Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Gadgets for Vista Sidebar
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Windows Vista
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
linkinstreet
Like the title said, this thread is where Vista users post gadgets that they like to share

Media Player Gadget
user posted imageuser posted image

Desktop Wallpaper
user posted imageuser posted image

Launcher

linkinstreet
iStat combo

Version Number: 1.0
Author: iSlayer.com
Date of Release: 21st Feb 2007
Screenshot

Download: Download Now

Description
Monitor cpu and memory usage from 1 tiny gadget.
iStat combo supports upto 16 cpus/cores and has 5 skins included.

CPU Gauge

Screenshot

Description
CPU Gauge is a simple gadget to monitor cpu usage.
5 skins are included and CPU Gauge supports up to 16 copus/cores.

Memory Gauge

Screenshot

Description
Memory Gauge is a simple gadget to monitor memory usage. Includes 5 skins.

Wireless Gauge

Screenshot

Description
Wireless Gauge is a simple gadget to monitor your wireless connections signal strength. Includes 5 skins.

Battery Gauge

Screenshot

Description
Battery Gauge is a simple gadget to monitor battery usage. Includes 5 skins.

iStat cpu

Screenshot

Description
Monitor cpu usage. iStat cpu supports upto 16 cpus/cores and includes 5 skins.

iStat memory

Screenshot

Description
Monitor memory usage. Includes 5 skins.

iStat wireless

Screenshot

Description
Monitor your wireless connections signal strength. Also shows network name and ip. Includes 5 skins.

iStat battery

Screenshot

Description
Monitor battery usage. Shows time remaining when battery is draining. Includes 5 skins.
dualshock
currently using this...

Multi meter...

useful for dual core processor...
linkinstreet
QUOTE(dualshock @ Mar 4 2007, 04:28 PM)
currently using this...

Multi meter...

useful for dual core processor...

Added Screenshot
adriankhoo153
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 4 2007, 04:57 PM)
Added Screenshot

Nice but i prefer the original animation better
samurai1337
From my blog entry
http://leetlekid.com/2007/02/25/my-windows-sidebar-gadgets/

These are the gadgets I am currently using
Greasy Sweet
Network card Utilization Gadget (John Abbott)
Download here
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

Easy Shutdown Gadget (Vonzz)
Download Here

Ying & Yang Gadgets suite (Various Authors)
Download Here With screenshots in link.
nkymark
Hey Samurai, where did you get the gadget for the wireless network? Can provide the link?

aimleeds
QUOTE(Greasy Sweet @ Mar 4 2007, 09:30 AM)

Easy Shutdown Gadget (Vonzz)
Download Here

i dowloaded the easy shutdown gadget, after i download what i need to do? which one to click? or need to extract all the file somewhere?
Greasy Sweet
QUOTE(aimleeds @ Mar 10 2007, 04:49 PM)
i dowloaded the easy shutdown gadget, after i download what i need to do? which one to click? or need to extract all the file somewhere?

If you're using Vista, Just double click on the .gadget file.

If you're using XP, you need to change the .gadget file into .rar then extract the files. rename the folder so that it'll have .gadget for example the folder name is "shutdown" just rename the folder as "shutdown.gadget" and move it into your sidebar gadget directory.
hz428
i love all the new gadget, weather forecast is the best~
adriankhoo153
QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 13 2007, 03:45 AM)
i love all the new gadget, weather forecast is the best~

The best? I dun see any use of the weather forecast at all in Malaysia. It's basically the same throughout the year..
HughieRmX
Greetings,
Thanks for sharing .. I am using it now. Looks cooL and useful too .. wink.gif

Regards,
Hughie
Greasy Sweet
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 13 2007, 11:57 AM)
The best? I dun see any use of the weather forecast at all in Malaysia. It's basically the same throughout the year..

