Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: What's your Windows Vista score?
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Windows Vista
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22
eviltmnet
What's your Windows Experience Index?
Please update your score first and include your computer specification.
I'm using Windows Vista Ultimate (6.0.6000.16386).

Processor: 2.6
Memory (RAM): 4.1
Graphics: 4.1
Gaming graphics: 3.2
Primary hard disk: 5.3

My (will be sold) aging rig sweat.gif that scored the above:

1.6GHz Intel Pentium 4 (can easily OC@2.4GHz, but my MB can't OC)
2 X 512MB Kingston DDR 266MHz
Gigabyte 128MB ATI Radeon 9600 (I set it share 128MB system memory in bios)
80GB Western Digital SATA150 (I'm surprise it get 5.3 score)
Asrock P4V88+ (VIA PT880 chipset)
17" Samsung Flat CRT
8X Lite-On DVD writer
Floppy drive
Logitech wired keyboard and optical mouse
Built-in sound card
Altec Lansing 2.1 system speaker
Unknown brand casing
Unknown brand come from casing 400Watt power supply
No webcam

Will get new rig after Chinese New Year (so I can play Crysis) tongue.gif :

2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo or better
2 X 1GB Kingston or Corsair DDR2 800MHz
1 or 2 X (if I can afford by that time) XFX 768MB NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GTX
2 or 3 X 320GB Western Digital SATA300 (RAID 0 if 2 X, RAID 5 if 3 X)
Asus Striker Extreme (NVIDIA 680i chipset)
24" Dell LCD with 1920x1200 resolutions
20X Lite-On DVD writer or other SATA DVD writer
Floppy drive
Logitech wireless keyboard and laser mouse
Creative Audigy 4 sound card
5.1 or 7.1 system speaker
Cooler Master CM Stacker casing
Antec power supply (600Watt if 1X, 800Watt if 2X)
2.0 Mega pixels webcam

I'll post what my new rig (will be) score once I get it.
deric88
take SS nicer ler, use the new snipping tool, much more easier take screenie then to printscreen and go paint.........

samurai1337
OMG! The bragging thread!!!!

Anyways...
dattebayo
may i know how it calculate and determine the 'gaming graphic' part?

7600GT and 7300gs have 512MB version?

does it affected by DDR2 or DDR3 type?
deric88
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 8 2007, 08:52 PM)

err, just realised that... anyway mine is 256MB, dunnow why display 512...
yehlai
Hey RAM 1Gb got 4.5 score?? tht is quite high rite?
afosz
GeForce 7600GT scores 5.9 and 1GB 4.5, not bad at all..can't wait to test mine biggrin.gif

btw, why 2GB RAM become 1.98GB? unsure.gif it's 2GB right?
linkinstreet
evilpuppy
irenic
mine..

c2d e6600 @ 3.6ghz score 5.8
2gb mushkin em2 ddr 800 @ 4-4-4-12 score 5.9
8800gtx (aero) score 5.9
8800gtx (gaming) score 5.9
320gb sata II 16mb score 5.4

so my base score is 5.4 biggrin.gif
deric88
QUOTE(irenic @ Feb 8 2007, 11:13 PM)
mine..

c2d e6600 @ 3.6ghz  score 5.8
2gb mushkin em2 ddr 800 @ 4-4-4-12 score 5.9
8800gtx (aero) score 5.9
8800gtx (gaming) score 5.9
320gb sata II 16mb score 5.4

so my base score is 5.4 biggrin.gif

omg freaking high...... anyone higher? going once? going twice.......*silent*
dattebayo
QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Feb 8 2007, 11:02 PM)

how come ur Pentium D [3.8] can lose to Athlon 64 3000 [4.2] one blink.gif
dualshock
i remember my score when i was using RC2...it was 5.2...unfortunately, vista is no longer with me...will post up pics of the WEI once i got it again...

linkinstreet
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 8 2007, 11:49 PM)
how come ur Pentium D [3.8]  can lose to Athlon 64 3000 [4.2] one blink.gif

My original score was 3.7, but I overclocked it, and it jumped to 4.2
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Can't wait to test this on my Core2Duo rig and OC it to see what happen
afosz
I wonder what type of hardware will it reach til 8-10 sweat.gif
deric88
QUOTE(afosz @ Feb 9 2007, 12:14 AM)

intel xeon+quoadro graphics+ 8Gb ram?
kia
QUOTE(afosz @ Feb 9 2007, 12:14 AM)

QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 9 2007, 12:38 AM)
intel xeon+quoadro graphics+ 8Gb ram?

