of A and B, the latter being twice as fast
-WIFI, the standard for WIfe InFIdelity...uhh....really! Some manufacturers thrown in WIFI cards tied into the mainboard's bus, makes your pc wireless
-BlueTooth, kalau this also tak tahu, pergi lompat KLCC.
And always to research on what bus the extra is tied into, since the PCI bus has a combined limit of 133 MBps and PCIE a much higher 266 for each 1x interconnection, so if you feel the your extra HDD controller is abit slow the PCI bus might be the culprit
Sometimes noisy IS a good thing!Not all motherboard soundcards are created equal my friend! From dingbatted brain's analysis the current winner has to be the Nforce SoundStorm, but has now sadly been cancled by Nvidia due to Dolby licencing costs. the next best thing should be Intel's HD audio standard or known to me as dear AZALIA! But some mobo makers intent on smacking others with my-epenis is bigger than yours have implemented certain solutions into their mother boards, DFI and ABIT have implemented audio via daughter cards, and MSI has their audio produced by a Creative Labs chip. And ofcourse you'll have to look at the quality of the DAC, because not matter how good the DSP (main chip), if you have a crappy DAC (converter) you'll get crappy sound. live loud my friends and may the music kill you!
The words "Computer" and "Hot" do not mix well my friend...Cooling is normally only needed on the Northbridge (Giant chip besides your Processor) of most motherboard. Cooling quality can be generally judged by 3 factors, Size of the heat sink, Fan Speed and thermal interface, the latter of the 3 you can help with general ease by replacing the original thermal paste with high quality silver addative based ones. Cooling can also take place on other area on the motherboard which are hot spot, which are mostly the MOSFETS and VRMs near the processor socket, some better versions of normal mother boards sport extra coolers for these part, and althought their use for non overclockers is questionable, for rabid ocers like me, they're a godsent.
the BIOS, where there is basic input there is outputI'll keep this short and sweet, bioses that come in removable socket packagings are far better than soldered in ones, because incase the pc freaks when you flash the BIOS, you can hot flash it and your mobo will be saved. Some mobos even come with 2 BIOSes so incase the first dies, the next will take place and reflash the save the original's ass by allowing you the chance to reflash the BIOS. Note also if given the chance, always format your BIOS to the latest version, updates often cure many headaches. and some bioses come with the magic port 88 display, making your life so much simple when it comes to diagnosis, it look like an LCD with 2 eights on it.
As in real life the cleaner the better!when power is filtered and regulated each step it goes in a cycle the more stable and peak free the power gets, so in theory the more stages the better, only a qualified computer geek can tell you how many power stages a mother board has at any current moment. But i can sure as hell tell you that gigabyte with their Dual Power System card have 8 staged power, and to supply even cleaner power, newer mother board come equipped with the brand spanking new ATX 2.0 power connector with 24 pins instead of 20 to supply more stable juice, if given the chance, always use the 24 pin connector, and try so without the converter, because the converter kind of defeats the purpose of having dedicated power and not shared power with other lines.