True, but it wouldn't hurt to have some eye candy on the sidebar.
williamwong

i dont know are u trying to be sacarstic but this reply is funny lol. and yeah weather forecast is useful for the likes of us that is in australia.
atomica

but it will tell u if it is gonna rain ...
kyoriam
QUOTE(Greasy Sweet @ Mar 10 2007, 05:07 PM)
If you're using Vista, Just double click on the .gadget file.

If you're using XP, you need to change the .gadget file into .rar then extract the files. rename the folder so that it'll have .gadget for example the folder name is "shutdown" just rename the folder as "shutdown.gadget" and move it into your sidebar gadget directory.

hello..wanna ask quest

i'm using xp vista sidebar so i wan add extra gadget..i already change the folder to .gadget like u said n i paste i in Program Files\Vista Sidebar but nothing happen.....

in the Program Files\Vista Sidebar that i paste the gadget i didnt see others gadget like the previous gadget..can i noe where the exactly gadget directory??
linkinstreet
C:\Users (Documents and Settings for XP)\<User Name>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets
sniper69
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 16 2007, 09:30 AM)
C:\Users (Documents and Settings for XP)\<User Name>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets

but mine is at (using real Vista Sidebar) though on WinXP

C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets

AccuWeather thumbup.gif my hometown...
AccuWeather
linkinstreet
it have two directories, but the default one is the one that I posted.
Andrewhajime
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Mar 4 2007, 05:25 PM)
From my blog entry
http://leetlekid.com/2007/02/25/my-windows-sidebar-gadgets/

These are the gadgets I am currently using

i almost use the samething u use
just that you has the extra " wireless meter "
where you get it ? , microsoft webbie ?
samurai1337
QUOTE(Andrewhajime @ Mar 16 2007, 03:04 PM)
i almost use the samething u use
just that you has the extra " wireless meter "
where you get it ? , microsoft webbie ?

yes, you can do a search in their official webbie
vailance
for windows sidebar(win vista), is there a temp monitor gadget available?
J-Slade
I found a cool gadget. Have a Microsoft Zune on your sidebar

The Zune

LINK: http://gallery.live.com/liveItemDetail.asp...c44ad7094b0&l=1
linkinstreet
Mesa Dynamics released a converter to convert Google Gadgets into Sidebar Gadgets
http://amnesty.mesadynamics.com/GeneratorWin.html

Hey all. Just thought you might be interested in our new free application, Amnesty Generator, that automatically converts Google "Universal" gadgets into Vista Sidebar gadgets.
Note that it is not a developer's tool, just a small utility for regular Vista users to add some of the 3000+ Google gadgets to their sidebar. Since it just "wraps" HTML into a gadget template it also supports "conversion" from other web gadgets, even video embeds from YouTube.

This is a port of our same application for OS X -- and our first Windows app -- so feel free to send us comments, suggestions, criticisms, etc. We'd really appreciate the feedback. It's a beta release, so we'll be finishing up the app over the next couple of months.

Thanks!

Danny
Mesa Dynamics
linkinstreet
Gadget Name : VirtualEarthMap

Version Number : 1.0
Author(s) : Microsoft
Date of Release : 01.22.07
[attachmentid=225065] (rename to *.rar)
adriankhoo153
My weather gadget always show service not available when offline. How can i make it to stay for the previous data instead of service not available when offline?
linkinstreet
It auto refreshes, so I doubt it can "lock" that status when offline
adriankhoo153
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 30 2007, 09:47 PM)
It auto refreshes, so I doubt it can "lock" that status when offline

Aghh darn... doh.gif
pipedream
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Apr 30 2007, 09:26 PM)
My weather gadget always show service not available when offline. How can i make it to stay for the previous data instead of service not available when offline?

huh? FYI, even not connected, my weather gadget shows previous service ler
adriankhoo153

I couln't find this type of Calander date at Window Gallery. Where can i download it? The default calendar is too big.