The maximum score is 5.9 lah brother laugh.gif

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/software/vista-...ndex-232313.php
afosz
QUOTE(kia @ Feb 9 2007, 12:44 AM)

aiyoo my bad laa brother sweat.gif

I just read it clearly tongue.gif
They plan to re-evaluate the scale every 12-18 months, or else in two years everyone will have machines that score a 4 or a 5.

Means that our score will decrease in 1 years time or else they (M$) will have to put a large number on new monster hardware doh.gif and you should see Top Component Scores! E4300 pwned E6700 sweat.gif
k.incognito
My score 5.2 smile.gif

Bliz
This is mine
[attachmentid=192257]
wtm0325
wakakaka my tortoise thinkpad r60 (cd 1.66, 2gb ddr2 533, 60gb 5400 sata, 224mb gma950)

index 3.1
[attachmentid=192298]
garanzia
nforce2 ultra 400
amd barton 2500+
1.5gb ram
fx5200 64bit 128mb
250gb wd sata2

score :- 3.1

this what i get last time using vista ultimate rtm. now use winxp back
zaxxshoxx
This is mine

My Spec

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz
Intel DP965L Mainboard
I GB Mushkin DDR2 667 MHz
Maxtor 169GB 7200rpm (2MB) SATAII
LiteOn 16X DVD ROM
Samsung DVDRW
Gigabyte GeForce 7600GT 256MB DDR3
BenQ 17" FP73G LCD
samurai1337
This thread hasn't got anything to do with software really. So I'm moving it to hardware smile.gif
darude87
QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 8 2007, 09:14 PM)

will it be turbocache? why i saw 1.98GB for ram sweat.gif weird figure
norazwan79
Mine...

RokXIII
noob question... is it a build-in software? only bench for window vista? sorry ya as nvr try vista before... sweat.gif
Hyde`fK
Both irenic and norazwan79 scores are so high. sweat.gif
Matrix
My Score :

Processor: 4.9

RAM : 5.9

Graphics: 4.7

Gaming: 4.8

HDD: 5.5
toughnut
Processor: 4.2
RAM : 4.5
Graphics: 5.9
Gaming: 5.8
HDD: 5.2 (if not mistaken)

Base: 4.2 due to stupid proc, can't wait to dump it biggrin.gif

did they change the way how the HDD score are given? previously based on how much storage left, which IMHO silly. should based on read/write/random/burst speed.
norazwan79
What is the maximum score? 10? Haha...
I only get 5.6

ychwang
what is the cpu score for p4 3.0c HT?
kunyit_kampung
QUOTE(eviltmnet @ Feb 8 2007, 07:57 PM)
What's your Windows Experience Index?
Please update your score first and include your computer specification.
I'm using Windows Vista Ultimate (6.0.6000.16386).

Processor:                2.6
Memory (RAM):          4.1
Graphics:                  4.1
Gaming graphics:      3.2
Primary hard disk:    5.3

My (will be sold) aging rig sweat.gif  that scored the above:

1.6GHz Intel Pentium 4 (can easily OC@2.4GHz, but my MB can't OC)
2 X 512MB Kingston DDR 266MHz
Gigabyte 128MB ATI Radeon 9600 (I set it share 128MB system memory in bios)
80GB Western Digital SATA150 (I'm surprise it get 5.3 score)
Asrock P4V88+ (VIA PT880 chipset)
17" Samsung Flat CRT
8X Lite-On DVD writer
Floppy drive
Logitech wired keyboard and optical mouse
Built-in sound card
Altec Lansing 2.1 system speaker
Unknown brand casing
Unknown brand come from casing 400Watt power supply
No webcam

Will get new rig after Chinese New Year (so I can play Crysis) tongue.gif :

2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo or better
2 X 1GB Kingston or Corsair DDR2 800MHz
1 or 2 X (if I can afford by that time) XFX 768MB NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GTX
2 or 3 X 320GB Western Digital SATA300 (RAID 0 if 2 X, RAID 5 if 3 X)
Asus Striker Extreme (NVIDIA 680i chipset)
24" Dell LCD with 1920x1200 resolutions
20X Lite-On DVD writer or other SATA DVD writer
Floppy drive
Logitech wireless keyboard and laser mouse
Creative Audigy 4 sound card
5.1 or 7.1 system speaker
Cooler Master CM Stacker casing
Antec power supply (600Watt if 1X, 800Watt if 2X)
2.0 Mega pixels webcam

I'll post what my new rig (will be) score once I get it.

how do u test this dude,i mean what software?is it biuld in da vista??noob
dattebayo
if u mean the windows experience index, it only can be found in vista
syyang85
A 1 means you should just seriously go back to XP. Microsoft wants your money, but not that badly. A score of 2 is the basic score you'll need to do anything on Vista worth while. A 3 (which is what we have, a high 3) is going to be the "value end", or super cheap, PCs being shipped into 2007. A 4 is a mid-range machine, and a 5 is a high-end monster that can do Aero-Glass on multiple monitors and hack into the Matrix.

The current maximum score is a 5.9. A 6 hasn't been defined yet, because Windows developers want to leave themselves room for a 4-dimensional Pipes screensaver or something. They plan to re-evaluate the scale every 12-18 months, or else in two years everyone will have machines that score a 4 or a 5.
ijan
where u guys got ur Vistas? how much is the price of a retail home premium?

i dun think business or ultimate edition would be of any use to me, all i do is audio, audio audio, internet, chatting, work work work and gaming..nothing major it seems..
coolmast3r
QUOTE(syyang85 @ Feb 11 2007, 01:26 PM)
A 1 means you should just seriously go back to XP. Microsoft wants your money, but not that badly. A score of 2 is the basic score you'll need to do anything on Vista worth while. A 3 (which is what we have, a high 3) is going to be the "value end", or super cheap, PCs being shipped into 2007. A 4 is a mid-range machine, and a 5 is a high-end monster that can do Aero-Glass on multiple monitors and hack into the Matrix.

The current maximum score is a 5.9. A 6 hasn't been defined yet, because Windows developers want to leave themselves room for a 4-dimensional Pipes screensaver or something. They plan to re-evaluate the scale every 12-18 months, or else in two years everyone will have machines that score a 4 or a 5.

wow. very informative.
thanx alot. thumbup.gif

my base score was 4.5 when i was using the Vista RC2.
will get the final version of vista soon so i can test my rig with it. whistling.gif
wassap
referring to evilpuppy score. he is using intel pentium d 2.80ghz. why is the number of core 1? i thought pentium d is running dual core.
afosz
QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Feb 11 2007, 12:16 PM)
What is the maximum score? 10? Haha...
I only get 5.6

whoa 5.6? blink.gif

the maximum is 5.9 I guess
gstoh
[attachmentid=193570]
score:4.7

AMD athlon 3800x2 @ 2.0GHz
2x512Mb apacer + 2x512Mb kingstone @ 2.5-3-3-7 400MHz
XFX 7600gs 256Mb DDr core@500Mhz
maxtor SATA 80Gb(main) + western digital 160Gb SATAII

i am not sure whether you all know about it, in different resolution will get different benchmark for graphic, higher the resolution, lower the mark
samurai1337
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 8 2007, 08:52 PM)

QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 8 2007, 09:14 PM)

256MB of dedicated memory, 256MB of shared memory smile.gif
cockerish
9.3 imaginary points
Matrix
QUOTE(ijan @ Feb 11 2007, 05:38 PM)
where u guys got ur Vistas? how much is the price of a retail home premium?

i dun think business or ultimate edition would be of any use to me, all i do is audio, audio audio, internet, chatting, work work work and gaming..nothing major it seems..

if you're doing serious work with audio and uses a Creative card.