Added on May 9, 2007, 5:50 pm
QUOTE(pipedream @ May 1 2007, 08:39 PM)
huh? FYI, even not connected, my weather gadget shows previous service ler

Yup, just back a few day i discover that. Normally on my first start up after i dc, it will show no service avaiable. The second start up will show the previous one
ZiggerX
cry.gif Hello...anybody can teach me hoe to install gadget..I can't install the gadget after done download...waaa... rclxub.gif

Pls teach me how to do it..

mystical zero
QUOTE(ZiggerX @ May 18 2007, 04:49 PM)
cry.gif Hello...anybody can teach me hoe to install gadget..I can't install the gadget after done download...waaa... rclxub.gif

Pls teach me how to do it..

First, you have to enable Windows to show the file extensions. Go "Start" --> "Run" and type in control folders. Click "OK". Click on the "View" tab and uncheck the "Hide extensions from known file types" option. Click "OK". Locate the downloaded gadget file and rename the file to Memory Gauge.rar. Extract them and rename the extracted folder to Memory Gauge.Gadget. Then, move the folder to C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets\. Launch Windows Sidebar and open the Gadget Gallery. Now, you might be able to add the newly installed gadget onto your sidebar.
oldfox
dun have any cartoon or anime gadgets ar??
he he....
J-Slade

UltimateX Clocks II & Speed Meter
DOWNLOAD: http://www.joejoe.org/forum/lofiversion/index.php?t3760.html
linkinstreet
QUOTE(oldfox @ May 29 2007, 12:50 PM)
dun have any cartoon or anime gadgets ar??
he he....

I have a calvin and hobbes strip gadget. Forgot where I got that. It will download a strip everyday and show that on ur desktop
adriankhoo153
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 29 2007, 08:50 PM)
I have a calvin and hobbes strip gadget. Forgot where I got that. It will download a strip everyday and show that on ur desktop

Window Vista live gallery ler.. tongue.gif
oldfox
Yee.....
beside those official one...
dun have any cartoon or anime gadgets oh...
:'(
Phoenixwunin
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 29 2007, 08:50 PM)

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ May 29 2007, 09:38 PM)
Window Vista live gallery ler.. tongue.gif

That's interesting... everyday comic on desktop... drool.gif

Going to get it now... thanks for letting me know of its existense... thumbup.gif
danieltan
actually i not quite understand about the gadgets, everything i oledi do. put it seem cannot pop out it.
i download the vista sidebar.

currently using window xp sp 2.
Eiraku
QUOTE(danieltan @ Jun 5 2007, 09:30 PM)
actually i not quite understand about the gadgets, everything i oledi do. put it seem cannot pop out it.
i download the vista sidebar.

currently using window xp sp 2.

Wrong Windows version chap... They're talking about the real Windows Vista's Sidebar here... I think it's runnable on XP with a few tweaks but, no aero... I think the gadget autoload mechanism's broken on XP too... I think... icon_rolleyes.gif

Well, after suffering having 20++MBs of my memory eaten by a slab of glass on the side of my screen + some gadgets, I've ditched sidebar...

Granted, 20MB out of 2048MB seems paltry, but I'd rather have those 20 megs eaten by something else, something useful like Switcher (which only eats 7MBs by the way)... But then, each person for themselves, eh? icon_rolleyes.gif

But, back in the day, it was a combo of Dual Core Multimeter, Sushi's Drive Info, Notes, Calander and Applauncher for me... icon_rolleyes.gif
songbo
i use weatherbug for the weather forecast thumbup.gif quite accurate~
Suk
why i can't use this gadgets ?

u guys is using which type of sidebar ?
n
how to add gadgets
Liuteva
got any CPU temperature monitoring gadget ?
linkinstreet
Not yet. I think JAVA Script + Winbond monitor is hard to code
Liuteva
Sad .... hope it success to code biggrin.gif
waynelyp90
QUOTE(Suk @ Jun 11 2007, 02:10 AM)
why i can't use this gadgets ?

u guys is using which type of sidebar ?
n
how to add gadgets

People here are showing off that they have Vista and they can have the side bar... tongue.gif
I only have an XP but I got a sidebar as well. Exactly Vista's somemore.