STAY AWAY FROM VISTA!!! (or at least until matured drivers arrived).

There's only BETA drivers from Creative for X-Fi and Audigy cards (SB live are permanently R.I.P for VISTA), no EAX support (supposely replaced by OpenAL bu who knows what's running inside the drivers).

I think a lot of audio and DVD burning software will also have problem with VISTA. And even my game trainer won't work on my games... doh.gif

If you want, keep a dual boot system like me, both XP and VISTA on the same machine. But it's definitely a bad idea to drop ur XP now. You'll regret when all your fav software won't work!
linkinstreet
QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 13 2007, 09:28 AM)
if you're doing serious work with audio and uses a Creative card.

STAY AWAY FROM VISTA!!! (or at least until matured drivers arrived).

There's only BETA drivers from Creative for X-Fi and Audigy cards (SB live are permanently R.I.P for VISTA), no EAX support (supposely replaced by OpenAL bu who knows what's running inside the drivers).

I think a lot of audio and DVD burning software will also have problem with VISTA. And even my game trainer won't work on my games... doh.gif

If you want, keep a dual boot system like me, both XP and VISTA on the same machine. But it's definitely a bad idea to drop ur XP now. You'll regret when all your fav software won't work!

Nero (Newest works like a charm), and now I know that you cheat on gaming laugh.gif
Which game does the trainer do not run? I think it's the trainer's problem. go get a newer version
castano
QUOTE(gstoh @ Feb 12 2007, 12:32 AM)
[attachmentid=193570]
score:4.7

AMD athlon 3800x2 @ 2.0GHz
2x512Mb apacer + 2x512Mb kingstone  @ 2.5-3-3-7 400MHz
XFX 7600gs 256Mb DDr core@500Mhz
maxtor SATA 80Gb(main) + western digital 160Gb SATAII

i am not sure whether you all know about it, in different resolution will get different benchmark for graphic, higher the resolution, lower the mark

i have 1gb of ram, and planning to add 1gb more,... 1gb ram and the index score is 4.5. then i saw ur score, 2gb of ram and it only 4.9? thought it can go above 5 with 2gb ram....
edwin3210
damn, this vista score is pathetic, i got OC my sempron E6 to 2.19 GHz and it still report my cpu is not fast enough for Vista.
dattebayo
QUOTE(castano @ Feb 14 2007, 06:03 AM)
i have 1gb of ram, and planning to add 1gb more,... 1gb ram and the index score is 4.5. then i saw ur score, 2gb of ram and it only 4.9? thought it can go above 5 with 2gb ram....

it also depends on the RAM transfer rate, DDR2 is faster than DDR1, and dual channel is faster than single chanel
Matrix
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 13 2007, 10:31 AM)
Nero (Newest works like a charm), and now I know that you cheat on gaming laugh.gif
Which game does the trainer do not run? I think it's the trainer's problem. go get a newer version

Trainer for BFME2-Rise of the witch king. Can't find anymore other version. I've installed the game to my XP partition and copied the save games over from my VISTA partition. The trainer works perfectly in XP.

Yeah, i cheat in game coz i got a real life. Can't afford to spend so many hours just to play games. Must get it done ASAP!!! biggrin.gif

Btw, the X-Fi drivers seems to have some problem in VISTA. sometimes the MP3 music refuse to play. After reboot once or twice it works. No such problems when using XP to play.
dattebayo
this is mine
how come the RAM and graphic rated 5.9 for only 2GB and 7600GS sweat.gif
jinaun
i notice the highest score is 5.9...

anyone got higher than 5.9?

it seems that the processor measurement esp for the C2D series is inconsistence.. duno y

i notice lower ends E6300 score higher than E6400, or E6600
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.