Just follow the guide here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/424533#
oldfox
QUOTE(waynelyp90 @ Jun 13 2007, 10:25 PM)
People here are showing off that they have Vista and they can have the side bar... tongue.gif
I only have an XP but I got a sidebar as well. Exactly Vista's somemore.

Just follow the guide here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/424533#

we are not showing off brother..=.=
we also know that other OS can get sidebar as well....
but since we are using the vista, that why this thread will appear..
hope u dun misunderstand...

anyway, any vista user got other gadgets to share??????????????????beside those official one...
waynelyp90
QUOTE(oldfox @ Jun 14 2007, 02:31 AM)
we are not showing off brother..=.=
we also know that other OS can get sidebar as well....
but since we are using the vista, that why this thread will appear..
hope u dun misunderstand...

anyway, any vista user got other gadgets to share??????????????????beside those official one...

Cool dude, don't you see the " tongue.gif " there, just kidding, I'll get a ban if I'm flaming around.
Anyway, felt great with all those gadgets though. Anyone has some unofficial ones to share? smile.gif
linkinstreet
The 'Window view' Weather Gadget

Version Number: 2.0.0
Author(s): Vico and Jeremy (a.k.a cesar or Li Shaolan)
Date of Release: June 4th 2007
Screenshot

Download: Download with sendspace (23,9 Mb)

Description

See what the weather looks like anywhere in the world. Concept origin : Windows Vista Build 5365, Gadget Core creators : thevista.ru ; Translation : Vico ; Fit and Finish, font looks etc. : J駻駑y

Bugs already known :

- layout pb when it's Fog
- Doesn't display T-Storms layouts
- The clock borders are sometimes pink, sometimes you see nothing (when docked only) if you know how, let's get rid of it !)
- The 'y' of 'Wednesday' shows off the undocked layout
- Doesn't display T-Storms layouts
- Fonts are not always the same depending on the computer (that's why I add the 'segoe UI' font family to the .rar file, even if you already have it, reinstall them and it'll work)

Gadget Name: Polaroid
Version Number: v1.8.0.0
Author(s): Jonathan Abbott
Date of Release: 10th June 2007
Description
Want to stick photos on your desktop? Simply drag a copy of this gadget onto your desktop and then drop an image file onto it. By dropping a folder of images, it will run in Slideshow mode

To rotate the image, double click on it and move the mouse left/right. Change the size by dragging the bottom right corner of the Gadget.

Change log
v1.8.0.0
- Added Slideshow (drag/drop a folder onto the Gadget)
- Added "Lock to Desktop" to stop accidental mouse dragging

v1.7.1.0
- Moved images to sub folder
- Added rotate cursor

v1.7.0.0
- Removed size settings from settings page
- Implemented drag resizing from the bottom right corner of the Gadget

Polaroidv1.7.1.1.gadget

user posted imageGadget Name: CPU Utilization
Version: v1.2.0.0
Date of release: 10th June 2007
Supports 1 to 16 CPU cores. When in "combined CPU" mode, the % is an average of all cores and the core speed is the first CPU core speed.

CPUUtili...v1.1.0.1.Gadget

Wireless Network Controller

Version Number: 2.0.5
Author(s): David Taraso (david.t@jcxp.net)
Date of Release: January 29th, 2007
Latest Update: February 9th, 2007 (v2.0.5)

Screenshots

Download:
http://gallery.live.com/liveItemDetail.asp...4f27849&l=1

Description
This gadget displays your wireless network's current status and details, such as the Connection Status, SSID, Signal Strength and Security Status. When opened, the gadget displays the SSID and Signal Strength. Click on the SSID to open the Details flyout for all the network details.

Change log:
V2.0
- New compact design.
- Fixed issue where if the signal was 100%, the text would exceed the borders of the gadget.
- Reduced font size of the SSID to allow for longer names.
- New Flyout menu with network details.
- Removed "Configure Device" link due to incompatability with certain devices.

v2.0.5
- Fixed issue where it may require 2 clicks to open the flyout.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.